CBharath

Postby CBharath » February 25th, 2010, 10:39 am

i still find the fines a bit high

dragmaster

Postby dragmaster » February 25th, 2010, 10:40 am

MG Man wrote:the tint the car came with from the factory

I've seen that ripped of as well. Factory being Toyota.

Postby Chimera » February 25th, 2010, 10:41 am

Isn't factory tint usually a clear UV tint?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » February 25th, 2010, 10:50 am

Fines too high, many people will opt to bribe officer rather than pay these fines... de police smiling with these new fines

How many tuners drive at 80km on the highway? 1% perhaps?

Why didn't they address the outdated speed limit when they were addressing the "outdated" fine?

On top of that no radar guns, VLT meters etc. them popos will like demself too bad!

There is a $2000 fine for "disobeying" the instructions of a office... this is so vague and open to abuse it eh funny :shock:

Postby eliteauto » February 25th, 2010, 11:02 am

I will continue to say these plasters will come to naught if there continues to be a disconnect between the various agencies that contribute to vehicles being on the road
The enforcement part rests on the shoulders of the Police and Licensing Officers, but how fair is it to have someone charged for "too dark a tint" when the said vehicle was passed and licensed that way by the Licensing Authority? You have vehicles that are equipped with 20% "Privacy Glass" and yet still you have not a definitive % set for tint, leaving motorists at the mercy of any whim and fancy of Police Officers. Police want to charge you for unauthorized lights if your fogs are yellow but cars come equipped with and are registered with same....but there is a solution, all it takes is one person to contest a ticket and win and then have that person sue the ticketing officer, the C.O.P., the Min of Nat Sec, the Min of Works and the Licensing Authority and I'm sure they'll get their act in order

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 25th, 2010, 11:04 am

ingalook wrote:Fines too high, many people will opt to bribe officer rather than pay these fines... de police smiling with these new fines

How many tuners drive at 80km on the highway? 1% perhaps?

Why didn't they address the outdated speed limit when they were addressing the "outdated" fine?

On top of that no radar guns, VLT meters etc. them popos will like demself too bad!

There is a $2000 fine for "disobeying" the instructions of a office... this is so vague and open to abuse it eh funny :shock:

damn right ... it's going to be just like guyana with bribing officers for traffic violations.

and they even have radar guns :?

Postby crazybalhead » February 25th, 2010, 11:06 am

eliteauto wrote:I will continue to say these plasters will come to naught if there continues to be a disconnect between the various agencies that contribute to vehicles being on the road
The enforcement part rests on the shoulders of the Police and Licensing Officers, but how fair is it to have someone charged for "too dark a tint" when the said vehicle was passed and licensed that way by the Licensing Authority? You have vehicles that are equipped with 20% "Privacy Glass" and yet still you have not a definitive % set for tint, leaving motorists at the mercy of any whim and fancy of Police Officers. Police want to charge you for unauthorized lights if your fogs are yellow but cars come equipped with and are registered with same....but there is a solution, all it takes is one person to contest a ticket and win and then have that person sue the ticketing officer, the C.O.P., the Min of Nat Sec, the Min of Works and the Licensing Authority and I'm sure they'll get their act in order

Tell me this thing nah!!!!!

Postby Maserati » February 25th, 2010, 11:13 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
damn right ... it's going to be just like guyana with bribing officers for traffic violations.

and they even have radar guns :?

christ, if Guyanese have radar guns and T&T doesn't...things bad yes

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » February 25th, 2010, 12:13 pm

is the bill passed????

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 25th, 2010, 12:22 pm

Greypatch wrote:The fines
• children age five years and upwards must be in a vehicle’s backseat;

Shouldn't this be based on heigh and not age :?

I was a huge mofo of a 10 y.o. Bigger than a lot of my teachers.

Haterkiller

Postby Haterkiller » February 25th, 2010, 12:23 pm

evo-STI-k
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:14 am Post subject: Re: Tint,Speeding,Parking tickets went up..$$$$
playerskrew wrote:
Illegal tint=$5000.
Speeding=$4000.
Parking=$500.
No seatbelt=$4000.
Reakless driving=$4000.
This was just on d news.......

keep to 80, don't park near no parking signs, buckle up, don't drive like a cnut and light tint...............nothing here is unreasonable
not unreasonable, but to make the FINE for a minor offense like TINT, More than a more serious one like SPEEDING , which can be fatal is a little silly.
Oh i forgot! TINT causes crime! My bad!
Not the ILLEGAL churches that are being built by our LEADER!

Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic (Amendment) Act>>Imbert said the ticket system had fallen into disrepute because the fines were so minuscule.

For excessively dark tints fixed penalty- $2,000.
Matter taken to court for dark tint- $5,000
Illegal use of PBR if you accept a ticket, increases from $200 to $2,000.
Illegal use of PBR if challenged in court from $500 to $4,000.
Failure to wear your seatbelts current fine of $1,000 to $4,000 for 1st offence and 2nd offence is up from $2000 to $8,000 on a subsequent conviction.
Drunk under the influence from $2000 up.
Child restraints under five yrs fine for contravention will be $2,000
Though public service (taxis) vehicles would be exempt for now.
Illegal parking from $500 to $4000.
Penalty for failure to obey a policeman from $500 to $2,000 on first offence and $4,000 on second offence.
Speeding fine was $200 now increases to $1000
Speeding fine if challenged in court was $500 now increases to $4000
Drag racing fine of $1,000 and illegal overtaking is also $1,000
PH cars fine is now $400 increases to $8000.

As MG Man wrote above drive safely, obey the laws, put on your seatbelts, leave a little earlier to avoid traffic so you don't have to speed excessively. I've seen to many people die because of these seatbelt incidents, drunk driving etc.The problem I have with this government is that laws & fines are being increased to curb traffic violations, but do they don't have enough resources to enforce these laws, corruption in the service & sometimes its just BS to make money on every citizen in this T&T.Have a safe journey ppl!!

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2010, 1:19 pm

Haterkiller wrote:leave a little earlier to avoid traffic so you don't have to speed

the only response i can give to the above is to call those who support it jackasses.
for some, the commute is already tearing enough into the few moments that they can call their own, and while some may say well move closer, the fact of the matter is, easier to think it possible, when it is not you in the situation.
most of peers / coworkers are on the higway before 5a, and even then takes some speeding to get some of their day done (refuel, small groceries), and be in the office for 7. with a departure of 4.30, some don't see their homes before 9.

how is the theory of leaving earlier expected to solve / alleviate their traffic habits?

Postby dougla_boy » February 25th, 2010, 1:48 pm

if u wanna make sure that the pop could see thru the tint, jus show middle finger when you passing, u cant get in trouble for that, and make sure and ask that they saw your finger

:fist: :fist: :fist: :fist:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2010, 1:49 pm

actually the speeding argument is flawed
if you stuck in slow moving traffic daily, any window of opportunity to speed will not save you any time. At some point a slow car, traffic light etc will erode any perceived times saving at the cost of increased risk...

look at it this way
a journey of 40kms @ 80kph would take 30 min
at 100k you save 6 min over driving at 80k
at 110k you save 8 min
at 120k you save 10min
at 140k yous ave 13 min
at 160k you save 160 min
now think about that..............and see if you really make up time by going from 80k to 120k, for example..........is 10 min worth the increased risk in a crash?
...and will you realistically save a full 10 min anyway?
you do not make up time by speeding
just ask the guy at the traffic light next to you who you passed VOOSH a while ago, and is now looking at you like an a.ss

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 25th, 2010, 2:06 pm

Well think of it this way - you are assisting the government to refill the treasury - so don't b!tch when you get a ticket . Feel proud that your assisting the county- :lol:

Millitant youth

Postby Millitant youth » February 25th, 2010, 2:19 pm

hahaha.... fellas jus go with the flow i sure when ah popo pull yuh over he go tell yuh hit him ah digit and call it off so by that allyuh need tuh keep some money on allyuh at all times... lol imagine my padna goin down the road so ah license officer pull him over for them euro plates, that was when it was in style. so the license officer tell him he givin him ah ticket so meh padna say oh gosh the boss wah we go do... the officer watch him and say how much money yuh havin he say the boss nothing... the officer say not even ah lunch price, meh padna say all ah have is ah 30 the officer take that and tell the man go ahead...lol

so fellas the police goin and get rich...lol

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 25th, 2010, 2:58 pm

I wonder how they will tell if i speeding? and how they gona tell the public whats the speed limit on the road ways, if they say 80 then that would just be ridicules on the south bound highway. And if there implementing that rule there should be a slow speed limit on the main highway of 60km.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » February 25th, 2010, 6:04 pm

