2010 IT Skills and Salary Report

Postby Monk BANzai » March 17th, 2010, 12:02 pm

click the link and weep....some interesting numbers coming out of the recession...

http://click.globalknowledgeenews.com/? ... 6b343f7d41

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » March 17th, 2010, 12:28 pm

*sigh*, gee, thanks BANzai Rastafarai, just depressed me more when i look at my payslip :|

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2010, 12:33 pm

spoil meh fackin week nah

thx :|

Postby noshownogo » March 17th, 2010, 12:38 pm

so wait nah, the majority of respondents make between $5000-$8500USD per month in IT :shock:

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2010, 12:41 pm

diaz why i washin car on broadway de

buh times hard de too right now

*mumbles* "WASA chargin me for sea water" *mumble*

Postby Monk BANzai » March 17th, 2010, 12:56 pm

i always read these reports and then hear big time IT guys saying "Oh we make XY and Z per month...PLUS we get a US salary blah blah"...hilarious at best....hahahhah

chump change for those who really making the pesh....

Postby AllTrac » March 17th, 2010, 1:12 pm

i wonder whats the monthly expenses (rent, utilities, food etc) to live in these big cities

Postby Monk BANzai » March 17th, 2010, 1:15 pm

AllTrac wrote:i wonder whats the monthly expenses (rent, utilities, food etc) to live in these big cities

if yu basing it on the UK model thn yunno its gonna be high....the US is different....from state to state....

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » March 17th, 2010, 1:32 pm

As if I didn't feel bad enough about my salary already :?

thanks eh.

Postby cinco » March 17th, 2010, 1:33 pm

lots of those salaries are taking a hit tho
wait until next years survey u will see the difference the bigger paying jobs are located in the states with the higher cost of living avg IT salary in GA is 55-60k a year

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 17th, 2010, 1:39 pm

Not sure what these figures have to do with the Caribbean market. It's rather skewed to apply those numbers to a market that was not considered in the stats.

That said, those numbers are before taxes. A considerable amount is eaten up after taxes.

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2010, 1:40 pm

^ even still

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » March 17th, 2010, 1:41 pm

wonders : how much are Vmware certified in trinidad??

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » March 17th, 2010, 1:49 pm

A lot of busineses and large economies are using the recession card to determine salaries.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 17th, 2010, 1:50 pm

AllTrac wrote:i wonder whats the monthly expenses (rent, utilities, food etc) to live in these big cities

Let's just say that even on a six-figure salary, cost of living is increasingly high especially in cities like London, NYC, D.C. and Atlanta. Also, lets not forget the concept of debt in this country. Six-figure salaries mean nothing if you have several thousands or hundreds of thousands in student debt, home loans car loans and credit cards.

Folks live off of debt in these countries. I won't be surprised if an IT Manager in the Caribbean is making considerably less but has more spending flexibility and collateral than an IT professional living in the US.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 17th, 2010, 1:57 pm

buzz wrote:^ even still

Be it IT professional, lawyer, doctor, engineer or teacher, folks that live overseas in the same profession are going to have a different, and in some cases higher price tag to their name/profession than a professional holding the same title/responsibility.

But does that necessarily mean they are making more or taking home more? Not necessarily. It's not always just about the figure.

Tetramiel

Postby Tetramiel » March 17th, 2010, 1:59 pm

for the amount of effort it takes to become a professional within the IT field, I think we are barely compensated for it.

Postby AllTrac » March 17th, 2010, 2:04 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Let's just say that even on a six-figure salary, cost of living is increasingly high especially in cities like London, NYC, D.C. and Atlanta. Also, lets not forget the concept of debt in this country. Six-figure salaries mean nothing if you have several thousands or hundreds of thousands in student debt, home loans car loans and credit cards.

Folks live off of debt in these countries. I won't be surprised if an IT Manager in the Caribbean is making considerably less but has more spending flexibility and collateral than an IT professional living in the US.

this is what i am trying to get at, my eyes was opened to this recently. while my salary might be considerably less, im in a stress free environment and I am some what comfortable, things could improve where I am but im happy thus far. Not everything is measured in monetary value. The IT environment in the those other countries is very stressful, extremely demanding and it takes up ALL your time. I can work here and run my business part time, still get drunk on weekends lol To each his own i guess

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 17th, 2010, 2:12 pm

Tetramiel wrote:for the amount of effort it takes to become a professional within the IT field, I think we are barely compensated for it.

Care to explain such an effort? What are the out-of-pocket costs associated with making such an effort in the context of the Caribbean? And how many of you have PMP, ITIL, Six Sigma, etc certifications? And if you and others feel dissatisfied with your salaries, why have you not considered relocating to countries where you will be fully compensated for making such efforts?

