Pickup power...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Pickup power...

Postby lighthammer » April 17th, 2010, 6:10 am

While sitting at a traffic light, at a certain dealership located somewhere in barataria, I found myself wondering, "Exactly how powerful are the latest-gen pickup trucks sold in T&T?"

So after some digging in wikipedia and other sites, I came up with the following information (and systematically put it into a neat excel sheet for your convenience):

Horsepower ranking top three:
1st - Navara 4x4 2.5L TD - 187 HP
2nd - Hilux Doublecab 3.0 TD - 173 HP
3rd - Triton 3.2L - 162 HP. (*edited)

Next, the REAL power - *torque* - top three rankings:
1st - Navara 4x4 2.5 TD - 331lb/ft
2nd - Ranger 3.0 TD - 280lb/ft
3rd - Triton 3.2L TD - 275lb/ft
(the Ranger ties with the Mazda Bt-50 3.0L engine since they're the same, I'm not sure if SS T'dad sells the 3.0L powerplant for the BT-50)

So, it looks like the Navara comes out on top in terms of both horsepower and torque. I was surprised at a couple things:

*EDIT - Previous conclusion removed - incorrect conclusion

- The 3.0L ranger puts out a higher torque than the 3.0L Hilux. Seems that Ford is fast overtaking it's rival in power and perhaps features too? Just the interior cabin styling alone is a lot more industrial and perhaps more aggressive in the '09 ranger than the overly stylized lines of the '09 Hilux dash & cabin. But I can't deny the Hilux's cabin materials are high-calibre though.
- How the heck did Nissan get all that freakin' horsepower and torque out of the 4x4 2.5L engine? Here's the wikipedia link - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_YD_engine#YD25DDTi
It's amazing how Nissan was able to massage such a high torque number from the same displacement engine.

Overall, these are some pretty impressive stats. As for my own personal taste, I'd probably go with the Ranger. Sure the Navara has a much higher power output with a smaller engine, but I wonder if the weight of the larger Navara would negatively affect its power:weight ratio as compared to the lighter Ranger (and by default, Mazda BT-50). I've seen some Navara's speeding along at >160Kmh on the highways late at night (that run from Piarco - Maloney is a hot track for speedsters) and overtaking my ol' D22 2002 frontier easily.

According to http://www.4wdaction.com.au in their 2007 roundup of one-tonne trucks (Australia's pickup-truck market is VERY similar to Trinidad's so they have the same range of trucks as we do, at the same spec-levels and trim) - the Ranger tends to have more low-end torque (@ <4000rpm) available than the Navara. The powerband in the Navara sits more at the higher end. I suppose this means the Ranger has more "oomph" available when in lower gears and slower speeds/heavier loads while the Navara can stretch it legs better when revving higher (i.e. at higher highway speeds and rpm's).

What do my learned, esteemed colleagues of the Trini Tuner Diesel Boyz and associates have to say about these stats? I'm most interested in the opinions of the Ranger and Isuzu owners (I'm leaning more to the new Ranger as my next purchase).

Holla!

My Sources:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_YD_engine#YD25DDTi
http://www.carshowroom.com.au/newcars/2 ... on/reviews
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda_BT-50
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isuzu_D-Max
http://www.carshowroom.com.au/newcars/2 ... er/reviews
http://www.carshowroom.com.au/newcars/2 ... ux/reviews
http://www.4wdaction.com.au/ute2007_p1.php

And a converter to convert Kw - HP, Nm - lbs/Ft, etc.
http://www.mr2ownersclub.com/converter.htm :D :P :D
Last edited by lighthammer on April 26th, 2010, 2:17 am, edited 4 times in total.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » April 17th, 2010, 7:00 am

props to you for the analysis........

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2010, 7:22 am

its simple really - you want to do highway driving - take the Nav
you want to do offroadin - take the ranger
you want to do work? - take the hilux
you want to play de arse - take the wingle

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 17th, 2010, 12:23 pm

civic minded wrote:its simple really - you want to do highway driving - take the Nav

I could not have said it better myself.
8-)

Though I was under the impression from all the reviews that the Ranger & BT-50 were the best choices as workhorses & comfortable rides.... where did the Hilux go?

