Is Sai Baba really God on earth?

RadeonHD

Is Sai Baba really God on earth?

Postby RadeonHD » April 24th, 2010, 2:10 am

My friend and I have been arguing over this for years.

I keep saying there is no real proof that Sai Baba is god and hence I cannot realistically accept that he is god.

My friend however insists he is god on earth and is living in India and can perform miracles like making gold out of thin air.

Some years ago the government of India charged him for making gold out of thin air without possessing a gold license.

We no longer speak to each other because of this issue, however we used to be best of friends. I guess god and religion really can turn friends into enemies after all.

I learned recently that half of Hindus in the world believes him to be god on earth, a member of my distant family who I know personally, a retired principal of a school to be honest. This guy took out a loan of $100,000 TT to go India to donate to Sai Baba and worship him. So I have no doubt some people truly believe him to be god.

What I hate most is how he will accept this money and continue to let people believe he is god when we know this to not be true. Why doesn't he make a a trillion trillion gold chains then and give it to all the poor around the world? I am not denying that he is a great guru and has a lot of wisdom and helps a lot of poor people. But he is definitely not god.

BTW Is that really an Afro on his head? There have been a significant amount of argument by a lot of Hindus about his Afro. Some saying it is an Afro and others saying it isn't.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sathya_Sai_Baba

Last edited by RadeonHD on April 24th, 2010, 11:40 am, edited 5 times in total.

Postby Damien » April 24th, 2010, 2:15 am

In before rasc

Postby MG Man » April 24th, 2010, 2:34 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
people eh play dotish in this world
miracles indeed
since when does 'god' conjure up watches with serial numbers and manufactured dates out of thin air?????
I pity the dumb tuntuns who think this man is god reincarnate
when babalall walks across the sea to africa and performs some miracles there, maybe I'll possibly think about kinda changing my position...

Re: Is Sai Baba really God on earth?

Postby Monk BANzai » April 24th, 2010, 3:09 am

Alpine wrote:My friend and I have been arguing over this for years.

I keep saying there is no real proof that Sai Baba is god and hence I cannot realistically accept that he is god.

My friend however insists he is god on earth and is living in India and can perform miracles like making gold out of thin air.

Some years ago the government of India charged him for making gold out of thin air without possessing a gold license.

We no longer speak to each other because of this issue, however we used to be best of friends. I guess god and religion really can turn friends into enemies after all.

I learned recently that half of Hindus in the world believes him to be god on earth, a member of my distant family who I know personally, a retired principal of a school to be honest. This guy took out a loan of $100,000 TT to go India to donate to Sai Baba and worship him. So I have no doubt some people truly believe him to be god.

What I hate most is how he will accept this money and continue to let people believe he is god when we know this to not be true. I am not denying that he is a great guru and has a lot of wisdom. But he is definitely not god.

BTW Is that really an Afro on his head? There have been a significant amount of argument by a lot of Hindus about his Afro. Some saying it is an Afro and others saying it isn't.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sathya_Sai_Baba

what kind a shiddy friendship allyuh had in the first place?.....steups...

punisher

Postby punisher » April 24th, 2010, 3:10 am

it's an Infro.................. Indian with a fro... :roll:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 24th, 2010, 6:03 am

people look to God and something of a higher being as a way of coping with the stress of life and some sort of comfort

and if it works for them then y question it?

religion is a topic that will always be debated till the end of time

i do believe there is a God but ive always found it to be a very subjective topic

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 24th, 2010, 6:27 am

Postby Rainman » April 24th, 2010, 7:25 am

I say people's beliefs are their own, i don't question it. If they want to believe that the man is rumpelstiltskin so be it. :|

Premera

Postby Premera » April 24th, 2010, 7:30 am

Sai Baba, never said he was or is god, or even an incarnation...

It is the dotish followers than say this......every priest, imam, pastor have their followers...but some are more devoted and loyal and so on and so on.......

Sai baba followers believe that because he has cetain " powers " he is god.....

Anyone that does YOGA and practise other forms of meditation and stugy Hindu Mythology and Philosophy....together with practising what you preach can attain certain "spiritual " powers

Think of a fortune teller, a palm reader, a patra reader etc etc.....these are basic skills compared to the vastness of the true spiritualists.....

I believe the man has significant spiritual powers, maybe he was born a lucky child and chose to develop his natural gift.......

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » April 24th, 2010, 7:44 am

so why doesn't he solve the poverty problems in India?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 24th, 2010, 7:49 am

^^he does - there is schools and hospitals he built using donated money

Postby Damien » April 24th, 2010, 7:51 am

^so why god don't solve poverty in the world?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 24th, 2010, 7:54 am

http://www.sathyasai.org/saiinstservice.htm

Cause He isn't god!! He is just a man trying to help some people.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 24th, 2010, 7:58 am

Premera wrote:
Sai baba followers believe that because he has cetain " powers " he is god.....

