2001 lancer start and cut off problem

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

lancer1929

2001 lancer start and cut off problem

Postby lancer1929 » November 8th, 2009, 3:27 pm

Local 2001 lancer had problems starting, thought it was the injectors that needed cleaning. carried it dm, the car worked like a dream after picking it up. next day same problem. the car powered down while i was driving. after that, the same problem re-started. carried it to dm that same morning and they suggested that the stepper motor or the immobiliser could be the problem. i have another lancer (2004 model) with the same engine (4G18). I switched the stepper motor between the cars and the 2001 lancer is still giving the same problems and the 2004 lancer is working perfectly. so i think that this rules out the stepper motor itself. i want to try disabling the immobiliser but dont know how...any suggestions??
by the way how can i access the service manual for the cedia?

on d ground

Postby on d ground » November 9th, 2009, 3:28 pm

hoss i hav ah ck4 an d same problem service injectors d same way u did an d next day same problem i scrap down d injectors an d trottle body an clean them work like ah beast after but c if is dat could cause it!

lancer1929

Problem solved

Postby lancer1929 » November 9th, 2009, 6:23 pm

well the car totally shut down today. it did not want to restart. this worked out good for me though, cause its through this that the car working now! :lol: long story short, i was told about a company called Timmy's Auto Diagnostics who does on the spot diagnostics for cars. Someone from there came to the location where i shut down promptly (20mins from my call), and diagnosed the problem as the cam position sensor. I hustled to dm before they closed and got the part there. i fit it in the car and it wukk!!! will see how it goes. if you dont see anymore 'problem' post from me then problem fixed. lets hope thats the case.
thanks for the suggestion though. one thing i realised this symptom could be caused by any one of a hundred (exaggeration here) problems.
PS. Timmy's Auto Diagnostics contact nos. 299 6855 or 726 1103

QG

Postby QG » November 9th, 2009, 10:34 pm

and your engine light never came on??

happened to my AD wagon a time :lol: :lol:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 10th, 2009, 4:09 pm

lancer1929, whats the part number for the cam position sensor?

lancer1929

Answers to questions asked

Postby lancer1929 » November 10th, 2009, 8:28 pm

1. the engine light did come on.

2. why the need to know the part number? whats the relevance?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 11th, 2009, 7:53 am

I have a 4G18 as well...so If my cam position sensor ever goes bad then I know the part number to look for? or I can import it myself becuz them small sensors are ridiculously expensive at DM compared to the price in d states...

Return to “MITSUBISHI”