The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 17th, 2010, 11:51 pm

kurpal_v2, i thought u was sellin d fone?

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 18th, 2010, 7:49 am

I was^^ then I got a call and got to think if I should really sell it. Then I came home and saw this.

Dion76 wrote:before u sell the phone try these steps

-leave it to charge over night (although u not seeing anything on the screen)
-hold the "home" button for about 10 seconds and while holding it down plug in the phone to ur pc a message should come on statign u need to restore
-if that doesnt work
-hold the home and power button together for about 20 seconds, then the apple logo suppose to come up
-the mute button on the side of ur phone push it upwards and downwards 4 times and then try pressing the power button

what i think happened tp ur phone is probably the battery ran down before u knew it and the disk in the hard drive when to sleep after it didnt have any more change to run on so now u need to try n get it waked up, lemme kno if anything works

let's just say I'm eternally inclined that if Dion needs a witness in court, urine sample, blood test, I'm down fir the cause :mrgreen:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 18th, 2010, 1:53 pm

SRASC wrote:Images have just leaked of what might be an iPhone 4G prototype found on the floor of a San Jose bar inside an iPhone 3G case.

Engadget received the photos from the new owner who is looking to sell the device.

Right now we don't have a ton of info on the device in question, but we can tell you that it apparently has a front facing camera (!), 80GB of storage (weird, right?), and isn't booting at this point (though it was previously, and running an OS that was decidedly new). It's not clear if this is definitely a production model, or just a prototype that found its way into the world, but it's certainly a compelling design, no matter how you look at it.

[supplement to corolla_2nr's post]

Fake

Images posted yesterday of a possible iPhone 4G prototype may turn out to be a Japanese counterfeit, according to Applesfera.

Our reader Ivan Meneses has contacted us to tell us that this supposed new iPhone could actually be a Japanese clone, which he is due to a relative who brought it from Japan. I leave the photo you sent us (thanks Ivan!), While we are waiting for more pictures to confirm.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 18th, 2010, 3:07 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:I was^^ then I got a call and got to think if I should really sell it. Then I came home and saw this.

-hold the "home" button for about 10 seconds and while holding it down plug in the phone to ur pc a message should come on statign u need to restore
-if that doesnt work
-hold the home and power button together for about 20 seconds, then the apple logo suppose to come up
-the mute button on the side of ur phone push it upwards and downwards 4 times and then try pressing the power button

what i think happened tp ur phone is probably the battery ran down before u knew it and the disk in the hard drive when to sleep after it didnt have any more change to run on so now u need to try n get it waked up, lemme kno if anything works

let's just say I'm eternally inclined that if Dion needs a witness in court, urine sample, blood test, I'm down fir the cause :mrgreen:

a medal for that man! happy it worked out for you in the end kurpal. if dat happened to me ah woula surely ded

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 18th, 2010, 6:40 pm

SRASC wrote:
SRASC wrote:Images have just leaked of what might be an iPhone 4G prototype found on the floor of a San Jose bar inside an iPhone 3G case.

Engadget received the photos from the new owner who is looking to sell the device.

Right now we don't have a ton of info on the device in question, but we can tell you that it apparently has a front facing camera (!), 80GB of storage (weird, right?), and isn't booting at this point (though it was previously, and running an OS that was decidedly new). It's not clear if this is definitely a production model, or just a prototype that found its way into the world, but it's certainly a compelling design, no matter how you look at it.

[supplement to corolla_2nr's post]

Fake

Images posted yesterday of a possible iPhone 4G prototype may turn out to be a Japanese counterfeit, according to Applesfera.

Our reader Ivan Meneses has contacted us to tell us that this supposed new iPhone could actually be a Japanese clone, which he is due to a relative who brought it from Japan. I leave the photo you sent us (thanks Ivan!), While we are waiting for more pictures to confirm.

May not be Fake

It seems the leaked iPhone 4G photos from yesterday may in fact be authentic, according to Engadget.

If you'll recall, the night before the iPad was revealed, we had leaked shots of the device from what appeared to be an Apple test lab. Upon further inspection of these pictures today, the aforementioned editor discovered that the new iPhone 4G we've just gotten photos of is actually sitting on the table beside the iPad prototype! Imagine how blown our minds were when we realized we have had a photo of the next iPhone for months!

The site has also confirmed the images with another source who says they are real and the new device does have a higher resolution screen, a front facing camera, a higher resolution camera with flash, and uses MicroSIM cards.

WeiPhone has now posted internal photos of the device which can be seen below...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 18th, 2010, 6:48 pm

kurpal_v2, so u sell it or u got it to work?