I would be most interested in hearing from the "barely compensated" that have more than the basic certifications/qualifications and work experience.

roctt

Postby roctt » March 17th, 2010, 2:13 pm

AllTrac wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

this is what i am trying to get at, my eyes was opened to this recently. while my salary might be considerably less, im in a stress free environment and I am some what comfortable, things could improve where I am but im happy thus far. Not everything is measured in monetary value. The IT environment in the those other countries is very stressful, extremely demanding and it takes up ALL your time. I can work here and run my business part time, still get drunk on weekends lol To each his own i guess

x2 :D

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 17th, 2010, 2:16 pm

AllTrac wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

AllTrac, count your blessings. The grass isn't always greener on this side. :wink:

Postby Monk BANzai » March 17th, 2010, 2:36 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Tetramiel wrote:for the amount of effort it takes to become a professional within the IT field, I think we are barely compensated for it.

Care to explain such an effort? What are the out-of-pocket costs associated with making such an effort in the context of the Caribbean? And how many of you have PMP, ITIL, Six Sigma, etc certifications? And if you and others feel dissatisfied with your salaries, why have you not considered relocating to countries where you will be fully compensated for making such efforts?

I would be most interested in hearing from the "barely compensated" that have more than the basic certifications/qualifications and work experience.

IT i s IT accross the board....someone with lets say MCSE qualifications may get a ceiling of say 20KTT before txes as opposed to other territories (like J'ca for example) where you can have the same qualifications and work for nearly double that.

In fact, like the Indian IT Superpowers, the Caribbean area hold alot of world respected IT professionals that cannot even dream to get paid their worth here.

IT professionals here hower ever dont know how to leverage what skills they possess for better pay rates IMHO.

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » March 17th, 2010, 2:58 pm

BANzai: thanks for the info eh...................I think :(

In fact, like the Indian IT Superpowers, the Caribbean area hold alot of world respected IT professionals that cannot even dream to get paid their worth here.

.........just ask W2J

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 17th, 2010, 2:59 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

IT i s IT accross the board....someone with lets say MCSE qualifications may get a ceiling of say 20KTT before txes as opposed to other territories (like J'ca for example) where you can have the same qualifications and work for nearly double that.

IT professionals here hower ever dont know how to leverage what skills they possess for better pay rates IMHO.

How is the IT sector any different to the finance, or legal or health sector where professionals of similar qualifications are known to make less in the Caribbean than overseas?

Moreover, is it not heavily about experience moreso than certifications as it applies to IT? Are employers in the region providing similar experience to suggest that the skills learned are as competitive and as demanding as those skills/experience obtained overseas?

More often than not you're dealing with a vastly different playing field.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 17th, 2010, 3:04 pm

2 d Max Auto wrote:BANzai: thanks for the info eh...................I think :(

.........just ask W2J

World respected IT professionals? Care to name a few? I haven't heard of any.

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » March 17th, 2010, 3:43 pm

Take a look at Jamaica Government Public Service IT Salaries. Trinidad has more competitive salaries.

http://www.mof.gov.jm/downloads/2008/cu ... Scales.pdf

1 TTD = 14 JMD

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:IT i s IT accross the board....someone with lets say MCSE qualifications may get a ceiling of say 20KTT before txes as opposed to other territories (like J'ca for example) where you can have the same qualifications and work for nearly double that.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 17th, 2010, 4:01 pm

If you're in I.T. for the money, then this field is not for you. Yes I.T. here might be dog pay, but as compared to certified book sensed techs, you're better off. I am sure 95% of people working in I.T. are actually based on work experience and not educational background and you'd also find that job satisfaction / appreciation to be at an all time high with the same said individuals (correct me if I'm wrong here)

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2010, 4:03 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
buzz wrote:^ even still

Be it IT professional, lawyer, doctor, engineer or teacher, folks that live overseas in the same profession are going to have a different, and in some cases higher price tag to their name/profession than a professional holding the same title/responsibility.

But does that necessarily mean they are making more or taking home more? Not necessarily. It's not always just about the figure.

i'm not saying that cost of living don't impact salaries (no matter profession) in different areas but i think the margin is still quite large

as you said alot of them are tied up in loans etc etc etc

BUT aren't these expenses a consequence of "lifestyle" spending so to speak ? (again less cost of living, amenities etc)

Postby teems1 » March 17th, 2010, 4:24 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:IT professionals here hower ever dont know how to leverage what skills they possess for better pay rates IMHO.

Have you taken a look at the average IT dept. Bunch of introverts who play too much online games and such!

Of course these guys will get pushed around by the management types...

Its a stereotype but alas its true... such is life...

They'll get stuff like flexible hours, dress down days and internet access but management knows they don't have to pay these kids what they're worth.

IT don't know the power they have in that they literally keep companies moving on from day to day. When something fails, without them production can come to a grinding halt.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 17th, 2010, 5:20 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:In fact, like the Indian IT Superpowers, the Caribbean area hold alot of world respected IT professionals that cannot even dream to get paid their worth here.

AbstractPoetic wrote:World respected IT professionals? Care to name a few? I haven't heard of any.

Don't knock the Caribbean: last I heard you weren't in IT. I can second Banzai's statement.