penta or sissons :mrgreen:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 23rd, 2009, 9:24 am

latex from penta,,,,

Postby crazybalhead » July 23rd, 2009, 9:27 am

My house was trinity when I baought it, and with the year it started to peel and fade.

jjcp

Postby jjcp » July 23rd, 2009, 9:31 am

benjamin moore or berger is a better paint, last longer than the rest

jsr

Postby jsr » July 23rd, 2009, 9:33 am

thanks

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 23rd, 2009, 9:37 am

Benjamin Moore or Sherwin Williams .. very pricey but give a "mat" finish when painted .. Penta on the more cheaper side works very well though !

jsr

Postby jsr » July 23rd, 2009, 10:02 am

thanks again

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2009, 11:21 am

Glidden sold at the Penta Colour Shop
very good pigment and holds the colour for years

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 23rd, 2009, 11:25 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Glidden sold at the ABEL / Penta Colour Shop

*fixed* :wink:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 23rd, 2009, 11:27 am

jsr,

yuh want paint to buy? pm

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 23rd, 2009, 11:29 am

Penta / Abel / Bestcrete Sale starts monday ................. look out for locations near you in the papers

urabus

Postby urabus » July 23rd, 2009, 11:29 am

try Sherwin Williams....its a lil costly, but its good quality stuff

Postby wagonrunner » July 23rd, 2009, 11:44 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:Penta / Abel / Bestcrete Sale starts monday ................. look out for locations near you in the papers

geh orn

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 23rd, 2009, 11:44 am

neoise wrote:Use Trinity paint only if you feel like painting it again next year

what he said....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2009, 11:44 am

^ Sale!?

nice 8)

Shell Lubricants

Postby Shell Lubricants » July 23rd, 2009, 8:17 pm

Expressions Gallery from FT Farfan. This is sold under the Behr label at Home Depot

Re: Trinity PAINT

Postby buzz » July 23rd, 2009, 8:21 pm

jsr wrote:I am looking to paint the exterior of my house

Anyone has any views on using Trinity Paint

colours , durability etc

its more runny and sh!tty than a sunday sh!ttings :arrow:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 23rd, 2009, 9:10 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Glidden sold at the Penta Colour Shop

This man know paint. My aunt paint her house exterior with this 4 years ago and never paint over since.

allblacks

Postby allblacks » July 23rd, 2009, 9:38 pm

Kaleidoscope....Painting over after six years....and only because the colour faded.Other than dat no fungus or oxidation problems

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 23rd, 2009, 10:01 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:Penta / Abel / Bestcrete Sale starts monday ................. look out for locations near you in the papers

saw they opened a place on the main rd in five rivers.

aR&D

Re: Trinity PAINT

Postby aR&D » July 23rd, 2009, 10:46 pm

jsr wrote:I am looking to paint the exterior of my house

Anyone has any views on using Trinity Paint

colours , durability etc

Based on your intention and based on the choice of paint you queried about you are looking at a cost effective solution. you, i am sure, would've done the pricing and realized that Trinity is the cheaper of the paints on the market. (Kaleidoscope is another cheap brand)

My advise to you, based on personal experience is, Trinity primer is the best primer - and for a good painting finish you need to have a good priming coat on - and that Sissons is a quality, durable, stylish and cost effective paint to use.

Of course, if budget permits, then you can go for the #1 which is Berger.

All the other brands -eg Behr, Sherwin Williams, Giddens etc were not blended for our type of salty, humid, tropical climate. Remember these brands are a direct N.American import and are not (currently) formulated here for our climate.

good luck

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 24th, 2009, 12:40 am

FT Farfan Ltd wrote:Expressions Gallery from FT Farfan. This is sold under the Behr label at Home Depot

no disrespect intended but hold that thought ,

As professional painting contractors , when behr was imported into this country , this original behr latex was undoubtedly the thickest and richest consistency and pigmentation we have ever used ( 2005 or there abouts). What is sold as expressions "previously behr" is not even marginally close to what we got then. If I am not mistaken it came in a metal 2 gallon pan. The expressions which is marketed leaves a lot to be desired in terms of coverage and application.

I would rate the original behr as the best we have used in more that 10 yrs of painting. , over the last few years a lot of people have gravitated towards Benjamin moore , while this can be an ok paint they need to watch their color consistency with batches.

For us we like using Sherwin Williams currently, pretty strong and good coverage (interior and exterior ).

For local paints Berger heads the list and sissons second.

. I see a point in here about being blended for our market , ask what coastal tropical houses use ? or high rainfall areas , most of these paints are sold world wide including the tropics so unless some specific environmental conditions exist in Trinidad and no where else, i don't see what difference paint for Miami and Cayman houses would be for ours

Final point Trinity is a good primer and it stops right there

jsr

Postby jsr » July 24th, 2009, 7:04 am

thanks for the info on the sale frm monday

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 24th, 2009, 8:46 am

My advise to you, based on personal experience is, Trinity primer is the best primer -

I used to think so until I came upon a Primer that is sold by T&Z - The Primer works so well that when I painted my Ballusters 2yrs ago, I didnt even paint it over with white paint and it hasnt faded yet ... It is also quite cheaper than Trinity Primer !!!

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 24th, 2009, 8:57 am

you should only use trinity paints for the inside. never for exterior use.

neoise

Postby neoise » July 24th, 2009, 10:37 am

pioneer wrote:BERGER :fadein:

Rx

Postby Rx » July 24th, 2009, 1:11 pm

Berger all the way .. a bit pricey .. but it works !

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 24th, 2009, 1:53 pm

pioneer wrote:I need one glass window/panel for them Abel french windows...where i could get besides goin into POS?

ABEL arouca ....