engine

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

certified_dealer

engine

Postby certified_dealer » July 16th, 2009, 10:08 pm

well im looking to buy me a honda to do a lil project.....my friend building alot of rb20det and 25det.....i wanna go Honda all the way.....whats the best way to go...what engine to buy....will this cost me alot....im looking to buy a ek3 hatch

Postby r3iXmann » July 16th, 2009, 10:16 pm

budget?

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 16th, 2009, 10:53 pm

i looking at 15,000 for the engine wwork

the civic im looking to buy has a b16 0X

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » July 17th, 2009, 9:15 am

you can do a frank build(B20 engine block,with the B16 head), 10.5 compression pistons, cold air intake & 2.5 cat-back exhaust. if the car you are buying is an auto,then a manual conversion should be a priority, 8-) .

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 17th, 2009, 10:10 am

if he catering 15K look at a boosted project over a B20

or

Sell the b16 from the car .. add the 15K to that and do a B18c R turbo project

b18b LS instead of a b20b if u get bored with the NA the LS can also be boosted

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » July 17th, 2009, 10:37 am

you need more money of you going boosted.
Trust me

mugen power

Postby mugen power » July 17th, 2009, 11:01 am

just curious
what parts you need and the cost to boost the b16a

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 17th, 2009, 11:02 am

if u not goin in the engine 15k should cut it :?

JD......

Postby JD...... » July 17th, 2009, 11:51 am

depends on management/ tune alone could cost over 5K and all the smaller parts also may need to get an LSD

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 17th, 2009, 7:55 pm

but will i be able to beat rb25det.....in a c33 laurel.....how much u think i need to cater for cash that is

moe

engine

Postby moe » July 17th, 2009, 11:56 pm

lol ! buddy start with $60,000 and yuh ent finish yet !! lol if yuh want boost!!

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » July 18th, 2009, 6:05 am

Um silly question here...this will be done AFTER the upgrades to your braking and suspension rite :oops: ?

But B18C in the EK3 hatch would move :D..Anyone knows how easy it is to get an engine like this?

phaze

Postby phaze » July 18th, 2009, 9:27 am

its not easy. if yuh get one take it

civic2nv

Postby civic2nv » July 27th, 2009, 11:42 am

If ure boosting or not I have an aem management for sale pm me with contact info. If ure interested.

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » July 27th, 2009, 1:22 pm

just boost your B16 will look at about 200whp with a proper tune and stock internals

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » July 27th, 2009, 1:43 pm

anything honda is paper. so play a lotto lion. you will come out better

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » July 27th, 2009, 1:45 pm

and the reason why ur buddies buildin rb's and sheit\

simply

its a bit cheaper to do so

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » July 27th, 2009, 7:51 pm

Boost the B16A.. It should take to you around 250 HP

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 28th, 2009, 7:18 am

B20 motor fails, dont do B20 because they are very very soft and will break easy under pressure. and forget that frank crap, beacuse people dont build them right, and they always cheap out the parts and try to cut corners.

The EK3 hatch moves well with a B16 or any b18, weather its LS or B18C series, If you like Honda and going to get the hatch, depends on your budget just Boost the stock B16 motor, which you will have around 250-Whp depends on the turbo and tune set-up with stock internals. And then spend the rest of money on all suspension and brake upgrades..

Note:
Be smart.
Spend wisely.
Have a HP / 1/4 mile time Goal and stick to it.
Build and enjoy.
Forget what others say about how fast and which is better if you on a budget plan.
Take your time on the build and dont rush, other wise Boom Boom.....

Good Luck....

NY4PD....
Any help you may need I'm here to help.
Lots of people here can vouch for me.

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 28th, 2009, 11:06 pm

thanks for the advise....you know any good web sites i can get some more info....what

Postby Sky » July 28th, 2009, 11:44 pm

red_dragon wrote:if he catering 15K look at a boosted project over a B20

or

B18C5 takes boost well? The high cr nah..
What about the B18C1 for boost?

My advice. Sell that B, buy a D or an H and boost the fk out of it. If it blow then run down to bamboo and get another like those nissan guys. If you wanna beat Godzilla then NA is a hard route to take

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 29th, 2009, 6:02 am

Sky wrote:

or

My advice. Sell that B, buy a D or an H and boost the fk out of it. If it blow then run down to bamboo and get another like those nissan guys. If you wanna beat Godzilla then NA is a hard route to take

Where did you get your brain from boy...............H-series fails on boost period........you think people have 10 to 15,000 dollars to waste every month when it blows...you have to be out of your mind, unless you paying for it.
The block on the H-series is not good nor setup up for boost period and to get it it setup it will cost alot of money, which will run good after but it cost.$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
to do it right.....

However the D-series is a good choice if its the D16Y8 setup. But I personal will not get rid of the B-series for the D-series. The B-series will be better all round and better gas mileage and reliablity on a Daily Driven car.

Postby r3iXmann » July 29th, 2009, 8:50 am

NY4PD wrote:The block on the H-series is not good nor setup up for boost period and to get it it setup it will cost alot of money, which will run good after but it cost.$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
to do it right.....

indeed. FRM sleeves ftl :x

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » July 29th, 2009, 9:00 am

How about boosting a F20b ? PM user import if you want any tips on doing that.

Postby r3iXmann » July 29th, 2009, 9:23 am

the DOHC?

that'd be a sweet project..especially in a lighter chassis car :P

*cough*CRX*cough*

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 29th, 2009, 11:39 am

EL JEFE wrote:How about boosting a F20b ? PM user import if you want any tips on doing that.

Boosting a DOHC F20B is a good set to boost but the compression is to high, so you will have to lower the compression. Its best you go with a B18A1 LS motor and boost that or the B16A motor. Alot easier and parts is alot easier to find around the world for these 2 engines. The f20b will cost to get pistons rods etc at the begining... The B16A and B18A1 is alot easier to boost for less money with stock internals. However if money is not a problem and you have a goal for big HP like 400+hp and more then i would say build the B-series with all the right internals parts and you would be set and make good hp goals....

Overall: The B-series is more reliable and easier to get parts for.

Postby Sky » July 29th, 2009, 11:59 am

NY4PD wrote:
Sky wrote:

or

Where did you get your brain from boy...............H-series fails on boost period........you think people have 10 to 15,000 dollars to waste every month when it blows...you have to be out of your mind, unless you paying for it.
The block on the H-series is not good nor setup up for boost period and to get it it setup it will cost alot of money, which will run good after but it cost.$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
to do it right.....

However the D-series is a good choice if its the D16Y8 setup. But I personal will not get rid of the B-series for the D-series. The B-series will be better all round and better gas mileage and reliablity on a Daily Driven car.

I dunno much about the H series, but from what I've seen, most Hondas that keep up with muscle cars are Boosted H in a crx. So why not? And why the insult? And they don't cost that much :?

Postby r3iXmann » July 29th, 2009, 12:16 pm

Sky wrote: And they don't cost that much :?

is about $7-9k for one... ~ 15k for a type r/s

engine only

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 29th, 2009, 2:29 pm

so boost a b16a and i in the game,.....after i could always throw in some internals 0X

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 29th, 2009, 2:40 pm

certified_dealer wrote:so boost a b16a and i in the game,.....after i could always throw in some internals 0X

Yes agreed.........^^^^^^^^^^^^

Return to “HONDA”