The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 11th, 2010, 11:14 am

Carrying a bunch of keys in your trouser pockets could soon be a thing of the past if a fresh patent filed by Apple is anything to go by.

In the patent application, Apple has described a technology that can replace conventional locks with electronic alternatives that can be opened via your iPhone.

Dubbed the iKey, the technology would let any of the portable electronic devices like the iPhone, iPod or possibly even the iPad to replace your key. The technology would require the user to pair up their iPhone with the electronic lock on their front door or car. To open the lock, the user has to enter a unique PIN code on the iPhone and wave the device across an electronic pad on the door. If the encrypted data from the iPhone matches with the stored password, the door shall open. Otherwise, the electronic system may send notifications to the owner alerting them of an attempt to open the door.

To be fair, an electronic lock based technology is not exactly new and is already available in the market. Apple's patent application merely describes a technology to use motion detection to generate an input. However, Apple's invention may pave the way for a future where people may no longer be constrained by the need to manage several physical keys and may replace them with just their handset.

Incidentally, the iKey technology also sheds light on an earlier Apple invention that pertained to the use of Near Field Communications technology like RFID on the iPhone. As the recently filed patent notes, the communication between the iPhone and the electronic pad lock happens via NFC technology.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » March 11th, 2010, 12:33 pm

they already have this for cars

qscpower

Postby qscpower » March 11th, 2010, 2:31 pm

Good afternoon guys my co-worker played fass and installed the new update on his 3G is there anything he can do to go back to his old firmware?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 11th, 2010, 4:45 pm

A new report from reputable sources says that Apple will finally deliver a multi-tasking manager for the iPhone in OS 4.0.

According to AppleInsider, "people with a proven track record in predicting Apple's technological advances" say that the company has developed a "full-on solution" to multitasking for the iPhone OS.

From a user-facing perspective, Apple plans to deliver a multi-tasking manager that leverages interface technology already bundled with its Mac OS X operating system, according to those same people. It was requested that specifics be withheld at this time, as the iPhone Software 4.0 remains under development and reportedly has a quite 'way to go' before it's ready for prime time.

Technically the iPhone OS already preforms multi-tasking; however, only official iPhone apps are allowed to run in the background. Enabling App Store applications to operate in the background would require a new graphical interface for switching and a way for apps to communicate with each other or prioritize resource allocation.

Installing numerous background apps will eat up battery life and degrade performance, tarnishing the overall iPhone experience. Of course additional system RAM and faster processors could help the situation.

Other solutions have been suggested such as saving the state of the foreground app before parking it, or scaling down the execution of a background app to reduce resource use.

*Update: a reference to a 'Multitasking Dialog Box' has been found in the latest iPhone SDK Beta.

qscpower wrote:Good afternoon guys my co-worker played fass and installed the new update on his 3G is there anything he can do to go back to his old firmware?

http://www.tuaw.com/2010/02/09/tuaw-how ... -to-3-1-2/

qscpower

Postby qscpower » March 11th, 2010, 9:08 pm

thx but that isnt workin

Postby M_2NR » March 11th, 2010, 9:55 pm

hopefully he has the older bootloader

http://www.ihackintosh.com/2010/02/down ... fuzzyband/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 11th, 2010, 11:43 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/RhCJq7EAJJA&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/51cWRrZdkwk&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby M_2NR » March 12th, 2010, 12:54 am

a little late Duane
Jeremy was using it in Bolivia for the Top Gear special.

FF to about 3mins
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_4V-vaKMC24&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

BTW, you ever tried to use iRev on your evo?

qscpower

Postby qscpower » March 12th, 2010, 5:54 am

we will try it today thx guys

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 12th, 2010, 12:34 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:a little late Duane
Jeremy was using it in Bolivia for the Top Gear special.

