chinese workers being treated like trinis

d spike

chinese workers being treated like trinis

Postby d spike » October 14th, 2009, 8:27 pm

I take back everything I have ever said about the lack of fairness, prejudice and biasness in our country.

The chinese construction workers haven't been paid for two months, their living conditions are poor... yes, all are being treated equally in our country now. :roll:

Postby janfar » October 14th, 2009, 8:30 pm

pioneer wrote:I agree, don't see what the big deal is about.

Cuz people on the beetham and parts of penal living worse.

The difference is these ppl actually want to work.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 14th, 2009, 8:35 pm

The big deal is PR.
Beethamites and Penalis will not be going abroad in droves and "ill-speaking" our glorious nation.

Devon.Lopez
Location: saving a bunch of money on my car insurance by green band maxi

Postby Devon.Lopez » October 14th, 2009, 8:42 pm

these chinee need to ask OJT workers who doh get pay for all four and five months how to live.

Ah lil two months and they cyah handle that? They really doh know where they are.

But at least they not takin it so though.

Postby ronsin1 » October 14th, 2009, 8:49 pm

what was their monthly salary :?:

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2009, 10:04 pm

It is good to see that the OWTU has stepped up to the plate and wants to defend the rights of these workers.
Well done!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 14th, 2009, 10:54 pm

Devon.Lopez wrote:these chinee need to ask OJT workers who doh get pay for all four and five months how to live.

Ah lil two months and they cyah handle that? They really doh know where they are.

Thank you, and that's a fact - OJT is the new form of exploitation in the public sector.

Seen that myself, and many of them have kids to feed.

So i dunno why chinese ppl feelin so special all of a sudden, let them take that issue to colder hart wife :arrow:

Arrange tuh send back dem forking beethamites too tuh dem mother country too nah!

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » October 15th, 2009, 6:45 am

i really don't care what the rest of the country thinks but they living in really disturbing conditions and i am all in support of the chinese labour, last year one week before christmas,a portion of my front wall was knocked down called some "local contractors" to organise it, "boss is nearly christmas, we can't do that, he he that looking like a new year wok"........long story short got a lady to bring two chinese workers for me in three hours my wall was back up and they returned the next day to plaster, so for anything i have to do construction wise as long as they are available i'll put out my money, been burnt way too much by "locals". i got to get rosetta stone mandarin yes

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 15th, 2009, 7:22 am

Slow Poke wrote:i really don't care what the rest of the country thinks but they living in really disturbing conditions and i am all in support of the chinese labour, last year one week before christmas,a portion of my front wall was knocked down called some "local contractors" to organise it, "boss is nearly christmas, we can't do that, he he that looking like a new year wok"........long story short got a lady to bring two chinese workers for me in three hours my wall was back up and they returned the next day to plaster, so for anything i have to do construction wise as long as they are available i'll put out my money, been burnt way too much by "locals". i got to get rosetta stone mandarin yes

Yup, I want to see them get better living conditions and better pay, look how many local contractors have overdue projects, take the tranquility primary school, Chinese had to step in and complete it. My cousin does construction work, he lazy, he drops his wife to work every morning @8 so he not reaching on the job til around 9, he going for lunch @ 12 and leavin @3 to pick she up and he works very slow and the work is sloppy not too mention he charges very expensive. He takes weeks to do a 2 day job and always bringing some piper to help him and expects us to pay them too. If someone asks him a favor he rushes to go and do it leaving his job behind.......I wish we could have gotten a few Chins to do our work, would have gotten the job done in much less time and probably saved a few dollars too

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 15th, 2009, 7:35 am

why is there such speculation over them anyways?

They are here to do Jobs that the LOCAL labourers are too fackign lazy to do, with the construction BOOM that was here, all the locals only want to cut style on their employers, show up late, dont show up , refuse to work, work overly slow.

The chinee labourers work over 100 times faster, they produce much BETTER work and they dont complain..............

SO whats the problem?

Keep all them chinese here, bring more and export some of our local village idiots off to other countries!

Maybe trinidad needs to have a labout exchange programme with china!

:)

Humes

Postby Humes » October 15th, 2009, 8:22 am

evo-STI-k wrote:and they dont complain..............

That recent gathering was a Double 10 sing-a-long session, then?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 15th, 2009, 8:55 am

Humes wrote:
evo-STI-k wrote:and they dont complain..............