Anyone that does YOGA and practise other forms of meditation and stugy Hindu Mythology and Philosophy....together with practising what you preach can attain certain "spiritual " powers

um, how would one go about getting x-ray vision and eye laser powers???

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 24th, 2010, 8:11 am

all religion is sheit based and should be so treated.
they are largely born out of selfishness and personal gain, not 'a calling'
no man, woman, child or idol can bring you closer to God, it is within your own capacity as a person needing to make a connection to God will you ever experience enlightenment.

Postby Rainman » April 24th, 2010, 8:12 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:all religion is sheit based and should be so treated.
no man, woman, child or idol can bring you closer to God, it is within your own capacity as a person needing to make a connection to God will you ever experience enlightenment.

what the fack you drink last night? :lol: :lol:

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 24th, 2010, 8:24 am

i speak what i believe pal.

not as much as alya :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 24th, 2010, 8:35 am

we are all GOD

Premera

Postby Premera » April 24th, 2010, 8:36 am

Damien wrote:^so why god don't solve poverty in the world?

^^^^^ should i even bother to answer this question ????? :roll: :roll: :roll:

noobie

Re: Is Sai Baba really God on earth?

Postby noobie » April 24th, 2010, 8:42 am

Alpine wrote:l of a school to be honest. This guy took out a loan of $100,000 TT to go India to donate to Sai Baba and worship him. So I have no doubt some people truly believe him to be god.

What use does a God on earth who can make Gold out of the air have for Money?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 24th, 2010, 8:45 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:all religion is sheit based and should be so treated.

Well said sir!

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 24th, 2010, 8:56 am

Read

Who is Sri Sathya Sai Baba?
[b]
“I am God. And you too are God. The only difference between you and Me is that while I am aware of it, you are completely unaware.â€

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 24th, 2010, 9:00 am

ched gone to emo-ville, all on board
CHOO CHOO!!

TK!

Postby TK! » April 24th, 2010, 9:06 am

oh gawd... begins of an epic thread.

plently sai baba ppl in T&T. those that i know are very friendly, calm, intelligent.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 24th, 2010, 9:07 am

We had one of these threads before :S idk why Alpine don't just hit search

turbo master

Postby turbo master » April 24th, 2010, 9:58 am

sai baba is avatar? he should sue james cameron. mc :x

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 24th, 2010, 10:00 am

anyone or anything on earth can be a god

Postby DFC » April 24th, 2010, 10:12 am

I went to see Sai Baba in Puttaparthi. Took me a loong train ride and a backbreaking 6 hour bus ride to reach.
when i reached i was hungry, tired, miserable, and half broke.

In the ashram they gave us a room and showed us the kitchen area.
OMFG..i couldnt believe what i saw....chinese, italian, caribbean...allll kinda food!
and it was the best food i ever eat in the whole india.
Lasagna , pizza, pasta and some kinda italian dressin.

After i ate my guts full....i deemed this place to be Heaven.
I met some Sai devotees from Trinidad who made callaloo for me and gave me some money to go back to agra.

so No complaints bout the man...his place is super awesome, gooood food,and its free too..and they feed thousands of poor people like this daily.
and the devoteees give lotsa charity to the locals..so yeh...its a great place..
And Sai is doing lots of great work, feeding the poor, and starting hospitals and maternity centers and all sorts of things.

Also i experienced his miracle making first hand. I saw him hand out sweets and then told the people to cover it with their hands, and then open their hands it turned into all sorts of stuff. like gold pendants, rudraks beads...all kinda crap..and people was like..."woooooo"

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 24th, 2010, 10:15 am

DFC wrote:I went to see Sai Baba in Puttaparthi. Took me a loong train ride and a backbreaking 6 hour bus ride to reach.
when i reached i was hungry, tired, miserable, and half broke.

In the ashram they gave us a room and showed us the kitchen area.
OMFG..i couldnt believe what i saw....chinese, italian, caribbean...allll kinda food!
and it was the best food i ever eat in the whole india.
Lasagna , pizza, pasta and some kinda italian dressin.

After i ate my guts full....i deemed this place to be Heaven.
I met some Sai devotees from Trinidad who made callaloo for me and gave me some money to go back to agra.

so No complaints bout the man...his place is super awesome, gooood food,and its free too..and they feed thousands of poor people like this daily.
and the devoteees give lotsa charity to the locals..so yeh...its a great place..
And Sai is doing lots of great work, feeding the poor, and starting hospitals and maternity centers and all sorts of things.

Also i experienced his miracle making first hand. I saw him hand out sweets and then told the people to cover it with their hands, and then open their hands it turned into all sorts of stuff. like gold pendants, rudraks beads...all kinda crap..and people was like..."woooooo"

materialism FTL

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 24th, 2010, 10:24 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:materialism FTL

Maslow's hierarchy of needs states that physical needs must be met in order to transcend towards self actualization.....therefore my interpretation is that there must be a level of physical gratification if one is to be able to move on and think at a higher level.....and forge that GOD realization that you mentioned before.
Last edited by ~Vēġó~ on April 24th, 2010, 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.