I know the app was out since 2008 and then launched in 2009 by Smule.
I posted it as there was an interview with the guy from Smule on CNN yesterday as they current release has much better interaction.

corolla_2nr wrote:FF to about 3mins

you can FF youtube vids you embed by adding "start=180" after the last & sign in the embed URL. 180 is the number of seconds to start from = 3mins :idea: 8)

corolla_2nr wrote:BTW, you ever tried to use iRev on your evo?

I have been using iRev, but I am yet to get the Wifi OBDII plug to really make use of the app - I think its made by PLX

Postby M_2NR » March 12th, 2010, 5:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I know the app was out since 2008 and then launched in 2009 by Smule.
I posted it as there was an interview with the guy from Smule on CNN yesterday as they current release has much better interaction.

PM for the ipa :P
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you can FF youtube vids you embed by adding "start=180" after the last & sign in the embed URL. 180 is the number of seconds to start from = 3mins :idea: 8)

ahh i was looking it up and it had #3m00s but it didnt work. Thanks for that :)
I think we should create a sticky with that info, how to embed youtube (for n00bs) and how to embed from facebook. I use firebug plugin to do it.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I have been using iRev, but I am yet to get the Wifi OBDII plug to really make use of the app - I think its made by PLX

Nice! Bez posted the link to it for purchase and its around 150usd. :(
Glad to know you do so when i decide to i'll bother yuh rass.

All those using tweetie 2. There was a recent update.... Did you notice it said 3.2 Compatibility :shock:

iPad Now Available for Pre-Order

http://www.redmondpie.com/pre-order-ipad-9140517/

iPad mute switch magicked into a 'screen rotation lock' overnight, a flurry of other tidbits emerge

http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/12/ipad ... -overnigh/
more features info
8)

But wait, there's more! Apple's also confirming a few more iPhone OS 3.2 features, like the addition of Google's "Terrain" view in maps and a slightly revamped iPod app UI. 3.2 also brings some nice video tweaks like support for additional formats (AVI and MJPEG) and native uploads to Facebook -- further boosting the iPad's external camera friendliness.
i wonder if we will get mkv as well :)

monkeypeaches

Postby monkeypeaches » March 13th, 2010, 7:57 pm

I recently bought an iphone and

everytime someone calls i see their number coming up rather than thier contact info...

what should i do ??

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » March 13th, 2010, 8:10 pm

anyone know of any stores that stock the 27" imac here?
tried
F1 Connect
illuminat
but they only take orders, none on the shelf

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 13th, 2010, 8:43 pm

monkeypeaches wrote:I recently bought an iphone and

everytime someone calls i see their number coming up rather than thier contact info...

what should i do ??

Go in cedia and there's a app named simfix or sum so.

Go back a few pages in this thread, you'll find a listing of need to get apps for daily functions.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » March 13th, 2010, 9:28 pm

^^ Actually its called CallerIDFix. Make sure to get the one matching the firmware you are running.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 15th, 2010, 6:25 pm

iLounge has released its ratings for some of the most popular iPhone 2G and 3G video recording applications. Currently only the iPhone 3GS supports video recording natively so 2G and 3G users must install one of these apps to record video.

Camcorder:
Price: $1
Rating: C-

iVidCam:
Rating: C+

iVideoCamera:
Rating: B

Qik Video Camera:
Price: $2
Rating: A-

ShowTime:
Rating: B

Video Camera iCamcorder
Price: $2
Rating: B+

VideoCam:
Rating: C-

Read More (My old article)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 16th, 2010, 8:56 pm

According to The Wall Street Journal, about 10% of Microsoft’s employees are avid users of the iPhone. While it’s not surprising that tech geeks like those who work for Microsoft would be interested in the iPhone, what is surprising is the lengths some Microsoft workers go to in order to hide their “forbidden loveâ€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 22nd, 2010, 3:32 pm

The BlackSn0w Unlock by Geohot has been updated by MSFTGuy and PushFix to work with the 3.1.3 firmware and 05.11.07 baseband combination.

This modified version of BlackSn0w only works for phones upgraded with PwnageTool or Sn0wbreeze. Those who have updated to OS 3.1.3 by any other method will have the 05.12.01 baseband.

