Outboard Engine Overboard

halfbreed

Outboard Engine Overboard

Postby halfbreed » July 13th, 2009, 1:45 pm

Need some advice.
long story short, an muffler bearing drove the boat without bolting down the engine properly and it fell overboard. it was underwater for a couple days and divers recovered it this morning.

Can anyone advise me as to what needs to be done to make sure the engine wil operate properly without any anything going wrong? Eninge is a Yamaha 55

a cost will be much appreciated as well. thanks

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 13th, 2009, 1:53 pm

contact yamaha service department, as letting any1 other than a yamaha technician may void any little warranty they give...and u cannot just let it dry and say it gonna start..

Postby bluesteel29 » July 13th, 2009, 2:07 pm

:bump:

Postby RBphoto » July 13th, 2009, 2:10 pm

D money you pay them divers couldah probably buy a new one?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2009, 2:10 pm

623-1221 - E Lee Agencies
they are the authorised Yamaha Dealers (Marine) in T&T

Postby bluesteel29 » July 13th, 2009, 2:12 pm

^
daz on St. Vincent St???

monkeyman

Postby monkeyman » July 13th, 2009, 2:12 pm

Pressure :!:

Postby Maserati » July 13th, 2009, 2:13 pm

couple days underwater? If salt water then rust :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2009, 2:13 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:^
daz on St. Vincent St???

no the phone number is on my phone

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 13th, 2009, 2:16 pm

:shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2009, 2:19 pm

Jokes... :| :| :|

Postby bluesteel29 » July 13th, 2009, 2:22 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:^
daz on St. Vincent St???

no the phone number is on my phone

careful ya fone get pregnant :|

Postby noshownogo » July 13th, 2009, 2:25 pm

complete rebuild of the engine, this has happened before and is not as uncommon as you'd think, if a man didn't lock it down properly to the boat is some ole ting that dry rot and the engine fall into the sea.

air wick

Postby air wick » July 13th, 2009, 2:29 pm

that almost happen to me once, the vibrations does cause the turn locks to slacken.

as a precaution, we does use those rubber straps and pass it through the handle and strap them on either sides of the boat

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » July 13th, 2009, 3:25 pm

Corsar Marine on Independence Ave in San F'do
657-4880

Dey would sort yuh out

slimshiney

Re: Outboard Engine Overboard

Postby slimshiney » July 13th, 2009, 4:19 pm

halfbreed wrote:Need some advice.
long story short, an muffler bearing drove the boat without bolting down the engine properly and it fell overboard. it was underwater for a couple days and divers recovered it this morning.

Can anyone advise me as to what needs to be done to make sure the engine wil operate properly without any anything going wrong? Eninge is a Yamaha 55

a cost will be much appreciated as well. thanks

Story sounds familiar :lol: did this happen in the Gulf..of Petrotrin..... week before sunday....

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 13th, 2009, 4:24 pm

pioneer wrote:Ask for Mikhail when allyuh go by Corsar :shock:

its CORSA no R at the end and ask for riaaz or try 299-1040 he is the certified mechanic

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » July 13th, 2009, 4:29 pm

thanks for the responses. this incident happened on friday very close to five islands. Just had the boat repainted.
I usually bolt down the engine to the transom in addition to the clamps but fcking BUGWAANAAS who don't know how to work hard to get anything decided they were not gonna put the engine back on properly.
it only cost me $500. to recover the engine but things tight these days and it was very shitty to have this happen and now i still have to tear down and rebuild? how much might this cost me?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 13th, 2009, 4:35 pm

it would cost u a bit.cuz of salt and possible corrosion etc but call the numbers and talk to the mechanics see what they have to say and go from there..

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 14th, 2009, 8:15 am

check lee on st vincent street
authrized dealers for yamaha

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » July 14th, 2009, 10:31 am

u need to do a full rebuild cause salt water will get into the crank an all them seals an piston an so forth . send me a pm if u need a mechanic to talk to . He is located in La Soufrie Mritime compund goes by the name of Derrick. The best there is to rebuild engines .

Sabot

Postby Sabot » July 14th, 2009, 11:58 am

sliperywhenwet wrote:u need to do a full rebuild cause salt water will get into the crank an all them seals an piston an so forth . send me a pm if u need a mechanic to talk to . He is located in La Soufrie Mritime compund goes by the name of Derrick. The best there is to rebuild engines .

Derrick is very good 8-)

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » July 14th, 2009, 12:03 pm

How much for a 55 these days, 16k?

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » July 14th, 2009, 12:08 pm

that would be brand new?? bought mine used, paid $8k for it and it performed excellent.

thanks again for all the suggestions. i'm checking them all out to see what my best option would be.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » July 14th, 2009, 12:42 pm

RichieRich wrote:How much for a 55 these days, 16k?

25k :shock:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 14th, 2009, 2:44 pm

this happened to my neighbors 200 hp Yamaha, last year , it was under water for 6-10 hours . On previous repairs we observed the high priced mechanic from peakes and did not use him again . With that basic know how , we were able to drain all fluids , clean and spray all electrical contacts and with 1 and a half days of work all was well. the only addition was a change of ecu which we also did.

I hear fisherfolk from Guya talk about a Derrick , i thought he was based in San Fernando

Postby pete » July 14th, 2009, 3:34 pm

It's a good practice to not only rely on the standard bolts to hold on the engine. Should also tie off the engine to another part of the boat(with rope or chain) so that should the engine fall off it won't go far.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 14th, 2009, 4:56 pm

DO NOT go to Corsa....they are too expensive for parts and service.....E Lee doesnt repair as far as i remeber but rather sends their work to Yamaha Outboard Services in Marabella.......owner is Yamaha trained and Certified......prices are way better that Corsa.............653-3703, 653 1702
call around 8 am, and explain the situation...........

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » July 15th, 2009, 9:48 am

^^^ AHA!!! i was tryin to remember who told me they did work on an engine that was undr the sea for a couple months. it was u ent cacas??!

well, without me knowing, after the engine was retrieved, a guy at the boatyard apparently assisted my uncle with the scrapping down, flushing out and mounting back up. still haven't heard what was done but the engine has been started and so far its functioning properly.

thanks all for the help, i documented all the information just in case i need it again.

Deo Ramkissoon

Postby Deo Ramkissoon » July 15th, 2009, 10:22 am

If all fails check with Daryl's in marabella, resonable prices or I can get a 175hp for about 16K ,1000 running hrs.