LGT Boost ++

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

LGT Boost ++

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 13th, 2009, 9:06 am

I know a lot of you all simply cant leave stuff alone (like me).:lol: :lol:

What sort of boost levels are you running and with what supporting mods?

If you dont want to release your secrets, that is cool too - I appreciate any info.

I just wanna know what are the safe levels of boost to run on stock turbo+internals, but aftermarket ECU+breathing mods.

thanks guys

15devils

Postby 15devils » November 13th, 2009, 9:43 am

stay stock,stay happy

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » November 13th, 2009, 9:46 am

I kno a few ppl who run 18psi + have had some trouble with their Turbo Inlet tube after a while where it actually began to leak.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 13th, 2009, 10:08 am

I know a lot of you all simply cant leave stuff alone (like me).

What sort of boost levels are you running and with what supporting mods?

If you dont want to release your secrets, that is cool too - I appreciate any info.

I just wanna know what are the safe levels of boost to run on stock turbo+internals, but aftermarket ECU+breathing mods.

thanks guys

Just thought I'd throw something out here (mods not withstanding)....but I'm sure you'd know this already.

I know it does not answer your questions directly, but I hope it will provide some help anyways

Power = air flow, not boost pressure.

The thing about choosing your boost level is that it's not just dependent on mods you have, and what the tuner says, but what the turbo is actually capable of.

At higher boost levels, you can actually lose compressor efficiency, or at a minimum, have a lot of heat transfer across the compressor itself (yeah....we had to look at compressor curves back in mih class days).

So, sure, a WRX turbo can run as high as 21 psi theoretically, but you'd probably make less hp than at say...16 psi, as the efficiency has dropped off, the flow might have tapered a bit (according to the compressor map, by about 15 or so cfm), both of which will limit your hp.

So in short, for a WRX stocker turbo at that level, it's really nothing more than a fancy heater thats gonna probably live a shorter life (maybe...maybe not).

IMHO, short of asking your tuner for advice and going on a dyno and experiementing yourself with different boost levels, take the time to look at some compressor maps.....it can only help you make a better decision as to what level of boost to run, and how to squeeze the best out of your setup.

Most times (but not all!!!), the stock boost level gives a good compromise between air flow and efficiency...so that's something to think about.

There should be a few compressor maps/curves floating around on TSOC (is the LGT turbo a VF37??? i can't recall), and if not, nasioc or other legacy owners forums might have a couple. Check 16 cycles also...he can better explain this than I can, and should be able to help find a com,p. curve as well.

If the compressor maps/curves aren't available, then, you'd have to rely on the tuner's advice, and in most cases, this probably is the best option anyways.

My 2c.

8)

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 13th, 2009, 12:56 pm

Thanks Knight1, great info there.

must do research.. :mrgreen:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 13th, 2009, 3:54 pm

automatic BL5 GT

invidia 3" catless downpipe
K&N Typhoon CAI
Perrin Pulley

15.5 psi max boost
200 whp on the dyno with open source (been driving this everyday-daily driven for about 8 months now with no problems, got guages with EGT, fuel pressure etc.)

installing FMIC and AVO Fuel Pump at the moment and i'm gonna retune on 19PSI and maybe WMI- (undecided) within the next 2 weeks

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 13th, 2009, 4:10 pm

Thanks copper_shot
This was the kinda info I'm looking for.

I honestly thought stock boost was 15 or thereabouts?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 13th, 2009, 4:25 pm

stock boost on the LGT fluctuates, if you open the map you would see it changes across the RPMs, it starts somehwere around 12psi and holds at 14psi and drops off at higher RPMs , i think its drops to 10psi on top, i can't remember the exact values

before the tune i noticed my boost runs out on top very quickly ( as with all or most stock LGTs) , with the retune the car keeps climbing much faster but i kept my stock speed cut to be safe.

mine is set to hold the 15psi on the higher RPMs with proper tuning (ignition, fuel etc.)
Last edited by copper_shot on November 13th, 2009, 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 13th, 2009, 4:27 pm

btw, a friend with a BP5 did the same retune
but in his everything was stock
did 180whp with the 15psi
before the tune he was doing 145 i believe

starr007

Postby starr007 » November 14th, 2009, 7:58 pm

Legacy SpecB auto

208HP 230TQ
Turbo back exhaust with stock barrels
K&N drop in filter
AVO TMIC
Prodrive BCS
Walbro Fuel pump
ECUTEK tune

Around 2k rpm 20psi which levels off to 18psi then drops to 15psi@6k rpm

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 14th, 2009, 8:49 pm

starr007, thanks for contributing

anybody else?

ole whore

Postby ole whore » November 24th, 2009, 12:01 pm

legacy gt auto

perrin ebcs
perrin pulley
xo2 3" downpipe
xo2 fmic kit
ecutek tuned
K&N Typhoon CAI

211hp 213tq

a LOCAL badting..... :D

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2009, 1:35 pm

THanks all, so I assume 20 PSI is a good target for the stock turbo?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2009, 2:25 pm

legacy_specB wrote:20 PSI still kinda pushing it.....at that psi the stock turbo is practically giving it it's all......might reduce it's life.