According to iHackintosh, the updated unlock also fixes a small bug that appears to make WiFi much more stable.

Blacksn0w RC2 will be available on MMI repo soon; however, you can add the source http://cydia.pushfix.info/ to Cydia and install it now.

Warning : Blacksn0w for 3.1.3 is still in RC stage and there may be some issues or bugs, for example, if you are faking your OS version to be 3.1.3 and you install the 3.1.3 version of blacksn0w RC2 with 3.1.2 CommCenter, you will cause problems! Your cell and WiFi could be unresponsive until you either uninstalled the package again via Cydia or restored the phone.

*Please note: this is not an official update performed by Geohot. He has indicated he will not be updating any tools for the 3.1.3 firmware.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 22nd, 2010, 6:58 pm

Apple is now selling the iPhone without an AT&T contract or ID at any Apple Store in the United States.

Gizmodo received a copy of the internal documentation that reads, "Effective immediately, customers purchasing iPhone as device only at full price are no longer required to have an AT&T account or provide a form of ID. Device only full price iPhone slaes are limited to one per person per day."

The price is $499 for the iPhone 3G 8GB, $599 for the iPhone 3GS 16GB, and $699 for the 32GB model.

Of course, these devices will be sold with the latest baseband which is not yet unlockable; however, you can use RedSn0w to perform a tethered jailbreak.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 23rd, 2010, 8:47 am

Opera on Tuesday revealed it has submitted its mobile browser, which relies on server-side compression to offer faster mobile Web browsing, to the iPhone App Store, where it now awaits Apple's review.

"The Opera Mini for iPhone sneak peek during MWC told us that we have something special," Jon von Tetzchner, co-founder of Opera Software, said in a press release. "Opera has put every effort into creating a customized, stylized, feature-rich and highly responsive browser that masterfully combines iPhone capabilities with Opera’s renowned Web experience, and the result is a high performing browser for the iPhone."

The company has advertised that its server-side rendering allows compression of data by up to 90 percent.

Nick Bilton of The New York Times used the latest version of Opera Mini for iPhone, and reported Tuesday that the browser "loaded pages extremely quickly." He also said the browser offers features unavailable in Apple's own Mobile Safari, including the ability to search the content of a Web page.

But Opera Mobile also lacks one defining feature of the iPhone: pinch-to-zoom capabilities. The feature could reportedly be added in a future release of the software -- if Apple allows.

Last month, Opera began touting the speed of its mobile browser, which uses a special form of compression to render Web pages more quickly. Before its official unveiling, talk of Opera Mini for iPhone occurred soon after the App Store opened in 2008.

Until now, Apple has rejected any browsers that are not based on the WebKit engine built into the iPhone OS. The Cupertino, Calif., company has not indicated that it has changed its policies, suggesting that Apple could reject Opera's submission.

Officials with Opera have said they believe there is no reason for Apple to reject the Opera Mini browser from the App Store. Opera's mobile browser is not based on the WebKit open source project.

Opera's iPhone browser reportedly achieves speeds up to six times faster than Apple's Safari when running over 3G. The alleged superior speeds are achieved through compression technology used by the company that allows less data transfer by using the company's servers.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 23rd, 2010, 8:49 am

Has anyone with the iphone 3.1.3 Successfully Jailbreaked and Unlocked????

Postby M_2NR » March 23rd, 2010, 2:53 pm

evo-STI-k, read the pages before. If it comes with 3.1.3 OTB (out the box) you cant unlock it. Verify the Modem Firmware is 05.12. Once it is so, you wont be unlocked.

cant remember if this was posted yet:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/TwV4XJJAAas&hl=en_US&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="480" height="295" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed>

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » March 24th, 2010, 4:44 am

Ive done the 3.1.3 jailbreak successfully. However it is a factory unlocked model I purchased in Asia and came with 3.1.2.

Rgds

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 24th, 2010, 5:54 pm

There are close to 160,000 iPhone apps available on the App Store today. This is not including the several hundreds that are available on Cydia and Rock for jailbroken iPhone users. If this is not enough and you are looking for more, StyleTap is an app for you.

