Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 28th, 2009, 2:35 pm

Greypatch wrote:fellas how do you rest the service counter on the truck.

(the counter with the little spanner when you turn the ignition)

sorry Patch, with all that was goin on with me, i really forgot you

Turn the ignition switch on and the service screen will pop up. While this screen is showing press and hold the trio odometer/trip computer reset knob for more than 3 seconds. The wrench symbol and distance display will start to flash and the display will show the current interval. Rotate the reset knob anticlockwise to decrease the intervals or clockwise to increase the intervals. It can be changed in 1,000km intervals. Once the desired distance is showing just leave it for about 5 seconds and it will change to odometer/trip meter screen and your all done.

The maximum interval distance setting is 40,000km and the minimum interval is 0.

If you select 0 then the schedule function will be disabled in which case when you turn the key on it will not show this sceen and instead go straight to the odometer/trip meter screen.

Postby Greypatch » July 28th, 2009, 6:34 pm

many thanks boss...

now ah need yuh # for the mech. need to bleed meh fuel filter.

also how often do u drail the sedimentor ?

Postby Greypatch » July 28th, 2009, 6:41 pm

ahhh 5000K again :D :D :D :D :D

when I held it down for 3 seconds it automatically went back to 5000k :D

No turning required.

my 5000K service cost me $425.00

$400 (oil and filter used by N&M) & $25 to change eeet.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 29th, 2009, 3:11 am

good to hear Patch......check PM

van goin for 30K service today.....will let you guys know how it goes

Postby Greypatch » July 29th, 2009, 9:35 am

Is the RORO dealer still servicing the ride ?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » July 29th, 2009, 3:39 pm

Greypatch wrote:ahhh 5000K again :D :D :D :D :D

when I held it down for 3 seconds it automatically went back to 5000k :D

No turning required.

my 5000K service cost me $425.00

$400 (oil and filter used by N&M) & $25 to change eeet.

ah sure it woulda cost much more @ massey!!!

Postby Greypatch » July 29th, 2009, 7:16 pm

close to 1K TTD

Postby Greypatch » August 3rd, 2009, 1:40 pm

how was the 30k service biggy ?

doh forget me with the ##

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 3rd, 2009, 4:54 pm

Ok peeps, so my 30K service was just done. All fluids (except radiator coolant) that were changed were flushed out with new fluid, hence the volumes quoted are the total for flushing and replacement. Here are the details:

-Engine oil: Amsoil 15W-40 Synthetic . 2 gallons used
-Radiator coolant: Castrol Heavy Duty Coolant and Redline Diesel Water Wetter. 3 liters coolant by 3 oz water wetter used (70-30 ratio instead of 50-50)
-Transfer case and PS fluid: Amsoil ATF Synthetic. 4 quarts used
-Front and rear diff fluid: Amsoil Severe Gear lube 75W-90. 3 quarts used
-Brake fluid: Castrol Heavy Duty brake fluid DOT4. 1 quart used
-Air and fuel filters changed (OEM)
-Inspected both drive belts
-Inspected both timing chains

Was going to change Transmission fluid as well but the firm said that the tranny fluid was as clear as that in the bottles I brought :mrgreen: so no need.

All fluids came up to $2600 (note please that I have 12 quarts of Amsoil Synthetic ATF remaining as I did not change the tranny fluid. ) thanks to GEAR HEAD for all the Amsoil stuff; great powerseller, always goes the extra mile to facilitate his customers’ needs

Service cost was $2036 (inclusive of OEM air, oil and fuel filters).

van wukkin sweet and quiet :mrgreen:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » August 5th, 2009, 8:56 am

^^ Biggy dat is a hefty service bill deh man... now i thinking to leave home the nav a lil more often so 30K will take longer to reach... :mrgreen:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 5th, 2009, 1:44 pm

ray786, actually the firm said only the engine oil needed changing but they changed everything else at my insistence. plus i paid for a whole case of Amsoil ATF that i didnt use (that was for the tranny).

