Stinger Blue Voltage Meter.

nismo3ne

Stinger Blue Voltage Meter.

Postby nismo3ne » April 28th, 2010, 1:58 pm

Like this one

Recently got one and after installation just the Stinger logo is illuminated and I'm not getting any voltage readings.
It is installed correctly btw, red and blue wires on positive and black on ground so I'm supposed to get a constant reading when the ignition is on.

Did anyone else have this problem or is it just a defective meter?

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » April 28th, 2010, 2:09 pm

Was it tested in store? Is the ground good (free of paint etc.)? Could be a bad one.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2010, 2:17 pm

I hate those meters! Bought one and an LED in it blew in less than a week! Got it exchanged the 2nd one blew after 3 weeks.. :?

I wouldn't be surprised if it's defective as well..

nismo3ne

Postby nismo3ne » April 28th, 2010, 2:17 pm

Yes it was tested and working in the store, before we installed it in my car we tested it outside also and again it was working fine.

It's just after the install no readings were showing, and the ground is good. It's grounded to a bolt direct on the flooring of the car.

Guess you're right, probably a bad meter, gonna get it replaced later today, but was just wondering if it's a common problem.

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » April 28th, 2010, 3:37 pm

The cigarette lighter type and these are failing but it really bites with these because they lil pricey. Can the AudioControl EPIC-160 be a good substitute? Well more expensive but it should be worth it.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2010, 3:39 pm

Ginxdor wrote:The cigarette lighter type and these are failing but it really bites with these because they lil pricey. Can the AudioControl EPIC-160 be a good substitute? Well more expensive but it should be worth it.

now that's an expensive volt meter!

riadb

Re: Stinger Blue Voltage Meter.

Postby riadb » April 28th, 2010, 6:11 pm

nismo3ne wrote:Like this one

Recently got one and after installation just the Stinger logo is illuminated and I'm not getting any voltage readings.
It is installed correctly btw, red and blue wires on positive and black on ground so I'm supposed to get a constant reading when the ignition is on.

Did anyone else have this problem or is it just a defective meter?

yes vibration affects these greatly..

mines lasted 3 weeks before it went tru...

14.4 looks like 11.1 lol

xeon

Postby xeon » April 28th, 2010, 10:00 pm

is it me or when the bass hits the digits seems to move around :D. But seriously i've used these a few times and never had any problem, maybe a defective one.

casper

Postby casper » April 28th, 2010, 11:19 pm

3stagevtec wrote:I hate those meters! Bought one and an LED in it blew in less than a week! Got it exchanged the 2nd one blew after 3 weeks.. :?

I wouldn't be surprised if it's defective as well..

mine gone through too...mine lasted bout 8 months though :lol:

Sully

Postby Sully » April 29th, 2010, 5:57 am

xeon wrote:is it me or when the bass hits the digits seems to move around :D. But seriously i've used these a few times and never had any problem, maybe a defective one.

What do you mean by move around?

Postby nervewrecker » April 29th, 2010, 7:41 am

they look like if they floating & moving sideways & up & down. I thought was me alone that noticed this as well.
seems its not with the bass, when mine was tested out upon purchase it looked like if the numbers were moving (& it was only hooked up to some batteries).

anyhow, this is mine:

was a quick install so please excuse how crappy it looks, it has to be redone. Its nice, small & not too bright so as to distract me in the pitch dark that I am accustomed to driving in.

riadb

Postby riadb » April 29th, 2010, 8:58 pm

u lucky it still wukkin

mines rite above my steering wheel and its totally fawked...

dunno what to replace it with tho :s

audiokev

Postby audiokev » April 29th, 2010, 10:32 pm

i had the one with the red lights...

knocked out within 3 weeks, had no clue why but i see why now.. :|

Postby nervewrecker » April 29th, 2010, 10:38 pm

mine is not a stinger guys, its a cadence.

xeon

Postby xeon » April 30th, 2010, 8:20 am

slacker_jack who does sell those? i never had an issue with the stinger but im beginning to worry about them after this thread :mrgreen: but once there is a better alternative i dont mid using it. Btw the first time i saw the digits move i thought i was a bonus feature from stinger were the digits dance to the bassline :lol:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 30th, 2010, 8:26 am

dunno what to replace it with tho :s

ah fluke meter and hotglue it to the dash lol

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » April 30th, 2010, 9:21 am

nismo3ne

Postby nismo3ne » April 30th, 2010, 9:53 am

Thanks for the info guys, I appreciate it.
I've decided to replace the digital meter with the pod type one :lol: .

Thinking Prosport though as it's just gonna be for music.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 30th, 2010, 10:25 am

I had my AP cigarette port meter since before I bought the stingers and up till today that is still working flawlessly.. and it had been abused my many SPL competitions too!

My pops and boss also have them and none has ever failed.. just saying.. :wink:

riadb

Postby riadb » April 30th, 2010, 10:36 am

those AP meters work very well...

i had one and when my uncle from the states came he took it for his van and that passed tru 2 winters and still working...

i hadda get back one yes...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 30th, 2010, 11:04 am

have a red stinger meter over 2yrs going ....BUT i only have use for it when im going shows which is just a few times for d yr & it comes back out when d show set is taken out same time too so thats why mine lasting still ...

dj cas

Postby dj cas » April 30th, 2010, 11:26 am

3stagevtec wrote:I had my AP cigarette port meter since before I bought the stingers and up till today that is still working flawlessly.. and it had been abused my many SPL competitions too!

My pops and boss also have them and none has ever failed.. just saying.. :wink:

u forgot my AP voltmeter...lol...that is the oval shaped one with the blue neon...really great product...yay for AP :twisted:

Postby X_Factor » April 30th, 2010, 3:16 pm

u all think the xscorpion brand will work better?

boss_specialist

Postby boss_specialist » May 12th, 2010, 3:35 pm

i had install an identical one to yours for someone an did'nt have any problem at all

masterofmindzchris

Postby masterofmindzchris » May 12th, 2010, 6:45 pm

where can i get a cigarette voltmeter to buy folks!!! i'm from south

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 12th, 2010, 11:24 pm

^check either gopauls , R&N or RIK in marabella ...

masterofmindzchris

Postby masterofmindzchris » May 13th, 2010, 12:47 pm

but rov...ent RIK is a bookstore???

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 13th, 2010, 8:59 pm

masterofmindzchris wrote:but rov...ent RIK is a bookstore???

gulf branch does sell volt meters and ammeters.

3stage ap cig lighter thingy working bess since I stole it from him but 8 months ago. :drinking:

Postby 3stagevtec » May 13th, 2010, 10:29 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

gulf branch does sell volt meters and ammeters.

3stage ap cig lighter thingy working bess since I stole it from him but 8 months ago. :drinking:

:lol: I forget about that yes..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 14th, 2010, 9:54 am

yep - but is not d bookstore i sending u by

im talking about RIK electronics which a store on union road marabella not too far from d stadium , if u coming from marabella its on d left hand side ...