The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 21st, 2009, 9:44 pm

Some iPhone Codes That You May Or May Not Know http://mytriniphone.com/blog/2008/11/so ... y-not-know wrote:*3001#12345#* and tap Call.
Enter Field Mode. Field mode reveals many of the inner settings of your iPhone, specifically up-to-date network and cell information.

*#06#
Displays your IMEI. No need to tap Call. IMEI is the unique identifier for your cell phone hardware. Together with your SIM information it identifies you to the provider network.

*777# and tap Call.
Account balance for prepaid iPhone.

*225# and tap Call.
Bill Balance. (Postpaid only)

*646# and tap Call.
Check minutes. (Postpaid only)

*#21# and tap Call.
Setting interrogation for call forwards. Discover the settings for your call forwarding. You’ll see whether you have voice, data, fax, sms, sync, async, packet access, and pad access call forwarding enabled or disabled.

*#30# and tap Call.
Calling line presentation check. This displays whether you have enabled or disabled the presentation of the calling line, presumably the number of the party placing the call.

*#76# and tap Call.
Check whether the connected line presentation is enabled or not. State whether the connected line presentation is enabled or disabled. Presumably similar to the calling line presentation.

*#43# and tap Call.
Determine if call waiting is enabled. Displays call waiting status for voice, data, fax, sms, sync data, async data, packet access and pad access. Each item is either enabled or disabled.

*#61# and tap Call.
Check the number for unanswered calls. Show the number for voice call forwarding when a call is unanswered. Also show the options for data, fax, sms, sync, async, packet access and pad access.

*#62# and tap Call.
Check the number for call forwarding if no service is available. Just like the previous, except for no-service rather than no-answer situations.

*#67# and tap Call.
Check the number for call forwarding when the iPhone is busy. And again, but for when the iPhone is busy.

*#33# and tap Call.
Check for call control bars. Check all the usual suspects (voice, data, fax, sms, etc) to see whether barring is enabled or disabled for outgoing.

May or May Not Work In My Experience

Postby M_2NR » December 21st, 2009, 10:19 pm

SRASC,noice! i clearly forgot to search the blog :oops:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 22nd, 2009, 10:42 pm

With 4 percent of all mobile device subscribers in the U.S., a new study has found that Apple's iPhone was the single most popular handset model in the country in 2009.

The iPhone edged out Research in Motion's BlackBerry 8300 series, which came in second place with 3.7 percent, according to new data released this week by Nielsen. The rankings measured the top 10 mobile phones in use in the U.S. from January to October 2009.

In third was the Motorola RAZR V3 series, which garnered 2.3 percent of the U.S. cell phone share. Coming in fourth was the LG VX9100 enV2, and fifth was the LG Voyager.

Overall, BlackBerry devices took a larger overall share. The 9530 series, also known as the BlackBerry Storm, came in seventh with 1.4 percent, and the 8100 series, including the Pearl, came in tenth with 1.2 percent.

Last week, another study found that the iPhone exceeded Windows Mobile in overall use in October. The iPhone had nearly 9 million U.S. users that month, while Microsoft's mobile operating system had just over 7 million. In July, the two companies were about even.

Together, the iPhone and iPod touch dominate the Web, with most mobile users browsing from devices that run the iPhone OS. In 2009, 38 percent of mobile traffic came from the platform on the AdMob advertising network.

[img::]http://images.appleinsider.com/nielsen-091222.png[/img]

The report also found that 21 percent of households now use mobile phones only, without a landline, and 15 percent of homes have at least one smartphone. In addition, most users pick pre-paid phones because they find the plans to be more straightforward.

The survey also revealed the top ten Web sites accessed over mobile phones in the last year, with Google's search coming in first, followed by Yahoo Mail and Gmail. The Weather Channel was fourth, and Facebook came in fifth.

Unsurprisingly, the top video destination for mobile devices in 2009 was YouTube, followed by Fox Interactive Media, the Weather Channel, Comedy Central and CBS.

