Chaguanas SSS running on 30th August, Fire works for so....

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: rcadiz, sio, 3ne2nr Mods

De Bench

Chaguanas SSS running on 30th August, Fire works for so....

Postby De Bench » April 16th, 2009, 7:18 am

There is a mass amount of gossip, ole talk, roumours, etc...... about this right now.

I have been told by diffrent persons that the Chaguanas SSS will be run again for another event to be announced.

Word is that some of the circuit cars will be making an apperance at this event.
I was also told that only cars fitted with rollcage and proper saftey devides such as fixed back racing seat, harnesses and equipped with proper fire suppression equipment will be allowed to compete.

Can anybody confirm deny the sepculation of this event ?
Last edited by De Bench on August 15th, 2009, 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Chaguanas SSS to be run again

Postby wagonrunner » April 16th, 2009, 7:42 am

De Bench wrote:There is a mass amount of gossip, ole talk, roumours, etc...... about this right now.

I have been told by diffrent persons that the Chaguanas SSS will be run again for another event to be announced.

Word is that some of the circuit cars will be making an apperance at this event.
I was also told that only cars fitted with rollcage and proper saftey devides such as fixed back racing seat, harnesses and equipped with proper fire suppression equipment will be allowed to compete.

Can anybody confirm deny the sepculation of this event ?

So much for the daily drivern dex cars, :(
Anyhow VK results really shouldn't be repeated. too many egos got bruised.

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2009, 8:31 am

shhhhhhhhhh

De Bench

Re: Chaguanas SSS to be run again

Postby De Bench » April 16th, 2009, 8:50 am

wagonrunner wrote:So much for the daily drivern dex cars, :(
Anyhow VK results really shouldn't be repeated. too many egos got bruised.

Somehow you don't seem to remember this or is it that there were no daily driven dex cars at this event ?

Solodex - Evo vs. Subaru Shoot Out!
16th November 2008
This event was undoubtedly the best 'dex event for the year. Not just for the racing, but the atmosphere, camaraderie and not to mention the food! This was part two of the shootout, the first being a drag race event held on October 4th. Ainsley Lochan put down the best time of the dex event in his Josef's/ULTRA sponsored Group A Evo 9.

http://www.trinituner.com/gallery/album2/index.php?v=list&i=0&p=2008/Solodex-evo-sti-16-11-08

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » April 16th, 2009, 12:01 pm

And Bench hits back hard. His opponent is down for the count 5..4..3..2..1 ...Its a KO

Postby wagonrunner » April 16th, 2009, 12:11 pm

typical. :lol:

hint - start looking at some of the times put down by the daily driven folk, and the vehicles / drivers who were slower. :lol: :lol: :lol:
now see he put link and thing, lemme do the same VK REsults

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » April 16th, 2009, 12:27 pm

This man could flog a dead horse boy....

Look what he gone and dust off....

rally cars / circuit cars / drag cars / karts - who gives a crap - we race we have fun somebody wins - somebody loses.....

I wonder if we did the VK event on the Preysal gravel loop instead or in a straight line on the highway if the results would have been the same.

and besides lets compare apples to apples - put Powell, Lochan, Mckenzie in the VK and lets see if the result would have been different.

Lochan and Powell show up to Solodex and all the rest of the VK big boys sit on the sideline and stay quiet.

at the end of the day different disciplines, different cars - who cares. tell you what stop posting very misrepresenting results and organize a lime and spoon race if you want to settle your beef

Postby wagonrunner » April 16th, 2009, 12:35 pm

i just saying, ona tarmac course, might be interesting to give other tarmac racers a run.
but guess the spirit of competition, sportsmanship doesn't cover that, by the comments above. :(
thought some would even be interested in a rematch of sorts, guess that's also a no go :(

given the fact that there are few opportunities, (well, imo was all of us) wouldnt it be nice to pool, rather than the above..............

i got no beef. :roll:, but will refrain from my type thinking.
*waits on further derogatory comments*

so once again fellas, i am sorry, and do apologize for misrepresenting.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 16th, 2009, 1:08 pm

wagonrunner wrote:i just saying, ona tarmac course, might be interesting to give other tarmac racers a run.
but guess the spirit of competition, sportsmanship doesn't cover that, by the comments above. :(
thought some would even be interested in a rematch of sorts, guess that's also a no go :(
given the fact that there are few opportunities, (well, imo was all of us) wouldnt it be nice to pool, rather than the above..............
i got no beef. :roll:, but will refrain from my type thinking.
*waits on further derogatory comments*
so once again fellas, i am sorry, and do apologize for misrepresenting.

Carl, nobody in TTRC have any beef to stew or axe to grind with you or your club.
However everytime you make a remark or comment about running with/aginst TTRC member you wear this VK event like a feather in your cap.
Nobody denied your members did good times or event the fastest time at VK.
Hopever, you constantly make ego remarks and other condesending remarks or suggestions about the potential outcome if a event with the clubs was held.

