ray d saint

State beats Bakr in Privy Council

Postby ray d saint » May 6th, 2009, 7:07 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/crime/2009/0 ... vy-council

Jamaat leader loses 11 properties...

Jamaat al Muslimeen leader Yasin Abu Bakr yesterday lost his appeal in the Privy Council, as the State moved closer to selling off 11 properties to satisfy a $32 million debt arising from the destruction of Police Headquarters during the 1990 attempted coup.

Bakr was hoping that the Law Lords would reinstate an affidavit he filed, but the Privy Council, in a 12-page judgment, said it was irrelevant to the proceedings. “It is on this ground of irrelevance, rather than that of any inconvenience or embarrassment to the Prime Minister, that the board consider that the decision of the Court of Appeal should be affirmed,â€

noobie

Postby noobie » May 6th, 2009, 9:13 am

After all these years, this case is still going?

can anything that happens after more than ten years really be considered justice anymore?

Postby buzz » May 6th, 2009, 9:18 am

:roll: ^

Postby buzz » May 6th, 2009, 9:18 am

Bakr claimed that during meetings with Manning, he was asked to mobilise young people to vote for the People’s National Movement (PNM) in marginal constituencies in 2002

whe we PNM mod?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 6th, 2009, 9:22 am

noobie, is a good name fuh you

neoise

Postby neoise » May 6th, 2009, 9:22 am

:stalk:

noobie

Postby noobie » May 6th, 2009, 9:35 am

rodfarva wrote:noobie, is a good name fuh you

lol!
You know how many people would love a civil suit that allowed them to sit for twenty years to earn the money to pay it off?
That's not justice. This thing should have been heard and a judgement should have been obtained, appeals and all that decades ago.

There are people in Trinidad to this day that haven't seen any justice from 1990.Their businesses were destroyed - No compensation from insurance. They were held at gunpoint, shot at...faced hordes of looters on pickups with guns...forced to barricade themselves in their neighbourhoods...

Will there be any justice for them in all of this? 20 years on?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 6th, 2009, 9:38 am

noobie wrote:

lol!
You know how many people would love a civil suit that allowed them to sit for twenty years to earn the money to pay it off?
That's not justice. This thing should have been heard and a judgement should have been obtained, appeals and all that decades ago.

There are people in Trinidad to this day that haven't seen any justice from 1990.Their businesses were destroyed - No compensation from insurance. They were held at gunpoint, shot at...faced hordes of looters on pickups with guns...forced to barricade themselves in their neighbourhoods...

point taken, but our legal system has always been slow. Thats nothing new. Its also similar in other countries. I'm not saying its good or anything, I'm just saying that its our reality.
And some justice is better than no justice.

Postby ronsin1 » May 6th, 2009, 9:43 am

buzz wrote:
Bakr claimed that during meetings with Manning, he was asked to mobilise young people to vote for the People’s National Movement (PNM) in marginal constituencies in 2002

whe we PNM mod?

Postby Dave » May 6th, 2009, 11:47 am

who say coup after he losses?

Postby joker » May 6th, 2009, 12:12 pm

who say coup after he losses?

:fadein:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 6th, 2009, 12:14 pm

DAVE.... HMMMMMMMM! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

bunny

Postby bunny » May 6th, 2009, 5:40 pm

HMM COURT INTEREST@12% ON 15 M....DATS ALOT.

Postby pete » May 6th, 2009, 6:02 pm

Lol. He has to sell #1 Mucurapo Road? :lol:

trdboy

Postby trdboy » May 6th, 2009, 6:10 pm

only in trinidad a man could kill ppl outright...hijack the government, destroy property,and wreak havoc and be out in the world free suing the state normal normal......

manning and bakr bulling long time

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 6th, 2009, 6:50 pm

dais all them properties worth?

what is the value of #1 Mucurapo?

Postby brams112 » May 6th, 2009, 7:14 pm

them not selling nothing,bah krrrrr done get money long time to offset this thing,as for manning, he was one of the people who conspired just to gain power >bah krr said so on power102 a long time ago,because if he didnt pnm was no more at that time because nar had 33 seats and was doing its best to bring back tnt from the hole the mf's put us in,i see us going there again,,,,,,, :mrgreen:

slick

Postby slick » May 7th, 2009, 7:51 pm

hmm...

Postby Sky » May 7th, 2009, 8:01 pm

noobie wrote:

lol!

Decades ago?

Postby buzz » May 7th, 2009, 8:38 pm

well i suppose anything more than one is plural

1.9 decades ? :?

Mr. Cheese

July 27th 1990

Postby Mr. Cheese » July 26th, 2009, 8:14 pm

Hmmmm...19 yrs ago

Postby bluefete » July 26th, 2009, 8:15 pm

It still around.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » July 26th, 2009, 8:21 pm

I was by my granny house playing driving game on couch with my cousin :|

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » July 26th, 2009, 8:22 pm

grim reminders...here it is..

Also try this link...embedding is disabled.

Last edited by slimshiney on July 26th, 2009, 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » July 26th, 2009, 8:43 pm

copy n paste too ? :|

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » July 26th, 2009, 8:45 pm

^^^sorry.. fixed :wink:
Last edited by slimshiney on July 26th, 2009, 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

+G0thiC_CitY+

Postby +G0thiC_CitY+ » July 26th, 2009, 8:45 pm

i was in the stadium....

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 26th, 2009, 9:09 pm

was sitting on the floor eyes glued to the tv watching steelpan on TTT juss b4 panorama

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » July 26th, 2009, 9:15 pm

way hoss i feelin lil ole...19 yrs ago...i was in meh granny porch eatin a apple meh daddy peel for me...

+G0thiC_CitY+

Postby +G0thiC_CitY+ » July 26th, 2009, 9:16 pm

man does peel apple? :shock: