New US Visa application form

spanish

New US Visa application form

Postby spanish » April 18th, 2010, 9:26 pm

Anybody check it out yet? Everything going digital now ... including yuh signature and photo. No more printed form to submit as of May 1, 2010 (non immigrant applications).

Is a real pain in the a** to full out, and once yuh submit it ... no more changes. Now they have yuh information long before yuh reach by de window.

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2010, 9:31 pm

Filled out a form for a relative last week, using the old forms, her appointment is in the morning @ 8:30 lol. Wanted to do it before the new form was mandatory.

*crosses fingers*

spanish

Postby spanish » April 18th, 2010, 9:38 pm

Good idea to do dat. Too bad I already put my appointment for May 9 ..... long in advance. Dat chupid form get spring on meh out of nowhere, by accident. I had to do the whole procedure over again. :x

Was highway robbery in the photo studio to get meh photo on meh flash drive ... a whole $30 extra! On top of dat, it didn't want to load. I had to google to find out how to reduce de size in photoshop. steups!

Then ah had to cancel meh appointment and rebook it, to get de new barcode to match meh confirmation barcode. I better get through after all dis hassle.

Postby Stephon. » April 18th, 2010, 9:42 pm

My friend got denied, his parents owns business that he is going to take over in the future, and his bank accounts show in the 200k range. Good luck everybody looks like they gettin on real bad down there.

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2010, 9:43 pm

friend is between the ages of 19 to 28?

I gonna be in that boat in 2 years when im up for renewal :(

Postby Stephon. » April 18th, 2010, 9:45 pm

He's 21. they said that he didn't have enough ties to the country.

spanish

Postby spanish » April 18th, 2010, 9:47 pm

They probably give him de classic excuse ..... no ties. :? Just as I thought. Had meh share of dat excuse too.

Sorry he didn't get through. De most he could do is keep trying.

Postby Stephon. » April 18th, 2010, 10:00 pm

From the stories I've heard and read in the papers, it seems like they want you to try 5 or more times, untill you spend enough money, then they say "OK cool you're accepted" :?

nigel20b

Postby nigel20b » April 18th, 2010, 10:30 pm

thank God I doh have to see that office till the next 9yrs.

Postby equipped2ripp » April 18th, 2010, 11:34 pm

anybody knows how soon you can renew your Visa before it expires?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 18th, 2010, 11:46 pm

pioneer wrote:go somewhere else...it have other places to visit other than the US.

sooooo, what if you have friends, family and/or business in the us?? :roll:

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » April 19th, 2010, 10:15 am

equipped2ripp wrote:anybody knows how soon you can renew your Visa before it expires?
renewals are treated in the same manner as a first application(same BS).your past travel history to the us,even if you have never violated any immigration laws,has little impact on the new application/renewal. you still have to prove/convince the immigration robots,you have strong ties to your native country.

roctt

Postby roctt » April 19th, 2010, 10:46 am

nigel20b wrote:thank God I doh have to see that office till the next 9yrs.

me too... 8-)

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 19th, 2010, 11:06 am

ahh the benefits of working for an American company......

Postby crazybalhead » April 19th, 2010, 11:09 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:ahh the benefits of working for an American company......

Not necessarily. One of my coworkers was denied a Visa, despite confirmation that he was an employee of an American company. The usual "No ties" BS.

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » April 19th, 2010, 11:45 am

They know how they want to have in their country.

I was invited to the a Photoshop Conference in La Vegas in 2005 by the NAPP. Applied for my VISA and got 10 years.

I now live in Jamaica working for a US based Company, I trained in Boston for three months in 2008 and have been through Miami numerous time on the way home.

I applied for my family here in Jamaica so we can all pass through MIA to go home. I got everything, letter from company, letters from my kids schools, Skills Certificate to work in Jamaica, agreement of assistance the company is giving me in Jamaica and so on.

For the interview, they just asked my wife for my passport and that was it. No explanation, no asking for the numerous documents we had, nothing and they all got ten years.

I know us being Trinidadians in Jamaica had alot to do with it but I did not expect it to be that easy.

Postby crazybalhead » April 19th, 2010, 11:46 am

The US Embassy in Jamaica is much better than in Trinidad.

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » April 19th, 2010, 11:53 am

The building definably is, they have a much larger almost massive compound in Kingston. I was not allowed in because it was my wife and kids applying, but my wife told me the inside is very nice and the officer was actually very friendly.

But they do refuse alot of Jamaicans, I have friends here that are constantly reapplying.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 19th, 2010, 11:54 am

i think the US embassy prob. has more info on citizens living in trinidad than our own government..lol

sometimes you may be denied, not because of your negligence but because a cousin or uncle who is illegal or overstayed their welcome in the country......

Postby crazybalhead » April 19th, 2010, 11:58 am

LOL, Aaron, when I asked the guy, "You have any family over there?", "Yeah, meh fadda in New York."

All I could do was.. :|

Postby equipped2ripp » April 19th, 2010, 12:45 pm

Hirotoshi wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:anybody knows how soon you can renew your Visa before it expires?
renewals are treated in the same manner as a first application(same BS).your past travel history to the us,even if you have never violated any immigration laws,has little impact on the new application/renewal. you still have to prove/convince the immigration robots,you have strong ties to your native country.

I know that, but I was asking the time-frame.

Postby Chimera » April 19th, 2010, 1:36 pm

visa granted :D

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 19th, 2010, 1:57 pm

so just as some people can buy their license, u can't buy your visa to? just asking :?

spanish

Postby spanish » April 19th, 2010, 2:08 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:visa granted :D

Daiz excellent news man! Ah hope I could say de same on May 9th.

Ah have to submit de new forms for 2 relatives who also want May appointments. Is a good ting ah practise plenty wit mine .... lawd! What a headache!

Postby Chimera » April 19th, 2010, 2:31 pm

A elderly women who goes with her husband to NY for 3-4 months at a time, for the last several years, were blanked today.

They have 2 sons living in NY, and they always go so they were pretty shocked when they get blank.

The embassy official told them something along the lines of the economy hard and they don't want people going there to stay too long etc.

(the woman also have a daughter leaving illegal in NY with her husband so I feel that had some 2 do wid it...dunno)

Postby ronsin1 » April 19th, 2010, 3:12 pm

My Appointment when like this,

Officer: yuh married
Me: Yea
Officer: Bank Statements please
Me sure here
Officer: You don't have any savings
Me: Blank Stare
Officer: How long you working with the company
Me: a couple of months
Officer: Give me your passport you will get it via TT post is a couple of days
Me: :mrgreen:

spanish

Postby spanish » April 19th, 2010, 6:00 pm

Steups! I feel it all depend on who you meet on de day .... and what side of de bed dey wake up on. But they really clamping down on de people who does go for months at a time. Is hell for them when they going to renew ... they does have to prove they wasn't working.

I know somebody who went with a bank statement wit a $350 balance ..... and get through for he whole family (he, the wife and baby).

Ronsin, lucky you. :mrgreen: I could do with meeting somebody so.

Postby equipped2ripp » April 19th, 2010, 6:14 pm

$350? are you serious?

spanish

Postby spanish » April 19th, 2010, 6:17 pm

Yes, I serious about the $350. I know them personally.

Postby Chimera » April 19th, 2010, 6:22 pm

They didnt ask my relative for any kind of bank information or statements.

But her reason for going to the USA was just to meet a cruise ship in florida, so I don't know if that had any bearing on it also.