The top online "brand" accessed via mobile phones for the year was Yahoo, followed by Google and Microsoft's collection of MSN, Windows Live and Bing coming in third. AOL's network took fourth, and the Weather Channel came in fifth. In tenth place was Apple.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 22nd, 2009, 10:46 pm

Luke Wilson should feel vindicated. Despite the never-ending complaints from customers and ridicule from competitors, AT&T has managed to edge out Verizon in Gizmodo's annual test to measure the nation's fastest 3G network.

Folks at Gizmodo conducted a 3G data test across 12 cities in United States.

Five locations in each of these cities was randomly picked to study the average download and upload speed using the 3G network of AT&T, Verizon, Sprint and T-Mobile.

The results of the study has been pretty anti-climactic. In terms of average download speed, AT&T won in six out of twelve cities - Atlanta, San Francisco, Chicago, Denver, Los Angeles and New York; while Verizon won in four cities - Las Vegas, Maui, Phoenix and Seattle. Sprint won in Tampa while T-Mobile won in Portland.

The results are even more astounding when it comes to the average upload speed. AT&T made a complete sweep winning the race in all twelve cities. At a national level too, AT&T is marginally above Verizon in download speed while it recorded nearly double the upload speed of the second best carrier, Verizon.

Gizmodo's study throws some pretty interesting results, especially with AT&T having reported to have a better download speed even in the highly congested areas like New York and San Francisco. What does it mean to us, the users? Basically, it then boils down to what our individual priorities are - Is faster 3G all that we need or do we require better coverage as well?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 23rd, 2009, 11:15 am

& another...

Polar Bear Farm has announced the release of ShowTime on the iTunes App Store. ShowTime brings video recording to the original iPhone and the iPhone 3G. ShowTime records video at a resolution of 320 x 240 pixels at a frame rate of 6 frames per second; twice that of popular existing video recorders on the App Store. 16-Bit audio is recorded at 22.05kHz sample rate. The video is compressed using Motion JPEG file format, which can be played back on all major computer platforms. Video recordings can be emailed from the phone.

ShowTime was originally developed and released two years ago, and was the first video recorder available for the iPhone. ShowTime was hugely popular in the jailbreak market, quickly becoming one of the most downloaded apps ever. ShowTime gathered over 1 million unique installations during the time it was available. ShowTime was removed from sale in the jailbreak market with the launch of the iTunes App Store, pending approval for sale through iTunes. Sixteen months later it's been approved for sale, and available for download.

Pricing and Availability:
ShowTime 2.0 is only $0.99 (USD) and available worldwide exclusively through the App Store in the Photography category. Today's approval for sale on the iTunes App Store now provides some certainty for future rapid development of ShowTime into a powerful and unique video utility for the iPhone.

[img::]http://www.iclarified.com/images/news/6833/24345/24345.jpg[/img]

---

Apple could ship between 40 million and 45 million iPhones in 2010, well up from the 20 million estimated in 2009, and will add a 5-megapixel camera to next year's phone, a new report claims.

Citing industry sources, Taiwanese publication DigiTimes said OmniVision, the supplier of CMOS image sensors for the iPhone, expects to see demand for its sensors in iPhones grow exponentially -- as high as 45 million. The report also said that OmniVision is set to supply a 5-megapixel camera for the next-generation iPhone, due to arrive in the second half of 2010.

In April, it was revealed that OmniVision was selected to provide the 3.2-megapixel sensor for the then-forthcoming iPhone 3GS. The supplier beat out Aptina, which provided the 2-megapixel camera used in the previous iPhone 3G.

OmniVision is expected to ship about 65 million total units to Apple in 2009, when the addition of iPods is included. The company also reportedly makes the sensor used for the video camera in the latest iPod nano.

The company was also rumored to supply a camera for the latest iPod touch, though the part was eventually not included due to alleged hardware issues. Sources have told AppleInsider that a camera-equipped iPod touch remains in the plans for Apple's future products.

Evidence for plans of a camera in the iPod touch was bolstered by third-party cases with camera holes and even photos and video of an alleged prototype of the hardware. After it was released and taken apart, it was discovered that the new hardware includes space for an iPod nano-style video camera inside.

