Postby buzz » January 12th, 2010, 4:35 pm

well i've got news for you :|

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 12th, 2010, 4:47 pm

from what i read in that article if the lords tighten'' the law it may be illegal to own a stereo/mp3 player with a display in your vehicle....lol...

and ppl support this...when numerous robberies in maxis and schoolchildren being taken advantage of after school.....

triniboy

Postby triniboy » January 12th, 2010, 5:32 pm

sooner or later, the will say that we can't use boots to drive because it could slip and cause an accident.

noobie

Postby noobie » January 12th, 2010, 5:39 pm

ek4ever wrote:
I support this....develop world thinking....in many states in the US and other countries it is illegal to operate a dvd screen in view of the driver....

in the case of those high end cars that come with DVD players in the dash....

Umm..on the one hand you saying that in the US and other countries there are restrictions on DVD units. Yet you then say that Luxury cars have DVD screens in the Dash. Where are these luxury cars produced and sold?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » January 12th, 2010, 7:07 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
skylinechild wrote:what about those who have display screen not for watching movies but as a digital display for the cars various measurements...eg temp boost RPM power band etc....

will those ppl also be charged.?

mr imbert...please think before you act.

don't be an ass.....of course these displays will not be targeted by the law....it is for displays/monitors which are used to show video content

this is trinidad..our police officers are stupid and can barely read a book....

i am sure someone who has a gps system would be charged...watch an see

daz for sure. if it look like a tv, bunn yuh sugacane. What bout those wide stereo displays...like in wingroads. dem eh business..if it look de part, it must be it..we ded!

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 12th, 2010, 7:41 pm

SR wrote:WE do custom installs for DVD screens in the back of the vehicle as well :mrgreen:

but seriously the majority of drivers who have dvd screens in front does have them on so that EVERYONE else could see that they have DVD screens and the drivers themselves dont really be watching unless they waiting at a traffic light

thats just my observation

Noticed this also, most times it's some music video.

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2010, 7:59 pm

once, when i was into wrestling, i got taken up on the way to work with the monday night raw.

but while driving, drivers do not usually keep visual focus on one area for extended periods. we briefly scan side mirrors, rear view mirrors, left side, right side, instrument panel; our attention is usually distributed somewhat evenly yet briefly. i doubt drivers goin an Rooster up with a bottle and ah bowl ah poulorie to watch some lmn classic while drivin.

i say ban its use while driving, not its presence.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 13th, 2010, 10:05 am

noobie wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
I support this....develop world thinking....in many states in the US and other countries it is illegal to operate a dvd screen in view of the driver....

Umm..on the one hand you saying that in the US and other countries there are restrictions on DVD units. Yet you then say that Luxury cars have DVD screens in the Dash. Where are these luxury cars produced and sold?

It's true that these same luxury cars are produced and sold in the same countries that have restrictions on the use of mobile video....let's take a look at the law in California as it pertains to mobile video...the law states...

"On-board and portable video, DVD and TV screens are supposed to be installed behind the driver's seat or out of the driver's sight if positioned in the front...."

"The law exempts global positioning systems, mapping and vehicle information displays and equipment that enhances a driver's view in backing up or maneuvering....."

"...a revised state law prohibits motorists from driving while a television or video display is operating within view....."

so I'm thinking that if the vehicle is factory equipped with a dvd display in the dash then you cannot have a movie playing while the vehicle is in operation....for aftermarket installs the screens must be mounted for rear seat passengers ONLY.....

There was a news report where a man is being chrged in the US (forgot the state) for vehicular manslaughter because when the police checked his vehicle after the accident a dvd disc was found in the in-dash player and the unit was on.....this is the type of legislation I'm talking about

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » January 13th, 2010, 10:31 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:king Manning and his lord says by 2012 we all should own a donkey cart and horse to commute....or jsut a simply civic myt be allowed..

i didnt know there was a difference between a jackarse and a civic! Oh my bad its one in the same! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby foss » January 13th, 2010, 10:35 am

noobie wrote:
ek4ever wrote:

Guam? :o

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 13th, 2010, 10:38 am

In Florida....if you are pulled over by the police and there is a dash mounted dvd player in your vehicle, you will be asked to pull up the handbrake (emergency brake). If the unit still operates you will be charged......legally installed dvd units must only be operational when the e-brake is applied.....most aftermarket units have this feature

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » January 13th, 2010, 6:03 pm

just now they will ban rims and exhaust

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 13th, 2010, 6:39 pm

pioneer wrote:I heard from a good source police will be seizing "DVD equipment" from cars along with charging them, you will be asked to carry the car to the nearest station and remove the equipment or have it removed and/or impounded until it is removed.

There goes your hard earned dollars :roll:

Freedom, who needs it? :|

Oh brilliant...

