Dedicated Web Hosting

wevolutions

Dedicated Web Hosting

Postby wevolutions » March 30th, 2010, 12:56 pm

Can anyone recommend a good web host providing vps or dedicated servers at a reasonable cost?

I have a few companies in mind but I will appreciate any other reviews from persons directly using their services.

Thank you.

Postby redmanjp » March 30th, 2010, 1:28 pm

godaddy seems popular

http://www.godaddy.com/Hosting/Legacy.a ... td#details

also justhost

http://www.justhost.com/

no experience with them but the IT manager where I work was reviewing those

Postby r3iXmann » March 30th, 2010, 1:29 pm

hostmonster.com is good too

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » March 30th, 2010, 2:30 pm

Just Host and Hostmonster and most of the "unlimited" web hosts provide shared hosting. I was looking at dedicated hosting with a vps or dedicated server.

I see GoDaddy offers that service but i was wondering if anyone knew of any others.

Thank you.

LLW

Postby LLW » March 30th, 2010, 3:00 pm

http://www.serverbeach.com/

Did some work with them a while back. Uptime and connectivity was excellent. Technical support was...well..."techy" (hopefully that might be different now).

bladett

Postby bladett » March 30th, 2010, 4:16 pm

hostgator.com, I'm with them great service

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 30th, 2010, 4:36 pm

godaddy all the way!!

zitanos

Postby zitanos » March 30th, 2010, 8:38 pm

rackspace has always been good to me...and their support is truly fanatical... :D

http://www.rackspacecloud.com/cloud_hos ... rs/pricing

or you can try slicehost which is bought by rackspace last yr:
http://www.slicehost.com/

for most sites cloud hosting with RS is sufficient...and if you feel you need a bigger box...you can upgrade in seconds...

what you plan on doing on your dedicated box?...cause that will depend on if you should really get a VPS or a Dedicated Server.

for truly dedicated boxes....http://softlayer.com/ and rackspace are the best... thou i not sure if you can get an unmanaged Dedicated box with RS

zitanos

Postby zitanos » March 30th, 2010, 8:44 pm

if you don't mind google knowing everything about you and yuh big toe...

http://code.google.com/appengine/

first 5million page views per mth is free
http://code.google.com/appengine/docs/quotas.html

thou.. if you use GAE, you will need to configure your app to use BigTable as the DB. Its really best for Python/Java apps since there are alot of libraries out there to get you started...

again... i can't really advise you unless i know the context of what you trying to do...

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » March 30th, 2010, 9:08 pm

Bandwidth is my main concern. I have shared hosting but my web host says that my website is getting too much traffic and using up too much resources, so I need to move to a vps or dedicated server. I do not want to go back to another web host offering shared hosting because I will end up in the same situation.

So far, hostgator recommended by bladett looks like an option I might consider. Thanks for the suggestion.

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » March 30th, 2010, 9:53 pm

What is bandwidth/data transfer you are using in a month?

wevolutions wrote:Bandwidth is my main concern. I have shared hosting but my web host says that my website is getting too much traffic and using up too much resources, so I need to move to a vps or dedicated server. I do not want to go back to another web host offering shared hosting because I will end up in the same situation..

Postby M_2NR » March 30th, 2010, 10:09 pm

godaddy

Snags approved

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » March 30th, 2010, 10:38 pm

mazdatt wrote:What is bandwidth/data transfer you are using in a month?

Right now, close to 1000GB per month.

GoDaddy has some good options also.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 31st, 2010, 9:00 am

ZORT

Re: Dedicated Web Hosting

Postby ZORT » September 24th, 2010, 3:29 pm

You can also check out www.claritywebhosing.com. I would not recommend a traditional VPS since you are sharing the hardware and the kernal with other users. With the general move to dedicated virtual servers market prices are dropping and customers can have more control of their environments.

ZORT

Postby Bizzare » February 12th, 2011, 2:19 pm

"wevolutions"..... shouldn't you know that?? lol..... Y'all are the webmasters of http://www.trinicarsforsale.com and others right? :lol:

Anyway Justhost is the best shared hosting I've come across thus far, with much better rates than Godaddy. Plus Godaddy facks up when your payments slip. My cc expired two months and justhost kept on giving me warnings and even called my local phone to ask me whats up....

Thats why I chose and will recommend http://www.singlehop.com for dedicated hosting, cuz they're affiliated with and recommended by justhost.

wevolutions

Postby wevolutions » February 13th, 2011, 11:45 pm

Bizzare, i know about the different types of hosting, i was just looking for recommendations from people who use different hosting companies and their feedback from them. maybe you can refer back to my first post...

Postby Bizzare » February 14th, 2011, 6:58 am

K..... well singlehop is who I'm with as stated above.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 14th, 2011, 3:36 pm

Bizzare wrote:"wevolutions"..... shouldn't you know that?? lol..... Y'all are the webmasters of http://www.trinicarsforsale.com and others right? :lol:

Anyway Justhost is the best shared hosting I've come across thus far, with much better rates than Godaddy. Plus Godaddy facks up when your payments slip. My cc expired two months and justhost kept on giving me warnings and even called my local phone to ask me whats up....

Thats why I chose and will recommend http://www.singlehop.com for dedicated hosting, cuz they're affiliated with and recommended by justhost.

i aint know about that - i have dozens of sites with go daddy and get notifications months before a credit card expires or a domain or hosting account is cancelled

and when a card is expired and payments are overdue, they still keep the site active for one month after.. and even if the site is taken down allot of the time, if you make a payment asap they will reactivate the site without you loosing any data.. i have never had any issues with godaddy. ever

Postby Bizzare » February 14th, 2011, 3:44 pm

Hmm.... I had LOTS of issues with godaddy. And that "month" in which you're talking about, where its like a grace period, your website will not show your content but their ads. Don't know about you though. Probably only me suffered this fate.
Anything for a clients, I use justhost.com. How do you go about setting up your own server in terms of bandwidth providers locally. Is there a plan for that?? Flow, TSTT?