tyres

CD4Accord

Re: tyres

Postby CD4Accord » May 28th, 2010, 10:32 am

Try scrolling up... we mentioned it about 15 times so far where to find the spt's...

----
Concerning bridgestone touring tyres, Turanza.. they are extreme quality and are a seriously comfortable tyre, but I personally am not a fan of touring tyres simply because I like extra grip given by UHP etc..

Would love to get my hands on a set of Michelin Pilot Sport PS/2 but I terrified to know what price they calling for me...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 30th, 2010, 5:40 am

Ghostbusters, did you get chance to check out L&DG? I will be back in the country in a few weeks and want to plan and line up my purchases in advance...

Thanks

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 30th, 2010, 7:56 am

Na, I went south, will check them tuesday, haven't forgotten though, will let you know, anyone know if there's anywhere beside mileage mack that sells toyo proxes t1r?, btw, i came across bfgoodrich profilers @$650 a piece, still looking at my options though.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 30th, 2010, 7:59 am

^^only mm sells t1rs.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 30th, 2010, 1:22 pm

so anybody knows who sells falkens? haven't seen a single falken tyre yet, also goodyears, am thinking about trying the eagle f1

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 30th, 2010, 3:48 pm

ACL sells Goodyear. Saw Eagle F1 there about a month ago.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 30th, 2010, 4:11 pm

Well the Eagle F1 is an excellent tyre but you going to have to pay serious money for it.. I'm trying to remember the name of the people who sell Goodyear.. I think Neal & Massey owns the place.. Fas-Service or something like that...

Concerning BF Goodrich, they make some excellent tyres but I usually only found touring tyres selling in Trinidad... Haven't seen the G-Force Sport or G-Force TA/KDW selling...

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 30th, 2010, 5:35 pm

MasterServe = Automotive Components Limited = ACL

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 30th, 2010, 6:36 pm

Well, I called them a few times and they never seem to have any high performance tyres.. Usually tend to carry goodyear assurance touring tyres...

Still worth calling about f1's however

Postby X_Factor » May 30th, 2010, 8:47 pm

allyuh want a pair of RE01-r's to buy or wat
195-50-15

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 3rd, 2010, 7:29 pm

Karl, if you ever get around to making it here...
Those Falken's reccomended to you have some of the worst ratings I have ever seen on a "branded" tyre
Falken ZE512
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Falken/ZE512.htm

karl

Postby karl » June 3rd, 2010, 7:39 pm

great, thanks for the help

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 3rd, 2010, 8:34 pm

Well Karl, I know you drive like a madman (F-Duct and all) so you going to want top class rubber...

If you willing to spend check out Ramrattan M on PAP road and they will even custom order Bridgestone's for you if you want to go that route....
Alternatively, toyo is a good choice but a bit overpriced most times i find

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 3rd, 2010, 8:44 pm

CD4Accord, I never made it to Laughlin and DeGannes in north man, i got fed up of looking for tires, I settled on some 215/45/17 dunlop sport sp9000, AA traction A temperature, 260 threadwear, the threadwear kinda low, but the tyre seems okay so far.

I haven't driven much with it yet so they aren't broken in as yet. I must say I don't feel as confident with these as I do with the kumho spt's.will update when they are broken in properly.
got it at tyre clinic in montrose, $775 a piece

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... Sport+9000

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 3rd, 2010, 8:49 pm

the toyo proxes are $1138 a piece at mileage mack for 17's karl.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 3rd, 2010, 8:54 pm

CD4Accord, I never made it to Laughlin and DeGannes in north man, i got fed up of looking for tires, I settled on some 215/45/17 dunlop sport sp9000, AA traction A temperature, 260 threadwear, the threadwear kinda low, but the tyre seems okay so far.

TREADwear :roll:.....putting the "h" to try and sound proper or sumtin? :lol: :lol:

How are they holding up...and I always thought they were 280 tread?? I've heard that they get noisy about midway into their lifespan :shock:

karl

Postby karl » June 3rd, 2010, 8:58 pm

i lookin at 14 inch ghost.....i tried the 14 inch proxies tft?, tpt? , didnt like it, too loud, poor in wet, what else mmack have for 14? any newer toyos?

i will call them nex week.

oh and thanks for the info accord, u should look into the fduct, stalling your rear wing can give you an extra 10km/hr on the long straights...lol

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » June 3rd, 2010, 9:25 pm

http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-priu ... prius.html

Sorry I cant find the original article on Consumer Reports website.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 3rd, 2010, 10:22 pm

Concerning the falken, I really don't trust the reviews of some prius drivers.. What do they know about handling, grip and vehicle dynamics? They spend every day driving around in a Sh*tbox that gets about the same mpg as a TDI diesel VW Golf ... Can't take them very seriously at all
----

Well, those 9000's look rather weak on reviews... shame you had to compromise.. I have my heart set on the SPT's though as long as they keep the stock...