I'd really like to see them destroy some BMW's I drive system or someone's Q7 or even be dumb and try and remove the e-gauges off an R34... should be interesting to say the least...

Postby SR » January 13th, 2010, 6:51 pm

DVD audio is better than CD audio

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 13th, 2010, 7:23 pm

Someone now told me the president made a speech with regard to people not being happy with the Prime minister's party rule...

Perhaps he has a dvd and sunday punch stash as well... :lol:

Postby bushwakka » January 13th, 2010, 7:49 pm

i doh give a flyin fck wat anybody else say......de man right, and i've been sayin dis a long time.....ban all screens capable of showing video content in the front of a vehicle.....to me, that is jus plain common sense

ek4ever mentioned a practise in florida that can be used for the OEM types

but personally, i wud jus ban the OEM option as well.....do they come as standard package in these cars?

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » January 13th, 2010, 8:02 pm

a lot of them are an option

slick

Postby slick » January 13th, 2010, 8:18 pm

SR wrote:what law??

let him start by all them oem manufacturers with dvd/tv doubdle din screens that come from the factory

check all them prado and bmw executive editions

all come with built in tv tuner and screen as well as navigation

he might as well ban GPS units as well as its a tv screen with a video image

before the dumfuck looks at cleaning up the law on inspection of vehicles first

how many unsafe vehicles are there on the road with bad lights etc

i fed up driving behind a vehicle...only to realise that none of the brake lights are working...or that thick black smoke coming out the muffler every time they rev a little...not to mention them cars that look like they going to fall apart on the road... :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 13th, 2010, 8:21 pm

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 13th, 2010, 8:21 pm

personally, i don't see an issue having it in your vehicle.

I also have no issue with the authorities charging you as long as your system can show video while your car is on and your hand brake is DOWN... which by all right they should manually check... if your handbrake comes up and it works then all is fine.

But I see no reason to charge someone for just having it... or worse taking your property...

If they gonna go from a safety aspect they will probably outlaw fire extinguishers in cars cause people put them on the "A" pillar...

or ridiculous as it sounds ban and charge people with 18 - 20" rims with low profile tyres cause "research showed it could rub the fender and blowout, causing the driver to lose control"

or even dumber... ban all car accessories like Boost gauges, tachometers, turbo timers etc cause "research showed that drivers who install these items are perpetrators in illegal street racing and they cause danger to other drivers..."

(my God... I'm beginning to sound like Imbert-seal steups...)
Last edited by MISHI on January 13th, 2010, 8:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 13th, 2010, 8:24 pm

so i guess reverse cameras gonna be the next thing to go

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 13th, 2010, 8:35 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:so i guess reverse cameras gonna be the next thing to go

reverse cameras,
chrome wipers
chrome mirrors
chrome door handles
armor all
black jack
gearbox cars
cup holders
turbo timers
boost (or any type) gauges
dash tachs
any tyre that have 40 or less profile
any chrome rim bigger than 17"
blah blah blah...

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 13th, 2010, 8:58 pm

as someone said earlier...mite as well ban cars yes

TechArt

Postby TechArt » January 13th, 2010, 9:05 pm

Well thats what you get when you vote for retard n retard, they may get a sensible idea. Buh fuh the love of god they could never get it right, they are the ppl who are running a nation.

Postby Morpheus » January 14th, 2010, 12:52 am

The law is only common sense....bottom line.

Is Peter pay for Paul...and u know the rest.

Most times,as someone said, the driver ain't watching sheit. It may be the front seat passenger or just a music vdeo playing. And 88% of the time FLAM!. Come on DVD in the headrest of the back seats?? No wonder Gov moving so.

Oh well, I guess I have to hook up the handbrake wire "properly" now.
^^There are ways around that too eh :twisted:

I dunno but a navigation system may have the same effect yes(taking eyes off the road), especially for some female drivers and retarded drivers in general.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » January 14th, 2010, 7:11 am

the only people that would be charged are those who have roof mounted screens in the front on the vehicle or those who have SEPERATE DVD screens on top of their dash, they CANNOT charge those who have double din dvd decks, that would be an infringement of your rights!

Postby buzz » January 14th, 2010, 7:15 am

so all i have to do is install one o dem fancy decks to circumvent this law ? excellent !!!!

this gov't, this gov't :lol:

oh what if meh pardnah have he laptop open when sitting in d passenger seat watchin kobe tai get guts out? ah mean ah NOT supposed to watch ? :shock: :?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 14th, 2010, 7:19 am

hmm let see how many officers goin and see ah vafc or safc on ah dash board and wanna charge ppl lol....

cyborg007

Postby cyborg007 » January 15th, 2010, 11:31 am

this is what they should bann

Midnight_Demon wrote:Image