Laptop brand advice

`psycho

Postby `psycho » November 23rd, 2009, 9:07 am

IMHO laptops doh really last more than 2yrs these days, i treat all my laptops really good, 1st one (Acer aspire) the power board started giving trouble, 2nd one (toshiba satellite) the LCD power inverter keeps melting down. Guess i'll se how de Dell holds up.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 27th, 2009, 10:54 am

hmm well my last laptop las 5 yrs and still pusing ..though running a lil slow these days
now studying to get an asus netbook based on some good reviews im hearing

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 27th, 2009, 11:44 am

^^^tell us about that laptop of yours. Give us a review it will be helpful to all if you would :)

star323

Postby star323 » November 27th, 2009, 12:58 pm

x2floor wrote:^^^tell us about that laptop of yours. Give us a review it will be helpful to all if you would :)

Postby cinco » November 27th, 2009, 1:07 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:hmm well my last laptop las 5 yrs and still pusing ..though running a lil slow these days
now studying to get an asus netbook based on some good reviews im hearing

well 5 years ago they actually spent more money on hardware and laptop were built to last im sure you paid in excess of 15k tt for it
nowadays laptops are trow away commodities you pay 300 us for one every 2 years

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 27th, 2009, 1:17 pm

was a hp
yeah paid a good raise for it
never had trouble with it,jus need a lil ram :)

300US for a netbook to throw way after a yr is sad....more ways for them to make money

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » November 27th, 2009, 11:34 pm

Local Support:
Memory Bank - Lenovo
HP - Digidata Illuminat
Acer - some outfit in woodbrook.
Dell -Any palour that does sell b14 parts.

The lenovos are really good - The T Series are very good laptops.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 27th, 2009, 11:54 pm

fellas if u really want a top notch laptop forget all those brand name garbage....check this website

www.xoticpc.com thats where i bought mine, absolutely love it, over a year now and it still works as if it was just booted for the first time

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 28th, 2009, 1:04 am

i have a hp for over 1 yr now running intel core 2 duo, 4 gb ram 250gig hd and vista was installed. removed vista an installed windows 7. i have absolutely no problems wit my laptop. always does virus scans, regular cleanup and delete whatever i dont need. once u take care of ur system it will work perfectly for u. i have a dell desktop for almost 6 yrs and the only thing dat was changed is the dvd burner which dell had replaced...an i had installed 2 gig of ram jus 2 yrs ago and system runs perfectly also. when i am home the laptop runs all d time and about 50% of d time when i'm at work it is on.
if u r looking for something reliable and u is a first time owner of a laptop go wit d dell....but if u have alot of experiences with laptops and operating systems u can buy otherwise jus do enough research on the internet and consult computer professionals

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 28th, 2009, 3:32 am

triniboi49 wrote:Local Support:
Memory Bank - Lenovo
HP - Digidata Illuminat
Acer - some outfit in woodbrook.
Dell -Any palour that does sell b14 parts.

The lenovos are really good - The T Series are very good laptops.

L-O-L!

MBC Autotronix

Re: Laptop brand advice

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 25th, 2011, 8:31 pm

looking to invest in ah new laptop. However, i seein alot of popular brands out there now with all decent specs and good prices.

What's the latest in terms of support and reliability here in Trinidad? Is Dell still the best VALUE out there in terms of support, parts availability and build?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 25th, 2011, 8:36 pm

Nobody beating dell for support.
Nobody.

Rx

Postby Rx » September 25th, 2011, 8:39 pm

got 2 Dell laptops... two years plus now... running great... battery seems to have lost it's charging capabilities though

Postby ismithx » September 25th, 2011, 8:49 pm

ammm ammm buy direct from dell tt online... just google it.... warranty is honored and tech comes to your house!

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 8:52 pm

buy toshiba.
u wont need support.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 25th, 2011, 8:59 pm

Just stay the truck away from Sony.
And well HP leaving the PC market so forget them.

HOG

Postby HOG » September 26th, 2011, 1:56 pm

panasonic toughbook

Postby Stephon. » September 26th, 2011, 1:59 pm

S_2NR wrote:buy toshiba.
u wont need support.

This.

Or you can buy a dell and make use of the support that you WILL need every 6 months.

Postby cinco » September 26th, 2011, 2:27 pm

Rx wrote:got 2 Dell laptops... two years plus now... running great... battery seems to have lost it's charging capabilities though

charging port probably gone
10usd on amazon

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 26th, 2011, 2:44 pm

Stephon. wrote:Or you can buy a <A class=vglnk title="Link added by VigLink" href="http://www.dell.com/" rel=nofollow target=_blank vglnk_1317062646953="5">dell</A> and make use of the support that you WILL need every 6 months.

I only ever had to call Dell's tech support once with my Inspiron 1100 which I had for 8 years. Upgraded the hard drive once. Everything else was original.

