MMS
APN: mms
Username:
Password:
MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app
MMS Proxy: 192.168.210.104:8080
MMS max message size:
MMS UA Prof URL:

thaz all u have? anything else i could check do? could u check it over with a fine teeth comb to see if there was a typo...

i see a TSTT GSM at the top next tot the signal stregth and an E...

when i try to load a page it says could not activate cellular data network.

that was just the setting for MMS bhai.

I think Duane was saying for Edge, you hadda put the APN for the top section as internet.

SRASC, suhweeettt!! i gonna get that app now.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » December 29th, 2009, 8:33 pm

So i have a new one for allyuh.. iphone 3g

plug into laptop via usb.. all of a sudden (while in call) phone freezes..
next.. laptop starts smoking.

so phone rel hot.. shuts down phone normallly
laptop is shutdown by user immediately..

5 mins later NOTHING even came back on. completely dead.
as for the iphone.. when plugged into other pc's nothin is recognized..

Please help!

Postby M_2NR » December 29th, 2009, 8:39 pm

ok that scary. I dont use the phone while plugged in. leave it alone for a while for it to cool,etc.

If it aint coming on try to get it into DFU Mode.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » December 29th, 2009, 9:07 pm

i try everything under that sun. nothing... bro.. nothing works

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 30th, 2009, 9:50 am

Qik has released Qik VideoCamera, an application to record video using the iPhone 2G and 3G.

Features:
- High frame rate (7FPS) and resolution (352x288) along with smart video compression technology
- Videos can be exported to Camera Roll on your phone, and then downloaded via iPhoto on your Mac.
- Up to 1 hour of video recording.
- Only portrait orientation supported right now.

You can purchase Qik VideoCamera from the App Store for $0.99.

---

A new, speedier 8GB iPhone 3GS is once again rumored to replace the existing $99 iPhone 3G, this time evidenced by an alleged label referencing a new model.

A German customer who purchased a refurbished 8GB iPhone 3G found a label on the back that said "iPhone 3GS v2.2, 8GB." The model number, A1241, and part number, MB490DN/A, are identical to the existing iPhone 3G, but other materials on the packaging reference an 8GB iPhone 3GS. The forum post from a Hamburg resident was discovered by Electronista.

Currently, the lowest-capacity iPhone 3GS is a 16GB model for $199 in the U.S. with a two-year AT&T contract. It sports a fast PowerVR SGX GPU core that supports Open GL ES 2.0, which the existing $99 iPhone 3G cannot do.

In August, reports of a 8GB iPhone 3G were detailed in internal information from carrier Rogers Wireless in Canada. However, that was later discredited as a formatting error on the company's computer systems.

A mid-cycle upgrade for the iPhone would not be a new approach. In early 2008, Apple introduced a 16GB iPhone for $499. Months later, the iPhone 3G was released.

Recent reports have said Apple has scheduled a special media event for Jan. 26, 2010. New products are expected to be announced at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts in San Francisco, Calif.

During the company's earnings report in October, Chief Operations Officer Tim Cook noted that the $99 iPhone 3G did not impact sales of the high-end iPhone 3GS. In fact, he said, that demand for the iPhone 3GS exceeded the company's expectations. The average selling price of iPhones last quarter was just over $600, demonstrating gravitation towards the iPhone 3GS.

Components for the new iPhone 3GS were initially restrained in supply due to demand for the device. Executives with Apple have said that those issues were addressed this fall.

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » December 30th, 2009, 12:54 pm

so nobody have internet on there iphone? besides WIFI???

what are u guys using?

Postby M_2NR » December 30th, 2009, 1:43 pm

last resort PM Duane :lol:

(sorry duane but i remember u telling us abt it)

______________________________________________________________________________________

GlovePod Control Music playback with the Volume keys

One of the last pieces to the puzzle i must say.

Glovepod is new tweak available in Cydia to Control music while gloved. Glovepod utilizes the volume keys to manage the music player when iPhone is locked. We can forward and rewind songs using the buttons to increase or decrease volume. We may also stop or resume playback by holding down the power button.

Get it on Cydia now ;)

This only works when the iPhone is locked.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » December 30th, 2009, 10:44 pm

bOOsTmaN wrote:So i have a new one for allyuh.. iphone 3g

plug into laptop via usb.. all of a sudden (while in call) phone freezes..
next.. laptop starts smoking.

so phone rel hot.. shuts down phone normallly
laptop is shutdown by user immediately..

5 mins later NOTHING even came back on. completely dead.
as for the iphone.. when plugged into other pc's nothin is recognized..

