looking to do PPO at trinzuela

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2010, 10:51 am

ITT - Chancery Lane better

Devin

Postby Devin » March 1st, 2010, 10:57 am

I goin an do it in Trinizuela ...I heard they have a good lecturer there for that subject.

red5FWD

Postby red5FWD » March 1st, 2010, 11:13 am

NO :!:

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » March 1st, 2010, 11:34 am

From what I have heard thus far, most reputable companies in Trinidad do not recognize City and Guilds...If companies do consider persons with these certificates/diplomas.... they ran out of better candidates eg. Persons with NEC, COSTATT, UTT diplomas.

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » March 1st, 2010, 12:24 pm

tr1ad wrote:ITT - Chancery Lane better

did it here trust me, dont go there....still waiting for my results from 3 yrs ago....check utt

Postby Damien » March 1st, 2010, 12:44 pm

ITT good imo

vramdhan

Postby vramdhan » March 1st, 2010, 12:47 pm

phreakazoid wrote:From what I have heard thus far, most reputable companies in Trinidad do not recognize City and Guilds...If companies do consider persons with these certificates/diplomas.... they ran out of better candidates eg. Persons with NEC, COSTATT, UTT diplomas.

yes this is true cause i did it at ITT and is no good. the entire CITY & Guilds Certificate is no good.

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2010, 2:07 pm

certified_dealer wrote:

did it here trust me, dont go there....still waiting for my results from 3 yrs ago....check utt

well seepaul luck is not gopaul

i was in the second class they offered and completed the entire course and have my certs

sss

Postby sss » March 1st, 2010, 2:43 pm

companies are not accepting it because utt trying to discredit them but u can leave tis country go to the uk with your city&guilds and land a job could u do that with utt

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2010, 2:44 pm

city & guilds carry one of the best ppo courses - it is internationally recognized

Postby De Dragon » March 1st, 2010, 2:52 pm

With the shortage of PPO's on the Estate, few of them gonna care too much where you've gotten your Cert. Unless it says University of Moruga, or sum such sheit on your papers. :|
Experience is the key my friend, so if any of them offer training with any of the companies on the Estate, go that route, behave yuh MC self, and you may be asked to hold on permanent when you finish your program.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 1st, 2010, 7:39 pm

Anyone have ITT website?

Postby Rainman » March 1st, 2010, 7:42 pm

certified_dealer wrote:

Remember when they used to announce common entrance results over the PA at your primary school, well anyone who didn't hear their name.................well yuh know nah.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 1st, 2010, 8:16 pm

turbotommy

Postby turbotommy » March 2nd, 2010, 12:50 pm

I can recall a time when i attened an interview in PCS and the lady walk in the class and say anybody that doesnt have COSTAATT, NEC, TTIT or UTT please leave the classroom, so ah fella get up an say miss but wuh about people from City and Guilds??? Her response was " sir what are u still doing here, please leave my class " so happens half of the class got up and left ...

Can either lead to 2 tings:

1) The woman is ah Kant
or
2) PCS HR department is Kant , because all the Trinzuela ppl didnt jus go to the interview jus so, is PCS that invited them to attend...

Madda Kants ...

But Seriously there are lots of guys with Bsc Mech etc working as operators now, the field is very tough...

vramdhan

Postby vramdhan » March 2nd, 2010, 8:06 pm

Methanex will give UTT 1st preferance! Nu iron I'm not all dat sure! But PCS don't accept city & guilds at all! Ipsl will but very very bery hardly will give utt 1st preferance! Yara don't accept it at all! Ispat will accept anyting! PPGPL don't accept it at all either!

livinloud12

Postby livinloud12 » March 2nd, 2010, 8:21 pm

City and Guilds lost the accreditation as a result of lecturers selling the exams to students. In same cases people obtained certificates without attending the classes. UTT's PPO certificate is in depth and widely accepted and preferred across the industry. When companies send their employees for further training it's straight UTT 0X .

dreadman

Postby dreadman » March 2nd, 2010, 10:14 pm

most of the companies employ students from UTT bcuz
1: dey get more on hands experience cuz dey have labs and city an guilds dont..
2: d companies give donations to UTT every yr so in return dey get students

i did PPO at ITT san do an there was a time when PPGPL called me for an interview an asked me where i did it an when i told dem dey said dey only wanted UTT ppl

dreadman

Postby dreadman » March 2nd, 2010, 10:15 pm

livinloud12 wrote:City and Guilds lost the accreditation as a result of lecturers selling the exams to students. In same cases people obtained certificates without attending the classes. UTT's PPO certificate is in depth and widely accepted and preferred across the industry. When companies send their employees for further training it's straight UTT 0X .

this is true

Postby Rooki3 » March 3rd, 2010, 12:16 am

City and Guilds lost the accreditation as a result of lecturers selling the exams to students

When i did construction technology at trinizuela, the going price for exam papers was $400, :lol:

Postby tr1ad » March 3rd, 2010, 7:31 am

where was all this selling of papers when i was doing my c&g courses

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » March 3rd, 2010, 7:49 am

All this talk about C&G not being accreddited is true to some extent all because companies prefer graduates from a local institute rather than a foreign institute.
What they fail to realise is that their exams here locally ain't worth a rats a$$ abroad.Try going abroad with a local qualification and see if you don't end up picking up rubbish......... :mrgreen:

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 3rd, 2010, 8:32 am

UTT = better trained = sure emloyment=$$$

did the ppo program at utt , just got my certificate , and companies calling like crazy , the amount of them i blank :twisted:

was working as a ppo for 5 years now anyhow so dont care, pay is just slightly less compared to an engineer :roll:

go for utt :wink:

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » March 3rd, 2010, 1:54 pm

wonders if to still do PPO and come out of Civil

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » March 3rd, 2010, 2:10 pm

rainman wrote:
certified_dealer wrote:

Remember when they used to announce common entrance results over the PA at your primary school, well anyone who didn't hear their name.................well yuh know nah.

Re: Doing PPO at Trinzuela any good

Postby Morpheus » April 19th, 2011, 9:56 pm

Good info here guys. I was supposed to make a thread asking about this

Postby DFC » April 19th, 2011, 10:14 pm

i got a friend who did ppo @ trinizuela sando. it took him 9 months.

he got hired in yara.

makes more money than me, waaayyy more.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » April 19th, 2011, 10:20 pm

Nothing wrong with PPO from city and guilds , its just the facilities down here that provide the courses isn't good .

The PPO syllabus is very direct and its basic knowledge . Level 2 is beginners , easy like pie , level 3 personally I think they should increase the course work to inculde all the options , mechanics , metals etc . I know ppl who did it and it actually got them a job faster when they went abroad because in common wealth nations city and guilds is recognised .

You can do it , but go utt less stress on u when finding a job .

Companies hire you with city and guild its just .. it takes time and experience .

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » April 21st, 2011, 2:04 am

once is City and Guilds hell no