MG Man wrote:actually the speeding argument is flawed
if you stuck in slow moving traffic daily, any window of opportunity to speed will not save you any time. At some point a slow car, traffic light etc will erode any perceived times saving at the cost of increased risk...

look at it this way
a journey of 40kms @ 80kph would take 30 min
at 100k you save 6 min over driving at 80k
at 110k you save 8 min
at 120k you save 10min
at 140k yous ave 13 min
at 160k you save 160 min
now think about that..............and see if you really make up time by going from 80k to 120k, for example..........is 10 min worth the increased risk in a crash?
...and will you realistically save a full 10 min anyway?
you do not make up time by speeding
just ask the guy at the traffic light next to you who you passed VOOSH a while ago, and is now looking at you like an a.ss

maths dead wrong here pallo
if i drive 160 i save 160 mins in a trip that would normally take 30. whatever that means

i know that much of the shoulder driving and 'speeding' is caused by precious time wasted in traffic allover the country no matter where u want to go. Takes 45 mins to reach from stjoseph police station to sbcs on a morn(<1km), when i get a free piece of hiway, what should i do?
Government not upgrading carriagewasy as fast as the vehicle population is growing

along the same lines, why drive 80k when you can easily go 40k and further reduce your risk of crashing?
i mean all it will do is slightly increase your risk of amm, not reaching anywhere..

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2010, 6:05 pm

my bad
typo
it should be 15 min

at 40k on the highway (assuming clear road) you will be a hazard
but hey, go brave man...........is your 4k to pay not mine,
and fuckaway with seatbelts too
I love pointing and laughing at head impressions in windscreens....freedom of choice ftw

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2010, 7:34 pm

hmm..................dunno
weird
in my experience, factory tint = barely any tint at all

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2010, 8:28 pm

MG Man,
yuh maths off, we always butting heads on this, so i eh bothering.
and regarding factory tint. this is factory. just an example.

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2010, 8:31 pm

but front doors clear , not so?

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2010, 8:43 pm

MG Man wrote:but front doors clear , not so?

and?
they still would want you to remove it from ALL glasses.

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2010, 8:57 pm

MG Man wrote:but front doors clear , not so?

and?
they still would want you to remove it from ALL glasses.

doesnt the law require only the driver to be visible thru the front and side windows?

Postby wagonrunner » February 25th, 2010, 9:00 pm

MG Man wrote:doesnt the law require only the driver to be visible thru the front and side windows?

:lol: AND???
authority will be be abused. yuh feel the populace have rights orrr?

clone101

TINT

Postby clone101 » February 25th, 2010, 9:10 pm

Image MY wagon come so & the seats black, LO DRAKES & i had it out until he tell me take win :!:

Licensed to Walk!
Location: Refusing to beg ppl to do the job they're being paid for!

Postby Licensed to Walk! » February 25th, 2010, 11:02 pm

pioneer wrote:define "light tint" nah?

cuz i've seen 35% being stripped...

Say it aint so.

Postby shogun » February 25th, 2010, 11:26 pm

It seems that they just clicking copy and paste on the rules/regulations abroad without thought to it's viability or implementation here ...do you really think this will have any impact on crime?...the other laws are long overdue,but this tint law is a fcuking fiasco.

Postby Chimera » February 25th, 2010, 11:41 pm

MG Man wrote:doesnt the law require only the driver to be visible thru the front and side windows?

:lol: AND???
authority will be be abused. yuh feel the populace have rights orrr?

I could imagine them ossifers and L.O's saying this

Postby gt4tified » February 26th, 2010, 12:09 am

The new fines cannot take effect just yet. The Bill still has to be forwarded to the Senate for its concurrence and then the President has to sign to it.