*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 25th, 2009, 8:37 am

I also recently decided to get a good home system. But dam this is confusing.

I started with this which I got last week Friday:

Samsung LN52B750 52" 1080p LCD HDTV

Was looking to get this:
Yamaha RX-Z7
7.1-Channel Digital Home Theater Receiver

And This:
http://www.aperionaudio.com/product/Int ... 2,343.aspx

But I dunno. I am still confused. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby noshownogo » November 25th, 2009, 8:42 am

Porn in 1080p and 7.1 :shock:

I also find here is a good place for a beginner to search: http://reviews.cnet.com/home-audio/?tag=TOCleftColumn.0

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2009, 9:33 am

^ cnet and amazon customer reviews are great resources

evo-STI-k wrote:if you look around on several forums on AV systems you will also find that Different Speakers sound better(more detalied) with specific Receivers.

Example- many many many Home theatre experts have auditioned PARADIGM speakers and found them to sound BEst when paired with Yamaha Receivers.

Some also say that Klipsch goes well with MArantz or Onkyo

and that Definitive Audio speakers sound very good with Denon or Pioneer ELite

that is very true
Energy bundles their speakers with Yamaha - I'm sure its more than marketing

Porn Star wrote:I also recently decided to get a good home system. But dam this is confusing.

I started with this which I got last week Friday:

Samsung LN52B750 52" 1080p LCD HDTV

Was looking to get this:
Yamaha RX-Z7
7.1-Channel Digital Home Theater Receiver

And This:
http://www.aperionaudio.com/product/Int ... 2,343.aspx

But I dunno. I am still confused. :lol: :lol: :lol:

nice TV
the RX-Z7 is real overkill
check out the same one I was lookin at: the Pioneer Elite VSX 23TXH, better value for money IMO especially for a THX certified receiver

the Aperion 4T got best reviews at cnet
http://reviews.cnet.com/surround-speake ... ml?tag=tpr

I imagine the 6T will be just as good if not better

those are HUGE though :shock:

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 25th, 2009, 11:51 am

http://www.aperionaudio.com/product/Int ... 1,283.aspx

Aperion looks good.
Good reviews too.
Price not too bad.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 25th, 2009, 11:56 am

Klipsch F-2 or F-3 system was looking interesting tooo. But the Aperions blow them out. :?

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » November 25th, 2009, 12:30 pm

Denon System is pretty good and the warranty is honoured if bought from the local dealer

I got this one

nigel.g

Postby nigel.g » November 25th, 2009, 12:31 pm

Got the Onkyo 7.1 from radio shack and i gotta say, it sounds pretty good and the reciever got some nice features too.

Postby sharkman121 » November 25th, 2009, 12:39 pm

nigel.g wrote:Got the Onkyo 7.1 from radio shack and i gotta say, it sounds pretty good and the reciever got some nice features too.

how much dude :?:

nigel.g

Postby nigel.g » November 25th, 2009, 12:45 pm

About 6k I believe

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 25th, 2009, 12:47 pm

both Denon and Onkyo are good choices , However those are only really recommended for their Receivers and Not really their speakers systems.

Pornstar- yuh might as well look tino some nautilus!
And did you cater for buying a Proper Line conditioner/power protection as well?

Richard Greys company is good

Postby honda hoe » November 25th, 2009, 12:49 pm

which is the better buy?

a 40" sony bravia 1080p

or a 50" samsung 720p?

both same price

Edge

Postby Edge » November 25th, 2009, 1:05 pm

Loving this thread!

I am currently in the market for a LCD TV.

I have my eyes set on this one by Sony.
http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/ ... l?tag=psum

What u guys think? Does it meet present demands and in extent future demands?

Postby sharkman121 » November 25th, 2009, 1:16 pm

i lovin this thread also....but all dis information at one time makin meh widdle head spin.

is like ah have mor ques now dan wen ah start d ched :shock:

at least ah hav no doubt wey to come wen ah have a ques, cuz like duane is a walkin theater encyclopedia.

Postby crazybalhead » November 25th, 2009, 1:31 pm

A lot of us are into home theatre.

Hondahoe, how far will you be sitting from the TV? 8 Ft away and the 40" may be sufficient. More than that and the larger TV will be better.

Other than that try to demo each with a good quality DVD or Blu Ray. Get one with a lot of movement also.

For example, my TV a 720P toshiba, with a regular DVD sometimes shows gradations in light instead of a smooth transition. I doubt either of the sets you are looking at there has that problem though.

Postby honda hoe » November 25th, 2009, 1:33 pm

crazybalhead,

I would say about 10' away

the smaller 40" shows a lot crisper.. of course cuz its in 1080p as opposed to the 720p samsumg

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 25th, 2009, 1:36 pm

^actually the difference from 720p to 1080p isnt that much difference unless the screen is 42"+. Probably your noticing the difference because of the contrast ratio .

