Book Ship (Logos Hope) Coming in January 2017

Paradoxx

Postby Paradoxx » August 26th, 2009, 10:43 pm

TrinbagoMan, i agree wit chiney hoss....

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 26th, 2009, 11:00 pm

so points chart? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

time to get some more books for the kids :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 17th, 2009, 8:24 pm

Book ship 'Logos Hope' comes to Trinidad on maiden visit
Wednesday, September 16th 2009

AFTER a stopover in Tobago, the Logos Hope, the world's largest floating book fair, is now scheduled to visit Port of Spain. The ship will open its doors to the public from noon tomorrow.

The Logos Hope has replaced the previous ship the Logos II, which had made previous successful stops here.

This is the fourth port visit in the ship's maiden voyage to the Caribbean.

In a press release, the ship's management team said it was offering an expanded selection of books featuring over 6,000 titles. Subjects covered include science, sports, hobbies and religion, with children's books, academic texts, dictionaries, atlases and more.

The ship boasts of an all-volunteer crew and staff of over 350 people representing 45 different nations. Logos Hope is one of two ships operated by the international charity OM Ships International.

In almost 40 years of service, the organisation has welcomed almost 40 million visitors up the gangways in over 150 countries and territories around the world.

After tomorrow's opening, the Logos Hope will be open to the public on Tuesday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. and Sundays and Mondays from 2 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Postby bluefete » September 17th, 2009, 11:15 pm

T&T is one is one of their busiest stops. I think it will be well worth the while especially for those in secondary or tertiary schools to get some really, really good bargains on textbooks.

And you know the cost of one textbook in a T&T bookstore.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 17th, 2009, 11:20 pm

I hope they organize Credit Card and Linx machines and they work 100%, unlike last time. I eh goin on de port with a wad of cash.

Postby bluefete » September 17th, 2009, 11:23 pm

Well, I think they used Linx machines last time. But looks like they had some problems working.

At least this time you would be sweating in "air-condition"

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 18th, 2009, 12:15 pm

anyone went as yet? Any feedback?

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » September 18th, 2009, 5:24 pm

I went today its much better than the last boat they had, prices are reasonable (100 pts is equal to 15tt) so do the math, its much more spacious, the links machines work 100% , all the employees on the boat are wearing blink broad band t shirts :D , its $3 to go on an there are 7500 different titles to choose from, all in all go check it out its worth it :D

Postby MG Man » September 18th, 2009, 9:06 pm

worksux101 wrote:
buzz wrote:dey gonna sell anything other than christian books and dictionaries this time ?
was just about to ask that...last one that came had little of interest :?

Peds, last time they were here:
MG Man wrote:these are what I got..........there are more titles, but are more general; Classics of the 60's etc
Also another great beatles title, but I had that one already

u can never have too many ferrari books - Hard Cover ($60.00)

and well..........can't resist.....Soft Cover ($60.00)

Good for useless trivia...Soft Cover.....DRAGIST ($45.00)

Another for DRAGIST Soft Cover ($45.00)

Pretty beat up, but at $17.50.........plus I might not have time to go again..Hard Cover

HUGE Hard Cover book ($150.00)

Another HUGE Hard Cover book ($120.00)

Yes, I like my euros...Hard Cover...($90.00)

Zodiaque and others....Soft Cover...($60.00)

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 18th, 2009, 10:13 pm

^didnt see the first book or i wudve purchased...
wudve liked to get grand prix de monaco as well...will make a pass thru early next week and see if i find any of interest...will take pics of any interesting titles and post as well...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 19th, 2009, 3:09 am

tropi_flakes wrote:I went today its much better than the last boat they had, prices are reasonable (100 pts is equal to 15tt) so do the math, its much more spacious, the links machines work 100% , all the employees on the boat are wearing blink broad band t shirts :D , its $3 to go on an there are 7500 different titles to choose from, all in all go check it out its worth it :D

went and had a look myself and yes it is a little more spacious, eating area is nicer and the air condition makes it a lot more comfortable. Still believe that there was not much variety of books BUT a lot of kids books though......

Good little family lime though.....

Humes

Postby Humes » September 19th, 2009, 3:44 am

buzz wrote:any evidence to support this claim? are the books printed "not for resale" ? :arrow:

Someone bought a book for me from them, a textbook with the CD and everything in the cover, and it had a not-for-resale label on it.

Granted it cost $5 or something (a real steal considering the size and content of the text)...still.

Postby bluefete » September 19th, 2009, 9:46 am

Went yesterday morn. No university books. That area is clean as a whistle. They said books tied up in customs.

Nice air-con though. Reasonable prices as usual.

Postby Sky » September 19th, 2009, 10:01 am

Jed who cares about "not for resale" and christians conning. They're not. Their purpose isnt to sell books, it's to spread the word. They need money to do that stuff. Anyone really think they can buy books, sell them over and propel a ship around the world and feed the crew with the book sale profits? HAHA is donations they get.
And who could really complain about paying $50 for 3 $4-500 dollar books with a free brown cotton bag? Anytime they come I'd walk straight to that area with 200 bux and leave a happy man.

