The Karamath Case Re Guns and Drugs. Dec 15th 2010

Postby Maserati » July 16th, 2009, 2:02 am

GARDENER Jameel Ali, 49, and his 24-year-old son, Qadir, were "always together", his wife, Bettie, said yesterday.

The duo tended to their garden together, sold the produce they picked together, and yesterday on the West-bound lane of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway in St Augustine, the duo died together.

According to police reports, around 3.25 a.m., father and son were both killed after the Mazda pick-up truck they were travelling in burst into flames after a collision with an Audi Sport Utility Vehicle. The pair were burnt beyond recognition in the fire. Their van was crumpled into a burning ball and the Audi was also completely destroyed by fire, investigating officers said.

The Audi was driven by 21-year-old Khalil Karamath, son of the owner of contracting firm HKL Ltd, Hafeez Karamath, police said. Karamath is said to have walked away from the accident with minor injuries.

Just before midnight on Tuesday, Jameel and Qadir left their home at Jackson Street, Petit Bourg, to go to the National Agricultural Marketing Development Corporation's (Namdevco) farmers' market in Macoya, Bettie said yesterday. They went to the Macoya market to sell the celery, zucchini and sweet pepper produce they picked at their Mt Lambert farm earlier in the day.

The duo normally returned home from the market around 4 a.m. And when Jameel's father, Kenneth, did not see his son and grandson return home after 5 a.m., the family became panicked. Several calls to their cellphones remained unanswered, fuelling fear and speculation by the family, Kenneth said.

"When I didn't see the van in the driveway at five this morning, I began to worry. What if they get robbed? What if the rain caused them to be unable to sell the produce?" Kenneth said.

So Kenneth and Bettie decided to take a road-trip to look for the missing duo. When they arrived at the Macoya market, a farmer there said that father and son left the compound together sometime after 3 a.m. yesterday and Qadir was driving.

When Kenneth and Bettie passed the highway where the fatal accident occurred, all they saw was burnt debris from the vehicles being washed away by fire officers. They never thought it could be their missing relatives who were the victims in the accident.

However, it was a 6 a.m. radio newscast about the accident, and the deceased passengers of a van, that alerted the Alis to the possibility to finding their lost relatives.

Kenneth later visited the St Joseph Police Station, where he identified the burnt shell of his son's van. He collapsed at the entrance to the police station after he saw it.

Bettie later identified the bodies at the Forensic Science Centre in St James, where the autopsies were done yesterday.

Jameel was looking forward to celebrating his father's 80th birthday next month, Bettie said.

And Jameel's mother, Sheila, who was said to have recovered from illness earlier this week, was said to be distraught by the deaths.

Sgt Patrick of the St Joseph Police Station is continuing investigations.

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,103824.html

Father, son die in crash

By RHONDOR DOWLAT Thursday, July 16 2009

A FATHER and his son were burnt to death in an early morning crash yesterday along the Churchill Roosevelt Highway. The accident involved another vehicle, driven by the son of a contractor. The father and son were returning to their San Juan home after selling vegetables at the Macoya market.

The father and son were identified as Jameel Ali, 47, and Qadir Ali, 24, of Jackson Street, Petit Bourg, San Juan.

According to police reports, shortly after 4 am yesterday a black Audi SUV driven by Khalil Karamath, son of contractor Hafeez Karamath, was proceeding west along the highway when the accident occurred.

Police said Karamath was driving along the centre lane when a white Mazda pickup van, heading in the same direction, swerved onto the centre lane from the left lane, slamming into the Audi Q7 SUV.

Police said that on impact, the van burst into flames and flipped over several times, trapping both father and son inside who were burnt to death. The Audi, police said, also flipped over several times before landing at the side of the road. Karamath, police said, received no injuries.

A party of officers from the St Joseph Police Station, including PCs Rollocks, Lucien and Gopaul arrived on the scene along with fire appliances from the San Juan and Tunapuna Fire Stations. The fire officers had to use their hydraulic cutter ‘Jaws of Life’ to cut free the charred bodies from the wreck. The bodies were removed and taken to the Forensic Science Centre in St James.

A female relative, identified only as Jameel’s niece positively identified both bodies.

Karamath could not be reached for comment. However, police said up to late yesterday they were yet to take an official statement from him. Investigations are continuing.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 16th, 2009, 2:15 am

equal2zero, I must know you then,....I'm also related to them. May they RIP.

SR wrote:

not aware they owned a q7

he drives a black range rover

its 4 Q7's about 3 Range Rovers,..a set of CRV's, they may have more than 4 Q7's and 3 RR's, thats the amount I saw last time by one of their homes......as banzai already said, this thread wont solve anything and the Karamat would go scotch free. But listen I know Karamats personally and trust me they arent really ppl to mend with :roll: and also thanks Maserati, for the aritcle.

Postby foss » July 16th, 2009, 2:18 am

very tragic ... being burned to death is the worst way someone can die.. RIP

dreadman

Postby dreadman » July 16th, 2009, 2:39 am

i heard mr karamath was goin home from visiting his outside mistress when d accident happened

dreadman

Postby dreadman » July 16th, 2009, 2:40 am

to the 2 guys dat died....may u guys RIP

Postby bluesteel29 » July 16th, 2009, 3:09 am

Money pass :?
that kid should b charged with manslaughter :|

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » July 16th, 2009, 7:50 am

That's real sh*t boy!

