tyres

Postby bushwakka » January 6th, 2010, 8:18 pm

yup....props to tyre clinic....they have a trade-in warranty on their tyres too.....how much other places going to give u that?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 6th, 2010, 11:18 pm

Well I will definitely give them a call if I choose to go with either of those tyres.. The only advantage of buying in Sando is that they would be closer if I need any work done..

Still have to go back to Ramrattan to hear about the Bridgestones....

Does anywhere in Trinidad deal Yokohama tyres? I use them on the ride in the states, if I could get it here I would be quite glad

minipresident

Postby minipresident » January 7th, 2010, 7:38 am

i have seen the Yoko's around but they are of Korean origin so i would be a bit skeptical about the quality.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 11th, 2010, 1:08 pm

i have a question :?

if yuh going hard on yuh tires round corners but they not making noise is this still wearing them down?

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 11th, 2010, 7:50 pm

^^ You serious ???

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 11th, 2010, 7:52 pm

yea!

Postby bushwakka » January 11th, 2010, 7:55 pm

^am....just de very driving of ur car at any speed wears down ur tyres

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 11th, 2010, 7:58 pm

yea but not as much as turning into bends fast, ent?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 11th, 2010, 8:00 pm

http://www.eurotuner.com/techarticles/e ... index.html

kumho ecsta spt, used the direzzas and they cant come close to the spts

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 13th, 2010, 1:09 am

Just bought 4 Continental ExtremeContact DWS (225/50/17) for the Volvo...
Let you know what I think once I have them on..
Currently running Yokohama AS-430's but they are practically slick

Anyway, the Conti's are one of the absolutely top rated tyres on tirerack..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 13th, 2010, 5:41 am

^^WHERE!?? Where'd you get them?

Those are excellent tyres dude........MPS class?

Postby Dave » January 13th, 2010, 8:09 am

laughlin and ge gannes are the conti dealers but be prepared to pay for them

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » January 13th, 2010, 10:46 am

Conti's are super expensive.

Postby bushwakka » January 13th, 2010, 4:36 pm

i read on some of the reviews on tirerack that the contis are a bit on the noisy side tho

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 13th, 2010, 9:45 pm

laughlin and ge gannes are the conti dealers but be prepared to pay for them

And I'd gladly pay.....if they actually had a good selection in stock. They're bringing certain models in fixed sizes...so e.g. you can get Premium Contacts in 205-50-16..but nothing else. 215/40-7 - only in KH11's. They've covered 235/45 17's and 224/45 17's with the SPT's......no Extreme or Sport Contacts from what I saw.

Sucks. :oops:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 14th, 2010, 12:01 am

I should make it clear...

The cd4accord is in Trinidad, the Volvo S80 is in the US

Just ordered the Conti's from onlinetires.com for a supreme price.. worked out a cool $80 less than tirerack I think.. but seriously, this DWS is rated the top Ultra-High Performance All Season on Tirerack based on user surveys.. as in higher than the beloved Bridgestone Potenza RE960 Pole Positions...

Rubber shipped today, hope to have it on by end of next week...

Postby bushwakka » January 14th, 2010, 8:18 am

give us a review on it when u get them :)

Postby X_Factor » January 14th, 2010, 8:25 am

so whats ur opinion on the best 15" tyre for under 600?
back in 2005 it was DZ101's for me which was actually under 500 at the time
any other stuff now?

Postby Dave » January 14th, 2010, 8:27 am

And I'd gladly pay.....if they actually had a good selection in stock

my sentiments are exactly the same hence why i ended up bringing in tyres

l&g selection are the low end ones which have terrible reviews on tirerack and my set of el cheapo dunlops still cost less and outperform 99% of all locally available tyres in T&T

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 14th, 2010, 9:04 am

^^Your Sport Z1's are not "el cheapos" dude.....and x100000 w.r.t the performance....those tyres are outstanding!

So I'm guessing you'll go back with the Z1's a second time around? What about the Falken RT-615's?

Any thoughts on the Nitto Neo Gen?

so whats ur opinion on the best 15" tyre for under 600?
back in 2005 it was DZ101's for me which was actually under 500 at the time
any other stuff now?