We will love to have CARS members run on the Chaguans SSS stage, but do you want Joe Blow think he can jump in mummy's car and go do what he just saw being done in a "Daily driven car" because he just saw your Wingroad running?

Let the event at Chagauans motivate you to taking the next step of building/buying a fully prepped competition car so you can aspire to be the great racer you are.

As Robbie said some win some lose, at the end all had fun.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » April 16th, 2009, 1:22 pm

Thank you Bench..

Postby wagonrunner » April 16th, 2009, 1:26 pm

Jerome,

i have no intention of sounding condescending.
I do however have fun with 'pecong', and when responded to, have absolutely no problem with it.

'However everytime you make a remark or comment about running with/aginst TTRC member you wear this VK event like a feather in your cap. "
It is, it means that at least on a GOOD tarmac surface, we can be considered competition. :lol: (again, normal good natured banter)
I know my limitations on gravel. As i'm certain most if not all dexers

"We will love to have CARS members run on the Chaguans SSS stage, but do you want Joe Blow think he can jump in mummy's car and go do what he just saw being done in a "Daily driven car" because he just saw your Wingroad running? "
Again, VK comes into play here, orignally was only persons who had proven themselves to keep safety over winning, had the chance to compete.
IE. not open to everyone.

"As Robbie said some win some lose, at the end all had fun."
I'm instigating a scenario where there can be winning or losing to be had, and at the end having more fun. :mrgreen:

Postby wagon r » April 16th, 2009, 1:32 pm

....i challenge rally drivers on gravel already.....

...some win, some lose........others roll... :!:

....* jumps in a orange lancer and peels out....*...

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 16th, 2009, 1:37 pm

Jerome,

i have no intention of sounding condescending.
I do however have fun with 'pecong', and when responded to, have absolutely no problem with it.

'However everytime you make a remark or comment about running with/aginst TTRC member you wear this VK event like a feather in your cap. "
It is, it means that at least on a GOOD tarmac surface, we can be considered competition. :lol:Have anyone at TTRC ever indicated less to you ? (again, normal good natured banter)
I know my limitations on gravel. As i'm certain most if not all dexers

"We will love to have CARS members run on the Chaguans SSS stage, but do you want Joe Blow think he can jump in mummy's car and go do what he just saw being done in a "Daily driven car" because he just saw your Wingroad running? "
Again, VK comes into play here, orignally was only persons who had proven themselves to keep safety over winning, had the chance to compete.
IE. not open to everyone.
Exactly how do you define your selection to the general public ?
Looking at the cars running would they know that these folks racing years now ?in a generalralized forum what you just described is considered "Discrimination with due cause".

"As Robbie said some win some lose, at the end all had fun."
I'm instigating a scenario where there can be winning or losing to be had, and at the end having more fun. :mrgreen:
Well to achieve this you should seriously persue your club to have a invitational with TTRC on your turf, say as a fund raiser for your club or as a thank you event for marshalling at RT09.
there are diffrent ways to achieve what you want done, pecoing here does not help your efforty.

See you in May

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 16th, 2009, 1:38 pm

wagon r wrote:....i challenge rally drivers on gravel already.....

...some win, some lose........others roll... :!:

....* jumps in a orange lancer and peels out....*...

I know which corner you on, watch yourself :wink: :wink:

Postby wagonrunner » April 16th, 2009, 1:41 pm

your 1st bolded statement, you won't want the honest answer to.
i'll leave everything else right there, with a

Thanks for the clarification.

sio

Postby sio » April 16th, 2009, 1:48 pm

Let me see if i can help here. Not to bring up a bad point of the Chaguanas sss put we had accidents and things can go round we are about safety. We are not about to put non preped cars to race and somone get hurt. It is hard enough to keep the fans safe. After all we are racing.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 16th, 2009, 4:30 pm

Hmmm...ah tell mehself ah not begging nobody to race again, steups.

But racing is racing, Roll cage is right for racing. Its interesting to note though that in Hillclimb events in the UK there are categories for race cars and road cars. You can find cars as diverse as an exF1or a Le mans prototype to mummy's mini. And I can tell you, the Chaguanas stage is very short and slow compared to some hillclimb stages i've seen run in the UK. I cant see a street car with about 75 to 100hp getting any great speed on that course esp since you can slow down the cars a lot with obstacles.

Anyway, safety first. We really dont want some unforeseen "incident" to spoil a good thing before it get to start.

BTW, i was thinking about getting a rollcage installed for my road car, dont know what my insurance company going to tell me though when they see it. Some of us cannot afford to have a racecar parked up in the garage.

But I ent know about a fire suppression system, why cant a fire extinguisher suffice.

Well, like they say, racing is a rich man's sport, the rest of us will only watch.....sighhhh.......

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 16th, 2009, 4:37 pm

after seeing that action at chag stage...street/daily driver cars need to come up to spec to compete....

karl there is a difference between the VK event and Tarmac rally....consider this...can u see street cars competing in Rally Barbados??

it would also shed a very bad imagine to motor sport in trinidad...
look a simple example..the amount of ass driving you see leaving movie towne after people look at FnF...
people who attend these events gonna say if that car could drive like that on the nation's road, so can I....

