It was a relevant relic worth keeping
76%
It was a piece of rubbish that needed to be thrown away
24%

Total votes: 29

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 6th, 2010, 9:48 am

oh gooooood dat bridge was ah bullin landmark.....there goes a special reminder of fabulous times of past :cry:

Postby MG Man » March 6th, 2010, 10:17 am

embellishfrost wrote:So why they moving the bridge in the first place?
I find it looks nice right there.

it's a vile conspiracy between the evil forces of gravity and corrosion

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 6th, 2010, 10:25 am

Built in 1881? that bridge last 129 years, Caroni one couldn't last 2 months properly.........

old thing really is the best yes

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » March 6th, 2010, 11:23 am

I wonder if they intend to have the brige taken down and all the scrap metal moved away in the time frame indicated.

The movement of that stuff may create an additional road hazzard either north of the bridge or south of the bridge.

Any ideas on where they are likely to go or the routes they may take?

xtech

Postby xtech » March 6th, 2010, 11:34 am

is Eric Williams fault.......... :roll: :roll:

W2J

Postby W2J » March 6th, 2010, 11:50 am

where is this? I never see it before :?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 6th, 2010, 12:28 pm

dais near mikkane hotel....yuh never gone dey and 8v|| before?

good times *sniff*

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 6th, 2010, 12:54 pm

thanks for dah pics guise!

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » March 6th, 2010, 2:20 pm

FriendlyFire wrote:I wonder if they intend to have the brige taken down and all the scrap metal moved away in the time frame indicated.

The movement of that stuff may create an additional road hazzard either north of the bridge or south of the bridge.

Any ideas on where they are likely to go or the routes they may take?

To move that bridge isnt that easy....
thay gonna use a centipede trailer (cometto trailer), and lift it from where it's lying and then the trailer is going to have to make a 90 degree turn and t would carry it up to the clear area going up the hill....where it wil be chopped up....

its harder done thane said eh

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » March 6th, 2010, 3:08 pm

For those who may not know this landmark. The Red Bridge is located on the Southern Main Road, Pointe-a-Pierre just north of the refinery and south of St. Margarets' Village, Claxton Bay.

It may have been the only place where a train passed over a major roadway in Trinidad. The disruption moving it would have caused may have been one of the reasons it wasn't moved when trains stopped passing there in 1958 because of errosion along the route where the train tracks passed along the sea coast in the Pointe-a-Pierre, Claxton Bay area.

If you drive along the Southern Main Road and up Beaumont Hill you will still see the sign for Station Road near the St. Peters RC Church. That's where the old train station was. The Pointe-a-Pierre Gov't Primary School is still on that road.

Postby tr1ad » March 6th, 2010, 5:06 pm

was there taking some pics, the crane etc ready to go, just waiting on the time

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » March 6th, 2010, 5:07 pm

tr1ad wrote:was there taking some pics, the crane etc ready to go, just waiting on the time

Stop driving so hard when you on the Marabella Main Road :P :P

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 6th, 2010, 6:10 pm

bridge in the video....*sniff*

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/VMjtBd6gtww&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/VMjtBd6gtww&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

zcarz

Postby zcarz » March 6th, 2010, 6:47 pm

^They are removing the bridge because of severe corrosion to its structural identity.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 7th, 2010, 1:26 am

xtech

Postby xtech » March 7th, 2010, 8:51 am

should put that on a barge a send it up to Chaguramas...............

SR20VE-T

Postby SR20VE-T » March 8th, 2010, 12:00 am

That video even show you how the interchange in South was before yes, wow.

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » March 8th, 2010, 2:56 pm

equipped2ripp, thanks for the pics man............really wish it didn't have that ministry of works banner in the middle spoiling it :|

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » March 8th, 2010, 10:41 pm

To give a better perspective on this bridge built in 1881

1881 is the year Sitting Bull surrendered, it is the year Billy the Kid was killed, it is the year of the shoot out at the OK Corral with Wyatt Earp, Doc Holliday and Clanton in Tombstone in Arizona.