That's pretty much all you can get in smaller sizes. L&DeG used to have the Kumho Ecsta KH11 in 15".........not sure about now :?

Postby Dave » January 14th, 2010, 9:28 am

Z1's are cheap when compared to what the competitors offering in terms of performance but at 1.75 more the price of the dunlops

IMO tyres and brakes go kinda hand in hand, you spend this money and if not satififed with it either finances allowable, you chnage out or u use them till its time to change so unless something offers better for marginally better or less with good international reviews then and only then would a change be entertained

Falken and the Kumho equivalent to these, not too sure on the model numbers, are also good for what they offer and the price so also should be considered

Nittos are also very good but at my time very not too available and also was a bit more
Nittos IMO are for those who show they have Nittos than use the Nittos. Kudos to whoever uses them for what they are intended for.

In the 15's, if the Dunlop Sp Sport Maxx is available this would be a good alternative

Postby bushwakka » January 14th, 2010, 3:56 pm

^2nd that....altho, i find that maybe the sport maxxes lose grip over time (maybe all tyres do, haven't went thru that many to know)

Postby cinco » January 27th, 2010, 4:48 pm

the sp sport maxxes are freaking awesome but they usually run out pretty quickly but super grippy and quiet.
Contis ive had were a bit noisy my buddy put on a set tho and they are pretty quiet i havent used contis over 4 years so im guessing they got alot better

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 22nd, 2010, 8:41 pm

So sorry to resurrect this, but it turns out that I actually HAVE to change my tyres now because im getting a lot of inner wear.. Was hoping to hold out a bit

Anyway, situation is this.. Im out of the country for the next few months, and my father deciding to change the tyres.. If I leave it up to him I getting stuck with either Nexen or Hankook so I really want to step in and get something better...

So, Still looking for 205/60/15's - If Price was up to me, id go up to $850 or so, but I suspect I wont get my pops to pay more than maybe $600..
Anyone know what Kumho's Laughlin and DG selling right now? Touring tyres are not an option, im looking for something sporty but still at a reasonable price..

Any tips on what to go with in this size from other brands? I'm not around to look myself so im hoping alyuh could help me out on this one...
I'll keep the Sumitomo HTR200 and Dunlop DZ101 in mind as fall back options but I not particularly impressed with either to be honest

PS. Regards My Conti ExtremeContact DWS review, they still sitting in the house, havent had time to get them on the Volvo as yet.. review pending

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 23rd, 2010, 7:13 am

Michelin's or Goodyear are very good tyres. Tyres are nothing to cut cost on dude - its the only thing between you and the road !

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 23rd, 2010, 7:40 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Michelin's or Goodyear are very good tyres. Tyres are nothing to cut cost on dude - its the only thing between you and the road !

mite be good, bu u see d price QuickService callin on dem sh!t?!?!?

it hav newey 2 get dem cheaper?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 23rd, 2010, 7:43 am

EVA Unit-01,

Quickservice is not the only tyre place in trinidad

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 8:03 am

Yea, but for brands such as Michelin and Goodyear the markup is ridiculous.. They assume because they are selling big-name they can charge you almost twice as much as the tyre cost them...

I not trying to cut cost, and I not known for that with my vehicles.. I just looking for an excellent medium priced tyre for this purpose...

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 23rd, 2010, 9:26 am

V2NR 3.0, granted

but i've never seen dose sellin newey i checked. most ppl just say "chek QuickService", others have equally large markups if dey orderin it 4 u....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 11:58 am

Last time I went to quick service, either BF goodrich or Michelin started at over $1000 a tyre AFTER 25% discount...
They have to be on crack to be charging so much for a 195/60/15 or a 205

I could get Bridgestone for about 400 cheaper than they were charging for michelin, toyo for $500 cheaper..

V2NR 3.0
That said, Goodyear and Michelin not all as great as you make them out to sound.. With the exception of a few (eg Pilot Sport A/S), I would consider them average (from experience)..
Anyway the prices they charging is for your average touring tyre, nothing sporty or UHP