Schools beg parents for help to pay light bills

ray d saint

Schools beg parents for help to pay light bills

Postby ray d saint » May 6th, 2009, 7:02 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,99643.html

OPPOSITION Senator Mohammed Faisal Rahman yesterday claimed denominational schools must now ask for help to pay their electricity bill from parents of students.

His claim came as he spoke in the Senate debate on the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (Amendment) Bill 2009 which transfers public street-lighting from municipal councils to the control of the Government.

Defending local corporations for not paying their electricity bills as earlier alleged by Local Government Minister Hazel Manning, Rahman said the corporations are not getting enough funds from the Government to do so. He then dropped his bombshell to claim the Ministry of Education has told denominational schools to now foot their own electricity bills. “The schools have been told by the minister to ask children to ask parents for subscriptions to pay the electricity bills.â€

Postby crazybalhead » May 6th, 2009, 7:08 am

Nice man. But edumacation not important anyway.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 6th, 2009, 7:14 am

So not only you have to pay for usage in u r homes, but now in order for our kids to get a proper education, we need to now 'financially assist', of which most of us parents already do... the schools they attend to cover electricity bills...

:? :? :?

But don't worry the Interchange/Overpass alleviating traffic so doh worry... everything nice...

Postby Damien » May 6th, 2009, 7:17 am

Children going to school in the day so they dont need lights ,i say open the windows and teach them or close down all schools for a year till the recession over

Postby Greypatch » May 6th, 2009, 7:17 am

tell dem dont use the as in the principal office and teachers lounge

Postby Damien » May 6th, 2009, 7:19 am

Greypatch wrote:tell dem dont use the ac in the principal office and teachers lounge

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 6th, 2009, 7:20 am

^^ well teachers need to be 'cool' before going to class... :| :|

Postby Greypatch » May 6th, 2009, 7:23 am

what is the principal doing about it....

does he infom the pta...does he contact the school supervisor...

inform tuta to add pressure to the ministry to foot the bill or increase funding if the allocation is insufficent.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 6th, 2009, 8:17 am

Is an air conditioned classroom a necessity? A few years back only the computer room, principal's office and library of most schools had ac

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 6th, 2009, 8:22 am

for that matter is an air conditioned office really necessary, or one with lights? nah man

only in the night allyuh office should put on the lights and sweat it out during the day............... or you should contribute to the electric bill.

no empathy for anybody these days boy :(

streak

Postby streak » May 6th, 2009, 8:23 am

This is real bullsheit ... children suffer in crowded classrooms with a small fan while teachers have the luxury of ac units in their lounge (staffroom)

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 6th, 2009, 8:27 am

exactly, so why sat that air conditioned classrooms are common.

*edit**my former* primary school, no classroom/office/library was ac. just fans.

JWT

Postby JWT » May 6th, 2009, 8:28 am

streak wrote:This is real bullsheit ... children suffer in crowded classrooms with a small fan while teachers have the luxury of ac units in their lounge (staffroom)

so why the arse you and disgruntled parents go in POS and protest conditions for your kids

reverse thinking again

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 6th, 2009, 10:34 am

heres my suggestion, take of lights in the school when the night come.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 6th, 2009, 10:37 am

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » May 6th, 2009, 10:46 am

Zeriam wrote:here's my suggestion, take of lights in the school when the night come.

i think this is a good idea since no one will be attending school at night they should really have the lights taken off at night. The way some schools are built when the lights are off in the day you dont really see properly. If you noticed most schools when you pass at night the lights are on, so if the lights are on at night and they also need it on in the day that means those light are rarely taken off. i would say alot of electricity being wasted there.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 6th, 2009, 10:50 am

Soundwave wrote:if the chirren naturally bright this would not be a problem...
bulb soup should be part of the school feeding program.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 6th, 2009, 11:04 am

buh ent the ministry supposed to provide money to school to pay for these things...

dont blame the teachers for the problem...

Hazel and company spranging all the money....

i now understand why the minister of education driving a

hazel talking a pack ah sheit bout not gettin funding to pay bills....

Postby Maserati » May 6th, 2009, 11:13 am

JWT wrote:
streak wrote:This is real bullsheit ... children suffer in crowded classrooms with a small fan while teachers have the luxury of ac units in their lounge (staffroom)

so why the arse you and disgruntled parents go in POS and protest conditions for your kids

reverse thinking again

men vexing that SOME members of the faculty have a/c
wham they not people too? they don't deserve some decent working conditions, being a teacher is one of the most stressful jobs.

Postby Damien » May 6th, 2009, 11:18 am

Teachers are criminals :lol:

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » May 6th, 2009, 11:18 am

Maserati wrote:
JWT wrote:

reverse thinking again

men vexing that SOME members of the faculty have a/c
wham they not people too? they don't deserve some decent working conditions, being a teacher is one of the most stressful jobs.

I agree, What should happen is Government Ministers should lead by example, but the PM thinks his work load increase now and its not right to take a pay cut...but you average citizens must tighten your belts while he lives in a Palace built by tax payers dollars and purchase luxury fleet of vehicles

Postby X_Factor » May 6th, 2009, 11:41 am

btw, the teachers staff room/longue is a/c rite...exactly how much time does the teacher spend in these places again?...lunchtime, maybe before school, during break time?

im pretty sure the teachers dont teach the pupils in the same classroom under the same circumstances?...they teach them from their a/c'ed lounge...rite..i forgot..

i doubt a little portion of the summit $$ could have solved all this ent?
maybe a little part of the cost for the vehicles?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 6th, 2009, 12:23 pm

How come denominational schools always crying for money :|

Postby X_Factor » May 6th, 2009, 12:29 pm

shouldnt they cry?
they do get the better results than the government schools dont they?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 6th, 2009, 12:33 pm

^ no they dont...they only get a small percentage from the government