Please help!

anybody hava spare motherboard to try?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 31st, 2009, 9:16 am

The ex-president of Google China has revealed on his microblog supposed details on Apple's forthcoming tablet: 10.1-inch screen with webcam, "awesome UI."

Kaifu Lee, former president of Google China, someone with supposed close ties to Apple, has revealed several details about Apple's tablet on his microblog (translation from Gadget Mix):

"The Apple Tablet looks like a bigger iPhone that sports an awesome UI packed in a beautiful 10.1-inch screen. The tablet combines the functions of both netbook and kindle, an ebook reader. It has virtual keyboard for text entry and a webcam for video conferencing."

This falls in line with recently reported details on the tablet. Earlier in December analyst Yair Reiner of Oppenheimer predicted that the device would have a 10.1-inch multi-touch display using the same technology as the iPhone. He also stated that Apple has been reaching out to book publishers in order to strengthen the position of the tablet as an ebook platform.

AppleInsider reported earlier last week that Apple had plans for a virtual keyboard with a dynamic surface that would give users tactile feedback when typing in order to identify individual keys. Supporting the idea of a "bigger iPhone," iPhone developers were reportedly asked to prepare their apps for a demo next month by making them support full-screen resolutions rather than the fixed 320x480 resolutions of the iPhone and iPod touch.

All signs point to Apple holding an event focusing on the "mobility space" on January 26 at Yerba Buena Center in San Francisco, where it is believed that the company will finally unveil the tablet to the world.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 31st, 2009, 10:34 am

trini_ravi wrote:so nobody have internet on there iphone? besides WIFI???

what are u guys using?

bmobile EDGE
once data is activated on your SIM card you should get internet on your iPhone anywhere you get a cellular signal

be sure your APN is set to "internet"

Settings > General > Network > Cellular Data Network
under Cellular Data set the APN to "internet"

leave everything else blank and exit.

test your weather or stocks app or Safari browser

also you can switch off "Enable 3G"

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » December 31st, 2009, 11:15 am

Is there a way to prevent "could not activate cellular data network" from popping up every time you write a text message?

Postby M_2NR » December 31st, 2009, 2:37 pm

Trinifieds wrote:Is there a way to prevent "could not activate cellular data network" from popping up every time you write a text message?

disable edge?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 1st, 2010, 4:29 am

Happy New Year

Postby M_2NR » January 1st, 2010, 5:12 pm

right back at ya.

http://www.clinkclinkapp.com/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 2nd, 2010, 10:16 am

Snappy is a camera app for the iPhone that launches quickly without having to exit your currently running application.

Snappy is also accessible directly from your lock screen. Simply tap and hold the status bar (the bar at the top of the screen with AT&T logo, signal bars, battery, etc) to launch and you are immediately ready to take pictures; compare that to the five to six seconds it takes to exit a running application and launch the native camera app.

What's New in Version 2.0
- Video for 3gs (with option for video as default on launch).
- MMS for MMS enabled devices.
- Geo tagging.
- Faster image writing.
- More complete handling of device orientation.
- Various bug fixes.

You can purchase Snappy from the Cydia Store for $1.99.

---

It is interesting how much we can speculate from innocuous job postings.

One of our earlier job posting based speculations about Apple's ambitions for their native maps application turned out to be true as we recently learnt about the company developing their own version of Google Latitude.

Folks at Gizmodo have reported about one another job posting on the Apple website, which could give us an indication of what is to come in the next generation of iPhone. In this posting for the position of a Wi-Fi Software Engineer for the iPhone team, Apple says they are looking for candidates with previous experience in "Implementation of 802.11 a/b/g/n & related specifications"

What does this mean? Well for starters, 802.11n is the newest standard for Wi-Fi connectivity, which promises much higher net throughput on your Wi-Fi network compared to the present standards. With an 802.11n supported chip, your iPhone can thus transfer data at a much higher rate.

However, this comes at the cost of higher battery power consumption and requires more processing speed. As a result, unless the iPhone processing platform as a whole is upgraded to handle this higher data throughput, it can prove counter-productive.

This is exactly the reason why Apple despite incorporating support for the 802.11n standard on iPod Touch is yet to make it active on the platform. Now with this job posting and also with other earlier rumors that the new iPhone firmware could be a big upgrade from the present, chances are high that iPhone 4G will come with 802.11n support.

---

Medevil has tweeted that he has finished the transfer manager UI and the transfer UI of his very popular Cydia app iBluetooth. He has been working on iBluetooth 3.0 for quite some time and after he’s finished you will be able to transfer files to other phones using bluetooth like any normal phone can do.

---

Apple will not return a stolen iPhone to to the original owner after the thief took the phone in to get serviced due to the victim’s failure to file a police report.

