tyres

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 23rd, 2010, 12:34 pm

i'd prefer performance, jus 4 d lil extra grippiness on d roads (not fast enuff 2 need UHP)

i hav DZ101's on now, but i want a decent 195/60/15 4 my nex change out later dis year, so i checkin dem out from now...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 1:01 pm

Well Eva Unit, you in the same boat as me cause OEM on the cd4accord is 195/60/15 but I been running 205/60/15 for years with no issues.. Can you upsize to the 205? If so we could shop around and help each other find some deals..

I made some calls today. Not really coming up with anything definite but so far I found Sumitomo HTR4 for $550, can probably get them to knock at least 25 off that price...

Laughlin waiting on the next shipment of Kumho to come in, so i'll wait and see

Whats your main complaint with the DZ101's (apart from the girl who works in Jack's tyre Chaguanas being dune and not knowing a thing)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 23rd, 2010, 1:26 pm

not fast enuff 2 need UHP

UHP's are normally a good starting point for someone who KNOWs about tyres to start with. The fact that you know what UHP is, IMHO....start with that.

Whats your main complaint with the DZ101's (apart from the girl who works in Jack's tyre Chaguanas being dune and not knowing a thing)

If I could interject, mine was noise, lack of grip, noise, and one tyre was defective (off centre rotation, found that out 500 km into ownership), and the noise.

And the lack lustre grip.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 1:38 pm

Well that rules them out for me.....
So right now its Kumho (waiting to see what they get in stock), Sumitomo Htr4 which I am still skeptical of, and Toyo but only if I can get them to kick down the price somewhat..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 23rd, 2010, 2:03 pm

^^HTR4's weren't bad.....not sure I mentioned them on the prev page, but I've used those also. Farily quiet, found they rode a bit harder for a given tyre pressure, than the S-03's I ran after. The ZII's ride the softest of all though, if that's any help 8)

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 2:18 pm

Well so far in calling around only seem to be finding the HTR4.. and of course the girl at jacks doesnt know what kinda sumitomo it is (but it does ride good she say).... wow..

This calling thing really not cutting it, you have to be there to see things yourself..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 23rd, 2010, 3:02 pm

^^Yep, most tyre shop folks only know brand and price....ask them a model or treadwear and then the phone gets noticeably silent.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 3:22 pm

Id say Mileage Mack knows their rubber relatively well, better than most.. But you pay a markup for that knowledge and cleanliness....

In terms of service, traditionally I go to Tyre Centre, Cross Crossing ,Sando.. even if we didnt buy hankook they would handle the cars for us.. Its nothing fancy but its the same fella you get every time (Bisnath) and he knows exactly what he is doing..

Its good when you have someone you been with for yrs so you can trust them..

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 23rd, 2010, 3:45 pm

well, i bought my DZ's from Tyre Clinic in Couva (the authorized dealer). their warranty kicks ass, tyres cost me $475 each for 205/55/15 (sorry, no 60's in d DZ's)

my only problem is some tramlining, which i read i caused by sidewall variations (either in height, thickness or softness).

a car's usually aligned for OEM tyres, which does not adjust d caster for the sidewall variations if u'r running different tyres...

been doin a lot of reading, but no one has any of d good stuff dong 'ere wen i called aroun in Dec

wud go wit a Bridgestone tho, if i cud get dem. d Turanza's d car came with kicked ass! ran dem for 1.5 years w/o touchin dem! literally, i never even rotated, & d 2 front tyres wore out so i changed d whole set 2 DZ's...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 7:44 pm

Well you can get Bridgestone Potenza GIII's from Ramrattan M for $750 a pop...
I just havent seen enough reviews of them to really recommend. Plus they out of production.....

I would love if they would just custom order for me.. but doubt I could coordinate that one over the phone and unlikely my father would approve of Bstone prices..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 23rd, 2010, 8:49 pm

^^Sooooo...have you considered the Sp SportMaxx? I still recommend them as a great overall tyre for the average ham-fisted driver (well.....at least I am anyway) :lol:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 9:20 pm

I would definitely consider it if I can find it in my size... 205/60/15
What kinda pricing would I be talking and from who would it be gotten? Tire Clinic?

Amit

Postby Amit » April 3rd, 2010, 11:45 pm

looking for 215 50 17
what tyre you think i should buy?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 4th, 2010, 1:22 am

Havent really priced out 17's in Trinidad,
but in the US the brands I normally go for you will have real trouble to find home at a reasonable price (Continental + Yokohama)...

Whats your pricerange?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 12th, 2010, 7:53 pm

tuners....don't forget when you change tyres change your valves same time...valves break down over time and in some cases can break leaving you with a flat

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 13th, 2010, 1:19 am

yea man, thas a standard.. any good tyre shop would recommend that when they changing yuh rubber...

Everything keep pushing me back toward the Toyo simply cause I know I can negotiate with MM and they will install for free with the purchase... I need to do some hard negotiating tho, get that price down..