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 16th, 2009, 4:47 pm

Some of the Hillclimb regulations for production cars.....notice, installation of roll cage is not absolutely madatory for this category.

g) BODYWORK.
The bodywork must conform to the manufacturers silhouette above the centre line of the wheels. The bodyshell and/or chassis must be of the same material as originally specified. No body panels may be replaced by panels constructed of a material different than originally specified, except engine and boot covers. No additional holes or powere bulges are permitted in these two items. Modifications to the floor pan and inner wheel arches are prohibited.
Wheel arch extensions may be fitted but must not exceed 2 inches in width at any point, except where available as a factory option.

h) INTERIOR FIXTURES & FITTINGS.
Removal of seats and interior trim (with the exception of carpets/floor mats), is prohibited.
Front seats may be replaced by fully trimmed "competition" seats. Rear seats must remain as original and be fitted.
Windscreen may be replaced by one constructed of laminated glass. The construction material of all other windows may not be changed and the opening mechanism, as specified by the manufacturer, must remain fitted and be operable.
Internal safety roll-over bar(s) may be fitted, but no suspension loads may be fed into them.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CJglCauHj3c&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>
Last edited by djaggs on April 16th, 2009, 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2009, 4:48 pm

all ah we is one famahleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Mini

Postby Mini » April 16th, 2009, 9:58 pm

djaggs wrote:
BTW, i was thinking about getting a rollcage installed for my road car, dont know what my insurance company going to tell me though when they see it. Some of us cannot afford to have a racecar parked up in the garage.

But I ent know about a fire suppression system, why cant a fire extinguisher suffice.

I think a fire extinguisher can work... that's what Bench meant by fire suppression system (he just used a big word)...the TTRC rules say minimum one or combination of 2 extinguishers that add up to 5lbs total

a roll cage in a road can can be uncomfortable and dangerous... way back before solodex made helmets mandatory.... once you had a roll cage in the car... you had to wear a helmet... the idea is in a roll your head going to bang the cage pretty hard... so unless you gonna be driving around most times with a hemlet, I won't advise a roll cage...

that said... maybe if you don't have back seat passengers all the time, you can put a half cage in the back, and bolt in the front for events such as this

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 16th, 2009, 11:18 pm

Back then, in my lil March, when we used to run Nav events, and pull up to a SS, put on helmets, run the SS, end stage, take off helmets and continue Nav., I had a half cage installed, with the two supporting back braces bolted in top and bottom – back seat folded down. But the overhead hoop was fully padded. At the end of the event, when we all gathered to exchange experiences, I would take about 10 minutes, remove the back braces, bring back-seat upright, and car back to family use.

Now I know today the rules are more stringent. But if you want to do something bad enough you can find a way to do it.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 17th, 2009, 8:39 am

Thanks for the advice, i didnt think about making it removable. I actually sourced a roll cage that comes in two parts, rear and front. That doesnt sound too bad... :D

DEVI

Postby DEVI » April 17th, 2009, 9:05 am

so if people wanted to prep their Swifts and Mirages?....how much time we got to see if this rumour is true?

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » April 17th, 2009, 9:44 am

DEVI wrote:how much time we got to see if this rumour is true?

Probably a 2 years, tek yuh time...

Then again TP BIG in Chaguanas eh, so yuh never know :lol:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 17th, 2009, 9:45 am

DEVI wrote:so if people wanted to prep their Swifts, Ignis and Mirages?....how much time we got to see if this rumour is true?

10k for a 60+ second course :cry: :cry:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 17th, 2009, 10:35 am

I can get a nice autosport cage for about 500US that can unbolt to convert for street use. Shipping's gonna be a beyotch though... :(

Can get for the Mirage too Devi, if youre interested.

Its SCCA and IMSA approved.

This is just the rear half, the full cage includes a front portion. Hopefully this wud be sufficient.
Last edited by djaggs on April 17th, 2009, 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 17th, 2009, 10:48 am

Why wait until the time is nigh! And it will be in a month or two.

Do it now, and with the main hoop in place PERMANENTLY, and PROPERLY PADDED, you now have a lil more protection in case of a T-bone attack.
Try using a 4-point or a 5-point harness, and suddenly, mentally, you will find that bit more "security and protection", and might even go a bit faster.

It is a real cool experience to do a 360 roll, feel your knees alone moving about, land back on all fours, and ready to go again - once you find your spectacles!

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 17th, 2009, 10:52 am

AutoSport wrote:It is a real cool experience to do a 360 roll, feel your knees alone moving about, land back on all fours, and ready to go again - once you find your spectacles!

sheit !!! I change meh mind !!!!! :D :D :D :D

puta civic
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby puta civic » April 17th, 2009, 11:46 am

Look there is only one way to settle this
AH CURRY DUCK COOK OFF!!!

Rally vs Dex vs Circuit vs Carting vs DWO vs Bikers vs
Dem boy who does drive a 1/4mile straight line and call dem self drivers

:twisted:

Return to “TTRC - Rally”