Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote: There was a breach in contract and the defendant is right to seek compensation.
I wonder which law firm is representing the Plaintiff?
don't you mean the plaintiff is right to seek compensation
and you wonder which law firm is representing the defendants?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote: There was a breach in contract and the defendant is right to seek compensation.
The Petroleum Co. of Trinidad and Tobago lured a developer to build a gas-to-liquid plant and then "with the full knowledge and consent of Trinidad, executed its secret plan to take control of it" by expropriating it, the developer claims in Federal Court. The petroleum company is wholly owned by Trinidad and is operated by its Ministries of Finance and Energy.
Petrotrin's scheme ruined World GTL's plan to use the Petrotrin facility as a showcase and platform to build such facilities throughout the world, according to the complaint.
"The renowned banking firm Calyon, based on various analyses, valued the World GTL enterprise in excess of $2 billion," the complain states. "With defendant's successful scheme to take over WGTL-Trinidad, this value has been destroyed."
World GTL says it provided Petrotrin with the "know-how and technology" to build the plant, but sulfur emissions at Petrotrin caused plant evacuations, massive productivity loss and construction delays.
Credit Suisse, which is not a party to the lawsuit, provided $125 million in financing, and the loan was to become mature and payable if World GTL failed to meet lender reliability tests by a certain date, according to the complaint.
Credit Suisse would grant an extension only if World GTL took out a new loan for $300 million at 14 percent interest, so the developer looked for a new lender, according to the complaint. World GTL says that after it spent $900,000 negotiating a deal with Barclays Capital, Petrotrin forced a delay.
Petrotrin told World GTL "not to worry" as it would pay off the loan and prevent immediate default, according to the complaint. But instead of paying off the loan to Credit Suisse, Petrotrin allegedly paid a $16.2 million premium to acquire the loan by assignment.
"Clearly, Petrotrin's acquisition of the Credit Suisse Loan was intended to - and did - put a gun to the head of World GTL and WGTL-SL to wrest control of the gas-to-liquid plant from them," according to the complaint.
As intense sulfur emissions continued, killing one worker and forcing the plant to close again, Petrotrin's handpicked receiver quietly took control of the facility and barred access to World GTL.
"Although these emissions had been ongoing for over a month, reaching very high and unsafe levels, miraculously, once the receiver took over, the sulfur emissions ceased such that the receiver could order everyone back to work within a week of his taking over," the complaint states.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote: There was a breach in contract and the defendant is right to seek compensation.
Coffeehouse lawyer ftw
Mr Gear wrote:They cannot win that case. At best they are hoping for a settlement payment.
Taking bets if anyone doubts this.
AbstractPoetic wrote:So while TT gathers its legal team, here's more info on the plaintiff and their counsel:
Partner representing Plaintiff: http://www.tklaw.com/attorneys.cfm?u=RobertFBrodegaard&action=view&id=99886&show_expanded_bio=1&bio_practice_id=0
Some of World GTL's claims sounds far-fetched but I'll be interested to know how this develops:The Petroleum Co. of Trinidad and Tobago lured a developer to build a gas-to-liquid plant and then "with the full knowledge and consent of Trinidad, executed its secret plan to take control of it" by expropriating it, the developer claims in Federal Court. The petroleum company is wholly owned by Trinidad and is operated by its Ministries of Finance and Energy.Petrotrin's scheme ruined World GTL's plan to use the Petrotrin facility as a showcase and platform to build such facilities throughout the world, according to the complaint."The renowned banking firm Calyon, based on various analyses, valued the World GTL enterprise in excess of $2 billion," the complain states. "With defendant's successful scheme to take over WGTL-Trinidad, this value has been destroyed."
World GTL says it provided Petrotrin with the "know-how and technology" to build the plant, but sulfur emissions at Petrotrin caused plant evacuations, massive productivity loss and construction delays.
Credit Suisse, which is not a party to the lawsuit, provided $125 million in financing, and the loan was to become mature and payable if World GTL failed to meet lender reliability tests by a certain date, according to the complaint.
Credit Suisse would grant an extension only if World GTL took out a new loan for $300 million at 14 percent interest, so the developer looked for a new lender, according to the complaint. World GTL says that after it spent $900,000 negotiating a deal with Barclays Capital, Petrotrin forced a delay.Petrotrin told World GTL "not to worry" as it would pay off the loan and prevent immediate default, according to the complaint. But instead of paying off the loan to Credit Suisse, Petrotrin allegedly paid a $16.2 million premium to acquire the loan by assignment."Clearly, Petrotrin's acquisition of the Credit Suisse Loan was intended to - and did - put a gun to the head of World GTL and WGTL-SL to wrest control of the gas-to-liquid plant from them," according to the complaint.
As intense sulfur emissions continued, killing one worker and forcing the plant to close again, Petrotrin's handpicked receiver quietly took control of the facility and barred access to World GTL."Although these emissions had been ongoing for over a month, reaching very high and unsafe levels, miraculously, once the receiver took over, the sulfur emissions ceased such that the receiver could order everyone back to work within a week of his taking over," the complaint states.
http://www.courthousenews.com/2010/02/26/25071.htm
Dirty Face wrote:AP, what breach of contract do you speak of??
"not to worry" as it [Petrotrin] would pay off the loan and prevent immediate default [credit agreement entered with Credit Suisse]
Dirty Face wrote:Those things being said, I must give some thought to the flip side. The counsel hired is very good and they get paid on a percentage basis i.e. no money recovered no money for the lawyers. Big lawyers therefore not wasting their resources if the feel they have no chance of winning at least SOMETHING so they cant get their approx 33%.