Which Toyo yourl reccomend? I read good reviews of the Proxes T1R and the 4 but not too sure what available locally...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 13th, 2010, 5:57 am

Everything keep pushing me back toward the Toyo simply cause I know I can negotiate with MM and they will install for free with the purchase...

Wait wait.....you mean if you order in a specific model?

Cuz if you buy a tyre from any shop...I've never come across anyone charging for an install :shock: If you bring your own tyres though.....then!

As for the model, it depends on what driving you want to do. The Proxes 4 might strike a good balance. Even if you can't get the size you want, order in through M&M.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 13th, 2010, 11:13 am

cd4accord I'm currently running the T1-Rs....so far it's a great tyre have no complaints except they aren't as responsive as my previous Potenzas....however, the ride is much more comfortable.......highlt recommend them

slow323

bridgestone

Postby slow323 » April 13th, 2010, 1:25 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:well, i bought my DZ's from Tyre Clinic in Couva (the authorized dealer). their warranty kicks ass, tyres cost me $475 each for 205/55/15 (sorry, no 60's in d DZ's)

my only problem is some tramlining, which i read i caused by sidewall variations (either in height, thickness or softness).

a car's usually aligned for OEM tyres, which does not adjust d caster for the sidewall variations if u'r running different tyres...

been doin a lot of reading, but no one has any of d good stuff dong 'ere wen i called aroun in Dec

wud go wit a Bridgestone tho, if i cud get dem. d Turanza's d car came with kicked ass! ran dem for 1.5 years w/o touchin dem! literally, i never even rotated, & d 2 front tyres wore out so i changed d whole set 2 DZ's...

deans wheels deigo martin is a dealer for bridgestone look them up in the phone book they may have what you are looking for

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 13th, 2010, 1:39 pm

i had a friend that got a set that were new, worked fine up till a month, then they cut real bad and makig one setta noise.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 13th, 2010, 5:54 pm

NXTREME wrote:i had a friend that got a set that were new, worked fine up till a month, then they cut real bad and makig one setta noise.

Got a set of what exactly? We mentioned quite a few tyres in the last few posts....

- Concerning installation, i meant if I custom ordered some tyres they didnt have in stock, but they should hook me up regardless...

Anyone know the price differential between the different toyo proxes models?

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 13th, 2010, 10:45 pm

talking about the triangles, but honest i dont know what caused it cuz some people say it works well.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 14th, 2010, 3:53 am

NXTREME wrote:talking about the triangles, but honest i dont know what caused it cuz some people say it works well.

for their driving style, that is...

my co-worker has a March wit Triangle's on, she doesn't have any complaints about them. but she drives slow and doesn't know her foglights from her tail...

so always take people's opinions with a pinch of salt...

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 14th, 2010, 7:02 am

yup daz true^ im using nexen 5000 215/45/17 and over a year now no problems...heard their wall does crack...waiting to see it personally.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 14th, 2010, 7:57 am

NXTREME, i still wouldn't trust any brands with bad reports, tho...

no matter how good something works, it always seem to fack up at the wrongest times, and i try my best to avoid that!

not to say the bigger brands are always better (i personally had problems with the first set of DZ101's i put on, that even the dealer couldn't explain), but i personally prefer to trust them a little more...

i'm thinking about the Toyo Proxy's as well, heard some good things. but my next tyre change will be next year May or so...

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 14th, 2010, 8:06 am

true i heard the nexens arent all that, but at that time thats what i cudda afford.

looking to change out this month, going to go wit some direzzas, i have 2 SP Dunlops at the rear right now.

i think somewhere heading st. margrets sellin 215-45-17 dz101 for $625?

you know anywhere else?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 14th, 2010, 3:26 pm

NXTREME, check Tyre Clinic. no, i'm not paid 2 advertise 4 dem!

but dey r d dealers 4 Dunlop and Sumitomo locally = cheapest price (usually)

& dey warranty covers every possible ting except wear (free replacement once u can show dem d problem)

also, d branch in Couva was very helpful in sorting out my mysteriously softening DZ's. dey even changed all 5 out 2 a diff size 4 me, & jus charged me d diff! if u go, u can ask 4 Carol (the woman at the front desk, not the hot chick on the parts side) and tell her Aaron recommended dem.

i'd recommend dem above all else 4 d DZ's...

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 15th, 2010, 5:48 am

ok kool i will check them out...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 15th, 2010, 8:19 am

Dont play with tyres dude - its the only thing between you and the roadway.....Michelin or Dunlops all the time...spend the extra

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 15th, 2010, 2:06 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:NXTREME, i still wouldn't trust any brands with bad reports, tho...

no matter how good something works, it always seem to fack up at the wrongest times, and i try my best to avoid that!

not to say the bigger brands are always better (i personally had problems with the first set of DZ101's i put on, that even the dealer couldn't explain), but i personally prefer to trust them a little more...

i'm thinking about the Toyo Proxy's as well, heard some good things. but my next tyre change will be next year May or so...

So you did listen to me about the proxes?

And what is this about your problems with the DZ101's?

check here
http://www.1010tires.com
they have lots of user reviews