chinese workers being treated like trinis

d spike

Postby d spike » October 16th, 2009, 10:04 pm

pugboy wrote:those are a lot less to clean if anything, you cant use that if you have bad knees though

one thing i notice about them construction workers, they like to squat with the arms folded
you seldom see them sitting on the edge of the pavement sprawl out cepep style

That's interesting... Did you know the plantation and cocoa estate workers of yesteryear used to stoop like that too? As a boy, I could never understand why this ancient farmer on the estate next to us used to stoop in that fashion - always wondered if one day he would not be able to unfold himself...

I hope it has nothing to do with the presence of a work ethic - would certainly explain the "CEPEP" style stance :lol: :lol:

Postby janfar » October 17th, 2009, 2:33 pm

Its like this. You go to Saudi Arabia. You have a hot one. You walk into the toilet and release one. Your mind eases together with you bowels. When you look around you notice their in no toilet paper, but their is a small valve at the side of the toilet that allows water to spray your cacahole. What do you do, pull up your pants and cry, complain to the owner of the establishment used, or humble your narrow western training and open the valve. Cause culture is a reality.

Its what they accept in china as normal. It would be wierd for them to sit an buss one. So they design it for their personal satisfaction.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 17th, 2009, 3:46 pm

When in Rome, do as the Romans do, i always say... :lol:

Postby Maserati » October 17th, 2009, 10:02 pm

janfar, so after they wash up what them? they pull up there pants over their wet skin?

Postby pugboy » October 17th, 2009, 10:22 pm

in africa you use your hand and flick it like how some people blow their noses and flick off the goop

Postby janfar » October 17th, 2009, 10:28 pm

Maserati wrote:janfar, so after they wash up what them? they pull up there pants over their wet skin?

Affirmative.

Postby Maserati » October 17th, 2009, 10:31 pm

found this on facebook

looks like a trini police man in this one and a photographer note the camera in his hand

I trying to get the note translated

Postby Maserati » October 17th, 2009, 10:46 pm

ok got the note translated..nothing new from what is already known.

It's in simplified Chinese.

It says:

"Chinese People (crossed out)
We are Chinese workers (laborers most likely)
Boss owes us wages and (equalization payments??)
We have no way of returning to China
Please help"

Postby janfar » October 17th, 2009, 10:53 pm

Maserati wrote:ok got the note translated..nothing new from what is already known.

It's in simplified Chinese.

It says:

"Chinese People (crossed out)
We are Chinese workers (laborers most likely)
Boss owes us wages and (equalization payments??)
We have no way of returning to China
Please help"

:shock: :shock: :shock:

I just get it translate too.

Its cantonese and it says.

2 soysoy(crossed out)
4 soysoy
4brocorri
12 ramen soup
8 doubles slight pepper

Postby Maserati » October 17th, 2009, 10:54 pm

^ :lol: :lol: a$$

Postby UML » October 17th, 2009, 11:36 pm

so they lock dem inside like dogs/slaves.....the ironic ting is.....where are the freedom fighters, the activists, the going back to the motherland, revolution, fight oppression, Ethiopia we coming, revolt against injustice, slavery put we in a complex, fight for equality, we want an apology for slavery, ant-slavery ppl....where dem now????? rather quiet!!! DEM EH SAYING AH BLASTED TING BECAUSE IS DEM OWN BLASTED PPL DOING AND ENCOURAGING IT!!! all d Kabon's and Cudjoe's

HYPOCRITS!!!!!!! DEM EH SEEING NUTTIN WRONG NOW!!!

yuh really better go back to africa!!!

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » October 18th, 2009, 3:12 am

janfar wrote:Its like this. You go to Saudi Arabia. You have a hot one. You walk into the toilet and release one. Your mind eases together with you bowels. When you look around you notice their in no toilet paper, but their is a small valve at the side of the toilet that allows water to spray your cacahole. What do you do, pull up your pants and cry, complain to the owner of the establishment used, or humble your narrow western training and open the valve. Cause culture is a reality.

Its what they accept in china as normal. It would be wierd for them to sit an buss one. So they design it for their personal satisfaction.

The Indonesian Engineer I work with always running in de toilet with a litre of water. Never put any importance to it, then I realised the toilet paper lasted two weeks......

its just the way they do buisness....but that hole in the ground thing have some serious splashback......

But back to the topic...they are not in China so the living acc could be better......

Humes

Postby Humes » October 18th, 2009, 6:46 am

UML wrote:so they lock dem inside like dogs/slaves.....the ironic ting is.....where are the freedom fighters, the activists, the going back to the motherland, revolution, fight oppression, Ethiopia we coming, revolt against injustice, slavery put we in a complex, fight for equality, we want an apology for slavery, ant-slavery ppl....where dem now????? rather quiet!!! DEM EH SAYING AH BLASTED TING BECAUSE IS DEM OWN BLASTED PPL DOING AND ENCOURAGING IT!!! all d Kabon's and Cudjoe's

Where the Indian labor and civil rights leaders? Too busy quarreling among themselves?

