Trinidad and Tobago Revenue Authority (TTRA) - To Be Implemented

ray d saint

We are not taking that!

Postby ray d saint » March 11th, 2009, 7:44 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,96464.html

Their cries came as they resolved to stage a massive public-sector shutdown this Black Friday in protest of the plan to send them home in order to make way for a new Trinidad and Tobago Revenue Authority (TTRA).

There was standing-room only as Customs and Excise Division officers, staff from the Inland Revenue and other public servants gathered at the Andre Kamperveen Hall, Centre of Excellence Macoya, to attend an emergency meeting called by their trade union, the Public Services Association (PSA).

Tears, cheers, jeers and angry testimonies filled the room as the workers gathered for the first time to come to a decision on what they would do in response to the decision taken last Thursday by the Prime Minister Patrick Manning-led Cabinet to offer voluntary separation from employment packages (VSEP) to all 2,175 workers of Customs and Inland Revenue to make way for the TTRA.

PSA President Jennifer Baptiste-Primus asked whether they were going to accept the Government’s decision. The crowd loudly and unanimously cried, “No!â€

aR&D

Postby aR&D » March 11th, 2009, 7:50 am

Jennifer is nothing but a stupid demagogue and the majority of workers that her union covers are nothing but a bunch of illiterate political-mice.

The time was nov5th 2008 ... and not a peep form Jennifer and her hoards .. the horse has bolted the ban already Jenny-girl ... take dat, allyuh like it!

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 11th, 2009, 7:53 am

how much you want to bet some of them still go to work on friday? how much times athy called for strike action & when you come to work next day you find 3/4 of the people did not support it.

there are senior people who knew it was comming & said nothing, they will continue to play like they know nothing because they know they will be employeed in the new revenue authority (yes people already know who will be employed)

overnite_celebritee

Black Friday Shutdown

Postby overnite_celebritee » March 11th, 2009, 8:36 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161450202

Citizens would have to brace for a possible shutdown of services at the offices of the Customs and Excise Division and Board of Inland Revenue (BIR) on "black" Friday (March 13).

Employees at both departments plan to stay away from work on that day to "pray and reflect" about the government's decision to terminate their jobs and offer more than 2,000 of them Voluntary Separation Enhancement Packages (VSEP) to make way for the new Trinidad and Tobago Revenue Authority (TTRA).

The decision was taken at a meeting called by their representative union, the Public Service Association (PSA), yesterday at the Centre of Excellence, Macoya, to discuss the matter.

The workers made it clear that they were prepared to fight for their jobs and vowed to take whatever action was necessary to force the Government to rescind its decision.

Scores of workers employed at the various branches of the BIR and Customs and Excise Division attended yesterday's meeting which lasted over three hours.

The meeting began just after 1 p.m. The workers were addressed by a number of union executives, including PSA president, Jennifer Baptiste-Primus; vice president, Stephen Thomas; and deputy secretary general, Robert Dean.

While the media was not allowed to sit in on the meeting, loud and angry voices echoed outside the hallway as the workers openly vented their emotions and voiced their concerns.

"We were treated with scant courtesy and we were blatantly disrespected," one irate female employee charged.

"We should shut down Customs and Excise Division, then nothing comes in (the country) nothing goes out ... and then we have the Summit of the Americas coming up, that is all I would say," she said to loud cheers from her colleagues.

Most of the employees who took to the floor voiced their concerns about their future and that of their families. They generally felt that they were just being "discarded" by the government after years of service in the public sector.

Baptiste-Primus, in her address to the workers, charged that Prime Minister Patrick Manning had deceived the population, when in seeking to placate citizens worried over the economic downturn in a national address, he assured that "no one in the public sector was going to lose their jobs".

She also slammed Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira for claiming that the union had known that VSEP was always on the cards for the workers.

"Yes, VSEP was one of the options but it was not the only option. There was also the option of transferring them over to the Authority and a third to allow them the option of remaining in the public sector. The Government agreed to grant them all three options. ... The option of VSEP is being forced on the workers," she thundered.

Baptiste-Primus said Nunez-Tesheira must now explain to the workers why the Government reneged on its initial position.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » March 11th, 2009, 9:06 am

WE LIKE IT!

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 11th, 2009, 9:24 am

Tarantula wrote:WE LIKE IT!

damn right! I now ask some oficers if they staying home friday, one satnd she ground & say she commin to work, waht goin on down the road have nuttin to do with us :roll:

they really like eeet so!

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 11th, 2009, 9:27 am

not gonna happen

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 11th, 2009, 9:29 am

RPM wrote:not gonna happen

hot air, all of them, hey bumping they gum today & bet yuh bottom dollar all of the come to work friday nah!