Recently released on the Cydia store, StyleTap is a Palm OS emulator that enables jailbroken iPhone users to access the over 30,000 apps built for Palm OS devices.

Palm OS, as you might already know, is the the company's operating system built for PDA devices. While this operating system does not include the sophistication that comes with WebOS, the emulator provides access to several applications that can be handy for businesses and users that traditionally use PDAs. The StyleTap Palm OS emulator for iPhone and iPod Touch supports the applications written for the Palm OS 5.2 platform and the earlier versions.

Considering that many of the original Palm OS devices came with physical keypads, the StyleTap emulator offers virtual buttons to replace these physical buttons. Also, since the iPhone does not have a provision to access external memory cards, the emulator application replaces the traditional use of external memory cards with a "virtual memory card" to store large databases thus enabling the apps to work with files stored in the iPhone's flash memory.

The StyleTap Palm OS emulator for iPhone and iPod Touch is available from the Cydia store at a pricey $49.95. Nevertheless, we believe that there is a niche group who should be interested in accessing the Palm OS apps for the iPhone.

------

ImageThe popular social news aggregator website, Digg.com is finally available as a native iPhone app on the App Store.

This comes five months after we first confirmed reports that the company was building an iPhone app for their popular service.

As it is on the Digg.com website, the iPhone app too aggregates and lists news articles under the 'Top', 'Recent' and 'Upcoming' sections. These news articles are assorted under their respective categories and users can vote these stories up or down and can also post comments. The iPhone app also provides an option to save particular stories for a later read - something that is pretty useful when you are on the move and would like to read the complete news article at leisure.

Digg's iPhone app does a pretty good job in condensing all the popular features of the site as an iPhone app. As anticipated, the application is available for free at the App Store.

But the app is yet to be available on the US App Store though Mashable reports that Digg's iPhone app is available in most of the European countries.

------

Nintendo has announced the Nintendo 3DS, a glasses-free 3D mobile gaming console, as the successor to the DS and DSi.

The full unveiling is set for E3 2010 this June; however, the company does say the device will offer backwards compatibility with current games and will launch "during the fiscal year ending March 2011."

Engadget has combed Japanese news sites to learn that the device achieves its glasses-free 3D by using a parallax barrier LCD from Sharp. The screen is said to be smaller than 4 inches diagonally.

Other features include a 3D control stick, improvements in WiFi transfers and battery life, as well as a new vibration function.

------

ImageThe official Discovery Channel MythBusters app for iPhone and iPod Touch is now available in the App Store.

You will find yourself spending hours playing and chatting in this brand new TV fan adventure -- all in the palm of your hand. Try to bust 3 myths that you've seen on TV through fun gameplay, submit scores and see yourself ranked on the national leader board.

The MythBusters app features:
•More than 300 minutes of video content, including Exclusive Sneak Peeks, Show Out-Takes, Show Selects, Cult Favorites, High-Speeds and Behind-the-Scenes.
•Keep up with all MythBusters news and announcements on Facebook.
•Track past episodes and current scheduling for this season.
•Find about more about the show and cast.
•Chat live with other MythBusters fans in real-time through Twitter.
•Follow MythBusters on Twitter, Re-Tweet through your personal account on Twitter, and become a fan and interact on Facebook.
•Play complete games based on three popular myths: Soda Bomb, Seesaw Saga and Matchstick Cannon...all included!
•Check out photos from some of your favorite MythBusters moments.
Find your favorite MythBusters merchandise and your favorite shows and seasons on iTunes.

------

A new test of touchscreen smartphones with a precise laboratory robot has confirmed what a human test already concluded: Apple's iPhone touchscreen is far and away the most accurate touch panel on the market.

