WTK: Who is the best optometrist?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 9th, 2009, 4:29 pm

¤Sabrina¤ wrote:
pugboy wrote:do they have their own lens making lab or sub to someone else ?
ferreira's has their own lab

OT has their own lab too, but depending on the type of lens you want they order it specifically for you

i've tested with Ferreira's for the past 12yrs, but just glasses with regular lenses and contacts
i recently switched to OT when i decided to get AR lenses and i heard that people who work at value and ferr go to ot

Eurogirl, Optique is Ferreira's high end boutique

it was de only place i coulda get an appointment ah sat abt 4pm .

*shrugs* no matter i find they cheap compared to OT , plus Ot does give u a lower prescription , my sis did her contacts with them and she don't even use them anymore coz, they gave her permenant and told her that they don't do her prescription in Temp's yet when she went Optique she get a pair of temp her prescription to try on frames .

so i dunno I just go with de flow my sister tell me go dey so i went and them treat me good so i say ok :D

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2009, 4:31 pm

all them places is banditry
a lens costs a few dollars USD to make
frame markup is like 150%

they get tons of free contacts to use as samples from the distributors

Postby bluesteel29 » July 9th, 2009, 4:38 pm

pugboy wrote:all them places is banditry
a lens costs a few dollars USD to make

they get tons of free contacts to use as samples from the distributors

cah blame them....
.....survival of the fittest :|

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 9th, 2009, 8:43 pm

eurogirl wrote:*shrugs* no matter i find they cheap compared to OT , plus Ot does give u a lower prescription , my sis did her contacts with them and she don't even use them anymore coz, they gave her permenant and told her that they don't do her prescription in Temp's yet when she went Optique she get a pair of temp her prescription to try on frames .
so i dunno I just go with de flow my sister tell me go dey so i went and them treat me good so i say ok :D

optique and cheap?? they have alot of the Parisian brands which start at 4000
she probably got trial lenses to try on frames, most likely acuvue which all the places stock
i have to wait 2-3 weeks for my trial contacts in a new prescription to be ordered, this was at both ferr and ot, as neither really stocks the brand i use, they all try to push acuvue
and both places usually order higher and lower presc for me to try and we settle on the one that gives me the best vision

more like 300%

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » July 9th, 2009, 8:46 pm

check a good dentists, them does have good eye.

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2009, 9:03 pm

one thing about ferreira is they train all their staff to introduce themselves and shake your hand complete with plastic smile

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 9th, 2009, 9:15 pm

pugboy wrote:one thing about ferreira is they train all their staff to introduce themselves and shake your hand complete with plastic smile

they have a particular woman in price plaza that miss that training
nobody has ever shaken my hand there
in the past i had issues with them, they broke a pair of new frames, and they lost a pair, they had to replace both times, but that was about 8-10yrs ago
i was skeptical about their AR otherwise i woulda stuck with them, the optom i see for contact lens fitting is very thorough there

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 9th, 2009, 9:25 pm

¤Sabrina¤ wrote:
eurogirl wrote:*shrugs* no matter i find they cheap compared to OT , plus Ot does give u a lower prescription , my sis did her contacts with them and she don't even use them anymore coz, they gave her permenant and told her that they don't do her prescription in Temp's yet when she went Optique she get a pair of temp her prescription to try on frames .

optique and cheap?? they have alot of the Parisian brands which start at 4000
she probably got trial lenses to try on frames, most likely acuvue which all the places stock
i have to wait 2-3 weeks for my trial contacts in a new prescription to be ordered, this was at both ferr and ot, as neither really stocks the brand i use, they all try to push acuvue
and both places usually order higher and lower presc for me to try and we settle on the one that gives me the best vision

more like 300%

Yea I had to wait on my contacts as well coz the 1st set i got wasn't fitting properly apparently my eye to big or something .

What's wrong with acuvue ? Yup I got the same I had to try lower 1 day then higher then next then my Optmerist realiseded my eye was to big so she had to re order the set and well drama drama again .

I'm 80% contacts , very rare I wear my glasses unless i'm really tired I mainly go to them for contacts . I have my glasses from a specialist .

hmm I saw the prices but thing is compared to OT they are wey cheaper also , u're allowed to shop @ the other ferreira's outlets u go in and choose u're frame and they would send it to watever branch u want to collect it at , is just optique is convieniet to me coz they open late on sat 's anddddddddd they make awesome tea!! .

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 9th, 2009, 9:32 pm

i have astigmatism, acuvue just doesnt give me the vision i want
i use purevision toric, a thicker lens but it doesnt rotate like how acuvue does in my eye
i wanted frames from optique - all plastic as nosepads leave imprints but they didnt have anything in my size, i was quite disappointed
i wear contacts everyday for 12+ hrs but i wanted to be able to switch it up more since i finally found a really cool frame that i tried on at ot but bought online for a third the price

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 9th, 2009, 9:44 pm

Whats the site u brought u're frames from ?

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 10th, 2009, 8:38 am

got the best price on framesdirect cuz i had a coupon
i also looked at them on amazon and bestbuyeyeglasses
they were real cheap on ebay but i only buy from reputable sellers

triniangie

Postby triniangie » July 10th, 2009, 8:51 am

Ferreira Optical customer service is the best hands down...i dnt mind paying a lil extra to go sme wer that makes me feel like if I'm buying something rather that making me feel as if im doing them a favor.
As for testing, i had some concerns n i was given a letter to go to a specialist to speed up my appointment.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » July 10th, 2009, 8:52 am

D&G frames suck

Airlock - best rimless brand I know

Postby noshownogo » July 10th, 2009, 9:16 am

¤Sabrina¤, 12+ hrs with contacts? you doh get headaches with them on that long?

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 10th, 2009, 9:37 am

noshownogo wrote:¤Sabrina¤, 12+ hrs with contacts? you doh get headaches with them on that long?

nope they are silicone hydrogel lenses and are one of 2 brands approved for 30days of continuous wear without removal, they allow normal levels of oxygen to pass through like if u werent wearing contacts, so i can sleep in them etc
but i am advised to remove them nightly for 6hrs as i have really bad allergies

http://www.bausch.com/en_US/ecp/visionc ... toric.aspx

http://www.allaboutvision.com/contacts/ ... drogel.htm

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 10th, 2009, 9:43 am

wit ferreria FTW ...with them for 16 yrs now ...used Imperail optcial & they was the worst ever.... the frame broke 2 weeks after jus so thanks god it had something called warranty & mind you they took like 2 weeks to get another form the manuf.
Ferreria is the best for me...