The guitar string (thread)

Postby buzz » April 14th, 2009, 9:14 pm

aite

i think i've reached the stage where i need some practical professional training/pointers in guitar theory

more specifically in the department of scales

i need more "life" in my compositions and how to broaden my musical expressions

i've noticed that if i want to do this theroy thang properly i may have to start from scratch and rid myself of the attitude that everything can be learned/applied by ear

with that said

who could point me in the direction of a competent guitar teacher :?: .

not :

someone who played in a pop rock final

or can cover a flurry od zeplin songs

or some ego freak that lashes epic lightning fast un-listenable sweeps

or who worships satriani/vai/slash for no good reason

or someone who just know a few chords and think that they are an accomplished guitarist :lol:

therefore

someone that knows the instrument... like many things in trini hard to find yes but still a good competent teacher

anyone ?

Postby Cjruckus » April 14th, 2009, 9:17 pm

if you want a pro teacher, go to a music school.

Normandy used to have one some years back.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 14th, 2009, 10:03 pm

ah have muh guitar fs if anyone want...it in the classifieds...classical lucida...nice n cheap n good for beginners :oops: :lol:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 14th, 2009, 10:04 pm

buzz, there's someone in a music school in st. augustine..not sure if he's still taking students but pretty much fits what you asked for...will try to get his number for you...

Postby buzz » April 14th, 2009, 10:27 pm

thx meng

Postby buzz » April 18th, 2009, 3:21 am

ah get eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

d scale biz niz theory

1party

now just how to mix em? :oops:

evokiller

Postby evokiller » April 18th, 2009, 3:32 am

wats ur question buzz?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 20th, 2009, 1:59 pm

Did you use the CAGED System?

Postby Sky » May 7th, 2009, 10:11 pm

BUMP!!!

buzz, check ultimate guitar. Their lessons so well from nub to pro.

Anyone knows anyone locally with a black Kramer Imperial? I know there's at least one. I imported it.

Quad rails iymc. 4 single coil sized humbuckers paired off. Yep, EIGHT COILS!!! When I tune to C and ring out a chord All the jumbies would run outta Jumbo Gym. Anyways, it was big as fcuk and I couldn't sit and play it. I tried my best because it sounded so sweet and menacing, but eventually gave up and Gave Shane (AudioCon) to sell it for me. Anyone knows the lucky soul that bought this?

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2009, 10:15 pm

buzz wrote:ah get eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

d scale biz niz theory

1party

now just how to mix em? :oops:

listen to lots of blues........you'll get the feel for how to mix things up

Postby buzz » May 7th, 2009, 10:15 pm

yeah got the gist of the theory thang now

just application *sigh*

you know what years of doing/playing the wrong way causes :|

Postby buzz » May 7th, 2009, 10:17 pm

yeah MG Man i'd give it a try

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2009, 10:18 pm

nuh man..........u jus gotta feel it............get some BB King and u good to go.......and if yuh gyul dump yuh even better.....inspiration for years :lol:

but seriously, creativity comes from within..........just try mixing up notes within a scale, and varying the tempo every few notes etc..........

Postby Sky » May 7th, 2009, 10:39 pm

^^ yup.

All the stuff you learned was just to fast track your creativity. Allow you to properly express yourself. It's like learning English properly and how to write to be able to express your opinions and emotions in a book/essay/whatever.

Another thing. All those songs you learned from tabs and din know wtf you were playing, revisit them. You'll feel like Neo lol. " SO THAS DE SCALE HAMMET WAS IN!!!"

Next. forget about tabs on the whole in the future. Learn everything by ear and your knowledge of the scales. This is the phase I'm in now. After a while you'll be able to speak through the guitar more and more fluently. Then we could properly Jam :D

I gave up on being in a band etc. I just wanna jam properly jed.

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2009, 10:41 pm

anybody here have the guitar skills of a really lousy 12 year old?
need someone who matches my bass skills :mrgreen:

Postby buzz » May 7th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Another thing. All those songs you learned from tabs and din know wtf you were playing, revisit them. You'll feel like Neo lol. " SO THAS DE SCALE HAMMET WAS IN!!!"

Next. forget about tabs on the whole in the future. Learn everything by ear and your knowledge of the scales. This is the phase I'm in now. After a while you'll be able to speak through the guitar more and more fluently. Then we could properly Jam

I gave up on being in a band etc. I just wanna jam properly jed.

aint it the damn truth yo

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 7th, 2009, 11:17 pm

learn protest the hero wretch....move slowly im learning it now,its kinda hard,but fun...the hard part is just gettint the patterns down...cuz it loops weirdly

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » May 8th, 2009, 10:07 am

anyone in the market for a guitar? i'm thinking of selling my epiphone SG G-400? i bought it in '99 and modded, re-fretted and replaced all the bad bits? it's the cherry mahogany red one.

ibanez

Postby ibanez » May 8th, 2009, 2:33 pm

Kramers are sick guitars

here's my Kramer Vanguard

[URL=http://img517.imageshack.us/my.php?image=kramer1.jpg][IMG]http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/8817/kramer1.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
[URL=http://g.imageshack.us/img517/kramer1.jpg/1/][IMG]http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/kramer1.jpg/1/w3072.png[/IMG][/URL]
Last edited by ibanez on May 9th, 2009, 2:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » May 8th, 2009, 2:51 pm

MG Man wrote:anybody here have the guitar skills of a really lousy 12 year old?
need someone who matches my bass skills :mrgreen:

ooo ooo, me me!
lol!!!

Postby buzz » May 11th, 2009, 9:52 pm

AAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

ah have eeeeeeeet

chord harmonization/ theory and signature

it was so damn easy all along

should have learned this sh1t 5 yrs ago could well imagine where id be now :x :? :(

8-)

BassMekanik

Postby BassMekanik » August 14th, 2009, 1:09 pm

Mr Les Paul passed away yesterday. Age 94. RIP

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 14th, 2009, 1:17 pm

I heard. Sad day. Rest in peace mr. Les Paul

Postby Sky » January 20th, 2010, 11:17 am

Bump on a bess thread.
And a little something with one of my favs. For all those who just hear the albums or singles on radio and think he's a shitong because Chilli Peppers songs simple.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/sUJHEdQBAr8&hl=en_GB&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Oh yea, BEST STRAT TONE EVER!! (cept Jimmi of course)

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 20th, 2010, 11:19 am

thsi is depressing my fender 65R just died on me :( :( :(

Postby Sky » January 20th, 2010, 2:50 pm

Well thas a reason to get a twin reverb.
Check InDeForest for repair.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 20th, 2010, 3:33 pm

yeh i spoke to J already about repairs but then he said just get tube so i studying 2 buy a vox valvetronix 50W 1X12....i real doh no how 2 bring that down tho cuz i sure shipping and customs going be more killer for thta....FAIL..

Postby Sky » January 20th, 2010, 3:50 pm

I know someone who had one for sale . I don't know his contact, but someone here might. Devin, Singer from Fever Dog And now Singer in Rango Tango. He had one and I couldn't make it at the time.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 20th, 2010, 3:55 pm

well if some1 does have the contact and dude still has it ...it wuld be great...cuz i now got the new guitar...and then the old faithfulll amp dies

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 20th, 2010, 4:36 pm

Proud owner of a PRS SE single cut custom 24, as well as my longtime baby, Gibson Epiphone Les Paul... doh have ne pics though, but i love those more than my car lol...