Revenge kill FTW!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 16th, 2009, 8:01 am

like they used some steel from the stadium in their q7?????? :roll:

oh my bad it was the money they stol............................................................................................................................................................... 0X

Postby SR » July 16th, 2009, 8:04 am

so based on the newspaper reports

who is right

sigh
allyuh know how much for a q7

i really hada be doing somthing wrong yes
cant even afford a new car

Postby Maserati » July 16th, 2009, 10:23 am

look at the picture..you can see the rear diff. of the pick up..the whole rear end is smashed in.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 16th, 2009, 10:37 am

Justice will not prevail in this unfortunate occurence. One newspaper paints a picture of the Mazda passengers at fault, another doesn't even make mention of a guilty party. Further proof that rich/wealthy Trinidadians are above the law in TT.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 16th, 2009, 10:49 am

SR, in Trinidad money will not only afford you the ability to purchase luxury cars in abundance but also afford you immunity in Trinidad. Like pioneer said, the life of a working class citizen in Trinidad is not as highly valued as that of a wealthy citizen.

Postby M_2NR » July 16th, 2009, 11:00 am

dreadman wrote:i heard mr karamath was goin home from visiting his outside mistress when d accident happened

ehehhhhhhhhhhhh

you is d outside oman nieghba/family/fren orrr???

and the stories continue. :lol:

imagine if khalil was a tuner.

Postby Maserati » July 16th, 2009, 11:03 am

dreadman wrote:i heard mr karamath was goin home from visiting his outside mistress when d accident happened

:?

Postby eliteauto » July 16th, 2009, 11:06 am

based oh the extent of damage, and the distance of travel that Q7 was doing in excess of 140kph ( being conservative ), cannot see a vehicle swerving in the path of it resulting in that result

xtech

Postby xtech » July 16th, 2009, 11:07 am

RIP two very hard workers

similar crash to this thread.........Rich Vs Poor
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=
MercBenz C160

NISSAN VAN

new Mercedies Benz Kompressor vs ole nissan van....
what ever happened to the owner of the van was he compensated. Benz driver said Mr van man was parked on the shoulder with no lights on. Mr Benz wanted to over take on it
Last edited by xtech on July 16th, 2009, 11:13 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Maserati » July 16th, 2009, 11:10 am

corollalover101 wrote:based oh the extent of damage, and the distance of travel that Q7 was doing in excess of 140kph ( being conservative ), cannot see a vehicle swerving in the path of it resulting in that result

exactly..would appear that the Q7 run up the ass of that pick up..I really hope justice is delivered.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » July 16th, 2009, 11:17 am

The Benz and nissan van situation was different.

Benz drove on the shoulder.... uninspected van was parked on the shoulder. there is no right party in that accident.

Postby wagon r » July 16th, 2009, 11:27 am

^ since when the shoulder is a lane.....is better the ole pickup had stayed on the highway in a state of disrepair then....

....all the money in the world...yuh son still will be known as the guy who took the guy who lives of a hardworking father and son.

and as for the length of debris....500yards....really.... :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2009, 11:32 am

What the fack who have more money have to do with an accident???

Sounds like the argument some guys by the rumshop made after my accident. BS.

Postby wagon r » July 16th, 2009, 11:44 am

^ you had an accident.....never knew you to spill a drink.....things had to be real bad.... :|

...sorry for yuh loss......

Postby Maserati » July 16th, 2009, 11:49 am

crazybalhead wrote:What the fack who have more money have to do with an accident???

lots of it can make 'trouble' go away.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 16th, 2009, 11:57 am

CBH, it is not about who has money but how having some level of net worth CAN get you (or your son) out of a messy situation. it is most blatant who was at fault in this accident, yet, no charges have been made, no interrogation sought, etc. One can safely assume that lethargy in seeing justice served may be due to the party involved. As if this is any new news to you. :roll:

Postby pete » July 16th, 2009, 11:57 am

wagon r wrote:^ you had an accident.....never knew you to spill a drink.....things had to be real bad.... :|

...sorry for yuh loss......

I think it happened outside of a rumshop, not that he went in a rumshop after it happened.

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2009, 12:01 pm

Correct Pete. :lol: :lol:

xtech

Postby xtech » July 16th, 2009, 12:05 pm

There is a son of Mr Peake who is a famous bad accident man, he has a string of bad crashes in his past,

a play boy all his life the man drives like he is alone on the road

His last crash in his 911 Turbo which was completely writen off he left other driver in coma. This time he was stripped of his permit by a judge for a year......but less than 3 months later he was driving his EVO VII.

Who say money cant buy forgivness

urabus

Postby urabus » July 16th, 2009, 12:40 pm

money can and will get that driver off...u'll see, not that im supporting that, but just watch.

there was an accident couple years aback where a guy (parents owns some whoelsale business), hit and killed a boy on a bicycle. the driver got off scotch free..and im sure money had a big part to play in that

Postby Greypatch » July 16th, 2009, 12:56 pm

I know Karamats personally and trust me they arent really ppl to mend with

What dat mean ?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 16th, 2009, 12:59 pm

cute corolla wrote:money can and will get that driver off...u'll see, not that im supporting that, but just watch.

there was an accident couple years aback where a guy (parents owns some whoelsale business), hit and killed a boy on a bicycle. the driver got off scotch free..and im sure money had a big part to play in that

Soundwave wrote:http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/scot%20free.html

maybe they get free scotch :| :| :|

On another note, remember TAROUBA STADIUM, talk done