Car audio regrets

Postby nareshseep » September 28th, 2009, 11:21 am

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 28th, 2009, 12:00 pm

nice thread idea

for me i did 2 blunders with my car audio

1st wud be d time i sold my infinity comps to try something different & i put in some ciare 6" just to try it ...well that = :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: since it no where near d SQ & broad freq spectrum like what i had b4 ...good for loud demoing on d outside but it sounded so missing in freqs to me inside my wagon ...i didnt keep those for long maybe 4-5wks top & i put back in some coaxials

2nd was reading all d hype behind DD9500 subs when ppl online make it sound like d best ultimate sub to own so i bought a 9512 - LOUD as 4 10s pioneer i once had but when it comes to true low freq quality lows that i was accustomed to from d type Rs & even d older model 3002 premier gave : IMHO this 12" fails

like i said it was amazingly loud for just 1 sub (metered 143.7dbs in a daily 38hz tuned box) ... i liked to let put ppl sit in my wagon & when d bass came out it was funny to see ppl run out after a few seconds :lol: :lol: :lol:

sounds "lowish" for such a loud sub but not low like i wanted , very good for out of car gallery 38hz+ tuning use but i didnt like it for in car listening ...when u start off in car audio with smooth lows this kind of sub IMO just cant give u that effect .....
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on September 28th, 2009, 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » September 28th, 2009, 12:01 pm

my biggest regret so far was closing my back door on my speaker wires and blowing a RF800.4.. that has to be the cleanest amp i ever owned.. :(

theblitz

Postby theblitz » September 28th, 2009, 12:25 pm

Thank God I have no regrets :lol:

At least not yet :oops:

Virus

Postby Virus » September 28th, 2009, 3:05 pm

Sold my MMATS 700.1 (white) and RF 305 :(
Worst day of my life

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » September 28th, 2009, 5:22 pm

1. bought a 12" sub in box from radio shack :? (d box was plexi and had neon an ting....I was real clueless)

2. bought a factory made box for a rockford p3 ( sounded like crap)

3. bought a power accoustic mono rated 800 rms to push the P3 (follows from 2.)

4. bun down an alpine sub. sweet bass :D (i did it with a p100db :twisted: that wasn't so bad)

5. not doing enough research

6. trusting that installers know what they are doing and that they would not overcharge you

On another note best buys ever made
1. kinetic battery
2. zapco amp (clean like ah doh know what :mrgreen:)

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 28th, 2009, 5:41 pm

3stagevtec wrote:my biggest regret so far was closing my back door on my speaker wires and blowing a RF800.4.. that has to be the cleanest amp i ever owned.. :(

i feel you on that one bai.
that would have hurt, i getting 2 of those amps tmr, and they done sold and paid for..

Lance

Postby Lance » September 28th, 2009, 6:43 pm

When i Started car audio a few years ago, I knew very little, I placed all my trust in a ''friend'' who scammed me. That is the only think I regret, however, at the same time I am thankful for the experience, because knowing how it feels to be robbed of hard earned money I simply won't do it to someone else.

Overall it has made me a better person. I realize never have regrets, have experiences.

Postby X_Factor » September 28th, 2009, 7:14 pm

selling my alpine mrp-450 amp and the elevation audio sqx sub

_Rajiv_

Postby _Rajiv_ » September 28th, 2009, 8:35 pm

Buying a pair selenium 10" midrange speakers and making some big arse boxes for them. Then trying to play those and a sub off a crunch ground pounder 880.4

I didnt know much about car audio back then and was only listening to friends who claimed to know alot. Since then ive learned to do a lil research before buying anything and also seek advice from ppl who have experience with different products and who are knowledgeable in car audio.

Another one would be watching a difference of $10.00 per yard of wire and buying the cheaper one only to realize in the end that i really should have put the extra $10.00 and get better quality
:oops:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 28th, 2009, 10:01 pm

hmm... puttting my eclipse 9152 on a 4000d lanzar and watching it burn

buying a 300w pyrimid back in 1999 paying $600ttd

selling my blade se amp loudest most cleanest amp in that footprint ... ah well the zapco was worth it

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 28th, 2009, 10:29 pm

dont really hav any types of regrets thus far everything i hav bought was to upgrade and hav sold to get somthing of better quality to suite my taste.the only thing i miss is my old model premier3000 used to hit som sweet lows tuned to 33hz.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 29th, 2009, 12:31 am

i sold my last dd 3515 today,
the first one i sold get bun down busy busy from an atomic 1600 and a weak electrical system

the second went today, it will see 1500rms of mtx power.

it was real sad to see the last one go, them subs served me so well, never any problems or headache with them.
rated 1200rms took 2500 comfortable.

ill be sad indefinitely until that solo x 18 reaches in my hands :fadein:

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 29th, 2009, 8:44 am

Selling a hx2 for $600

selling my ti

lost some zapco's and a couple audiocontrol products to "friends".

