AC Vent - Outside Smells coming in

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

AC Vent - Outside Smells coming in

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 18th, 2010, 8:27 am

I have a BT50 and within recent times ive noticed that alot of outside smells/scents have been entering the van. Its ridiculous. If i pass near a drain, the drain scent comes in....if i pass over a dead dog, the scent comes in....

Im aware that you will get some level of scent coming in - but this is almost as though im driving with my window down.

Any suggestions or what i can do to prevent this ?

bt50

Postby bt50 » March 18th, 2010, 8:54 am

well as you said...you are aware that you would get some level of scent coming in...

check firewall and see if they left any thing out...probably when installing alarm...

Also with blower on move lever from recirc to fresh and see what is the change in air flow to know if you might have some leak

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 18th, 2010, 9:09 am

Tried those items Ravi and still....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 18th, 2010, 9:09 am

It's the way the "vent valve" for external/internal air is designed. It's like a trap door and does not seal in the manner you'd expect. The edges of the "trap door" is lined with sponge/foam. All A/C vent systems are generally like this, it has to let some air bypass to equalize the internal and external air pressure....I know it's not an aircraft but it helps out people with sensitive ears when going up and down hills.

The foam is there to filter out dust when the external valve is closed, but it is not a real filter. In fact, the system has NO FILTER. There are also other vents in the cabin that let air in or out, drop the back seat and look towards the corner on each side. But overall, the fact that the system has no filter can be the reason you get that aroma in your van when passing by stink stuff.

When I'm coming into POS early in the morning, if I see smoke, I would normally turn off the A/C on the Beetham.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 18th, 2010, 9:30 am

Cooper, cool but it is very prevalent

Phoenix4tt

Postby Phoenix4tt » March 18th, 2010, 11:01 am

Cooper, Agreed with swithcing off the ac and the sealing off the vent flaps. But this is a newer vehicle and shouldn't be affected it the manner described. I have had that problem in my car but my car is 11 years old. None theless I had to change the sponge between the blower and the firewall.

Yuh need to track back V2NR. When yuh feel it started happening and what work was done b4. Have you done any work on the ac that u had to take out or move around the blower and it wasn't set back properly.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 18th, 2010, 11:08 am

Breds...strictly serviced by the firm - no work never done around that area...

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 18th, 2010, 11:31 am

How old is the van???? The sponge that's used to 'seal' the fresh air intake off when using recirculating mode does break down over time....you may see pieces being blown into the cabin or caught in the vent grills.....same thing has happened to my vehicle but then my car's 10 years old :mrgreen:

Other than that something may be lodged in the fresh air intake section that's jamming the recirculating flap and preventing it from closing completely....have you taken the van to AC service specialist....not the jokers at the dealer?? Could help

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 18th, 2010, 12:18 pm

^^^ Actually the design is very similar (if not the SAME) to my ranger and I've already taken apart the system to clean out a small snake that got in all the way down to the blower and got chopped up.

You will know the vent isn't closing properly if the lever/switch in the dash is not moving all the way from the left to right. I have instructions in the Ford Ranger Tech thread on how to remove the blower. The vent valve is just above the blower so you can examine it yourself.

direct link to the page here: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &start=300

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 18th, 2010, 1:06 pm

thanks for the information

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”