A lil help please! Toyota 4X2 LN 145 wid some engine noise.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
2slide

A lil help please! Toyota 4X2 LN 145 wid some engine noise.

Postby 2slide » July 19th, 2009, 10:14 pm

I own a 2000 4X2 Hilux (LN145 - 2.4D) and recently heard a knock coming from about the 3rd cylinder. Took off the cam cover and can see nothing to generate this sound - which comes in at about 4000 RPM or so.

I see that this engine uses hydraulic lifters and was wondering if anybody out there experienced this problem in particular. Oil level is good and the van isn't driven recklessly so I don't believe it to be piston or crank or connecting rod noise. It sounds like it is coming from the head itself. :cry:

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated here!

Tanx

Postby Team Loco » July 20th, 2009, 1:07 am

i may have a head if you need one. whats the mileage like?

2slide

Postby 2slide » July 20th, 2009, 7:40 am

Team Loco wrote:i may have a head if you need one. whats the mileage like?

It's doing 233K - a real work horse! If I pull the head and see anything wrong there, I will contact you for it. Is it complete? If not, do you have lifters?

Thanks in advance!
2slide

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 20th, 2009, 7:58 am

Wha oil yuh using?

What weight?

2slide

Postby 2slide » July 20th, 2009, 8:03 am

bleedingfreak wrote:Wha oil yuh using?

What weight?

Castrol RX Viscus 25W 60. Using this oil for the last 3 changes...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 20th, 2009, 11:42 am

2L Engine right .... ?

That's a heavy oil ur using

If you need a 2nd mechanical opinion call 684-4883 and let him have a look at it ... these engines are a lot more durable than 233 000km.

2slide

Postby 2slide » July 20th, 2009, 1:18 pm

sweeks wrote:2L Engine right .... ?

That's a heavy oil ur using

If you need a 2nd mechanical opinion call 684-4883 and let him have a look at it ... these engines are a lot more durable than 233 000km.

sweeks, thanks a mil! I'll call....

2slide

tarzan

Postby tarzan » July 24th, 2009, 1:35 am

the no 3 injector could be bad u should have the injector tips checked before pulling off the head

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”