That recent gathering was a Double 10 sing-a-long session, then?
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 15th, 2009, 9:12 am

Actually- i heard the chinese and dem have a Chior come to think of it :lol:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 15th, 2009, 9:20 am

they complained after workign conditions got really inexcusable, and they are not even getting paid for working riduculous over time hours.

Local idiots does complain about every damn thing, no water cooler, eet too hot, they have no money to travel to wuk,,,,,,,,,,, them granny dead 6 years in a row!

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 15th, 2009, 10:13 am

Some ppl are complaining about locals and are quite justified to do so but that does not give you the right to participate in this new form of slavery.

We live in a country where locals do not have to work under certain conditions and if someone does not do the work the way you asked then simply refuse to pay until they do it right or look for somebody else. You are on a site that has over 20,000 members somebody must know a good tradesman with contact in your area.

Dont you realise its like saying these native indians cant work the way we want them so i rather those Africans or Indentured Indians? These ppl are treated like foreign used vehicles, cheap and reliable yes but how much fu does break down all over eg: Matrix :shock: While ppl local used cars are sometimes meticulously maintained and cant get a sale. Its the system taht makes it this way so dont include yourself,

Oh yeah and OJT is the governments way of gettin cheap qualified labour without having to pay for it so why does this surprise you. My girlfriend worked with them for mths doing the same thing as ppl permanent and better and we had to almost beg for what is rightfully ours. :evil: :evil: :evil:

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » October 15th, 2009, 10:36 am

evo-STI-k wrote:they complained after workign conditions got really inexcusable, and they are not even getting paid for working riduculous over time hours.

Local idiots does complain about every damn thing, no water cooler, eet too hot, they have no money to travel to wuk,,,,,,,,,,, them granny dead 6 years in a row!

that is very true!!!!!!!!!!
LOL LOL LOL :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Postby Maserati » October 15th, 2009, 10:57 am

Crackpot wrote:Some ppl are complaining about locals and are quite justified to do so but that does not give you the right to participate in this new form of slavery.

We live in a country where locals do not have to work under certain conditions and if someone does not do the work the way you asked then simply refuse to pay until they do it right or look for somebody else. You are on a site that has over 20,000 members somebody must know a good tradesman with contact in your area.

Dont you realise its like saying these native indians cant work the way we want them so i rather those Africans or Indentured Indians? These ppl are treated like foreign used vehicles, cheap and reliable yes but how much fu does break down all over eg: Matrix :shock: While ppl local used cars are sometimes meticulously maintained and cant get a sale. Its the system taht makes it this way so dont include yourself,

lol new form of slavery?
do you know the meaning of slavery?

As for the native Indians 'Amerindians' weren't their populations depleted to such an extent that the colonial powers had to look for alternative labour?
Hence the African slaves and the East Indian indentured labourers, Chinese etc.

Things could be much worse for them...
there are much more poor people in T&T and I'm sure there are some who are willing to work if given the opportunity.
Problems at home should take priority IMHO.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 15th, 2009, 11:03 am

I have never seen shackles on those chinese up to now!

but i think i did see one get a WHIPPING from a few LOCALS! :roll:

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 15th, 2009, 11:05 am

just checking...is the chinese contractor who don't want to pay the workers right?

is it because they eh get money from our govt or they just playing the arse? (or both)

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 15th, 2009, 12:03 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:just checking...is the chinese contractor who don't want to pay the workers right?

is it because they eh get money from our govt or they just playing the arse? (or both)

i would tend to say Both!

payment from the latter that you mentioned are delayed!

d spike

Postby d spike » October 15th, 2009, 12:24 pm

pioneer wrote:Yeh but the majority of world doesn't speak chinese anyhow, they come from a communist state so noone would care about their opinion.
They are free to go back where they came from, hundreds of thousands waiting to replace them. Developed nations were built on the backs of the exploited, that's just how the world social order is. If we hope to become developed we have to exploit and dominate in every sector which we possibly can.

You know how many public servants also go without several months pay?

Ent when you inquire in the accounting section they like to say "this is trinidad..." and many senior public servants does bawl "thaz how de system is boi..."

Well to you chinese folk, this is Trinidad and thaz how de system is.