I think 18 psi is safer.......

my 2c

I should elaborate.
20 PSI is for my 'play' map.
Boost will remain stock (14.5?) for the daily driving.

maps will be switchable on the fly :twisted:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm

hmmm switchable with the new ECUTEK?

or open source?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2009, 3:28 pm

copper_shot wrote:hmmm switchable with the new ECUTEK?

or open source?

D. none of the above.

full standalone EMS :wink:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 24th, 2009, 3:31 pm

sweet

let us know how it goes

btw you changing turbo? and how do you switch between maps with the EMS?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2009, 3:44 pm

turbo stock for now...plenty other commitiments, so I cant go all out as yet.

going one step at a time and building a decent allrounder.

regarding the switching, will have to work out some options. This is why i wanted to know what boost levels guys with other LGT's were running with the stock turbos.

I will update soon.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 24th, 2009, 3:54 pm

yeah i know what you mean

i'm going with the turbo first using open source

when i'm ready i'll go with a full management

if only there was a way to switch maps with open source...

Civic 2nr

Postby Civic 2nr » November 24th, 2009, 8:05 pm

there is a way to have lower boost levels as my car does it..... my "play" is 20 psi and my normal is 15 with a different fueling and a diff throttle sensitivity etc..... and i have the stock ECU :wink:

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2009, 9:10 pm

niiice, please share!

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 24th, 2009, 10:11 pm

is it using the economy switch?

i know when you read the ECU there are different maps, MAPS A & B
MAP B is the one that we changed and worked on mine

i was wondering if MAP A is the "econ" map

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 24th, 2009, 10:30 pm

btw... is there anyway to reduce the delay in the electronic throttle?
eg. when standstill it takes about a second before the engine opens 100% throttle?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 24th, 2009, 10:40 pm

^^Remember there is a slight / MINUTE "lag" when accelerating due to the auto trans "torque converter" (fluid used as the main coupling between engine rotation and drivetrain rotation). You'd notice that alot if you floor from a standstill on most regular autos....and most times that's actually set that way from the manf'r to prevent excessive shock loading of the drivetrain components on harder acc.

If you're talking about "throttle lag" with the E-throttle / DBW setup that the Leggy's have...say when blipping the throttle or partial to full throttle acc......its common with quite a few Jap cars now. SOme folks use a "modifier" on the TPS signal (think Pivot makes one).......bushwakka can tell you more about that.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 24th, 2009, 11:04 pm

^ nice info as always
the lag i speak about is not the transmission lag but the throttle lag with the E throttle

by "modifier" do you mean an electronic throttle controller?
i know this may give you a quicker response, but not sure if there would still be the lag on standstill..

was wondering if there was a way to control it in the ECU, its very annoying at times, we had a benz that had it too, always took a while for the engine to respond from stand still...

btw.. PROVA makes a throttle controller for the legacy, but its kinda expensive

as you can see from the graph, the response can be made quicker
BUT i don't know if it would take out the delay on stand still

Civic 2nr

Postby Civic 2nr » November 25th, 2009, 2:56 am

yea coppers its using the eco map...... but it makes the car lazy but it saves gas!!!! lol

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » November 25th, 2009, 6:48 am

I have that Blitz throttle controller to install, will let you know how it works.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 25th, 2009, 9:08 am

Civic 2nr, so you leaving the eco map stock modifying the everyday map... why didnt you make some changes to the ECO map for everyday driving?

Ragnarok, don't forget me on that, would really like to know...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 25th, 2009, 2:06 pm

^^Are the WDC's also setup in a similar fashion to the Ign for both maps?

Or are the WDC settings identical? I've always been curious as to how the 32 bit ecu's were setup. More flexibility if you stop and think about it....... :oops:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 25th, 2009, 6:17 pm

^ lol cant zoom in the pic

but great info!

next question

say we set the ECO map as the "agressive tune" , how do we get it to NOT automatically switch out of the ECO mode?

Return to “SUBARU”