After getting her iPhone stolen, one reader relayed to Consumerist the tale of her failed attempts to try to get it back from AT&T and Apple. The crime happened on the subway in New York city, after which the victim promptly called the police who searched the area to no avail.

Several weeks later the victim received an email from Apple notifying her that someone had filed a request to replace her broken phone through Apple Care. Her email was linked to the serial number of the phone so she received all messages regarding service and warranty work. After hours spent on the phone with Apple and AT&T she was notified since a police report was never filed she doesn’t have sufficient evidence to get her phone back.

“So I call AT&T… and over the course of 12 hours I speak to a bunch of people who are all very sorry that this is the situation I’m in, but their hands are tied — they have to honor the warranty and it does not matter that it’s clear the phone is mine. They would need the authorities to tell them to do otherwise,â€

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 3rd, 2010, 8:07 pm

Have anyone been able to get the GPS functioning on the 3GS with 3.1.2 and bb 05.11.07 ?
The phone is Jailbreaked and unlocked with blackra1n.

If I start the phone without a sim, the GPS works perfectly. But when a Bmobile sim is inserted the gps never connects. In programs like MotionX GPS it just says "Network Triangulation" and stays at that prompt. Whereas without the SIM it locks on and shows the satellites.

I have installed Pushfix but that just solves YouTube connection problem. Not the GPS. Anyone can offer a suggestion to get this working?

Postby M_2NR » January 3rd, 2010, 10:40 pm

Trinifieds,which one u used? from iphoneil? that seems to be the only solution available. Start over from a Restore?

BTW guys, on my search for the previous post, i came across this:
http://www.hackint0sh.org/f137/96714.htm

You can generate PUSH Certs that make your device 100% legit in terms of of push. I think i might try it at some point. My 3GS just randomly froze when install0us v3 Beta crashed :lol: nice

EDIT: It booted *phew*

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 3rd, 2010, 10:55 pm

Corolla_2nr, Push Fix no longer exists on iphoneil so I used the one from sinfuliphone and it didnt work so I also tried from beyouriphone. Same thing..

Postby M_2NR » January 3rd, 2010, 11:06 pm

thats sadness :(
i now noticing that as well. Did you Reset Network settings also? Just throwing things out.

The only prob i have is a t home my GPS never works but by family in south (sando) it works great.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 3rd, 2010, 11:35 pm

I found this on another site - seems to be the time

remember GPS works with time

Hello people of the Forum.
The cause of the problem was determined that affected to the location by GPS in equipment iPhone 3G and 3GS. The problem is associated with the manual change of the hour of the telephone, since by a fault in the design of the GPS of these equipment the hour formed in the terminal is taken like reference compute the range to the satellites by means of differences of times while the sent and received satelite signal. It is by that, when not being synchronous, the calculation of the position could not be realised and therefore the equipment only took like reference the location from the cell in which it was registered in the Maps application.

It was verified that when reestablishing the correct hour in the equipment the GPS, begins to work again without problems. What it is recommended to those who present/display this problem she is to do the following thing:

1. To return to modify the hour of the equipment with the universal schedule (that is to say, the Terminal would be one hour advanced for our country).
2. To reinitiate the telephone and to try that the location by GPS this working correctly.
3. To form the hour zone in some other city GMT -03:00 (Santiago of Chile is a good option).

From the Apple company they were committed to solve this problem for the next version of SW that send at the beginning of year 2010, although in theory also they are going to correct the hour zone of superfluous serious Argentina so. Once the hour zone settles the new version of SW in the equipment could be formed again in Buenos Aires and everything will return to work correctly.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 4th, 2010, 6:56 am

Fellas I have a few issues i want to throw out...

Went Mayaro weekend to a spot where I usually dont get service on my 3g with bmobile. Another 3g iphone using bmobile came and had they service and they arent running anything special.

I had to keep switching off and on the Phone process, only got a few seconds of service and then it went again.

Back in civilization Im getting service as usual.

The other thing is Im usually down to 10mb<20mb once Mail, Phone and Safari are running in SBSettings. Is this normal? I only get up to 50mb if only Phone is running after freeing up memory.

Im running 3.0.1
04.26.08 firmware
5 pages of apps but with about 3.9 gb free from the 8gb.

Any advice would be appreciated thanks

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 4th, 2010, 10:35 am

I am selling MyTriniPhone.com website and URL if anyone is interested.

All content, all subscribers, everything, it's even set up for an online store to sell stuff etc, just needs to be activated.

please contact me: aaron at bezman dot com

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2010, 11:52 am

Bezman wrote:I am selling MyTriniPhone.com website and URL if anyone is interested.