i think that you would be safe to 40K before doing this major service

Postby Greypatch » August 6th, 2009, 12:30 pm

when u say rifm u mean massey or the ppl u buy the van from ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 6th, 2009, 2:11 pm

achievors

samdam

Postby samdam » August 15th, 2009, 7:06 pm

How to operate my cruise control in my navara?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 16th, 2009, 1:53 am

how come your Nav has cruise control? did you ship it out of the UK?

post a pic of the steering column and i will guide you

Postby Greypatch » August 16th, 2009, 7:04 pm

well ah drain the sedimentor (water trap) yesterday...

not a drop od water...

decided it did not make sense to drain the fuel filter as that is after the water trap.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » August 20th, 2009, 9:50 am

^^ the trick to maintaining a good diesel engine is the oil and fuel filters... what km u doing so far??

Postby Greypatch » October 5th, 2009, 11:30 am

closing in on 10k will service on friday.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 5th, 2009, 12:48 pm

wham patch u eh driving that van.....i done on 26k +

Postby Greypatch » October 6th, 2009, 7:38 pm

2 vehicles man...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 9th, 2009, 5:06 pm

For all those Nav owners who feel their vans are smoking a lil too much, try an injector pump ECU reset. i did it and my Nav is smoking considerably less than before.

To carry out the reset, do the following:

Turn ignition on so all dash lights come on.

Wait 3 seconds

PUMP accelerator pedel 5 times within 5 seconds.

take foot now OFF accelerator and wait 7 seconds.

After 7 seconds press and hold down accelerator pedel for 10 seconds.

Atfer 10 seconds the CEL will start to flash, at this point remove foot from accelerator.

the Nav is now in diagnostic mode, so let the CEL flash for a bit. the press and hold the acclerator pedel down for more than 10 seconds..this will then reset ECU and fuel pump etc......and put them into learning mode.

NOTE: When the CEL light is flashing, this is listing possible fault codes... so if you know how to read the fault codes or know the sequences then you can figure out any possible faults with your Nav with out getting N&M to do it!

Postby Greypatch » October 10th, 2009, 8:22 pm

good info man

where you does get this sheit from ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 10th, 2009, 11:09 pm

plenty research papi :mrgreen:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 10th, 2009, 11:14 pm

biggy - that sound like a cheat code for a video game :| lol
but good stuff dude.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » October 12th, 2009, 7:48 am

i went to the beach yesterday and it changed my mind totally!! i want a van i was gonna get a car but i think i goin nissan...my dad has a navara already .. i am going to n&m today to check out prices an wat they dont show u on the website..i want a 4x4 manual d/c. leather is not a neccesity. the LE version..anyone can give me prices?
as far as i saw this navara they selling now is much different to my dads own..lsd..different seats..cruise control...and the interior quality looks better it looks more like the pathfinder!!

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » October 12th, 2009, 3:24 pm

so is 200k without leather 4x4 LE..
208k with leather..

well hear this .. the man i went to i think he doesnt know what he was talking about . he told me that only the automatic comes with lsd but on nissantt.com it specifically says it does also come with the manual..my dads own is automatic an he doesnt hav lsd
the interior on the website is also different..as far as i know with the 2k9 navara the interior is as specified on the website(can any1 verify for me?)i rather the newer interior but anything will do .. there wasnt any in stock for me to see so i had to rely on the salesmans knowledge ..
here is the website .. http://www.nissantt.com/M_navara_d40/in ... rior1.html

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 14th, 2009, 12:35 pm

none of the navs from massy have lsd......none...dont let them fool you....

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » October 15th, 2009, 3:58 pm

k thanks so if i were to go offroad .. would the absence of an lsd affect me?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 17th, 2009, 8:55 am

Jon_One wrote:k thanks so if i were to go offroad .. would the absence of an lsd affect me?

:? Of course, quite negatively too ... but you can always install an ARB air locker and under body armour if that's what you want to do with the Nav.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 18th, 2009, 9:42 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:you can always install an ARB air locker and under body armour if that's what you want to do with the Nav.

Any idea how much those mods are gonna cost?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”