[/end devil's advocate]
Last edited by lighthammer on April 17th, 2010, 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 17th, 2010, 12:28 pm

bigchief3679 wrote:props to you for the analysis........

Boy, when yuh bored and curious eh....

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 17th, 2010, 2:12 pm

civic minded wrote:its simple really - you want to do highway driving - take the Nav
you want to end your life - take the triton

fixed 8-)

**runs**

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 17th, 2010, 2:42 pm

"you want to end your life - take the triton"

Baroo? Explain...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 17th, 2010, 4:10 pm

:twisted: :lol: :twisted:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 17th, 2010, 7:13 pm

lol biggy...wait till venum read this lol

nice analysis lighthammer, u brining some good info to the table....if u eva selling ure d33 let me know...might be in the market for an offroad van soon :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 17th, 2010, 7:30 pm

See what insomnia and some boredom can create? I fed up hearing about all these car reviews done by the big magazines in the US, but no one besides the Aussies do anything for light utility trucks.

jhonnieblue, I dunno about selling the ol' D22, love that frontier to death but the Ranger seems to be looming over my head. Saw a white 2010 Ranger XLT Thunder 5-speed Auto today by Macoya lights that seemed to be calling out to me... the missus loves the Ranger too and she def. wants an automatic, cuz a manual in POS traffic would be torture for her.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 17th, 2010, 7:51 pm

well everyone missus likes a auto lol
looks out at mine :mrgreen: ...hmmm..now thinking about a manual though :twisted:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2010, 11:29 am

Ent? Cyah beat a manual, but then again yuh cyah win an argument/debate with a woman.
(they does use their own logic, hence it's an unwinnable argument :? )

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 19th, 2010, 9:50 am

you did all that by a traffic light?

which one? let us know so we could avoid it next time!

Postby wagon r » April 19th, 2010, 10:00 am

thanks for the stats ....and i was explaining this to a friend just sat. night.

off the line too (dependin on driver)....yuh cyar ketch a ranger but after 130kph....a nav will open up....and it isn't only with the hp but the gearing as well...

...i tired look for a 6th gear in my van...because the 5th feels like 4th esp. when lookin at the tach....but the nav has that 6th which helps with top end.

...another thing....given the TARE wght. signs on the back of trucks.....guess which could haul the heaviest load.... :mrgreen:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 19th, 2010, 11:43 am

wagon r wrote:
...i tired look for a 6th gear in my van...because the 5th feels like 4th esp. when lookin at the tach....but the nav has that 6th which helps with top end.

I can't tell you how many time this has happened to me, on the rare occasion I find an open road with no traffic in sight for miles. Good thing the tranny keeps you from going into reverse from 5th :lol:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 19th, 2010, 12:19 pm

Yeah that Nav really have some speed....this morning on way to work Ranger bawling going up the highway with a Nav right on his ass...Nav man like he get fedup and just gone around the Ranger like nothing and just continue to pull .... Ranger man was probably like WTF???

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 19th, 2010, 1:04 pm

Aye, speed kills eh, keep it safe brothers. 120km/h will kill you a LOT faster than 80km/h or even 100km/h.

Not to say that i'm not guilty of that myself. Heading up east side at 1:00am on a morning, the D22 3.0 Frontier will cruise at 140km/h, and when the almera with their puny 1.5 want to challenge you, floor the gas and the frontier will still continue to pull up to 150km/h into 160, 170 (and you get the sensation that the engine still has a LOT of torque to spare, and it wants to keep going).

But at these speeds boy, the soft suspensions of these truck scare me and all that bounciness makes me want to slow back down to 120km/h.

Remember brothers, there are ppl at home who are waiting for you to come home, not end up in human scrap parts all over the highway. Remember your loved ones, even if the need for speed is strong.