It should be noted that in August, DigiTimes also incorrectly reported that the iPod classic would receive a camera upgrade.

OmniVision is expected to ramp up its production of sensors beginning in the first quarter of 2010. The company was profitable last quarter for the first time in over a year, earning $8.1 million. Last year, the company lost $5.3 million in the same frame.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 24th, 2009, 1:01 am

Steve Jobs was compensated $1 for his work as Apple's CEO in 2009, a tradition that has existed since 1997.

Steve Jobs officially made $1 in salary in 2009, continuing a tradition started in 1997. Apple disclosed this information in a preliminary proxy statement sent to its shareholders on Wednesday.

Jobs holds nearly 5.5 million shares of Apple's stock, a position he has held steady since 2003, making his holdings in the company worth over $1 billion. He is also the largest single shareholder in The Walt Disney Co. at 7.4 percent.

Earlier in December, Jobs was named the world's best-performing CEO in the January-Feburary 2010 edition of Harvard Business Review. He was credited with delivering a 3,188% industry-adjusted return since he rejoined the company as CEO in 1997.

Jobs was given the title "CEO of the Decade" by Fortune for his role in turning Apple into a groundbreaking technology leader and "the most valuable company in Silicon Valley." He was also a finalist for Time magazine's 2009 "Person of the Year."

Apple's annual shareholder's meeting is currently scheduled for February 25, 2010.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 24th, 2009, 7:43 pm

Why doesnt my phone ring when i'm in certain apps.....eg eBuddy or facebook.
If i'm on my homepage i receive calls as normal.
Help please.....

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 25th, 2009, 12:00 am

Merry Christmas everyone!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 25th, 2009, 10:18 am

so i finally upgraded my 2g to 3.1.2 but the utube app not working
any ideas how to fix it?

also any good recommended apps to get??

Postby M_2NR » December 25th, 2009, 5:12 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:so i finally upgraded my 2g to 3.1.2 but the utube app not working
any ideas how to fix it?

also any good recommended apps to get??

read my post in the Previous page as to how to get push fix and youtube ;)

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » December 26th, 2009, 6:08 pm

aright guys i got a 3G 8gb for christmas.... help... lolz

i'm a total noob with this... i just put in my prepaid bmobile sim.... and making calls... do i need to change my sim? i doh wanna do that cuz i have some significant $$$ on this phone....

how i getting internet on the go, i have it running with my wireless network at home...

also wha apps and thing to get... help....

Postby M_2NR » December 26th, 2009, 6:50 pm

im preping a n00b guide for a blog. will keep in touch. ;)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 26th, 2009, 6:55 pm

trini_ravi wrote:aright guys i got a 3G 8gb for christmas.... help... lolz

i'm a total noob with this... i just put in my prepaid bmobile sim.... and making calls... do i need to change my sim? i doh wanna do that cuz i have some significant $$$ on this phone....

how i getting internet on the go, i have it running with my wireless network at home...

also wha apps and thing to get... help....

-If the phone unlocked already you should be able to just 'plug & play'. I was.
-Internet on the go would have to be GPRS/EDGE, which at last check is available from bmobile for $150/month.
-Apps are a personal choice in my opinion. I suggest checking out the App Store at least the top 10 in each of the genres to see what they offer.

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » December 26th, 2009, 7:00 pm

thanks so far... yea the phone is unlocked...

corolla 2nr, willing to share what u got so far?

i see bmobile have a prepaid data plan, but no details on how to get it... i know digicel u could just send a text... anyone use this service?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 26th, 2009, 7:04 pm

Anyone else experiencing weak WIFI signals since upgrading to 3.1.2?
From stand-by, my phone taking almost 10 seconds to connect to the network.. I also have a weaker signal now compared to my previous OS (1.14)

the problem is happening on all networks, not just at home

I used blacksnow & yes, I have push fix installed

Postby M_2NR » December 26th, 2009, 7:29 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Anyone else experiencing weak WIFI signals since upgrading to 3.1.2?
From stand-by, my phone taking almost 10 seconds to connect to the network.. I also have a weaker signal now compared to my previous OS (1.14)

the problem is happening on all networks, not just at home

I used blacksnow & yes, I have push fix installed

kekekeke

Blame apple... or so he says. Mr. George Hotz says its apple's fault not his if you experience lame WIFI.