1881 is also the year the Canboulay Riots occurred that lead to the start of our Carnival celebrations. This bridge was built just 43 years after slavery was ended and 36 years after indentured laborers began to arrive.

Postby RBphoto » March 9th, 2010, 10:08 am

2 d Max Auto wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:hmm, piece of history going there.

Yep, that's what I was thinking, I hope our 2nr photo tek outers get some pics before it goes......... :(

procrastination sucks.....every time I pass I always think 'hmm............ah should take a pic' :? :? :?

And I just start to photograph old canefield memorabilia :X Talking about that, anyone seeing any of the old cane cars that the locomotives used to pull? I have been scouring the old train track routes looking for them, or even a piece of rail, but I ain't even seeing the tracks now.

Postby wagonrunner » March 9th, 2010, 10:47 am

crossdrilled wrote:And I just start to photograph old canefield memorabilia :X Talking about that, anyone seeing any of the old cane cars that the locomotives used to pull? I have been scouring the old train track routes looking for them, or even a piece of rail, but I ain't even seeing the tracks now.

The ones along the M2 ring road from st. madeline to friendship, and along the St. Madeline field were removed already?

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » March 9th, 2010, 3:27 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
2 d Max Auto wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:hmm, piece of history going there.

Yep, that's what I was thinking, I hope our 2nr photo tek outers get some pics before it goes......... :(

procrastination sucks.....every time I pass I always think 'hmm............ah should take a pic' :? :? :?

And I just start to photograph old canefield memorabilia :X Talking about that, anyone seeing any of the old cane cars that the locomotives used to pull? I have been scouring the old train track routes looking for them, or even a piece of rail, but I ain't even seeing the tracks now.

Ent it have some of these tracks along the back road between Golconda and Debe?, try there

Postby Maserati » March 9th, 2010, 3:31 pm

crossdrilled wrote:And I just start to photograph old canefield memorabilia :X Talking about that, anyone seeing any of the old cane cars that the locomotives used to pull? I have been scouring the old train track routes looking for them, or even a piece of rail, but I ain't even seeing the tracks now.

The ones along the M2 ring road from st. madeline to friendship, and along the St. Madeline field were removed already?

think I have some very old pics. of these from many years back when the train still use to run.
wonder what ever happened to the locomotives

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » March 9th, 2010, 4:00 pm

i hear somebody say this bridge was their life, wdmc.

we need more highways in trini

Postby RBphoto » March 9th, 2010, 4:42 pm

Yup, first place I looked actually.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 9th, 2010, 6:22 pm

I knew in St. Madeline had, but I'm sure those scrap iron people stole it years ago...

There should be in Penal as well...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 9th, 2010, 8:15 pm

FriendlyFire wrote:To give a better perspective on this bridge built in 1881

1881 is the year Sitting Bull surrendered, it is the year Billy the Kid was killed, it is the year of the shoot out at the OK Corral with Wyatt Earp, Doc Holliday and Clanton in Tombstone in Arizona.

1881 is also the year the Canboulay Riots occurred that lead to the start of our Carnival celebrations. This bridge was built just 43 years after slavery was ended and 36 years after indentured laborers began to arrive.

Nice info... to me it didn't look like it was in danger of falling down... they could have spent half the money they spending to move it to fix it up and make it a tourist attraction... real history there boy :cry:

Postby equipped2ripp » March 9th, 2010, 8:52 pm

That's what they should have done... fix it up, recoat it and make it a tourist attraction... but then again, check who get the job to remove it right...

the MP for P-A-P should have made the initiative to get this done... but then again, check who's the MP :shock: :lol: :lol:

Postby eliteauto » March 9th, 2010, 9:05 pm

Tourist attraction :| seriously the bridge there since 1881 how many tourists visited? Prior to it's removal anyone even paid attention to it or everyone just assumed it was always there? Not everything old should be saved

Postby wagonrunner » March 10th, 2010, 8:19 am

eliteauto wrote:Not everything old should be saved