The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 27th, 2010, 2:39 pm

10:34AM So far no word on multitasking, but we haven't seen it. Jumps into and out of apps, nothing running concurrently.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 27th, 2010, 2:39 pm

so..........iz jus a big iPhone?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 2:40 pm

i think this can replace my MacBook, all i do on it is surf the web, check email watch youtube and show cleints their work online, if i can access the internet and now as a bonus access iPhones apps and games, i will eb selling my Macbook soon..

I use my macbook most lying on the couch, so if i can do it more comfortable using this, its a win win!!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 27th, 2010, 2:43 pm

lol apparently this supposed to be an iphone/e-reader in one :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 2:51 pm

well most ppl only use a laptop to surf the web (facebook etc), watch movies, and check email - this does all that, is very light and touch friendly, so IMHO its better than an iPhone or Notebook/Macbook/Laptop/netbook for doing those things... imho

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 27th, 2010, 2:53 pm

it will suit some ppl, no doubt about that.

i just dont understand apple's gripe with multitasking :roll:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 27th, 2010, 2:56 pm

^ and Flash!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 27th, 2010, 2:58 pm

yeah apparently we have to hack every apple product to get the basic stuff.

time to really sell my iphone and go nexus one yes :x

Postby noshownogo » January 27th, 2010, 2:58 pm

Apple taking a shot at Amazon and their Ebook reader by launching iBooks app

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 2:59 pm

mitch wrote:it will suit some ppl, no doubt about that.

i just dont understand apple's gripe with multitasking :roll:

well think of this, if you get puch notifications, whats the point of having the apps running on the device when you can get the same updates with apps running in the clouds, leaving processing pwoer for the app that is running

it doesnt run apps like MS Office, or Adobe CS4, so no need to move data between apps, you are not going to be viewing youtube HD vids and trying to compose an email at the same time.. so for what it is, its handles all this perfectly..

images above show how the OS has been tailored to the apps, so its got popup thats add functionality without the user needing to leave an app..

remember this is a mobile device, NOT a desktop or business machine.. this is for reading, multimedia, gaming and social networking..
Last edited by Bezman on January 27th, 2010, 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 3:00 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:^ and Flash!

as i said before, flash video is the PAST

check youtube.com and see iof they using flash anymore ;)

they and all streaming sites will be using H.264 be next year, you can quote me on that!!!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 27th, 2010, 3:01 pm

iWork jus announced...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 3:02 pm

mitch wrote:iWork jus announced...

well there ya go, i selling my MacBook now hahaha

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 27th, 2010, 3:04 pm

not because something wont be relevant in the future means that they should leave it out completely in the present though.

these excuses dont fly no more with me. i'm slowly falling off the apple hype train...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 3:07 pm

mitch wrote:not because something wont be relevant in the future means that they should leave it out completely in the present though.

these excuses dont fly no more with me. i'm slowly falling off the apple hype train...

flash video is already practically fazed out by youtube which is the biggest user of flash video, your porn sites will follow shortly. so they are not forgetting the present, they are folling the present'

as a developer, i can tell you H.264 and HTML5 are a god send, its compresse and streams better,, you'll grow to love it and will forget about flash pretty soon and HTC etc even though they all support flash, they also scrambling to support H.264 as it will be the new standard.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 3:21 pm

WOW @ pricing!!

WOW

WOW

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 3:23 pm

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 3:24 pm

win

Postby noshownogo » January 27th, 2010, 3:41 pm

ok now they wowed me, the pricing is very very competitive for what you get. Compare a 64GB ipod touch @ $399USD to a product like this and you see how good a deal it is.

Will test in April if available in Apple stores at that time. Demand should be very high for this.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 27th, 2010, 3:49 pm

Meh. Its just like a bigger iPod Touch. No phone calls. No multitasking. No flash. You cant even run native OSX apps. Maybe in the future, developers will show some exciting apps but for now... meh.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 3:56 pm

if you dont get it or whats it for, it may not be for you, thats all..

i must ask though, what multi tasking would you want, please explain??