TBH im still on my old baseband because i wanted to avoid Blacksn0wing.

Its a sad reality tho. I didnt have an iPhone as far back as that, but it is a bit weaker as compared to my Nokia.

trini_ravi wrote:thanks so far... yea the phone is unlocked...

corolla 2nr, willing to share what u got so far?

i see bmobile have a prepaid data plan, but no details on how to get it... i know digicel u could just send a text... anyone use this service?

I dont use Edge data plan, mainly because BSmobile messed up my simcard and i no longer have GPRS attached. i mainly use wifi. I just started writing it up. WRT to apps, as SRASC says, check the appstore, its up to personal perference really, like what u want to do with it, trust me, you can do ANYTHING lol.
Check this guide: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=457556

for basics on the iPhone. Its a MUST read for any iPhone user i think.

Check redmondpie for guides and info as well as hackintosh k?

In the guide i will outline some nice Cydia apps as well.

One main thing you should get from cydia is "callerid and format fix" search it if you dont have it.
;)

Regards.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 26th, 2009, 7:44 pm

Thanks men... Keep me updated on any future fix for this problem

Postby M_2NR » December 26th, 2009, 8:04 pm

PROSWITCHER
Its out, and its better than multifl0w and free!

http://www.redmondpie.com/proswitcher-1 ... e-9140275/

Get it on Cydia. Search it. Its on bigboss repo :)

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » December 27th, 2009, 4:54 am

aright so it seems i have a post paid phone, but i won't be able to get the blackberry service...

how can i setup up WAP/ MMS to work with my iphone and have it charged to my monthly bill???

Postby M_2NR » December 27th, 2009, 6:45 am

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 27th, 2009, 8:41 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:Image

PROSWITCHER
Its out, and its better than multifl0w and free!

http://www.redmondpie.com/proswitcher-1 ... e-9140275/

Get it on Cydia. Search it. Its on bigboss repo :)

sweet!

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 27th, 2009, 9:04 pm

guys I dl movies off the net and I use kvip(iirc) to convert them, but recently the movies convert with 0kb's..

Whammin dey?

Or any recommendations for a new simple converter?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 27th, 2009, 9:06 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 27th, 2009, 9:12 pm

mitch, you rock yo...

BTW you used to sell flashdrives on tuner at one point in time?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 27th, 2009, 11:55 pm

nope...

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » December 28th, 2009, 1:31 am

yea i search and find that post already, tried it but it didn't work for me... i even called bmobile 2 day, they were like they can't send the settings for the iphone and i need to come in...

here's what my menu looks like

cellular data
APN:
username:
password:

MMS
APN:
Username:
Password:
MMSC:
MMS Proxy:
MMS max message size:
MMS UA Prof URL:

i tried ur...

-APN: mms
-MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app
-MMS Proxy: 192.168.210.104:8080

but those were the only fields i filled out....

did i leave something out???

noob... help...

Postby M_2NR » December 28th, 2009, 5:19 am

that works for me (when i put in another bsmobile sim in it) and i can send back and forth to a 2G as well. I just verified from my own settings too.

and TRUST ME dont waste your time at there store. they gonna just take your phone for 1/2 hour and play with it :/ tell them u go where ever your phone goes :lol:

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » December 28th, 2009, 5:13 pm

so corolla 2nr

cellular data
APN:
username:
password:

MMS
APN: mms
Username:
Password:
MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app
MMS Proxy: 192.168.210.104:8080
MMS max message size:
MMS UA Prof URL:

thaz all u have? anything else i could check do? could u check it over with a fine teeth comb to see if there was a typo...

i see a TSTT GSM at the top next tot the signal stregth and an E...

when i try to load a page it says could not activate cellular data network.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 29th, 2009, 8:43 am

there's an app for that

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 29th, 2009, 8:47 am