Drive safe and drive smart.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 19th, 2010, 1:18 pm

These days I generally drive between 70-90km/h (crappy tires being one of the reasons.) I hardly ever get the opportunity to floor it and it is actually scary at high speeds. Have the van for over 9 months and it only has gone past 110km/h four times :mrgreen:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 19th, 2010, 2:04 pm

Mods - Sticky - Excellent info

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 19th, 2010, 2:05 pm

Cooper, me too....nav only see > 120 about 4 times lol

generally 80-100km/hr.//saves on diesel too :)

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 19th, 2010, 2:40 pm

^^^ Exactly, the main reason I bought a diesel is for fuel economy. When I put my foot down for too long, in the back of my head I'm thinking "I'm not gonna get my usual 575-600km out of this tank if I keep this up." Then i back off and return to cruising speed :lol:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 19th, 2010, 2:43 pm

wagon r wrote:thanks for the stats ....and i was explaining this to a friend just sat. night.

off the line too (dependin on driver)....yuh cyar ketch a ranger but after 130kph....a nav will open up....and it isn't only with the hp but the gearing as well...

...another thing....given the TARE wght. signs on the back of trucks.....guess which could haul the heaviest load.... :mrgreen:

Lol, I keep wishing for a 6th gear in the D22 as well! But then again, that might lead to more overspeeding and possible loss of life - too much of that on trindad's roads man.

Remember folks, these vans are meant for work and play, not speed. You want speed in a van, then drop it low to the ground, install some wide tires and upgrade your brakes, perhaps upgrade your safety features too (5-point harnesses, rollcage)...

..something like this: Image

.. or maybe something like this: Image

High center of gravity + soft suspension + overzealous & uneducated driver = ANOTHER NEWSPAPER STATISTIC (and another family torn apart - think of your children/spouse/siblings). Operate within the limits of the vehicle and you'll live to cruise another day.

On a lighter note - from that Australian magazine review, it does seem that the Ranger and BT-50's gear ratios were tuned more for pullling power at the low-end of the RPM range, to maximize the lower power-band of their engines. The navara has a higher rpm powerband than the ranger/bt-50, hence Nissan tuned the transmission & gear ratios to provide more power with higher revs.

Real-world translation: exactly what ek4ever saw- the Rangers will pull off the line with plenty tire squeal or tow anything, but once the navara can stretch its legs, you can't catch it (unless you have a next navara :lol:). This also means that the light-footed, powerful rangers will be able to overtake them puny almeras (sorry if i'm picking on the almera) going up lady young road S-turn after hilton with ease. But once you reach back on Churchill Roosevelt and head south, it's bye-bye navara.

I wonder if this is was done to play to the respective trucks' strengths, i.e. the Ranger/Bt-50 being workhorses, while the Navara/Hilux being comfortable family-vans and touring vans.

What allyuh tink?[/b]
Last edited by lighthammer on April 19th, 2010, 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagon r » April 19th, 2010, 2:52 pm

wagon r wrote:....and it isn't only with the hp but the gearing as well...

.....guess which could haul the heaviest load.... :mrgreen:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 19th, 2010, 3:13 pm

The man make a excel sheet and thing... THAT is what they call idle... hahah

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 19th, 2010, 3:57 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:The man make a excel sheet and thing... THAT is what they call idle... hahah

For your viewing/reading pleasure :lol:

I got tired of all the big magazines in the US and UK doing reviews of their own pickups, yet there was no info available in an easy format for our trucks here. Australia has virtually the same trucks, so the magazine www.4wdaction.com.au is a good place to look when you feel like bringing out the inner nerd.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 19th, 2010, 8:21 pm

^^ gud stuff man... and yea i have also tried looking for a 6th gear in my van to... i ussually drive at 100... 120-130 if i feeling a lil wild... but yea.. diesel does burn fast when yuh floorin it dred... oh welll i love my van.... so i doh care what nobody say nah. :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 19th, 2010, 9:42 pm

Nah boy,
Pickups & 4x4's weren't built for speed and racing, they were built to do things like this:

and this....

and this too...

Pickup POWAH!!
Mwa-ha-ha-ha!

Puny humans in their cars...

I CRUSH you!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 19th, 2010, 9:44 pm

^^^ ZOMGGG!! frontier gettin on soo! eh hehhh! doh make jokee!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 25th, 2010, 5:27 pm

you didnt facto in weight , hp:weight and torque:weight ratios is the real analyzing...check that and then u orn...

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » April 25th, 2010, 7:11 pm

lighthammer,

Won't the Triton come in third place in the HP rankings?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”