Postby M_2NR » April 18th, 2010, 7:30 pm

ohh lawrd. Engadget just wanna save their rep :lol:
JoKeR1980 wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:I was^^ then I got a call and got to think if I should really sell it. Then I came home and saw this.

-if that doesnt work

a medal for that man! happy it worked out for you in the end kurpal. if dat happened to me ah woula surely ded

hold up that wok? :shock: that is flicking epic! Although im pondering how does flash memory sleep :lol: Good save Dion.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 18th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Posting from 3g all now :mrgreen:

And to think I was minutes away from selling it for $1000

Postby M_2NR » April 18th, 2010, 8:44 pm

i wanted to cuss when i saw it for 1000 :?

:lol: thank god. I saving that info yes.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 18th, 2010, 9:16 pm

kurpal_v2, ok kool, cuz i see yuh pm meh an say yuh sell it friday, so i wanted to know...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 19th, 2010, 1:18 pm

rumors confirmed?

This Is Apple's Next iPhone

You are looking at Apple's next iPhone. It was found lost in a bar in Redwood City, camouflaged to look like an iPhone 3GS. We got it. We disassembled it. It's the real thing, and here are all the details.

While Apple may tinker with the final packaging and design of the final phone, it's clear that the features in this lost-and-found next-generation iPhone are drastically new and drastically different from what came before. Here's the detailed list of our findings:

What's new

• Front-facing video chat camera
• Improved regular back-camera (the lens is quite noticeably larger than the iPhone 3GS)
• Camera flash
• Micro-SIM instead of standard SIM (like the iPad)
• Improved display. It's unclear if it's the 960x460 display thrown around before—it certainly looks like it, with the "Connect to iTunes" screen displaying much higher resolution than on a 3GS.
• What looks to be a secondary mic for noise cancellation, at the top, next to the headphone jack
• Split buttons for volume
• Power, mute, and volume buttons are all metallic

What's changed

• The back is entirely flat, made of either glass (more likely) or ceramic or shiny plastic in order for the cell signal to poke through. Tapping on the back makes a more hollow and higher pitched sound compared to tapping on the glass on the front/screen, but that could just be the orientation of components inside making for a different sound
• An aluminum border going completely around the outside
• Slightly smaller screen than the 3GS (but seemingly higher resolution)
• Everything is more squared off
• 3 grams heavier
• 16% Larger battery
• Internals components are shrunken, miniaturized and reduced to make room for the larger battery

full article "proving" it's real here:

http://gizmodo.com/5520164/this-is-apples-next-iphone

Postby M_2NR » April 19th, 2010, 2:00 pm

Sigh.. i really dunno. At first i didnt like it, now i like it. November FTW.

And this uses micro-sims.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 19th, 2010, 2:23 pm

still don't like it.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 19th, 2010, 2:44 pm

i thought it was a japanese mock up...... :?

This actually confirmed???

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 19th, 2010, 2:46 pm

really dont like...looks like a cheep iclone

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 19th, 2010, 2:55 pm

Mmmm.... who knows. If this is in fact the real deal Apple may (have to) redesign to compensate.
Personally I don't like this design. Looks a little more like any other touchscreen candybar smartphone. The iPhones of the past had a unique look i.m.o.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 19th, 2010, 2:57 pm

love it :!: .. will hold off on buying the htc desire :)
cant believe Gizmodo got it before the deve team, this is why the devs should have been accepting donations ;)

well Gizmodo needs to try to put 4.0 on it

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 19th, 2010, 2:59 pm

It'll probably grow on me though.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 19th, 2010, 3:03 pm

Apple considers the iPhone 4G prototype being showcased around the web to be stolen property, not a lost device, according to Daring Fireball.

The new owner of the device said it was found on the floor of a San Jose bar inside an iPhone 3G case; however, this information can't really be confirmed.

In Gizmodo's hands-on report they note that Gruber said the device was reported lost and Apple wants it back. That isn't technically correct as Gruber makes clear...

Note that I did not use the word “lostâ€

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 19th, 2010, 3:47 pm

didnt we hear this SAME story before the 3GS reveal?????????

Postby M_2NR » April 19th, 2010, 9:26 pm

http://gizmodo.com/5520438/how-apple-lo ... ext-iphone

OH GAWRSH! the kix in this.

What happened to Mr. Gray @ the bar.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 20th, 2010, 8:33 am

Gizmodo has received a letter from Apple's senior vice president and general counsel Bruce Sewell formally requesting the return of "a device that belongs to Apple."