Allowing a zapco studio 100 to be put for sale in exchange for a Sony explode cd deck.

Leaving an infinity referance sub by a repair guy and never finding it back

listening to others when I should have been doing my own reasearch and making my own decisions

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 29th, 2009, 9:06 am

hmm.

1. Not buying the second Orion Xtr 15 from fuzz (I will forever kick myself for not doing that)

2. buying a boss crossover (made me think that the rest of my equipment was sh!t, turned out to be the cross itself)

3. buying a pyramid 300w eq (the one with echo chamber) from CTC for $600 TT...waste a friggin $

best things i ever did...
1. havin rovin build all my boxes
2. buying one of the xtr 15's
3. buying the type-r!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 29th, 2009, 9:53 am

Not buying 2 pairs of focal poly comps for $3000 from a guy on tuner,

and listening to padners that boss amp, pioneer champion series, and pro audio speakers is the way to go for best music

_Rajiv_

Postby _Rajiv_ » September 29th, 2009, 10:08 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:best things i ever did...
1. havin rovin build all my boxes
2. buying one of the xtr 15's
3. buying the type-r!

X2 :D

Postby cinco » September 29th, 2009, 10:30 am

never had a regret I always wait and buy what I want never rushed to buy nuttin :lol:
i guess my only slip up was installing 4 guage wire instead of 0 from the get go so i dont have to rewire everything now...

audiomaniac

Postby audiomaniac » October 1st, 2009, 7:27 pm

not doing proper research and believing in myself, failing to realize manufacturer's ratings are not accurate as claimed for most brands and lending stuff to friends who tend to damage my equipment.

zorced

Postby zorced » October 1st, 2009, 8:06 pm

not buying amps when i was abroad

Postby Gladiator » October 2nd, 2009, 6:40 am

Letting a guy selling in the store behind fresh cut in curepe convince me to buy 2 Jensen 300 W amps over an Orion XTR (but I was 17 and didnt know much)

Selling my CLarion DRX 8575Z for a pioneer 7500MP

Buying the first ID MAX from Ballz(RIP), they were all defective

Parting with my complete JL Setup (but i needed the cash) 500/1, 300/4, XR Comps, 12W6V2, Wires, 880PRS

Using preamps (waste of time no matter how much you tweak them)

Oh yeah and I got sniped.........(a couple older tuners would know what I talking about) :lol:

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 2nd, 2009, 10:19 pm

buyin a $80 chrome grill for a $85 10" nippon america :lol: :lol: :lol:

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » October 2nd, 2009, 11:37 pm

^^^ :lol: :lol: but the grills can br reused at least.

govin1231

Postby govin1231 » October 3rd, 2009, 6:31 am

Letting a guy selling in the store behind fresh cut in curepe convince me to buy 2 Jensen 300 W amps over an Orion XTR (but I was 17 and didnt know much)

Selling my CLarion DRX 8575Z for a pioneer 7500MP

Buying the first ID MAX from Ballz(RIP), they were all defective

Parting with my complete JL Setup (but i needed the cash) 500/1, 300/4, XR Comps, 12W6V2, Wires, 880PRS

Using preamps (waste of time no matter how much you tweak them)

Oh yeah and I got sniped.........(a couple older tuners would know what I talking about)

if that was me ah would of cry...

GameOver

Postby GameOver » October 3rd, 2009, 1:39 pm

my biggest regret was getting it on inside with this girl, my car parked on the road outside (Arouca)... came out feeling great only to see my Orion HCCA 2100 amp and matching HCCA ole school 12" gone.. stolen with some other equiptment!

zorced

Postby zorced » October 3rd, 2009, 4:34 pm

also not buying that l7 that just went for around $750 lol
most of my regrets due to sticking :lol:

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 3rd, 2009, 5:12 pm

lending meh fadda my cd player so he cud play he oldies in d car, dey stole d cd player, my reggae cd, his sparrow cd, an dey leave d odder cds :lol: :lol: :lol: , dey leave d zebra box in d back too :lol:

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » October 3rd, 2009, 7:43 pm

never selling them 2 sony xplod 10" and amp for 300US when i had the chance, and not buying my padna 4080dsm for 50us. As said above alot of my regrets are from sticking.

Hydrographic Dezigns

Postby Hydrographic Dezigns » October 6th, 2009, 8:18 pm

before i have to make any regrets I kept all my equipments that I like ....will never sell....

here's the list-
PG--ZX 350 2CH (WHITE WITH FAN ON TOP) very clean amp.
Cadence -A7+hc- 1k rms
2004 RE XXX 15"
Pair - Crystal CMP 8" subwoofers......sweet lows

:wink: :wink:

Racegod

Postby Racegod » October 8th, 2009, 9:09 am

selling my soundstream 2 channel amp...

i thought something was wrong with it, not knowing that it was working perfectly... :cry: