Nothing after 7000RPM.......What could cause this??

Cardo-MR

Nothing after 7000RPM.......What could cause this??

Postby Cardo-MR » January 28th, 2010, 12:13 pm

Ok Well I changed/Cleaned: oil & filter,seals, injectors,throttle body,plugs,TPS Adjusted proper,All sensors working,Cleaned the Head....

Still NOT Passing 7000RPM when in motion.If it does it does so sluggishly.

Engine is a MIVEC converted to manual from Auto/tip-tronic.
Still have the Auto harness........Tranny Brain disconnected.

What other options are there to rectify this problem??
I want my Car rev to the 8000+ once more.

robby

Postby robby » January 28th, 2010, 12:15 pm

you cud try using a b16a :lol:

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » January 28th, 2010, 12:19 pm

robby, yuh doh have a nose cut to go & look for? :lol:

Pinky

Postby Pinky » January 28th, 2010, 12:23 pm

did you wire the speed sensor?

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » January 28th, 2010, 12:32 pm

Pinky, It is disconnected as there was a spottering when pulling of.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » January 28th, 2010, 8:15 pm

Anything?

nes123

Postby nes123 » January 28th, 2010, 10:13 pm

sounds like the valves floating....with auto cars the tranny doesn't swing to redline....that being said...the manual will...can also be some sort of restriction on the ECU as a fail safe so as to prevent it from swinging to redline...

either that or ya can check to see if a cam or lifter bolt is broken or worn....tjust a thought

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » January 29th, 2010, 10:04 am

nes123, When it was tip-tronic it went to 8000 rpm easy.....no hold back & such.

Will make a check back on the bolts you mentioned above.

Do you feel if i install the manual harness it would make a difference?

biggreen

Postby biggreen » January 29th, 2010, 10:50 am

u use the manual ecu?

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » January 29th, 2010, 12:07 pm

Ecu needs speed sensor signal........hook back up the speed sensor then verify timing and check O2 sensor to get rid of the spotter.

Swifted

Postby Swifted » January 29th, 2010, 1:39 pm

^sounds like the ECU is in 'limp' mode for sure.

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » January 29th, 2010, 2:48 pm

Swifted wrote:^sounds like the ECU is in 'limp' mode for sure.

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » January 29th, 2010, 3:18 pm

When in limp mode would he get less performance coupled with the lower rev limit or just a lower rev limit??

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » January 29th, 2010, 3:23 pm

limp mode comes into effect when the ECU senses a change in what signals it expects. In other words, when a substantial drop in vacuum pressure, a substantial drop in oil pressure or the O2 reading is very bad the check engine light will be thrown and limp mode will come into effect. Limp mode bumps up the oil pressure, the A/F ratio, limits VTEC or anyother similar system and reduces the rev limiter.

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » January 29th, 2010, 3:24 pm

so no ... only the rev limit is reduced

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » January 29th, 2010, 3:33 pm

Have It "reprogramed" with the new harness to come out of limp mode. and to make sure it does not happen again you can get a stand-alone ECU

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » January 29th, 2010, 7:46 pm

exia_sir, how can I have the ECU Reprogramed or who is able to this?
But wouldn't the O2 sensor if its bad be picked up on a scan when doing a diagnostic?

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » January 30th, 2010, 4:16 am

you will need to remove the ECU n replace the old chip with a new one ... there should be a way around it with special software to reflash the ecu straight from a computer program... but its recommended that you ask someone who specializes in computers and knows about engine ECUs

they should be able to do it at any dyno and if u can get an upgraded ecu or reprogram it to perfor better.... you will be able to pull an extra 10 - 20 hp on the dyno

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » January 30th, 2010, 4:57 am

piggy back ftw

Marct

Postby Marct » January 30th, 2010, 6:30 am

exia_sir wrote:

dont think limp mode will allow it to reach 7000 rpm

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » January 30th, 2010, 7:18 pm

depends on how bad the problem is

Swifted

Postby Swifted » January 30th, 2010, 7:23 pm

Marct wrote:
exia_sir wrote:

dont think limp mode will allow it to reach 7000 rpm

7000rpm is a good bit lower that 8500rpm, relatively speaking.

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » January 30th, 2010, 9:31 pm

what else can it be? ... floating valve?

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » January 31st, 2010, 12:13 pm

But if the ECU is in limp mode would it be detected on a scan as to what exactly is causing it to go into limp mode?

Tomorrow I goin by a man who does repair/fix ECU's so I go hear wat he have to say........

Until thatn any other thing to trouble shoot with?

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » February 2nd, 2010, 8:48 pm

was d update?

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » February 2nd, 2010, 9:05 pm

Well had no time since the week start.What I will do is change the O2 sensor as I got one from a fren....I will try that 1st & if that doesn't work well I goin & buy a Manual ECU & harness. :(

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » February 2nd, 2010, 9:09 pm

MAKE SURE THATS THE PROBLEM FIRST!!before u buy a new ecu n its a floating valve

fras

Postby fras » February 2nd, 2010, 9:29 pm

Know a guy had a simillar problem with his mivec... egnine wouldn't rev past 7,200rpm (thats about 1000rpm below the rev limit)

http://www.mivec.co.nz/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4835
That was about 2yrs ago and the engine is still working...

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » February 2nd, 2010, 10:37 pm

exia_sir,of Course I will check the O2 sensor before I buy ah ECU & Harness :lol:

fras,Thanks....I checked the link provided & like the man never said if he go it sorted out :? .

fras

Postby fras » February 3rd, 2010, 12:11 am

as much as i know they never sorted the problem out... but the engine working good other wise!