Postby SUPAstarr » March 11th, 2009, 9:30 am

Black Friday shutdown Tuner Lime???? :|

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 11th, 2009, 9:34 am

SUPAstarr wrote:Black Friday shutdown Tuner Lime???? :|

I considering tinting back to play kindergarden cop that day :lol:

Oleander

Postby Oleander » March 11th, 2009, 9:40 am

pioneer wrote:call election tomm...these same people voting back PNM :mrgreen:

Yes they would vote for the PNM again because they will get more shutdown days to sit home a scratch they lower foreheads.

Bunch of goats. :evil:

Postby UML » March 11th, 2009, 9:58 am

Jennifer Baptiste-Primus

...look like she made a deal with them and they cut her out (u know how Union Leaders work!!)...giving her the short end of the stick so now she crying!!! :|

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 11th, 2009, 10:02 am

pioneer wrote:Baptiste-Primus is a cnut anyhow

Some money go pass and she go STFU

its amazing dat during d unc time she & other union leaders used to be on d tv often braying about something d govt doing but when last u see she on tv , if wasnt 4 this u wouldnt know if she still around ... :roll: :roll: :roll:

ray d saint

Workers will be re-hired

Postby ray d saint » April 8th, 2009, 7:58 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009 ... e-re-hired

Most of the workers employed at Customs and Excise and the Board of Inland Revenue will be employed at the new T&T Revenue Authority. The rest will be transferred to other public service jobs. This was revealed yesterday by Minister in the Ministry of Finance Mariano Browne, as he responded to a motion on the adjournment in the Senate brought by Opposition Senator Wade Mark.The Public Services Association, which represents the workers, has mounted public protest action against the move. But Senator Browne said yesterday retrenchment of the workers was not on the agenda.

“The intention is not to put 2,175 people on the breadline, but to find mechanisms to filter across and to allow the best people to be employed in the new dispensation to fit the new jobs which are being built in this new institution.â€

Postby Damien » April 8th, 2009, 8:00 am

Yeah right thaiz bullsheit more than half of them would not be rehired

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » April 8th, 2009, 8:01 am

ray yuh take long wid the news this morning, wham?

bean_head

Postby bean_head » April 8th, 2009, 8:01 am

i seriously doubt that...

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » April 8th, 2009, 8:04 am

traffic, was takin in some views and pics of the water taxi.... :wink:

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2009, 9:19 am

they using this to weed out the lazy/WOFB ones?

Postby SR » April 8th, 2009, 9:21 am

yup
about time too

urabus

Postby urabus » April 8th, 2009, 9:24 am

is we money this gov't like to waste so

give them VSEP to rehire them, who are they trying to fool?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 8th, 2009, 11:44 am

Yeah right, and by 2020 we'll be a first world nation, candy will rain from the sky and Manning will ascend to his rightful place as the new Jesus.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 8th, 2009, 11:49 am

well if they get it in writing it will be good ....

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 8th, 2009, 11:54 am

they are onyl saying this to keep them quiet until their precious fcuk arse summit is over, Watch and see- as soon as the summit doen govt will be signing a new song and pfficers will be back at the picket lines again!

Postby Damien » April 8th, 2009, 1:16 pm

DTAC wrote:Yeah right, and by 2020 we'll be a first world nation, candy will rain from the sky and Manning will ascend to his rightful place as the new Jesus.

Crackpot

Help needed to stop the government!!!

Postby Crackpot » February 21st, 2010, 9:09 am

Any intelligent suggestions on what we the ppl can realistically do to stop the TTRA from becoming a reality will be appreciated.

I am of the opinion that if they could pass this legislation then what will stop them from saying teachers are corrupt and do the same or any other branch of government they see fit to interfere with. This means all professionals are not safe in this country and it could affect all of us.

I will start with the PSA taking collections and hiring a Queens Council :!:

Postby SMc » February 21st, 2010, 9:47 am

What is the TTRA? I serious :|

gtr_fever

Postby gtr_fever » February 21st, 2010, 9:58 am

SMc wrote:What is the TTRA? I serious :|

At first i thought was Trinidad and Tobago Rally Association...i was like WTF, cuz they already existing lol...

But then i realise he talking about Trinidad and Tobago Revenue Authority...

Postby ronsin1 » February 21st, 2010, 9:59 am

you sure it ain't the Trinidad and Tobago Rifle Association :|

gtr_fever

Postby gtr_fever » February 21st, 2010, 10:01 am

Hmmm..u cud be right u know ronsin1, lol