B11 PROJECT - OPINIONS AND ADVICE ARE WELCOMED

willo

B11 PROJECT - OPINIONS AND ADVICE ARE WELCOMED

Postby willo » April 2nd, 2010, 4:48 pm

Folks I want some info to continue my project. So far I have received alot of help from you tuners and I know you all would help my project be a success.

Status: My B11 shell is in excellent condition so all I need is the power. An E15T is the hardest thing to find in this country (that and an honest politician). I'm resorting to Ole School Power.

I want to know:
1. Who can make a set of extractors for my engine? It must be neat and or chrome
2. What type of ignition system will give me best performance? (MSD?)
3. Where can I get performance Pistons? The block was bored and Stroked
4.Who is the best mechanic to service Mukini PHH sidedraft carbs
5.Any general advice on increasing horse power?
Last edited by willo on April 24th, 2010, 12:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » April 2nd, 2010, 7:03 pm

Don't want to put down your project, but most likely you're starting with an e15, considering the age of that engine and the fact that there are hardly any aftermarket parts for this, you'll end up having to get everything custom done which is expensive.

A ca18det on the other hand is relatively cheap and easy to source, and stock will have a lot more potential than putting money into an e15 engine.

jus my 2c

willo

Postby willo » April 3rd, 2010, 12:18 pm

Thx for your input man I appreciate it. I was looking for an e15t but that hard to source. I was trying to keep the car very original and in doing so I came across a engine with a ported head and a mod cam with sidedrafts and extractors. I really got a steal of a deal. I will be installing that for now and see how it goes.

Postby Rainman » April 4th, 2010, 9:21 am

willo wrote:Thx for your input man I appreciate it. I was looking for an e15t but that hard to source. I was trying to keep the car very original and in doing so I came across a engine with a ported head and a mod cam with sidedrafts and extractors. I really got a steal of a deal. I will be installing that for now and see how it goes.

Your way seems to be a lot tougher. It usually is when trying to keep the originality of the car. If you're a real purist you have a long road ahead of you but it will be worth it once you see the results. Post pics of your progress.

willo

Postby willo » April 5th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Thx for the advice and positive feedback man. Will do

willo

Postby willo » April 6th, 2010, 3:58 pm

bump :arrow:

Carenage7

Postby Carenage7 » April 6th, 2010, 10:29 pm

My boy
I feel your pain.
I struggled with an E15T build for the better part of two years (off and on of course). Being somewhat of a purist myself, I decided that I won't be another B11 with an SR20. Typical I thought. Now I know why the buggers do it. Availability of parts.

I bought my E15T, complete with harness and gearbox. I replaced the turbocharger due to slightly out of spec shaft play. I stripped the engine right down, replaced the connecting rod bearings, bored the cylinders to remove what appeared to be water damage (slight pitting on cylinder walls), replaced with oversized piston rings. I bought a small intercooler, and home made the pipes. OK, I'm not going to get into all the details, but it was a complete re-build.

After I mounted the engine in the car, the bugger would not idle for more than 5 mins. After nights of checking and checking I laid all the blame on the ECU (easy scapegoat for a frustrated backyard mechanic like myself). Of course, you're more likely to find a blasted unicorn than an E15T ECU. It's a twenty-something year old fuel injected, turbocharged engine for cryin' out loud. But a beauty of a power plant.

Long story short, life picked up speed and the car is still down. I'll try to find pictures the project in all the frustrating, blood shedding stages. I shake your hand friend. Good luck, don't get discouraged like I did.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 7th, 2010, 7:27 am

Carenage7, you had real patience bro! :)

willo

Postby willo » April 8th, 2010, 8:06 pm

Carenage7 thx for the insight bro. I was really stedfast on getting an E15T but boy as you said it is easier to find a unicorn. LOL. One thing I must say a few tuners like bluespeed and sunnyman help me along the way and hooked me up with a sweet deal. I got a modified E15 with at lease $10k worth of goodies. I'm taking it one day at a time and I'm sure it will be a success. I will post pics as the project progress. Any info you can share i will appreciate.

willo

Postby willo » April 23rd, 2010, 4:53 pm

Just an update tuners. I got the extractors built 4-2-1 and complete 2" pipe down to the back with a oval shaped chrome barrel. It sounds like a beyotch but I have not installed the sidedrafts, 15M ported head and machined cam as yet. I'm taking it one day at a time. I'm sending it by the mechanic to install the rear disc brakes and change the 4 shocks, then head to the straitener. I really wanted to keep an original look with the 13" silver steelies and some BF tyres and drop it a notch. I was considering to paint it in white or silver or black or navy blue. Give me some opinions tuners.

punisher

Postby punisher » April 24th, 2010, 12:15 am

a burnt orange looks dam good on a sunny.....all the nickel border it in black and yuh orn :lol:

willo

Postby willo » April 24th, 2010, 12:38 am

thx punisher

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » April 26th, 2010, 11:50 pm

Use a 38-38 ratchet weber (with a jet-up' kit), build a manifold @ Imraj Brothers, get an MSD Ignition system, a mal-passi or rising-rate fuel pressure reg., cut a copper 3mm head gasket and TURBOCHARGE the E15 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

droppa

Postby droppa » April 27th, 2010, 7:06 am

soldeir insted of all that why did u not go with a GA15DE VTC, IMHO that would have been better in alot of ways.......

easier to get parts,
easier to modify,
more power to start with
alot more fuel efficient than the E15 with draughts or webberz (not that it matters),
E15 heads tend to corrode on the water ports, and is real pressha to get a good one, causes OH and blowing HG like crazy,
piggyback or small engine management would of made a world of wonders,

10K on a E15 engine padna, that pure robbery, i would of spent my $$ differently.

joelleena

Postby joelleena » April 27th, 2010, 7:58 am

@droppa......from what i read, the guy didn't spend 10k on the engine........he said that when he bought the engine ,he got at least 10 k worth of goodies......................

droppa

Postby droppa » April 27th, 2010, 8:27 am

yea i saw that, but im sure he spent close to that...

cool. id like to see some pics....

and did u buy valve seals by chance? where? how much?
we getting rel licks with valve, they too slack on he valve, and oil pasing tru....

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » April 27th, 2010, 8:50 am

If the man takes his time (if he's DIY kinda guy), look around for parts, etc, he'll put this together for small money; especially if he have pardnas who like to dig-up under dey bonnet. It have quite a few men out here with the above mentioned parts just lying around.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 27th, 2010, 9:03 am

thats true, but yuh looking at real digging up under de bonnet eh pardna,

we been tru an E15 engine or two already,
cams,
cam gears,
webberz 28/32, 32/36, 38/38,
side draughts,
extractors,
oversized pistons,
bored block,
shaved /polished/ ported heads,
local made copper clutch,

it used to pull and sound real sweet, but a good working EFI vehicle woul give a run for its money any time, and he would have change at the pump to buy burgers :mrgreen:

my one suggestion for u willo is get a DIS. :twisted:
Accel coil and wires with electronic ignition barely cuts it.....

droppa

msd coil.

Postby droppa » April 27th, 2010, 9:37 am

a good buy for u, $250. used

willo

Postby willo » April 27th, 2010, 2:46 pm

Fellas I see you all following the thread nice man. Droppa I have an Accel coil and 8.5 wires. All that was part of the goodies. If I have 3 E15 engines and I'm not modifying the block. My car will be hardly used (more a sunday drive kinda thing) so as one engine mash up i will slap in another. In total I spent 3k for over 10k in goodies. I had a GA16 (vvl) stock in a B12 and that was impressive so after these 3 E15's I will go with a GA16 with moded cams, extractors and a fuel management system. I'm grateful for all the support I'm getting and as soon as i get time I will post some pics. Hope the progression is impressive but i'm taking it one step at a time. I'm also looking for some BF Goodrich tyres 215 50 R13. Ole school thing.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 28th, 2010, 10:17 pm

Check by rattansingh in montrose or by jacks for them tires.

Take it one step at a time bro. Don't be too dissappointed if when ur done ur not fast as some, at least u will be proud of ur creation.

I tell u this cause I have box lancer with a SR20 and it werkz, blow out real men, for a non turbo, wanted to go turbo, but may end up going sirus turbo if things work out, just to be original!

That feeling of having an original beast is priceless!

punisher

Re: B11 PROJECT - OPINIONS AND ADVICE ARE WELCOMED

Postby punisher » May 12th, 2010, 8:21 pm

Bluespeed is a person you should speak too

willo

Postby willo » May 12th, 2010, 10:45 pm

yep Bluespeed is the B11 God. I got some good pointers from him.

Carenage7

Postby Carenage7 » July 26th, 2010, 1:03 am

This real late
This thread probably dead but anyways....
I managed to find some pictures from my build. I actually kept a quite detailed photo record of the project, but I lost most of the photos when my external hard drive crashed.
I would come back from work, and spend all night with this.

Anyways, if you need any info let me know. I tried to block out the memories of that car (like a forsaken lover) but she's still with me. Cars are so much like women..... haha

Sorry the photos aren't in chronological order, I posted them as I find them
n 123.jpg
IMG_0820.JPG
IMG_0821.JPG
IMG_0874.JPG
IMG_0819.JPG
IMG_0885.JPG

Carenage7

Postby Carenage7 » July 26th, 2010, 1:06 am

Some other photos I found

I hope your project is still alive.....
n 147.jpg
n 142.jpg
n 141.jpg
n 140.jpg
n 139.jpg
n 138.jpg

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » July 26th, 2010, 10:35 pm

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

willo

Postby willo » September 20th, 2010, 6:54 pm

Fellas doh give up faith in meh the project is still on the way. My B11 still by the straitener and then will be heading back to the mechanic to fine tune. I will post some progress pics soon.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 26th, 2010, 1:11 pm

^^^^big up partner... 8-)

*patience is virtue*

willo

Postby willo » February 10th, 2011, 10:02 pm

Tuners my B11 is almost here. I will post some pics up soon. I have painted it metalic blue with a slight pearl. I have not decided yet what size rims i will be going with, either 17" chrome or 15" mags. I'm up for suggestions. I went to zigs in aranguez and the machinist told me to bring my fly wheel so he can lighten it. A mechanic from El socorro told me to bring the gearbox for him to modify. I need to drop the car about 2-3 inches but i need a recommendation. Anyone know of orginal competition springs i can get locally or of the net. Holla back and thx for the support guys. Any tech advice is still welcomed.

Postby rollingstock » February 10th, 2011, 11:11 pm

If you're dropping i'd suggest the 15's, had clearance issues with 16's can just imagine 17's