Civic Headlight Beam

transporter001

Civic Headlight Beam

Postby transporter001 » April 24th, 2009, 8:42 am

The headlight beam in my civic need some focusing or something,
The beam has a small area of high intensity an around it has a lot of glare. I looked for adjustment for the focusing, but there is only an up/down, left right adjuster.

The above pic shows the intensity and the light around it.
Anyone knows what i can do to fix this?

BTW, The car is a 98 ek3 civic, an bulb type is H4

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 24th, 2009, 8:53 am

yuh could go thru this thread http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=128573

even tho is bout HIDs they have some stuff in dere bout how to focus yuh lights properly..

i donno bout the civic lights specifically...

buh i know when my lights were all over d place i went by masterserv and they align the lights using the lil machine thing which dramatically improved it

i know my left side light a lil scattered buh thas cause inside the light housing itself get dusty (condensation i think)

Postby crazybalhead » April 24th, 2009, 9:04 am

Transporter, try cleaning your lens with a plastic polish like mother's or sonax. That MAY help, and certainly can't hurt.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 24th, 2009, 9:40 am

I agree. Clean the headlight first and then test it. If it's still no good then get them aimed by a professional for best performance.

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » April 24th, 2009, 9:51 am

Oh, i forgot to mention. I buffed the headlights and i was still getting the problem. I also opened the headlight and cleaned the reflective lens and plastic lens with glass cleaner, still same problem

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » May 6th, 2009, 2:32 pm

I was doing some research on this. Apparently cheaper made bulbs have less precise placement of the filament. From physical comparison it was clear that the filament on the old bulb was a bit out of shape and the part to block the light below the filament was also at a bad angle.
I replaced it with a pair of stanley H4 bulbs and everything is back to order now.

Postby bushwakka » May 6th, 2009, 4:55 pm

good 2 hear

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » May 6th, 2009, 7:09 pm

noice!!!

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 6th, 2009, 7:45 pm

where you got the bulbs to buy ???............i have the same problem and it scattering all over the place and did everything you did ......but i know them bulbs going through and i doh wah non ah them xenon 100 sheit with the blue tint ...waste ah time bulbs IMO!!!

Postby equipped2ripp » May 6th, 2009, 7:47 pm

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » May 6th, 2009, 9:47 pm

Someone gave me the bulbs, not too sure where they got it. Check motorist or any one of those places to get original or good brand bulbs.
I bought a pair of xenon bulbs a few weeks ago, the colour temperature will be different, but the light output will definitely be less in terms of lumens.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 6th, 2009, 11:53 pm

kool........equipped2ripp doh worry when i buy the next car ah go check yh ...doh relly wah put silverstars in as yet :wink:

Postby equipped2ripp » May 6th, 2009, 11:59 pm

I should have StreetGlow H4.. $100.00 per pair. If you want that, let me know. I'll check if I have any pairs remaining.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 7th, 2009, 12:05 am

what's the wattage on that bro ???

Postby equipped2ripp » May 7th, 2009, 12:54 am

I think it's 90/100W... not sure. Would check later on today and let you know.

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » May 7th, 2009, 8:43 am

Just remember to upgrade your wiring when changing from stock bulbs (55/60) to higher wattage bulbs (90/100). You'll definitely need to change the sockets (the stock ones will burn out).

I used this diagram to make way for the 100w bulbs

i would advise you do this before you install the higher wattage bulbs.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 7th, 2009, 9:40 pm

doh worry bout that ...thise why i asking what wattage and i am in the process of installing them ....i is ah garage man so i know my thing :mrgreen:

also when advising ppl on this type of upgrade be sure to warn them bout overheating .....if you have plastic headlights,and you install 100/110 headlights bulb with relays remember that there is a chance that you can damage thr housing of the plastic headlights due to the heat :wink:

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 7th, 2009, 9:41 pm