Postby honda hoe » November 25th, 2009, 1:49 pm

i'm more inclined towards the 40" sony in 1080p

cuz i only use my tv for blu ray movies an ps3 gaming

Postby noshownogo » November 25th, 2009, 2:01 pm

honda hoe wrote:which is the better buy?

a 40" sony bravia 1080p

or a 50" samsung 720p?

both same price

ah boy, man taking he bonus to upgrade to the 21st century. Congrats congrats :D

Postby sharkman121 » November 25th, 2009, 2:09 pm

honda hoe wrote:i'm more inclined towards the 40" sony in 1080p

cuz i only use my tv for blu ray movies an ps3 gaming

the latter of which he is very shitty in :roll:

Postby honda hoe » November 25th, 2009, 2:11 pm

:| :| :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2009, 2:16 pm

correct you will only truly notice the difference between 720 and 1080 on larger screens

also remember when shopping for LCD HDTVs look at the Hz rating

if you play games or watch action movies then you will want to spend a little more on a 120Hz or 240Hz TV. A 60Hz TV will drop frames and may seem jerky.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 25th, 2009, 4:44 pm

I think I have headphones that cost more than the OP's budget , lol

My advice is don't try and buy more than you need.

You best bet is to go out and audition as many setups as possible, even already
configured home installations and get a feel for what you would like to hear.

I myself run a Rotel receiver, Klipsch Reference Series speakers, and a pair of cylinder subs tuned to 16hz from http://www.svsound.com/products-sub-cyl.cfm

The best sounding music setup I've ever heard was comprised of Vandersteen 2ce signature speakers fed by separates, a Modded Marsh poweramp, Plinus pre, and I forget the source Adcam I think ... The bottom end was bolstered by a sealed 12" Shiva sub ...

I personally have NEVER heard a HTIB that I considered seriously, but I've been out of the market for a while, so take that with a bucket of salt.

If you are on a tight budget, I recommend as much DIY as possible, but for some nice affordable speakers, I've personally tried these and they are excellent:

http://www.ascendacoustics.com/

See also for older reviews, but good reading: http://www.soundstageav.com/avreviews_speakers2.html

see as well: http://hometheaterreview.com/

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » November 25th, 2009, 4:51 pm

Guys, i'm currently doning some rennovaions and this is the layout i'm working towards.. Thring to utilize the LCD for 2 spaces, because of the odd shape, this is what i came up with. Problem will be where to put speakers (wall mount), what direction to face, sub placement and most importantly if i will have to sacrifice one area for surround sound in the other. Speaker placements/other room ideas are welcome. Surround sound for now is a Z-5500, should upgrade in the not too distant future. Thanks.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 25th, 2009, 5:08 pm

Messy bedroom, my surrounds are on the mains beause we recently moved and haven't had time to place them yet:

Dual SV Subwoofers:

Beyerdynamic DT990 headphones for late nights:

Sennheiser HD600s and Corda Canate.2 Headphone amp:

Equpiment shot, Rotel Receiver, orig modded XBOX, Sampson S1000 Amp (for the subs), the EQ is for the subs as well:

Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on November 25th, 2009, 6:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2009, 5:43 pm

^ hang on..

Rotel
Klipsch Reference
Vandersteen
Marsh
Plinus
SV subs

AND DAIS THE TV YUH ROCKIN??? :shock:

hossss....

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 25th, 2009, 5:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ hang on..

Rotel
Klipsch Reference
Vandersteen
Marsh
Plinus
SV subs

AND DAIS THE TV YUH ROCKIN??? :shock:

hossss....

Ha ha ha, yes yes ... I planning to buy one for Christmas ... This looking decent: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/de ... R&v=glance

Terran

Postby Terran » November 25th, 2009, 5:56 pm

For the price and simplicity the OP is investing, nobody could recommend the Logitech Z-5500 from Raptor?

Postby crazybalhead » November 25th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Terran wrote:For the price and simplicity the OP is investing, nobody could recommend the Logitech Z-5500 from Raptor?

No. I have hjeard this system. It does not produce any true sub bass, and is not nicely balanced.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 25th, 2009, 6:24 pm

My old man's setup ... Currently the spearers are Silverline Sonatina III's ... Personally I favoured the tonality of the Vandersteens which were able to do that disappearing speaker trick you often read about but seldom experience ...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 25th, 2009, 6:37 pm

^nice setup,your dad=teh winzzz

nice Equipment there yourself Mr. Go Slow,as for the TV,errrrrrrrrrrr :|