I have never called Dell's tech support with my Inspiron 9400 which I have had for the past 4-1/2 years. Never had to do anything with it at all.

I have no reservations about recommending Dell.

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » September 26th, 2011, 2:49 pm

If you don't use windows: Apple

otherwise:

1. Sony/Toshiba (poor local support, however chances of needing warranty is low)
2. Lenovo - (local support is ok, good computers)
3. Asus (dont know about local support, however never heard any bad reviews and they generally make great products)
4. Dell (Great support locally, chances of needing warranty: DEFINITE (once in a while you may get one that doesn't break down too much though); battery will need to be replaced in 1 to 2 years)
5. HP (local support is ok, their last series of computers had problems, however they redesigned and should be fine now, however they may exit PC market or shoot it off as a separate company)
6. Everything else (probably no support locally, usually cheaper computers)

However no matter what you buy, treat it properly and it should be nice to you.

1. Don't use it on ur bed or some squishy surface that won't allow heat to dissipate.
2. Keep it clean, dust is NOT ur friend (buy a can of air and blow out the vents every couple months)
3. Try to use it mostly in A/C areas. (if you're going out and not using your laptop, turn it off if it's not in a room with A/C)
4. Try not to use it for extended periods of time in humid areas.
5. Try not to walk about with it while the power is on. If you have to move it while its on, just don't shake it up too much.

Basically, keep it cool, clean and dry.

Postby rfari » September 26th, 2011, 3:35 pm

Toshiba or nothing. Last christmas made it 4 years since I had mine (17", dual core, upgraded to 2gb and 350gb hd and it wukking like a boss. Next buy is definitely the qosmis (sp)Warranty is for wimps. With a toshiba machine u doh have to deal up with that folly. If u looking at anything else, go with the lenovo thinkpads. Not the prettiest but durable as fu.ck. Dells somehow always go bad after the warranty is up. Trust me I know. U gonna get rell headache with dell. Not even gonna talk about hp. Dem is compaq at the end of the day. No need to dolls-it-up.

Postby Stephon. » September 26th, 2011, 3:38 pm

I think people glorifying dell to have never had an issue are all straight up liars tbqh.

Postby Team Loco » September 26th, 2011, 3:47 pm

i think i have used all the different brands out there. i had one expensive arse dell that got stolen. ended up purchasing an acer to replace the dell. both had same specs and the acer was half the cost of the dell. to me, the acer was more comfortable to use with the exception of the keyboard seeming a bit weak. but the acer outperforms the dell. you cannot beat dell for service though. warranty is rock solid.

i would still give acer the edge though

Postby rfari » September 26th, 2011, 4:05 pm

Stephon. wrote:I think people glorifying dell to have never had an issue are all straight up liars tbqh.

They are impressed by the many problems that are fixed during warranty. My cousin wanted me to order a laptop. I suggested toshiba but he insisted on dell. Ok fine, is ur money spending. Ordered a dell xps for him. Within a year he had to change the keyboard (when u press one key, 3 characters would appear). Fine, its under warranty so dell fixed it. A while after the screen had horizontal lines on it from top to bottom. Under warranty, no scene, dell fixed it. I swear to you the month after the 3yr warranty finished, the laptop couldn't power up. apparently it was the board.

Moral of the bloody story is that I have an expensive dell laptop that is in a tru valu bag ontop my closet collecting dust. OP make the mistake and come back and tell us about ur experience.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 26th, 2011, 4:27 pm

S_2NR wrote:buy toshiba.
u wont need support.

^^this

Postby TRAE » September 26th, 2011, 4:31 pm

Mac,Sony, Toshiba, Lenovo

in that order

Crucial

Postby Crucial » January 10th, 2012, 8:21 pm

Dell usually gets a bad rep from it's low end Inspiron line in the same way HP gets negative feedback on their entry level Pavilion series as compared to their high end EliteBook and Envy models.

I currently own a Dell XPS M1210 that is 6 years old and has no problems whatsoever, except for the CD/DVD+RW drive which reads CD's but refuses to read and write DVD's. But then again, the drive OEM is Sony...LOL.

Strauss

Re:

Postby Strauss » January 11th, 2012, 8:39 am

trini_champ wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:The only other brand that has service in Trinidad is APPLE if you want to buy a mac laptop.

For free if u buy apple care?

If you buy it from the Caribbean or stores in FL that service the Caribbean and Latin America, you will get your 1 year warranty honored here. You can also buy your Mac online and buy the 3 year warranty locally.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 11th, 2012, 8:42 am

Crucial wrote:I currently own a Dell...
...CD/DVD+RW drive which reads CD's but refuses to read and write DVD's. But then again, the drive OEM is Sony...LOL.

This is a non-issue. Doh study it. No one uses CD/DVDs anymore.

Flash memory sticks hold way more than your DVD and soon will be on par with Blu-ray storage. Besides, you have cloud storage and broadband to make even flash drives bulky. iCloud FTW.