Vtec Vigilante

Program Power and Peak power

Postby Vtec Vigilante » February 10th, 2010, 7:29 pm

Wats the difference between these to ?

Postby 3stagevtec » February 10th, 2010, 7:47 pm

program power or RMS power is the average amount of power..

peak is the highest instantaneous power seen..

Pretend the graph, above, represents a music signal, as it might be viewed on an oscilloscope.

The peak value is the highest voltage that the waveform will ever reach, like the peak is the highest point on a mountain.

The RMS (Root-Mean-Square) value is the effective value of the total waveform. It is really the area under the curve. In audio it is the continuous or music power that the amplifier can deliver.

Peak and RMS only apply to AC (alternating current, like household power and music) signals, not DC (direct current like batteries). For DC the peak and RMS values are equal.

Voltage, current, and power for most all AC circuits is given in RMS. 120 Volt household power (in the US) is an RMS value. Ever heard someone call it 170 volt peak power????

Using RMS values allows for calculations to be completed more easily.

Bottom Line: For audio applications, our ears are RMS instruments, not peak reading. So using RMS values makes sense, and is normally how amplifiers are rated.

http://myhometheater.homestead.com/rms.html

basshead

Postby basshead » February 10th, 2010, 7:52 pm

correct me if i wrong
Program is usually twice RMS. Peak is usually twice program, or four times RMS

Postby 3stagevtec » February 10th, 2010, 8:48 pm

basshead wrote:correct me if i wrong

not always..

the JBL GTI subs have an 800Wrms / 5000Wpeak rating!

Modified Sound system

Postby Modified Sound system » February 10th, 2010, 10:45 pm

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 11th, 2010, 5:57 am

3stagevtec wrote:
basshead wrote:correct me if i wrong

not always..

the JBL GTI subs have an 800Wrms / 5000Wpeak rating!

yes the jbl gti subs do have a different power rating than just twice the RMS.
My subs are rated @600rms 3000 peak i have the 10"

But believe me if you give it twice the RMS power it will sound its best.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » February 11th, 2010, 2:20 pm

You can't really compare normal technology subs to the Jbl gti. They use magnetic braking to increase the power handling of the subs.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 11th, 2010, 7:26 pm

^^^^^trust me everyone, if you wanna know bout GTi tech ask this guy, from what my cousin tells me, he bought the w12gti from you BTW, you rell know your stuff.

But all of alyuh gallery men, they have someone comin out with a single w12gti, in a NICE box with about 2800rms on it coming out in tobago, yall go see it then. But trust me if anything i hearing is true, what yall go see is a 700rms sub, gettin on like yuh never see before.