Gizmodo's Jason Chen published the letter (shown below) with a response to Apple that insisted "we didn't know [the prototype iPhone] was stolen" at the time that Gizmodo chose to shell out a reported $5,000 to obtain it from the person who claimed to have found it.

It is beyond dubious that Gizmodo would have paid that much money for a device if it did not reasonably think that it was anything other than a real prototype that belonged to Apple. Further, the fact that it was remotely wiped provided compelling evidence that it was in fact stolen.

However, in addition to the legal issues involved with buying stolen merchandise (which are in effect regardless of whether the buyer knows the goods are stolen or not), Gizmodo also faces legal consequences under California's Uniform Trade Secrets Act.

Section 3425.1 defines "misappropriation of trade secrets" as a civil code violation, with wording that makes it pretty clear that buying a stolen prototype, determining it is authentic and includes valuable information in the form of trade secrets, and then publishing the information to earn money and notoriety for doing so is something that will expose you to legal liability.

The code section defines these phrases:

(a) “Improper meansâ€

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 20th, 2010, 9:43 am

GIZMODO is screwed, with 30billion in the bank, i am sure apple will spend some of that in court vs GIZMODO, even if Apple doesn't win the case, they will drag GIZMODO through the mud

gizmodo lost the case when they paid for the phones, thats like paying for stolen property. and then publishing it, very balsy.. we'll see where this goes, but poor steve jobs bust have lost the 10lbs he took the last 2 years to put back on

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 20th, 2010, 9:46 am

To me the real surprising thing would be if that guy is still employed by Apple by the time the iPhone launches.
I've read stories about how Steve would meet you in an elevator & you'd be fired by the time you've reached your floor.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 20th, 2010, 10:20 am

he only has his job until the phone is recovered and the story is replaced by something else.. his days are numbered

and i ma sure he doesn't have the clearance he had before and infact prob not even working on the baseband, but on the other hand apple cant fire him just yet, he knows all the baseband secrets and could be a valuable addition to the dev team or geohot, and potential could make million unlocking the next iPhone as he knows the baseband ;)

jsut a thought

Freelander

Postby Freelander » April 20th, 2010, 10:41 am

He may know the baseband and stuff bur will not be able to do anything with it. I'm sure he signed a privacy contract thus he cannot use anything he knows outside of apple. Even if he's fired.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 20th, 2010, 1:04 pm

The iPhone 4G prototype obtained by Gizmodo isn't the only iPhone 4G prototype lost by or stolen from Apple.

MacRumors has astutely noticed that the leaked photos from Twitter show a slightly different device.

Though very similar in design the Twitter leaked device has no visible screws on the bottom of the device, doesn't seem to have the Apple logo on the back of the device, or have the iPhone name printed on it.

Hopefully, its not the one that caused Chinese worker Sun Danyong to commit suicide...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 20th, 2010, 1:48 pm

Freelander wrote:He may know the baseband and stuff bur will not be able to do anything with it. I'm sure he signed a privacy contract thus he cannot use anything he knows outside of apple. Even if he's fired.

pffffttt, he will just sell the info to the Taiwanese hackers and they will use it. when i was doing the concept designs for the iPhone 3G Design Contest (which i won first prize in, thank you) i was being fed info from someone with a prototype 3G who signed one of those NDA contracts ;) so the info get out ;)

Freelander

Postby Freelander » April 20th, 2010, 1:55 pm

u should ahve black mailed him :lol: :lol:

Postby M_2NR » April 20th, 2010, 2:52 pm

pfffttt after being fcked like that from Gizmodo u think u would want to not work on an unlock. I would release that unlock regardless of that contract. What is amazing is that the guy who made the mistake paid the price of all. But who was the one who "found" the device?

TBH, i think it's a ploy.

and have a lil lol @ this: from <a href='http://forum.tipb.com/iphone-forum/189086-iphone-g4-leak-satire.html'>tipb</a>:

Phil: Damn, those @#$%^W@ at HTC keep dropping new high-end Androids like a chicken on a high fibre diet!

Steve: What?

Phil: Verizon is about to launch the Droid Incredible, and we're still two months out on the iPhone 3GSHD

Steve: iPhone HD. Remember what happened when I had to crawl out of the hospital bed and remove that #%$&^ space from 3G S.

Phil: [Cowers and covers groin].

Steve: Here's what you do: take one of those cases Tim brought back from Japan, the one's we're using to test the new hardware, take one and drop it somewhere.

Phil: Where?

Steve: I don't know. Someplace where a blog reader will find it.

Phil: Bar in San Jose?

Steve: Boom.