High paying jobs in TT

ek4ever

High paying jobs in TT

Postby ek4ever » February 24th, 2010, 12:10 pm

Ok tuners....need some advice....have a friend living in the US considering returning to TT because of all the economic uncertainties there. He has a 1st degree from Penn State and MBA from Wharton's in the area of finance and about 3 yrs work experience.

Now I'm not aware of this sector in TT but I told him I don't think the financial sector pays too well here, given that he's currently making about U$75000 per year which is not much in NY. I suggested that to live comfortable here in TT...afford a house, car, savings, have money for vacations etc., he's looking at approx TT$50,000 per month. Is this realistic???

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 24th, 2010, 12:11 pm

3 yrs work experience

u for real there hoss??

approx TT$50,000 per month

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby tr1ad » February 24th, 2010, 12:12 pm

he a govt minister ?? have to be 50 k a month???? bwhahahahahahaha

Postby Maserati » February 24th, 2010, 12:12 pm

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2010, 12:20 pm

is 3yrs yuh seh?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 24th, 2010, 12:20 pm

^^ I was just saying $50,000 given the cost of houses and everything else....but like I said that's just my thought on it....I don't work in the financial sector so I don't know what they pay

Ok....let's try another way....what would he be looking at? I already told him not to come back here but apparently things really hard up there and the weather not helping

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 24th, 2010, 12:21 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:3 yrs work experience

u for real there hoss??

approx TT$50,000 per month

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Well he was working and did his MBA almost right after his bachelors

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2010, 12:22 pm

tell him apply to the Board of inland Revenue, they hiring Clerk 1's

Postby tr1ad » February 24th, 2010, 12:22 pm

3 yrs exp - 15k a month if so much in finance

Postby tr1ad » February 24th, 2010, 12:23 pm

Rooki3 wrote:tell him apply to the Board of inland Revenue, they hiring Clerk 1's

d man seh 50k not 5k

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2010, 12:23 pm

^^^ way more realistic & with the right money management, he an buy a home & car

Computerman

Re: High paying jobs in TT

Postby Computerman » February 24th, 2010, 12:24 pm

ek4ever wrote:Is this realistic???

Not with that work experience.

ek4ever wrote:what would he be looking at?

$12-15K/month.

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2010, 12:24 pm

tr1ad, :lol: :lol:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 24th, 2010, 12:27 pm

thanks for the feedback....like I already told him...it's better he fight up and stay in the US or look at other places in the Caribbean where banking/financial services are more developed

Postby tr1ad » February 24th, 2010, 12:28 pm

ek4ever wrote:look at other places in the Caribbean where banking/financial services are more developed

where is that

Postby crazybalhead » February 24th, 2010, 12:30 pm

tr1ad wrote:
ek4ever wrote:look at other places in the Caribbean where banking/financial services are more developed

where is that

Cayman.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 24th, 2010, 12:32 pm

^^ yup

Postby Maserati » February 24th, 2010, 12:32 pm

if he has a job and $75k USD is not bad at all! why risk such a change?
cold/bad weather comes and goes tell him to man up

Postby tr1ad » February 24th, 2010, 12:32 pm

orrrr cayman is part of the caribbean?

Postby crazybalhead » February 24th, 2010, 12:33 pm

50K is very unrealistic here in T&T only bog boys like Devrat and Crossdrilled make that kind of salary as far as I know.

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » February 24th, 2010, 12:36 pm

Yeah dude...tell him stop actin like a lil girl....and stick it out...best advice is bank in the cayman islands...

Postby A172 » February 24th, 2010, 12:37 pm

Trinidad FTL

1flyout :mrgreen:

Postby eliteauto » February 24th, 2010, 12:38 pm

tell him open 7 car wash and he could see that kinda cash ...but only when dry season done

Postby AllTrac » February 24th, 2010, 12:40 pm

OJT

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2010, 12:43 pm

d man seh 50k not 1.6k

Snags

Postby Snags » February 24th, 2010, 12:47 pm

I'm sure you don't need 50k a month to _live_ in Trinidad. I know a good few people that returned here from NY and found themselves back into the groove of things with relative ease. It's no picnic out there right now man and while you may perceive it as "crazy" to come back here, it is a smart option in a good bit of cases.
I'm not sure what you mean by the financial sector, but there are a few very successful accountants and investors in the country that could probably make half if not the entire blown-out-of-proportion estimate you gave your friend. He'd have to come back and make himself some contacts and the sooner he does it is the sooner he'd be able to get on his feet. If he has _any_ savings, which I'd assume he has given his field, he should be able to build himself a float period where he can survive without working for a period of time - time he'd spend making contacts and scouting jobs.

Postby AllTrac » February 24th, 2010, 12:50 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
d man seh 50k not 1.6k

he would get $3000TT which is almostr equivalent to 50,000 yen

Postby buzz » February 24th, 2010, 12:53 pm

and here i washin car for $5 all dis time ? :x :x :x

Postby honda hoe » February 24th, 2010, 12:57 pm

ur friend mite leave over there to come here to make TT$75000/yr instead

Postby Redman » February 24th, 2010, 1:04 pm

Your friend should give his resume to a head hunter with the type of job he is looking at.

But one can make that in commissions so if he want to hustle he can.

But the same reasons he wants to move has caused that sector to get real tough-so he has to come good.

The man can do well if he accepts 15-20 000.

Thats enough to get what he needs and build.

The local financial sector does not have the scale to offer that SALARY to a mid level employee.
The numbers not there.

Later