Postby bluefete » September 19th, 2009, 10:06 am

Humes wrote:
buzz wrote:any evidence to support this claim? are the books printed "not for resale" ? :arrow:

Someone bought a book for me from them, a textbook with the CD and everything in the cover, and it had a not-for-resale label on it.

Granted it cost $5 or something (a real steal considering the size and content of the text)...still.

Well, you can always send it back and but the textbook from a "real" bookstore.

psycho68

anybody

Postby psycho68 » September 21st, 2009, 8:38 am

does anyone kno if the logos is opening today

Re: anybody

Postby bluefete » September 21st, 2009, 8:54 am

[quote="psycho68"]does anyone kno if the logos is opening today[/quote]

Call 627-4884 or 627-7255 to find out.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 21st, 2009, 10:52 am

yeah they are...went yesterday too

backpedal a bit, someone posted the opening and closing times
they dont really consider the holidays coming up

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 21st, 2009, 11:46 am

Went yesterday for the 2pm opening, and met about 100 ppl already there. Trinis prove they still have no behaviour, trying to enter the terminal as though they're pushing for a bus. The ironic thing was by 3:30pm there was no line and you could just stroll in.

The vessel definitely has a much better layout, more aisle space, easier access to stuff. There was usual stuff; lots of titles for kids, family, cooking, hobbies, worship, and a much larger CD display. As expected, the wife went crazy in the cook-book section.

Before you get to the tertiary/technical book section you have to pay for the books/CDs etc. you bought in the first section. Rem to buy a 'Logos Hope' baseball cap eh. And who can't use another dictionary or thesaurus?

Trinis again proved they have another limitation - arithmetic. Apparently 100pts = $15, 200pts = $30 and so on was a science within itself for some. The result? Arguments by the cashier stations. The foreign cashiers with bewildered expressions, "These damn natives again!" :lol:

The tertiary/technical section is next where you pay $60 and 3 books free, you pay for the tote bag. We got some really good subject areas. But you're going to have to make several trips for specific subject areas cuz some go quickly. e.g. the Health & Safety books finished in two days. We got the last two HRM books.

$180 and 3 heavy totes later, you enter the cafeteria/galley, then to the IT area, with blink specials and you can e-sign the Captain's Log. If you leave your email address you get an autograph pix of the 'Logos Hope'.

Parking: $20
Access: $3 x 2
General Books/CDs/Souvenirs: $667.50
Tertiary/Technical Titles: $180
The Experience? Priceless (not really)

I hope you enjoyed the 'virtual' tour.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 21st, 2009, 11:50 am

Reminder:

Tuesday - Saturday: 10 am - 9 pm

Sunday - Monday: 2 pm - 9 pm

Parking: $20TTD

Entrance: $3TTD per person. 16yrs. old and under FREE

QG

Postby QG » September 21st, 2009, 11:51 am

hot blue wrote: I found some real good medical books for my brother who is studying med in mt hope.

Yeah, my mom got her medical books there.

Postby UML » September 28th, 2009, 9:47 pm

Any tuners went yet?

i doubt it wud...but anyone know if they have any health and safety books???

thx

Re: New Book Ship (Logos Hope) Coming in January 2017

Postby bluefete » November 3rd, 2016, 4:23 pm

The Book ship Logos Hope will visit Trinidad from January 12 - February 7, 2017 and Tobago from February 8 - February 21, 2017.

daas

Re: Book Ship (Logos Hope) Coming in January 2017

Postby daas » November 4th, 2016, 7:00 am

Cheers bookfete.

But shame on me when I go there expecting my kinda books and then it's mostly religious stuff...I'll still check it out though :?

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 4th, 2016, 7:58 am

daas wrote:Cheers bookfete.

But shame on me when I go there expecting my kinda books and then it's mostly religious stuff...I'll still check it out though :?

Umm...that is their mandate. They are a Christian based organization, so most of the books are religious books and/ or text books. I believe the Logos ship concept is how they do their missionary work

daas

Postby daas » November 4th, 2016, 8:10 am

tiger balm wrote:
daas wrote:Cheers bookfete.

Umm...that is their mandate. They are a Christian based organization, so most of the books are religious books and/ or text books. I believe the Logos ship concept is how they do their missionary work

Hence the reason I said shame on me for expecting something different.

Although one time I got this really bitchin Christian Rock album

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 4th, 2016, 9:59 am

Excited cookbooks, electrical , diy so much more
I love this ship

Postby ismithx » November 4th, 2016, 3:55 pm

pal, I going and be there in Janurary, you can count on it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 1st, 2017, 12:13 pm

Anyone went as yet? When are they leaving ?

Postby bluefete » February 1st, 2017, 12:16 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Anyone went as yet? When are they leaving ?

Leaving Trinidad Feb 6th for Tobago.