Today was in a pretty big thunderstorm and I intentionally tried spinning tyres on these Conti ExtremeContact DWS... The things are phenomenol in wet.. best I have ever experienced in the wet and consider that im putting down about 200hp (and 210lb/ft) on a fwd volvo...
They grip almost as in the dry and that is NOT an exaggeration.. They not the sportiest tyre under cornering but certainly good enough.. but as I said.. traction is supreme..

And at $115 US each for 225/50/17 I wish we could get prices like this back home...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 3rd, 2010, 11:43 pm

na Knight, i thought it was a 'th', it might be 280, i still reeling from all the tires i had to look at before i bought this.

these tires not close to the spt's, i have a measly 170ps and 180nm and breaking traction with these, but i waiting till they broken in before i say too much...

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » June 5th, 2010, 4:53 pm

Birdgestone Potenza RE-01! Where can I get these?

Went to Mileage Mack today to get the proxies, but they didnt have 225-60-16s (For a Tucson).

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 5th, 2010, 5:49 pm

Once again as stated 1000 times on the thread.. Most likely place to get bridgestone is Ramrattan M on PAP road Marabella

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 5th, 2010, 7:28 pm

Birdgestone Potenza RE-01! Where can I get these?

Went to Mileage Mack today to get the proxies, but they didnt have 225-60-16s (For a Tucson).

PM mku performance. He had seom RE01R's in stock (17").

Keep in mind that the RE01R is now an "outdated" tyre, and had been effectively replaced by the RE-11.

Most likely place to get bridgestone is Ramrattan M on PAP road Marabella

If he can't get there, he can try ordering through Mileage Mack. They can bring in most tyres you see on Tirerack.com.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 6th, 2010, 11:13 am

Well, im back in the country to find out that Laughlin suddenly out of stock on the SPT's and have a container coming in this week.. however they have no idea whats on it so I have to wait and see...

Quite a let down considering i finally sorted out (fingers crossed) my suspension issues.

All I can do now is wait and see.....
In the meantime, my old Hankook H415's are barely surviving.. So badly worn and abused its ridiculous...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 20th, 2010, 4:47 pm

Arite so the update is this....

After making me wait a week and a half for the new shipment to clear, it didnt have any Kumho SPT in my size on laughlin latest shipment (despite them telling me otherwise) so now I in a big jam... back to square one

205/60/15 or 205/55/15

I really need to get this rubber changed cause my current tyres are a hazard in the rain, almost bald and ready to skid at any point...

So I decide to call around and all I seem to find is overpriced michelin, crappy Dunlop DZ101 and Sumitomo HTR200...

Just 6 months ago it was a lot easier to get respectable tyres in this size but now I seeing some serious pressure... Advice anyone?
Last edited by CD4Accord on July 20th, 2010, 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jdmcrew

Postby jdmcrew » July 20th, 2010, 5:08 pm

Dunlops cheap call 7735192

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 20th, 2010, 5:53 pm

jdmcrew.. which dunlops we talking about here? Did you even read the post above? I refuse to buy DZ101's.. horrible tyre.. tell me what you have and then we could see about calling...

jdmcrew

Postby jdmcrew » July 20th, 2010, 6:41 pm

CD4Accord wrote:jdmcrew.. which dunlops we talking about here? Did you even read the post above? I refuse to buy DZ101's.. horrible tyre.. tell me what you have and then we could see about calling...
i have 15s 17s ....195 50 15 ...195 55 15....205 40 17...205 45 17 ...235 45 17....n some more...plz call for prices...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 21st, 2010, 5:06 am

I wont be calling for prices because clearly none of those suit what I want... (size and you still havent mentioned which dunlop)

Anyone ELSE can suggest a place to get my size? I'm in a jam and need something relatively quickly...

205/60/15 or 205/55/15

PS. If laughlin knows that the last set of 205/55/15 spt's they brought in sold like hot bread, why didnt they bring more?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 21st, 2010, 8:25 am

^^you're prob only gonna get that size in DZ101's fairly easily.....maybe Sport Maxx's IF you're lucky.

Did you check tyre clinic?