The test, conducted by MOTO Labs, compared an iPhone using the SimpleDraw application with a number of other touchscreen smartphones: Google Nexus One, Motorola Droid, Palm Pre, HTC Droid Eris, and BlackBerry Storm 2. As the company, which has no relation to Motorola, discovered earlier this year, the iPhone is in first, followed by the Google Nexus One in a distant second place.

The test was done with both a 7mm robotic "finger," for a "medium touch," and a 4mm robotic finger to represent a "very light" touch. In both tests, the iPhone was found to have straight and accurate lines, with some weaknesses at the edge of the panel with the light touch.

In second was the Nexus One, which MOTO said had "solid performance" much like the Droid Eris, also manufactured by HTC. Both handsets were also specifically named in Apple's patent lawsuit against HTC filed early this month. Apple has accused HTC of "stealing" its patented iPhone technologies, which include touchscreen capabilities.

Both the Palm Pre and BlackBerry Storm 2 performed well in the medium test, but produced significant signal loss when the very light touch was employed.

The poorest performer of the bunch was the Motorola Droid, which featured "significant waviness and stair-stepping," even with the medium touch test. In the light touch, signal drops were extremely common.

MOTO noted that the touch panel alone does not make a good phone -- it must perform well in combination with the phone's operating system to ensure responsiveness for the user. With that, the labs said they do not expect such a high level of variation to exist in future smartphones.

"We know for a fact that the solutions in these phones (other than the iPhone) are all last-generation silicon and touch panel components -- the other touch screen makers are hard at work perfecting their new solutions, and they may just leapfrog Apple in some areas when they arrive on the market over the next year," the report said.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 24th, 2010, 9:44 pm

An iPhone got hacked in just 20 seconds at this week’s Pwn2Own hacking contest at CanSecWest 2010, reports Ryan Naraine for ZDnet. Hackers Vincenzo Iozzo and Ralf Philipp Weinmann demoed an exploit that allowed them to send a target iPhone to a web site that they’d set up online, and then copied off the entire SMS database on the iPhone (including deleted text messages) to their own server. The browser crashed during the hijack, but the hackers say that with a little tweaking, it would even be possible to nab the information without the user ever knowing that an attack had occurred. Halvar Flake also assisted with the hack, and he said that while Apple does have some protection in place for running malicious code on the iPhone, but it’s not enough: “The way they implement code-signing is too lenient.â€

Postby M_2NR » March 26th, 2010, 12:04 am

I'll just leave this here for you guys...
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/__TR86PLiHw&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed>

http://iphonejtag.blogspot.com/2010/03/ ... break.html
8)

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » March 26th, 2010, 8:21 am

dammit!!! my bro jus updated my 3g to 3.1.3

what to do??

Postby M_2NR » March 26th, 2010, 3:16 pm

streetlifestyle, dude, dig a 6 feet hole and bury him...

No im serious. :|

U can try this:
http://www.redmondpie.com/downgrade-iph ... fuzzyband/

but i doubt that would work.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » March 26th, 2010, 3:51 pm

will try that.... not too worried cuz he updated my test phone. NOT my personal one

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 29th, 2010, 7:19 pm

WSJ: Apple 'developing new iPhone,' plus another for Verizon (update: iPhone HD?)

You heard right, folks -- according to the Wall Street Journal, Apple is currently "developing a new iPhone to debut this summer," and as if that weren't enough, it's also "working on another model for US mobile phone operator Verizon Wireless." As of this moment, details about the break are nowhere to be found, but it's not like either tidbit is shocking. This summer will mark the one-year anniversary of the iPhone 3GS, and if the Cupertino-based company keeps with its historical refresh pattern, we're just a few months out from seeing the latest and greatest iPhone

Update 2: Soon after the news broke, we were informed that the next-generation iPhone would be announced on June 22nd (a Tuesday, naturally) and would be dubbed the iPhone HD (a name that has been tossed around before). That certainly makes sense given that Apple almost certainly has to up the pixel count in order to rival the EVO 4G, HD2 and all of those other high-res handsets, but we're still reserving judgment until we see that fateful media invite hit our inbox.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/29/wsj- ... r-verizon/