Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 15th, 2010, 2:35 pm

so N&M just called with a follow-up to my purchasing of the vehicle and asked if i was satisfied with the purchase and what ways they can work on to improve their servicing techniques..i must say it a positive step for them seeing that they are working to make everything go more smoothly

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 15th, 2010, 3:21 pm

they always call u after a service...lol

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 15th, 2010, 8:20 pm

steups........................ :|

ravist

Postby ravist » March 16th, 2010, 10:24 am

any idea where i can get a k&n air filter for the nav? sheriff and ramai are out of stock....

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » March 16th, 2010, 11:06 am

Rutless Tiida wrote:My Frontier has the manual locking hubs on the front wheels.
I am looking at going on the next DB run, so if I am on a trail and I don't need 4x4 can I leave the hubs locked and engage the 4x4 when I need it, or will I have to be going in and out of the vehicle to engage and disengage the 4x4.

Asks a mechanic (he does alot of work for the offroad club) and he said that it was ok to lock it and drive in 2wd.
Anyone got a different opinion?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » March 22nd, 2010, 9:08 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:meeting is on thursday......

service manager from south gave me a call as well on friday with some long ass excuse and apology.....he was like he would like to make up these errors in my next couple of services etc...

ill update soon

Any updates and outcome of this meeting Aaron 2NR ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2010, 10:25 am

outcome is, next service free and all the issues are going to resolved......after that decision is going to be made about the fleet

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 22nd, 2010, 11:09 am

classic...anyway

for the guys that installed their aeroklas liner at massey, did u'll ever check to make sure that the rubber strips were placed on the boarder of the tray to prevent scrathing and the rubber matts on the bottom?

like this : http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... t=#3535899

i was informed that the inhouse installer did not to cut costs

also for those that have reverse sensors, i dont believe it is the proper sensor for rear bumpers as there is the sensor itself rests on cheap silicon to prevent short circuiting as opposed to rubber original ones..these installers cutting costs to max out their profit

ravist

Postby ravist » March 22nd, 2010, 11:37 am

fellas, how is the k&n air filter working? do you feel any defference in terms of power/mileage and where can i get one to buy?

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 22nd, 2010, 8:57 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:classic...anyway

for the guys that installed their aeroklas liner at massey, did u'll ever check to make sure that the rubber strips were placed on the boarder of the tray to prevent scrathing and the rubber matts on the bottom?

also for those that have reverse sensors, i dont believe it is the proper sensor for rear bumpers as there is the sensor itself rests on cheap silicon to prevent short circuiting as opposed to rubber original ones..these installers cutting costs to max out their profit

good question man but who relay going to check that lol ? relay i would love to find out , i shall ask a sales rep or the installer to find out

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 22nd, 2010, 8:57 pm

good question man but who relay going to check that lol ? relay i would love to find out , i shall ask a sales rep or the installer to find out

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 24th, 2010, 2:18 pm

place real quiet yes...guess everyone navar working good :roll:

Postby Greypatch » March 24th, 2010, 3:02 pm

all the time every time...

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 26th, 2010, 7:44 am

guys...for those from north, where is good place to fill, i said previously that i fill in the NP st augustine and unipet st augustine, but i,ve noticed at the NP station (which is newer) that there is a lot of water settling around the diseil pump station and the pumps themselves looking real greasy and old....dint get this at the unipet or peakes

any for sure safe stations?

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 26th, 2010, 6:51 pm

well i did some investigation today ULTRA COOL does the installation of the bed-liners for NM so i called them today the liner + instillation is 2800 but massy quoted me a lesser price ( they have their arrangement with NM) i asked about the kit it comes with all the rubber tapes and matts and they say they use them , well thats what they told me at least but u never know nah man but i dont see why they would keep it because u get it with each new liner .

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 26th, 2010, 10:18 pm

well from what i was informed , when they buy the liner they get it at a cheaper price excluded the rubber tapes and matts...i dint cehck mine as yet though

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 27th, 2010, 6:53 am

all NM maintained navaras what is the average cost of a 5000km service from massy and how long do they keep the vehicle ?

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 28th, 2010, 7:04 pm

any one can recommend a turbo timer and an installer for it , i have a friend that installed one but the alarm does on arm the van until the timer has run out

monk_t

Postby monk_t » March 28th, 2010, 11:58 pm

^^ would like to know this as well.

ravist

Postby ravist » March 29th, 2010, 7:59 am

biggy, thanks for the info pal..... i installed an algae-x over the weekend and honestly felt no increase in performance or mileage... what i did notice however, the black smoke eased up a lot....after doing 3000k on the nav, i am getting around 560-570kms per 95$, at least it is better than 500kms per $95 when i got the van...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 29th, 2010, 8:46 am

Cool scene....

For those who looking for a turbo timer, my oem kit that 4x4 trinidad has, works really well and works properly with alarms

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 29th, 2010, 10:16 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:Cool scene....

For those who looking for a turbo timer, my oem kit that 4x4 trinidad has, works really well and works properly with alarms

thanks man

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 4th, 2010, 12:19 am

So seems to hav developed a prob with my nav
washed her today, shes been sitting down for a day now...started the engine to move around the driveway when i noticed this coming out the muffler (yes...dripping from the muffler)...some kind of black oil.. now the van was stater from cold and when i rev more is coming out...first time im seeing this...no other leaks in the engine bay or anywhere else and no smoke from the muffler
note that on fri i put diesel in the van, full tank from 3/4...what could be causing this?

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 4th, 2010, 12:26 am

Damn i hope it not serious ,although u think its your engine oil just to be safe monitor your oil level to be safe , who knows this might be normal for diesel engine ,It could even just be water got into the tale pipe when u were washing her ??i am waiting to hear what the more experienced diesel engine vehicle owners have to say about thiis

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 4th, 2010, 12:38 am

well i plan on checking the level in the morning to see, it looking like engine oil though...planning on calling N&M first thing tues morning...dont understand why it would be engine oil though...shouldn't it be burning blue smoke then??
van only hav 2000km btw

no water up tail pipe...was using a bucket :(

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 4th, 2010, 12:52 am

a bucket humm

man i dont want to scare u nah i hope its nun , but that could be diesel and oil , cause
well a number of stuff but i dont think a new engine should have these problems man
if its diesel could be incomplete combustion hence the black color , cause any of or some of the following bad glow plugs , bad injectors , timing , if its oil then its blown head gasket or a crack in the block

man call NM let them sort your out man

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 4th, 2010, 1:09 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

oh crap....too late there...ah dun scared now

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 4th, 2010, 10:22 am

jhonnoeblue , take the van for a spin today get the van all warmed up and see what happens , when u reach home leave her idling and see if it spills , then cut her off let her cool down for a few hours and start her back again and see what happens i did some reading and In cooler weather the exhaust will normally have water (condensation) dripping from the tail pipe as the exhaust system warms up. and it is black because of the soot it mixes with jus warm her up and see what happens then cool her down and start her up again i am sure it nun to worry about bro

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 4th, 2010, 4:54 pm

gready123456, did as you advised...got no spills from the exhaust at all....and no smoke, blue or black...so im guessin maybe it was condensation..my only ques is that so much volume???

hav any of u'll ever noticed this before with your nav's or any other diesel vans?

maybe was due to the cold weather that the rain brought yesterday

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 4th, 2010, 5:25 pm

good to kno jonnieblue join these forums

http://www.navara.asia/forum.php
http://www.nissan-navara.net/

alot of good information on there man from solving problems to mods to audio u name it

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”