Where the Trinbagonians of Chinese ancestry who had big celebration and historical seminars just the other day? Too busy paddling dragon boats?

Amazing.

No ethnic group has jumped to the defense of the workers, but the only group you see fit to quarrel about is Africans.

Which is pointless either way, since it's not slavery going on. It's a labor dispute. When last you saw the ESC get involved in a labor dispute?

Senseless idiocy.

But yuh cyar expect nutten more from a racist idiot.

Humes

Postby Humes » October 18th, 2009, 6:47 am

Mudboy wrote:But back to the topic...they are not in China so the living acc could be better......

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161545654

One Chinese worker told the Sunday Express that three to four workers stayed in one room and the size was "more space than when I worked in China". He said the conditions were "better than I imagined", had no complaints about the toilet facilities though he found the overall site "just kind of dirty".

Postby UML » October 18th, 2009, 10:34 am

Humes wrote:
UML wrote:so they lock dem inside like dogs/slaves.....the ironic ting is.....where are the freedom fighters, the activists, the going back to the motherland, revolution, fight oppression, Ethiopia we coming, revolt against injustice, slavery put we in a complex, fight for equality, we want an apology for slavery, ant-slavery ppl....where dem now????? rather quiet!!! DEM EH SAYING AH BLASTED TING BECAUSE IS DEM OWN BLASTED PPL DOING AND ENCOURAGING IT!!! all d Kabon's and Cudjoe's

Where the Indian labor and civil rights leaders? Too busy quarreling among themselves?

Where the Trinbagonians of Chinese ancestry who had big celebration and historical seminars just the other day? Too busy paddling dragon boats?

Amazing.

No ethnic group has jumped to the defense of the workers, but the only group you see fit to quarrel about is Africans.

Which is pointless either way, since it's not slavery going on. It's a labor dispute. When last you saw the ESC get involved in a labor dispute?

Senseless idiocy.

But yuh cyar expect nutten more from a racist idiot.

i see u have problems reading and understanding...i was showing their hypocrisy....i was showing the hypocrits they really are....always expressing their unwanted opinion when "their people" not responsible for it...now that they are....they cyah say ah word

TING FOR DEM TO BE VOCAL AND TALK ABOUT, DEM EH SAYING NUTTIN!!

Humes

Postby Humes » October 18th, 2009, 11:01 am

But you're either a liar or an idiot. Kambon never makes statements implicating the activities of other races as a hindrance to African progress. He emphasizes personal responsibility...he doesn't assign blame against anyone. To compare him to Cudjoe simply shows you see all those groups as one and the same, which speaks volumes about your attitude or your intelligence.

And how is it "their people" who responsible for it? Chinese contractors aren't involved? Local Chinese businessmen aren't involved? Indian managers and government officials aren't involved?

You choosing to criticize the African groups alone because you hate afro trini, plain and simple.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » October 18th, 2009, 11:04 am

wait wait wait.. let me ask this HOW many of you all who profess to know so much about the "opperssion " of these workers work with or amongst them?.. why dont allyuh ask what they think..

Postby janfar » October 18th, 2009, 11:10 am

Humes wrote:But you're either a liar or an idiot. Kambon never makes statements implicating the activities of other races as a hindrance to African progress. He emphasizes personal responsibility...he doesn't assign blame against anyone. To compare him to Cudjoe simply shows you see all those groups as one and the same, which speaks volumes about your attitude or your intelligence.

And how is it "their people" who responsible for it? Chinese contractors aren't involved? Local Chinese businessmen aren't involved? Indian managers and government officials aren't involved?

You choosing to criticize the African groups alone because you hate afro trini, plain and simple.

Which mod you payed in order to say that word without being banned???
Last edited by janfar on October 18th, 2009, 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » October 18th, 2009, 11:10 am

Humes wrote:But you're either a liar or an idiot. Kambon never makes statements implicating the activities of other races as a hindrance to African progress. He emphasizes personal responsibility...he doesn't assign blame against anyone. To compare him to Cudjoe simply shows you see all those groups as one and the same, which speaks volumes about your attitude or your intelligence.

their actions (and some degree associations) speak louder than words
8-)

never hear manning say he hate indian either :wink:

u indian right?!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » October 18th, 2009, 11:20 am

They should get there money, typical Trinidadian mentality to sit on there jobs and take there time to do anything.

Humes

Postby Humes » October 18th, 2009, 11:47 am

UML wrote:their actions (and some degree associations) speak louder than words

Stop talkin outta yuh ass. Yuh grasping at straws now.

Be a real man and state outright the way yuh feel. Stop being a nookie and hiding behind ring-rong talk.

Postby UML » October 18th, 2009, 11:59 am

Humes wrote:
UML wrote:their actions (and some degree associations) speak louder than words

Stop talkin outta yuh ass. Yuh grasping at straws now.

Be a real man and state outright the way yuh feel. Stop being a nookie and hiding behind ring-rong talk.

u doing a great job...keep it up :wink:

Humes

Postby Humes » October 18th, 2009, 1:11 pm

UML wrote:u doing a great job...keep it up

I intend to. Making life tough for racists is nutten to be ashamed of, even if it means less hits from them for your website.

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2009, 2:56 pm

the workers are only complaining about not being paid.

that is the only issue, the living conditions are what they are comfortable with and what they accept and what they widely use themselves in China.

if you as a foreigner and you visit china, you would see for yourself that in most places you have to use the same kind of toilets.

As someone said before, they are given a set amount of money to build their own facilities, (I assume these facilities would be removed after completion of project?)

Why would they build expensive permenant facilities.

They built what is cheap and what THEY are comfortable with.

haterforever

Postby haterforever » October 19th, 2009, 9:01 am

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=1 ... =540781779

these are some pics i saw on facebook showing the living conditions

Postby Chimera » October 19th, 2009, 7:23 pm

I know of someone who had some chinese workers doing a job by him in Trinidad, he gave them a room for them to stay at his business place for the weekend, as it would have been easier to just stay there than to travel and come every morning>

He gave them mattresses to sleep on, they refused saying that they rather sleep on plain plywood as mattresses damage your back.

Most of the living conditions you see here, are what they prefer, what they want, what they are accustomed too.

If you as a Trinidadian go to America to work, you gonna stay in a 5 star hotel right?

The only complaint here is not being paid. They have no complaints about their living conditions

d spike

Postby d spike » October 20th, 2009, 4:24 pm

That is why I always say history should be MANDATORY in schools... how come no one is seeing history being repeated throughout this entire situation?

"Their only complaint is not being paid", "They are happier/comfortable living under those conditions (which we ourselves would refuse)", "only outsiders are the ones arguing about their conditions" ...

Can't anyone recall what arguements the planters used in the British Parliament in the debates against the abolition of slavery? Oh come on... These same points!
The blacks are happier as slaves, and all that bull!

When you fail to remember the mistakes of history, you are doomed to repeat them...

So go on thinking it is alright, ah lil' exploitation eh go hurt nobody... who knows? Maybe 400 years in the future, we will be in the annals of history once more under slavery...

Cheers

Humes

Postby Humes » October 20th, 2009, 4:30 pm

If you actually making more than a superficial comparison between this situation and slavery, I hadda question how much of a student of history you really are.

Postby Chimera » October 20th, 2009, 4:34 pm

d spike wrote:That is why I always say history should be MANDATORY in schools... how come no one is seeing history being repeated throughout this entire situation?

"Their only complaint is not being paid", "They are happier/comfortable living under those conditions (which we ourselves would refuse)", "only outsiders are the ones arguing about their conditions" ...

Can't anyone recall what arguements the planters used in the British Parliament in the debates against the abolition of slavery? Oh come on... These same points!
The blacks are happier as slaves, and all that bull!

When you fail to remember the mistakes of history, you are doomed to repeat them...

So go on thinking it is alright, ah lil' exploitation eh go hurt nobody... who knows? Maybe 400 years in the future, we will be in the annals of history once more under slavery...

Cheers

You know if you go china, you have to use the same squat toilets right?
With no toilet paper.

Apparently up to now, you do not understand, this is what they use in their own countries. .

Let me ask you something D spike.

Would you personally sleep on a piece of board? or you want a mattress?

d spike

Postby d spike » October 20th, 2009, 5:48 pm

Humes wrote:If you actually making more than a superficial comparison between this situation and slavery, I hadda question how much of a student of history you really are.

Go ahead and question, boyo. Admittedly, this situation is not slavery, but how many similarities have to exist before people start feeling uncomfortable? At what point does exploitation begin?

An important point of studying history is to be able to compare past situations to present ones, to use analytical and critical thinking in identifying past problems and predict future ones - and if you were unaware of this, then I, in turn, must question your scholarly ability.

What is slavery? Is your concept of slavery directly linked to a people and a time? Why?

Slavery involves the lack of freedom, and forced labour. These workers are supposed to be getting a salary, so then this isn't slavery. Ent? When, in recent times, certain documentaries (and a movie) were aired depicting indentured labour as a form of slavery, did you remonstrate? (wasn't here, don't know, that's why I'm asking... :lol: )

So these workers are not being exploited? At what point does exploitation become slavery? When whips and chains are involved? Certain slave-owners here refused to whip or chain their slaves (they claimed this was due to their "christian" nature - more likely because our old laws forbade it), so does that mean they were not slaves any more?

Once a fellow human being isn't being treated fairly, something is wrong. (That is the basis of our laws and religions.) Once a human being is refused his rights, his right for freedom, choice, a home, equitable pay for work done... what do you call that?
Last edited by d spike on October 20th, 2009, 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.