(your not going to be playing need for speed and checking facebook at the same time??, you'll get email alerts and notifications for facebook and other apps, so i dont get what multi tasking everyone needs)

and developers already have exciting apps for it, infact over 125,000 apps to be exact..
Last edited by Bezman on January 27th, 2010, 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » January 27th, 2010, 3:57 pm

fack that is not a bad price at all!

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 27th, 2010, 4:15 pm

Bezman wrote:if you dont get it or whats it for, it may not be for you, thats all..

i must ask though, what multi tasking would you want, please explain??

To me it seems like its just missing something. Look at the weirdly spaced icons on the home screen. Looks very un-apple as in unpolished. They claim that all the iPhone apps just work. Thats cool but working is not everything. It doesn't fit in. Look how funny the app looks without pixel doubling in the middle of all the black space. One of the allures of the iPhone was just how polished and finished everything looked. Even the third party apps. the iPad doesn't have that. You cant help but feel that the basic OS specific apps were 'rushed/hacked' for lack of a better word.

As for multitasking, say I am on the road and I need to edit a document with my colleagues help. Why not have iWork run simultaneously with beejive? As it is you will be starting and stopping each app over and over to get the work done.

Don't get me wrong, I think the hardware is fantastic but they have a long way to go with the software. But as you said, casual browsing, reading a book, no problem. Serious productivity = no. And no, iWork isn't going to cut it.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 4:39 pm

well if you are going to use a 1GHZ processor on a 9.7" mobile device to do some serious work, then you may have to rethink what you hardware you are using for that purpose ;)

you couls use PCanywhere or something like that and edit the docs on your desktop (which is what i would do) and allow your clients to log in and view the edits.

its not meant to replace a desktop machine, nor the business/power user notebook. its as they have advertised an im-between device..

as far as the pixel doubling, watch the video Apple has up, the apps dont look funny at all, the OLED screen will make iPhone Apps look like they were made for the iPad, and with developers with the SDK (like myself) they have released the iPad ready SDK so apps can be now updated and developed for the iPad along with the Touch and iPhone... great things to come ;)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 27th, 2010, 4:41 pm

it isnt about Apple telling me y i shouldnt need multitasking or flash or bluetooth file transfers etc.

it's about having the basic features as a freaking option! :|

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 4:43 pm

and after watching the video on Apples site: http://www.apple.com/ipad/#video

you'll see, all the apps for the ipad are waaaaaay beyond the iphone apps, so i think iPhones apps will now be scaled down iPad apps ;)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 4:45 pm

mitch wrote:it isnt about Apple telling me y i shouldnt need multitasking or flash or bluetooth file transfers etc.

it's about having the basic features as a freaking option! :|

well thats the wonderful thing about choice, you can go buy a HP 13" laptop or some windows touch tablet ;)

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 27th, 2010, 4:48 pm

Bezman wrote:and after watching the video on Apples site: http://www.apple.com/ipad/#video

you'll see, all the apps for the ipad are waaaaaay beyond the iphone apps, so i think iPhones apps will now be scaled down iPad apps ;)

that cant happen unless the ipad actually outsells the iphone and ipod touch

they'll always develop software for the most popular platform first

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 27th, 2010, 4:49 pm

Bezman wrote:great things to come ;)

This I believe. Until that happens, my 3GS will work just fine.

Apple iPad actually debuted a couple of years ago

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/BQJiRDrL9MI&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/BQJiRDrL9MI&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 27th, 2010, 4:59 pm

rodfarva wrote:
Bezman wrote:and after watching the video on Apples site: http://www.apple.com/ipad/#video

that cant happen unless the ipad actually outsells the iphone and ipod touch

they'll always develop software for the most popular platform first

watch the video and then talk please, its the same OS

the mail app, contacts, maps (no longer google) and all the original apps are already differnt for the iPad - same OS though ;), just as some features work for the itouch, 3g, 3gs and 2g, apps will be able to tell if its an iPad and you'll get the added features ;)

developers are going to develop more advanced apps for the iPad.. its got more real estate on the screen, so more features will be added.. i am certain of this.