All content, all subscribers, everything, it's even set up for an online store to sell stuff etc, just needs to be activated.

please contact me: aaron at bezman dot com

SRASC will be out of a wuk? :o

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2010, 11:55 am

idlemind wrote:Fellas I have a few issues i want to throw out...

Went Mayaro weekend to a spot where I usually dont get service on my 3g with bmobile. Another 3g iphone using bmobile came and had they service and they arent running anything special.

I had to keep switching off and on the Phone process, only got a few seconds of service and then it went again.

Back in civilization Im getting service as usual.

The other thing is Im usually down to 10mb<20mb once Mail, Phone and Safari are running in SBSettings. Is this normal? I only get up to 50mb if only Phone is running after freeing up memory.

Im running 3.0.1
04.26.08 firmware
5 pages of apps but with about 3.9 gb free from the 8gb.

Any advice would be appreciated thanks

could be the unit itself

I would have immediately tried your SIM in the other phone and vice versa as a test.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 4th, 2010, 12:19 pm

could still check it...thanks Duane,

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 4th, 2010, 3:16 pm

Duane,
Thanks for this. I am perplexed however that apple could have such a problem on their crown jewel, the 3GS. I will try setting the time to +1hr to see if that solves anything.

The GPS works great without a sim. However with a sim it gooes into an infinite loop of waiting on triangulation (bmobile).

My hunch is that when the phone sees the sim installed it switches to AGPS mode (assisted by network towers). However TSTT's towers dont provide the initial starting LAT/LONG for the phone to use to 'tighten' the actual GPS position.

Anyone here has a 3GS that is on 05.11.07 and Jailbroken by Blackra1n with their GPS working?

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I found this on another site - seems to be the time

remember GPS works with time

Hello people of the Forum.
The cause of the problem was determined that affected to the location by GPS in equipment iPhone 3G and 3GS. The problem is associated with the manual change of the hour of the telephone, since by a fault in the design of the GPS of these equipment the hour formed in the terminal is taken like reference compute the range to the satellites by means of differences of times while the sent and received satelite signal. It is by that, when not being synchronous, the calculation of the position could not be realised and therefore the equipment only took like reference the location from the cell in which it was registered in the Maps application.

It was verified that when reestablishing the correct hour in the equipment the GPS, begins to work again without problems. What it is recommended to those who present/display this problem she is to do the following thing:

1. To return to modify the hour of the equipment with the universal schedule (that is to say, the Terminal would be one hour advanced for our country).
2. To reinitiate the telephone and to try that the location by GPS this working correctly.
3. To form the hour zone in some other city GMT -03:00 (Santiago of Chile is a good option).

From the Apple company they were committed to solve this problem for the next version of SW that send at the beginning of year 2010, although in theory also they are going to correct the hour zone of superfluous serious Argentina so. Once the hour zone settles the new version of SW in the equipment could be formed again in Buenos Aires and everything will return to work correctly.

Postby M_2NR » January 4th, 2010, 4:28 pm

That's why i didnt bother at all and used a pwnagetool restore. Try a Restore yes. My padna one, his lockscreen had major issues wasnt even coming out of sleep. I got him to do a restore and it worked after.

Idlemind, wrt to ram/heap usage, that was kinda normal in my 2G, went from 60MB to 20/10MB with mail/safari/ipod. I usually cleared it once i hadda use a memory intensive app. Did you ever do a clean/fresh start? like dont use a backup and start as a clean iPhone? and are you using extra themes/widgets?

Bezman, :shock: , nice. I would have like to steal that from u, but, time and im not pro enough to take it. Im still a lil boy.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 4th, 2010, 5:09 pm

I would need a mac to do the pwnagetool restore not so? Would this work even though the phone is already at 3.1.2 and BB 05.11.07? What are the steps? I see quite a lot of info out there but from what I am reading the only thing that works with a fully upgraded 3GS is a tethered Jailbreak via blackra1n / blacksnow!

Postby M_2NR » January 4th, 2010, 6:02 pm

nah in your case yuh pwnt. Once you are on the new baseband you gotta use geohot's solution. What i did was look for a 04.26.08 Baseband and grabbed it. It's a real catch ass to get one new brand now though.

No, i used ones that i linked from a mahmood1 guy. He created them and uploaded them so that windows users can use it :)

Also, coming out soon is sn0wbreeze for windows.

Just thank got u got a untethered JB. New 3GS's are tethered like the 3G itouch.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 4th, 2010, 8:24 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:Just thank got u got a untethered JB. New 3GS's are tethered like the 3G itouch.

With my 3GS it is a tethered jailbreak so when my phone turns off I have to look for a PC to restart it :(