Dirty Face wrote:2) I cant see how WORLD signing with Credit Suisse has any bearing on this case. Ok they claim they signed at the behest of the government so what we are saying is I go to buy a car, Duane suggest that I should finance with Republic, I agree and SIGN THE LOAN CONTRACT, I run into problems with the financier, and I blame DUANE?? Na man
AbstractPoetic wrote:Dirty Face wrote:AP, what breach of contract do you speak of??
According to World GTL, Petrotrin relayed:"not to worry" as it [Petrotrin] would pay off the loan and prevent immediate default [credit agreement entered with Credit Suisse]
...but instead Petrotrin did not pay off the loan but acquired it giving them full control of the project in Point-a-Pierre. Supposedly this was not part of the agreement they entered into.
It would be interesting to read both the executed Memo and Credit Facility in which both parties entered and how the firms/partners on each side try and interpret/dissect the agreement(s).Dirty Face wrote:Those things being said, I must give some thought to the flip side. The counsel hired is very good and they get paid on a percentage basis i.e. no money recovered no money for the lawyers. Big lawyers therefore not wasting their resources if the feel they have no chance of winning at least SOMETHING so they cant get their approx 33%.
It doesn't matter whether or not they win the case, what matters are the billable hours![]()
. That said T&K LLP is no Cravath or Skadden LLP BUT the partner has won some decent cases in both the Latin American and Caribbean region.
But your concern should lie with the judge, not the counsel. Judge McKenna was appointed by former President Bush so I'm sure you can tell where I'm coming from.
Conservatives judges, especially in the SDNY are tough cookies.I'll definitely be following this case closely.
Country_Bookie wrote:Redman wrote:Alternative financing was offered and the directive came down to deal with CSFB,
Again politics screws up excellent opportunities for us.
Sadly this will cost the country a tidy sum.
Later
Based on the timeline, Conrad Enill and Christine Sahadeo were the Ministers in the Ministry of Finance at the time, with Manning being the finance minister. I’m guessing Enill was the one with ties to Credit Suisse?
You have to wonder about some of these transactions involving State enterprises and international banks…...the Petrotrin 9.75% 2019s being an obvious example.
Dirty Face wrote:In response to your response, who say petrotrin say "not to worry? " And even if they did, back to my Duane example, so I run into probs with Republic Bank, Duane say "not to worry" he'll pay off the loan and prevent my defaulting, he DOES SUCH and then comes to my house to take the car ..... Is he wrong???
Dirty Face wrote:Petrotrin DID pay off the loan payment from what I read correct?? And they DID prevent the default correct?? So once again WHAT BREACHOF CONTRACT are you referring to?? (This aside from the fact that I dont know if this "not to worry" conversation is documented ehh, I just giving you the benefit of the doubt on that)
Dirty Face wrote:Secondly, were not privy to the actual agreement with WORLD and the lawyers but what you are trying to convince me is that this Law Firm entered into a agreement to take this case on "billable hours" VS a percentage of winnings basis? REALLY? And give up a chance of a 4 BILLION dollar payment?? They going to represent a company that had issues with even paying of a "small" (in the scheme of this suit) loan using the billing system?? WORLD could afford that? Or rather the Law Firm could afford to take that chance vs the other pecentage option?? :: shakes head::
De Dragon wrote:Country_Bookie wrote:Redman wrote:Alternative financing was offered and the directive came down to deal with CSFB,
Later
Based on the timeline, Conrad Enill and Christine Sahadeo were the Ministers in the Ministry of Finance at the time, with Manning being the finance minister. I’m guessing Enill was the one with ties to Credit Suisse?
You have to wonder about some of these transactions involving State enterprises and international banks…...the Petrotrin 9.75% 2019s being an obvious example.
Doesn't Wendell Mottley have a substantial post at Credit Suisse?
AbstractPoetic wrote:
But now Duane said, "Dirty Face, seeing is both we name on the car loan and ah have d' money, lemme cover the default loan yuh have with Republic".
And so he did that, but unbeknownst to you, Duane is, by default, now the sole owner of the car.
Now two questions remain:
1. In the contract between Republic, yourself and Duane, was there a clause that provided Duane sole ownership in the event you defaulted?
SmokeyGTi wrote:lemme analyse thisAccording to the documents filed in court, in May 2004, World GTL and Petrotrin entered into a memorandum of understanding to build a gas-to-liquid plant and four months later, a project agreement for the plant to be built at Pointe-a-Pierre. World GTL (Trinidad) was in charge of the project.
so world gtl was in charge of construction...joint project between them and petrotrin...The plaintiffs said at the behest of Petrotrin, Credit Suisse, was among the financial institutions approached to provide funding, largely because a former T&T Finance Minister was at Credit Suisse. The financial institution agreed to provide a US $125 million credit facility and on January 12, 2007, the plaintiffs and Petrotrin entered certain financial agreements.
Redman wrote:De Dragon wrote:Country_Bookie wrote:Redman wrote:Alternative financing was offered and the directive came down to deal with CSFB,
Later
Doesn't Wendell Mottley have a substantial post at Credit Suisse?
Yes he does.
Wit this case in court I think this can and will hinder Petrotrins ability to finance and/or refinance facilities on the international markets.
I would also suggest that the construct of the deal required the GOTT(Petrotrin) to offer some guarantees and therefore they may have had a seat at the negotiating table.
Calyon (AFAIK) made an offer to finance and was huffed by CSFB.
The firm that was moving the plant(VENTECH) also had the responsibility of commissioning the plant-so the liability was not WGTLs.
I know that other work that was happening in and aroung Petrotrin were regularly hampered for the same reasons.
If this plant was constructed the market was limitless-we would have blended our deisel with the GTL diesel and therfore TT diesel would be clean enough to export anywhere.
So Petrotrin has motive-big time.
I think its going to be a big argument
Parent co is registered in NY-always has been.
Later