Hifonics 2000 Brutus

Loudsound Customs

Hifonics 2000 Brutus

Postby Loudsound Customs » September 1st, 2009, 11:32 pm

hav any of u eva tried runnin the 2000 brutus at .5 ohms.....
do it work??????
wats the risk involved in doin so??????

Pre

Postby Pre » September 2nd, 2009, 12:01 am

when i had mine i ran it at .75ohms for daily use the thing never get warm after hours of play. gain waz on bout 3/4. very high quality amp for price slightly overrated willl give a proper 1800rms. but honestly i'd reccomend a matts amp made to run at that load. I think u mite seriously f up dat amp at that load
Last edited by Pre on September 2nd, 2009, 12:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » September 2nd, 2009, 12:01 am

it might work for very short durations but it will damage the amp.

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » September 2nd, 2009, 12:06 am

any more input?????????
runnin 6 high air flow fans......

Kaizen Autosound

Postby Kaizen Autosound » September 2nd, 2009, 12:55 am

You may damage the amp in the long run. Especially if u want to use it for daily playing. For spl burps, that shud be fine.

Why not consider a MMATS 2100.5?

We have one more in stock

DJ Q

Re: Hifonics 2000 Brutus

Postby DJ Q » September 2nd, 2009, 7:28 am

loudsound wrote:hav any of u eva tried runnin the 2000 brutus at .5 ohms.....
do it work??????

I hope it's not the Brutus I think it is :evil: :evil: :evil:

we go fight

Loudsound Customs

Re: Hifonics 2000 Brutus

Postby Loudsound Customs » September 2nd, 2009, 9:17 am

DJ Q wrote:
loudsound wrote:hav any of u eva tried runnin the 2000 brutus at .5 ohms.....
do it work??????

I hope it's not the Brutus I think it is :evil: :evil: :evil:

we go fight

na nuh d same amp its the 2008 model...
i will run it at 2 ohms den...its for a pair of dual 2 re se...
anyone hav dual 4 dat wana trade???

Pre

Postby Pre » September 2nd, 2009, 10:22 am

^^^^^^^^^^ i hope it isnt the one that was stolen from me

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » September 2nd, 2009, 10:44 am

Pre wrote:^^^^^^^^^^ i hope it isnt the one that was stolen from me

wah u talkin bout??? d amp???? sub????
the amp was bought from the dealer and re from toiz wit noiz :?

Postby 3stagevtec » September 2nd, 2009, 10:58 am

once cooled properly, you should be pretty safe! impedance rise is going to send that 0.5ohms up closer to 1ohm while playing. if you are using a small box, the rise will be even greater..

when i had tested the Sundown and Atomic amps, i got an average impedance of 0.9ohms up from a DCR of 0.5ohms.

the main killer of amps here is heat imo, keep it cool and you good..

now i have NO experience with Hifonics amps, and just stating what i learned while using other brands..

Postby 3stagevtec » September 2nd, 2009, 11:11 am

another thing, low voltage places alot of stress on an amp's power supply.. running it at 0.5ohmd DCR plus under 12V often WILL cause it to go boom.. keep it above 12V (better 13V) and you safe..

for reference, i have NO forced cooling on my Sundown amps and run them at 0.5ohms daily. they never get very hot and have never tripped.. my amps are used for SPL / personal listening..

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » September 2nd, 2009, 12:09 pm

hmmmmm.....
any more input on this......
anyone?????

btw i was talkin 2 a guy and he said it will work at .5 ohm but only 4 spl...
playin music it wudnt work cuz there are various bass frequencies and the will clip alot and damage ur amplifier.....

any Comments on this?????

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 2nd, 2009, 12:16 pm

well everybody who posted above pretty much sums it up : burps fine , daily u risk damaging it & candle cost more than funeral

u have 2 sensible choices - change d amp to a 2ohm stable like a vr or kicker amp OR change d subs to d4 ....

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2009, 12:42 pm

yeh man loudsound, how much more input u wanna get, very good info here

from the experience i have with that same amp, is that they run cool most of the time under good stress.. well that waz on its recommeded load,

keep it cool and u ok, but dont go lower than .75 ohms

Postby 3stagevtec » September 2nd, 2009, 12:56 pm

loudsound wrote:hmmmmm.....
any more input on this......
anyone?????

btw i was talkin 2 a guy and he said it will work at .5 ohm but only 4 spl...
playin music it wudnt work cuz there are various bass frequencies and the will clip alot and damage ur amplifier.....

any Comments on this?????

clipping will come from over driving the amp / improperly set gains / too much eq boost.

you can test it out yourself to see what the impedance rise is like across the freq range, or use a program to estimate it..

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » September 2nd, 2009, 1:28 pm

thanks 4 all d input fellaz....
more input d better :twisted:

Pre

Postby Pre » September 2nd, 2009, 7:04 pm

waz d amp i was talking bout. lol no worries man not accusing anybody of anything.
dat man should have really gotten a 2ohm amp or a .5ohm matts amp. hifonics equipment is very solid stuff

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 2nd, 2009, 9:13 pm

i actually did this once..had mine playing a pair of pioneer 3000 dual2 subsnever gave trouble but the box was rather small bout 2.6 cubic each includin driver displacement and port.it actually played very long a few months as well never even trip and i didnt put no fans.but mine was the older black model though not the silver one.

Hydrographic Dezigns

Postby Hydrographic Dezigns » September 3rd, 2009, 2:41 pm

I was asking a technician this same question on the brutus 2010 and he said he played it at .5ohm and it played as if it were at a 1ohm load. He then told me that he called the company and query this with one of there technicians and they said the amp could work at .5ohm safely...... i can't say anything as i never used it ...........

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 4th, 2009, 9:01 pm

^^^did he by chance mention if the power output of the amp will be the same at .5ohms?is it the same rated 2000rms or more?

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » September 4th, 2009, 9:28 pm

get that JBL mono like what i had for sale. That amp go shake up them RE SE rell good. just look at this:

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/pV7DkIpbUZs&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pV7DkIpbUZs&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 7th, 2009, 8:02 am

So you're comparing 1200rms... vs 2000rms.... interesting...

Postby 3stagevtec » September 7th, 2009, 9:33 am

viking1705 wrote:^^^did he by chance mention if the power output of the amp will be the same at .5ohms?is it the same rated 2000rms or more?

should get some more power..