Advice Needed

Ry an

Advice Needed

Postby Ry an » October 12th, 2009, 3:19 pm

Saturday heading home from work in la brea proceeding in a northern direction and a young boy was riding his bike on the same side as i was driving and he turned in the direction i was heading without looking back and hit my car,no damages were done to my car, he on the other hand went sprawling on the ground and luckily he didnt sustain any injuries. The back wheel of his bike got caught on my tyre and bike wheel is bent up.
He is very lucky nothing major didnt happen.I reported the matter to the police that day and the boys parents werent at home for them to accompany him to make a report. Now his parents made the report and questions are being brought up about compensation because they had to take him to the doctor.

Any advice on how i should proceed with this matter?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 12th, 2009, 3:28 pm

According toi your account, he is wrong, BUT how you gonna prove your case without witnesses.
Careful with this eh, they might wanna bleed ya dry.
And if you decide to help out of kindness, it can look like an admission of guilt.

Ry an

Postby Ry an » October 12th, 2009, 3:41 pm

Well my sis and another co-worker was in the car and then some people who in their houses saw.
Well actually was thinking of helping out but now im unsure.

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » October 12th, 2009, 3:44 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:According toi your account, he is wrong, BUT how you gonna prove your case without witnesses.
Careful with this eh, they might wanna bleed ya dry.
And if you decide to help out of kindness, it can look like an admission of guilt.

Very good advice, had a similar situation once, the ppl were dead wrong, but because they think you were driving you owe them something. Fact is there is a "duty of care" by all parties, and the cyclist did hold up his end when he failed to take proper precautions.

My advice, let the people know the police are handling it and you'll allow the police to do their job, if they want to go to court then let them know they're free to do so (that's when they ususally back pedal :D ).

Like VexXx Dogg said don't go offering money like you're guilty and got something to hide or cover up, speak to the police and let them direct you.

Hope that helps.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 12th, 2009, 3:50 pm

If...
he didnt sustain any injuries

Then why did...
they had to take him to the doctor

You saw actual doctor bills?

Postby crazybalhead » October 12th, 2009, 3:52 pm

Steups, pandora, you not living in Trinidad or what? where you can buy sick leave????

Phoenix4tt

Postby Phoenix4tt » October 12th, 2009, 3:54 pm

Let your insurance guide you jed. Having witnesses is good but them ppl in the house may not be to helpful eh! Like Vexxx Gog say be vary careful with this one.

Police could turn on you and start askin bout if you blow your horn, how far the boy was when you see him, how fast you was travelling and why you just didn't stop. They could apply pressure onto you if they want and this is trini yuh worng unless yuh bribing. Let the insurance guide you That's why you payin for insurance. Leh dem do dey wuk and safe guard yuh arse.

Ry an

Postby Ry an » October 12th, 2009, 3:57 pm

Cool i will call the insurance and talk to them.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » October 12th, 2009, 4:00 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:If...

Then why did...

these can be doctored...

Postby cinco » October 12th, 2009, 4:01 pm

shudda run he sc@nt over
tink about it Funeral is a one time bill
doctor bills keep adding up

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 12th, 2009, 4:07 pm

Mitsu_Exec wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:If...

Then why did...

these can be doctored...

Granted.. But sounds mighty fishy to me.

Ry an

Postby Ry an » October 12th, 2009, 4:15 pm

Goin to the insurance to make a report

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 12th, 2009, 4:42 pm

When they asking for money from you tell them to teach their child proper cycling techniques and wash your hands of it.
You offering them something opens the door to all kinds of things eh. You giving them compensation can sound like an admission of guilt.