WTK. about an extra fan on condensor

SNIPER 3000

WTK. about an extra fan on condensor

Postby SNIPER 3000 » September 3rd, 2009, 10:40 pm

Has any one place an extra fan on their condensor to help the a/c cool better.
Does it ork?

Postby Hook » September 3rd, 2009, 11:41 pm

what vehicle are we talking about here?

cuz some have condenser/rad one behind the other with a twin fan unit both pulling air (like B14), some have the same rad/condenser arrangement with a condenser fan in front pushing air and a radiator fan behind pulling air and some have half rad/half condenser with a fan each (EK3)

depending on how your lines run, u can insulate them from engine bay heat and it could help a bit..and then there's the issue of upgrading the fan to a larger unit that moves more CFM of air and making a proper shroud (if it's a pulling fan)....but two fans? nah

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 4th, 2009, 7:04 am

i see a man have four fans in his car. two pulling air and two on the condenser pushing,and it wasn't no small fans eh:shock:

alternator didn't last to long! :(

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 4th, 2009, 9:19 am

Hook, i was thinking about that: insulating the lines. However i came across certain views such as this one.

Posted by a user in another forum:

this is how A/C works in your car:

- The compressor increases the pressure (and temp) of the LP vapor (R-134a).
- It then goes to the condensor (the 'radiator' in front of the coolant radiator) where heat is removed (read temp dropped) until the R-134a condenses (still at or above ambiant temp). it is still at high pressure.
- the high pressure liquid then flows to the evaporator in the cab (usually under the dash or in a compartment in engine bay passenger side against the firewall)).
- in the evaporator, the R-134a aquires the 'latent heat of vaporization' from the ambiant air in the cab. this heat transfer cools the air flowing over the evaporator. this is when the R-134a gets cold (going from liquid to gas).
- the vapor then returns to the compressor.

Insulating the condesner-to-evaporator line will do nothing, as this liquid is warm already. the time spend in the line means that if there is much of a temp difference, the amount of heat transfered will be neglible (meaning you will spend more money on insulation than you save in gas and you will not be able to measure a any temp difference in the cab).

if you want your system to be more efficient, insulate the cab and ensure your system has the proper amount (not too much or too little) R-134a in it. If you converted from R-12 to R-134a, you will need a bigger condenser to get the same cooling since R-12 is much more efficient of a refrigerant than R-134a.

so, save your time/money for an eco-mod that will work

Devon.Lopez
Location: saving a bunch of money on my car insurance by green band maxi

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 4th, 2009, 6:24 pm

^^ insulating the cab is a good idea. I insulated nearly everything in the bay but i felt a little difference, nothing to brag about though.

I think now you need to get that llumar tint to lower in car temperature if you have the dough. Take my advice if yuh have a ole car or a car that the condensor small doh put in no leather seats.

I have to try the double fan thing doh, because in traffic it hot but on the highway it cold.
Thus i think that a high flow fan on the front of the a/c will help relieve the pressure and cool it better. Plus them posh cars like BMW and Audi does have a kinda UV blind that does stop the heat.>>>

If anybody know where i could get this lemme know.

minipresident

Postby minipresident » September 4th, 2009, 9:16 pm

Plus them posh cars like BMW and Audi does have a kinda UV blind that does stop the heat.>>>

If anybody know where i could get this lemme know.[/quote]

Peugeot dose have something like that for the back windscreen. Yuh does get that throw whe all over the bamboo. plenty of them e24 bus them does come with dat and they take dem out and have dem all over the place.

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 4th, 2009, 9:23 pm

for real :shock:

The Camry have one installed on the backglass and that thing does real work.

Well look how i goin in the bamboo tomorrow :twisted:

The first step is to lower the inside temperature of the car first to have the A/C doing less work. My goal is to have people freezing in hot sun in a ole civic and scratching they head :twisted:

minipresident

Postby minipresident » September 5th, 2009, 8:28 am

hope you get them. i have found that most times when it comes to smaller, less significant items like that in the bamboo them fellas prefer tell you it doh have any; but if you search on your own, ...Walla!

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 5th, 2009, 6:42 pm

^^ what is the correct name for that thing???

I doh want to run around and dont know exactly what i looking for...

minipresident

Postby minipresident » September 6th, 2009, 1:26 pm

you kno i don' t know. ...Sunscreen?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » September 6th, 2009, 5:43 pm

That screen thing sounds like it might do the trick.

Postby 3stagevtec » September 6th, 2009, 8:53 pm

i want to put a higher CFM rated fan on my condenser.. poor AC suffering in the mid day heat.. but on evenings, it cold as ice..

heat insulation on the firewall and roof can also help with temperatures..

see:
http://www.secondskinaudio.com/thermal- ... t-wave.php

http://www.secondskinaudio.com/thermal- ... rewall.php

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 6th, 2009, 9:08 pm

They sell that insulation locally?

Postby 3stagevtec » September 6th, 2009, 10:38 pm

check in the car audio classifieds for sound dampener dealers.. you may not get the second skin products, but there are lots of similar products out there..

Fen Mohammed (from Marabella, Exonic on the forums) was the dealer for second skin, but he stop brining in that brand..

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 7th, 2009, 11:25 am

With the kinda heat nowadays this is the only modification i lookin to do. Comfort first. By the way anybody would find it tacky to put a cover on your dashboard like them longtime cressida or b-12.. :D

just askin doh pelt meh dong :lol:

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 13th, 2009, 1:01 pm

I tryin to install the fan but some thing is directly on the condensor can somebody tell me what this is....by the way the car is a EG8 civic

This blocking the condensor so how i go put the fan on the front?
Can this be moved/removed? What is it

Postby 3stagevtec » September 13th, 2009, 1:52 pm

it looks like chassis bracing.. what at the lines connected to?

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 15th, 2009, 8:53 am

I cannot see...It continuing down behind the bumper.

I might have to take the bumper off to find out :evil: