Shaolin

Monday morning Accident

Postby Shaolin » October 26th, 2009, 7:13 am

Witnessed an accident in St. Augustine this morning.. B14 vs Frontier
The accident not important what is, is my question

Who wrong?

There was the normal line of EMR traffic heading to curepe and the b14 was overtaking the line. the driver of the frontier indicated and tried to make a right turn onto one of the side streets. The 14 couldn't stop in time and clipped the driver side rear end of the van.

I always see this crap on a morning and wonder.... who gets the wrong?

jhonnieblue

Re: Monday morning Accident

Postby jhonnieblue » October 26th, 2009, 7:39 am

Shaolin wrote:Witnessed an accident in St. Augustine this morning.. B14 vs Frontier

Who wrong?

There was the normal line of EMR traffic heading to curepe and the b14 was overtaking the line. the driver of the frontier indicated and tried to make a right turn onto one of the side streets. The 14 couldn't stop in time and clipped the driver side rear end of the van.

theres ure answer
indication of intent from major to minor as opposed to overtaking on a main road

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » October 26th, 2009, 7:43 am

jhonnieblue wrote:
Shaolin wrote:Witnessed an accident in St. Augustine this morning.. B14 vs Frontier

Who wrong?

theres ure answer
indication of intent from major to minor as opposed to overtaking on a main road

well said

Postby Hook » October 26th, 2009, 7:47 am

^^^ that's not much of an answer.....this means anyone could drive like a dick and pull on you at the last second, so long as they have their indicators on first?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 26th, 2009, 7:55 am

Who wrong?

The B14 was overtaking onto incoming traffic?

Postby Hook » October 26th, 2009, 7:58 am

doesn't matter, so long as there was a broken white line, he was free to overtake if it was safe to do so

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » October 26th, 2009, 8:01 am

jhonnieblue wrote:

Who wrong?

theres ure answer

Sounds like something one of these guys would say:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 26th, 2009, 8:01 am

Hook wrote:doesn't matter, so long as there was a broken white line, he was free to overtake if it was safe to do so
Yes, but if the Frontier was indicating to turn, the B14 was wrong to proceed.

Postby Hook » October 26th, 2009, 8:19 am

but what if the Frontier, at the last second, flicked on his indicator and pulled on the B14 without looking ( we see this nonsense every day, so it's no surprise)...who's wrong?

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 26th, 2009, 8:27 am

Computerman wrote:
Hook wrote:doesn't matter, so long as there was a broken white line, he was free to overtake if it was safe to do so

common sense tells me the driver of the b14 was wrong here.

**Edited text i thought the van driver was coming in the opposite direction.**

but still, whether the van just flick right or not, the broken white lines do not give a driver the "right" to overtake, but rather the privilege

Postby Hook » October 26th, 2009, 8:34 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:
Computerman wrote:

common sense tells me the driver of the b14 was wrong here.

experience tells me that the Frontier suddenly flicked on his ambers and pulled at the last second without looking in the wing mirror

you're all assuming the Frintier was doing the correct thing and had his indicator on at least 3 seconds before and looked in his mirror before negotiating the turn...how often do we see this, or even actually practise it?

I'm just showing the other side to this :idea:

*edit* privilledge or not, B14 was within his right to attempt the overtake IF it was safe to do so...getting in an accident in the midst of a manoeuvre like that doesn't instantly give him wrong, does it?

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 26th, 2009, 8:58 am

hook, i see your point eh, we both coming from different assumptions here.

Postby Hook » October 26th, 2009, 10:16 am

yup...that's what I'm getting at

Postby Monk BANzai » October 26th, 2009, 10:20 am

right...so..thats settled.

now..Johnnieblue...about her...

level some pics nah?....

Phoenix4tt

Postby Phoenix4tt » October 26th, 2009, 10:36 am

So the question still remains Who right and who wrong?. I am really curious to know the out come of this. I myself almost ended up in a similar situation. I was overtaking (as per my privilege lol) and the guy in front started pulling out didn't care that I had my hand on the very loud horn and pulled out. Good thing meh all wheel disk brakes save meh rass.

The thing is the police will ask me wuh I was doing on the wrong side ah the road then get into all kind ah questions about speed safety and reckless driving while the man who pulling out will be told that he could be charged for not being observant and suppose to ensure it was safe b4 he make the drive.

So anyone with the outcome of a similar situation pls enlighten me or is this a 6 of one and Half ah dozen of the other?

Shaolin

Postby Shaolin » October 26th, 2009, 2:19 pm

So as long as there is a broken white line its legal to overtake a line of bumper to bumper traffic and fight to squeeze back in, or even worse flash lights @ oncoming traffic to pull to the side and get out of your way?

Cuz thats what it was... bumper to bumper traffic in front sip and surf and the imps in the 14 overtaking the line trying to get the light by the hindu school.

Postby Hook » October 26th, 2009, 2:34 pm

well yuh see Shaolin, u didn't state that before...the overtake was legal, but not safe as there were cars in the opposing lane and nowhere for the B14 to merge back into the lane

The B14 driver may well be charged for driving "without due care and attention" and given wrong in this instant.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 26th, 2009, 2:45 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:right...so..thats settled.

now..Johnnieblue...about her...

level some pics nah?....

Heh.... 8-)

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 26th, 2009, 2:49 pm

exactly thaz typical trini driving and in that case he would be wrong
the law would take into consideration overtaking WITHIN the speed limit and careful driving practices.
Same thing happened to a friend of mine..only it was a truck that hit him while he was turning into a street.

Banzai....thaz mi baby dread :roll: ...the rest of pics to rated for this forum :mrgreen:

Postby tr1ad » October 26th, 2009, 4:43 pm

frontier would be wrong, carded as B-14 negligent driver - no pun there - as he is supposed to make sure it is clear to turn / pull out

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2009, 4:53 pm

isnt there a charge for dangerous overtaking?

Postby buzz » October 26th, 2009, 6:05 pm

Hook wrote:well yuh see Shaolin, u didn't state that before...the overtake was legal, but not safe as there were cars in the opposing lane and nowhere for the B14 to merge back into the lane

The B14 driver may well be charged for driving "without due care and attention" and given wrong in this instant.

agreed but something always boggled me...

the only states it as "safe"

what exactly could be considered safe? legally speaking

i mean other laws like reversing for an "unreasonable" distance :?

and you can't reverse onto a main road but i'm sure we all have to reverse onto a main road every day... oh and since you cant reverse on a main road either i can't reverse park either right? :?