I don't think you are aware of the quantity of people (read here future customers and clientele) in China. Manufacturers worldwide are eyeing China as a future market, so what the Chinese think of us is very important, as far as trade is concerned. Yes, China is communist, but they never practised it the way the Russians did (the one America taught everybody to loathe) and the Chinese method actually worked - well, better than Russia's, at any rate. The Chinese are modifying their outlook and participation in world activities - slowly, and specifically avoiding certain areas, yes, but change is occurring.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 15th, 2009, 12:32 pm

Crackpot wrote:
Oh yeah and OJT is the governments way of gettin cheap qualified labour without having to pay for it so why does this surprise you. My girlfriend worked with them for mths doing the same thing as ppl permanent and better and we had to almost beg for what is rightfully ours. :evil: :evil: :evil:

The OJT programme seems to have been originally developed to inflate and prop up the employment rate. When it was put in place, no one really questioned the reasoning behind the policy of not re-employing trainees: "Dat way everyone benefits!" Yeah, right. That way, the same funds can be used to "employ" more people quickly, and the budget will read "XXXXX more people were employed this year".

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 15th, 2009, 12:38 pm

d spike wrote:
pioneer wrote:Yeh but the majority of world doesn't speak chinese anyhow, they come from a communist state so noone would care about their opinion.
They are free to go back where they came from, hundreds of thousands waiting to replace them. Developed nations were built on the backs of the exploited, that's just how the world social order is. If we hope to become developed we have to exploit and dominate in every sector which we possibly can.

You know how many public servants also go without several months pay?

Ent when you inquire in the accounting section they like to say "this is trinidad..." and many senior public servants does bawl "thaz how de system is boi..."

Well to you chinese folk, this is Trinidad and thaz how de system is.

I don't think you are aware of the quantity of people (read here future customers and clientele) in China. Manufacturers worldwide are eyeing China as a future market, so what the Chinese think of us is very important, as far as trade is concerned. Yes, China is communist, but they never practised it the way the Russians did (the one America taught everybody to loathe) and the Chinese method actually worked - well, better than Russia's, at any rate. The Chinese are modifying their outlook and participation in world activities - slowly, and specifically avoiding certain areas, yes, but change is occurring.

:sleeping:

devrat

Postby devrat » October 15th, 2009, 1:02 pm

å°

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 15th, 2009, 1:11 pm

d spike wrote:

The big deal is PR.
Beethamites and Penalis will not be going abroad in droves and "ill-speaking" our glorious nation.

Since when? MOST migrated trinis have probly been Beethamites and Penalites, and I am sure that every social group in and out of trinidad take every opportunity to ill speak the place, take this forum for instance.
Or, why is some yankee or limey expat affected by reading about it in the papers any more than they themselves are getting robbed and hustled at every opportunity.
Dont worry about PR, trinidad has its own best PR to smooth everything over, come carnival time, when every trini discusses and agrees that trinidad is the greatest place in the world.

Postby cinco » October 15th, 2009, 1:14 pm

pioneer wrote:Yeh but the majority of world doesn't speak chinese anyhow

true they are only 1/3 of the worlds population :?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 15th, 2009, 8:07 pm

Guyanese ftw!!

Rum and wuk they skant

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 15th, 2009, 10:11 pm

pioneer wrote:I wonder if the UN is takin note of this?

Was all that Police force really necessary? Were any of the chinese armed or threatened violence? Sitting on a hill is against the law?

Why did the Chinese Embassy say their hands are tied?...didn't colder hart wife have a big role to play in bringing them here?...doesn't she run sh1t in the embassy? Now she's silent?

How can an Embassy stand by and watch their citizens be taken advantage of, that is certainly not the role of an embassy.

its probably what our government instructed all the relevant authorietes to do!

its a cuntspiracy! :lol:

Humes

Postby Humes » October 16th, 2009, 6:35 am

pioneer wrote:I wonder if the UN is takin note of this?

The UN probably a bit busy taking note of the human rights violations taking place en masse in China itself than some out of context Newsday photo.

If these fellas had try this in China, quarter of them mighta be dead or re-educated by now.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » October 16th, 2009, 9:53 am

Devon.Lopez wrote:these chinee need to ask OJT workers who doh get pay for all four and five months how to live.

Prime example of a "Trini mentality"

So because local employees can go without pay for 4 or 5 months, then two months is nothing to complain about?

Under no circumstances should any employee--local or otherwise--be denied what is owed to them as was promised in their contract.

What is most disturbing is the conditions in which the Trinidad government is accomodating these guest workers, especially given how they are working on government projects.

Foreign company or not, it is the duty of the local government to ensure that the company employing these guest workers are properly treated and accomodated, without having to live in galvanized and/or concrete "homes" with toilet facilities that look like this:

OP, I assume these facilities are similar to those used by locals?

:arrow: